Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook by Mark A. Ray
Mark Ray has written an absolute fabulous book and a MUST read by every Scouter! As an ADC, many times I am asked what is the correct way to do some aspect of Scouting. This book answers those questions. I found I couldn't put it down!
Mr. Ray offers a practical, common sense insight to Troop life, from someone who's has been there and done that. The current BSA...
Published on February 26, 2004 by G. Mulvey

versus
13 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars part of the problem, not the solution
Does it seem considerably easier to make Eagle Scouts today than it did 30 years ago? Wonder how some troops can turn out an Eagle at 13 or 14 years old? Well, the attitude toward scoutmastering expressed in this book is largely responsible. I get the sense that the author had a bad experience with some hard-nosed scoutmaster in his youth and wrote this diatribe out of...
Published on October 2, 2010 by Rhendal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook by Mark A. Ray, February 26, 2004
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
Mark Ray has written an absolute fabulous book and a MUST read by every Scouter! As an ADC, many times I am asked what is the correct way to do some aspect of Scouting. This book answers those questions. I found I couldn't put it down!
Mr. Ray offers a practical, common sense insight to Troop life, from someone who's has been there and done that. The current BSA Scoutmaster Specifics course is an 8 1/2 x 11 three ring book. Somewhat impractical to bring on camp out. However, this softcover 6 x 9 inch book can fit nicely in any backpack(along with the new Field Book)!
If you have questions on Boards of Review, the how to's of: Scoutmaster Conferences; Troop meetings; Ceremonies; Budgets, FOS, Advancements, Scoutmaster's minute, Patrols, etc., then this book is for you! Haven't been to Philmont yet? Don't worry, Mr. Ray has the answers to those "High Adventure" questions. He also includes a helpful resource section with Web addresses.
For some, there hasn't been a well written Scout book since "Green Bar Bill" passed. Well, then the torch has been passed to a new generation.
Weather you're a "Newbie" or a "four-beader", this book is a MUST read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Common Sense Guide for Scoutmaster Survival, August 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
As a Scoutmaster of a successful Troop for over 16 years, I am always looking for fresh ideas. My own ideas have ofetn been used by others to build their programs, but the author gives a whole new perspective to common problems in Troop operations.

I read this book during a day and a half at Summer Camp and found myself noting new ideas to implement in my own Troop. In other areas, I found myself getting confirmation that the subtle changes I have made in our Troop were being suggested by someone else.

I consider this book to be an essential addition to your Scouting library to join the official publications of the Boy Scouts. You will see a different method to deliver a high-quality program to youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, must read, July 31, 2004
By 
L. Murphy (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
This book explains many practical and challenging opportunities faced with the management of a boy scout troop. It offers great resources and advice. I don't know what else to say, this book is worth adding to any scouters library. Read it and pass it around if you dare (you might not get it back).

The committee chair should make it required reading for all Scout Masters, ASM's and even all committee members.

As we grow our troop the managment becomes more complicated and this book helps outline the things we need to cover.

Thanks Mark Ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real masterpiece, January 15, 2006
By 
C. Kline (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
From the first pages in which Mark describes the complimentary nature of his materials to those published by the BSA through my favorite quote of the book, a reader can sense Mark's support and compassion for those people filling Scouting's most important job. Scoutmasters taking the time to read this book will find themselves refreshed and inspired, and they will find their ability to live up to the awesome responsibility that they ought feel greatly enhanced. I don't know a single person who has read this book one time... the simple, practical wisdom allows them to continually refer to it as their preferred reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook, July 21, 2004
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
During the Scoutmaster Training many specifics and boiler-plate of the position are explained. When you read Mark's book you see where the rubber meets the road. In page after page of specific examples you will learn how to do it, what can go wrong, how to fix it and how to avoid the problem in the future.

It is a must-share with all your leaders. You may have to give up, reluctantly, the edge it gives you. Remember it is "for the boys"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, January 11, 2007
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
This book provides solid practical ideas on how to handle scouts, patrols and troops. Reading it like spending quality time with a veteran scoutmaster who is talking about what worked during his tenure. I find some of the BSA literature a bit high level or dry, and in contrast The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook is refreshing with plenty of specific suggestions.

Thanks to Mark Ray for his worthwhile effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for new Scout leaders, August 23, 2004
By 
M. G. Collins "Troop 702" (Columbia, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
The book covers the real world stuff which the official Scoutmaster's handbook doesn't. As a new Scoutmaster, I found myself using it as a working guide. It is well written, easily read and an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tool for Adult Leaders, August 24, 2004
By 
Hollang (Ridgefield, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
Short and sweet -- If you're a Scoutmaster or Assistant Scoutmaster of a Boy Scout Troop, buy this book! We bought them for all our Adult Leaders as it's chock full of small, simple and highly practical tidbits. A sure-fire winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big help for a new ASM, August 26, 2005
By 
Phil C. (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
An easy read with lots of practical suggestions with explanations of what makes them practical. Well worth the price/time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for every Scoutmaster, December 11, 2007
This review is from: The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook (Paperback)
This book is incredible. All of the things you have always wanted to know and didn't really want to learn the hard way. Mark Ray tells it the way it should be told. I have used this book numerous times already and have only had it about a month. His thoughtful and sometimes painful insights are exactly what those in charge or working with a Scout Troop need to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook
The Scoutmaster's Other Handbook by Mark Ray (Paperback - June 2003)
$14.95 $13.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.