Customer Reviews


2,548 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,673)
4 star:
 (601)
3 star:
 (172)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


251 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Morton!
It was raining, cold and damp the day I started to read Kate Morton's latest book - The Secret Keeper. And the perfect day to snuggle in to my favourite chair and lose myself in Morton's absolutely wonderful storytelling.

The prologue of The Secret Keeper is a show stopper it will hook you and the tale will keep you enthralled until you turn the last page...
Published on October 16, 2012 by Luanne Ollivier

versus
69 of 88 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, sigh.
I was so eager to read this book and once I did, I felt very let down.

I have read all of Kate Morton's other books and I adore them. But this book left me wanting to call the author and ask what happened? It seemed, with all the back and forth between past and present key character development was left behind. And that's just sad because this book has bones...
Published on October 28, 2012 by AppleGirl44


‹ Previous | 110 11 12255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Keeper, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper (Kindle Edition)
A historical romantic mystery set in England during the war and current times with a twist at the end that I really wasn't expecting. A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TWIST IN THE TALE, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper: A Novel (Hardcover)
Both the long standing fans of Kate Morton's previous novels as well as those for whom THE SECRET KEEPER is a first introduction to this author will have their thirst for a great read completely quenched. This is the perfect novel for dreary winter days in front of the fire and as with her previous novels, Ms. Morton revisits her ongoing predilection for the theme of family secrets. The characters and clues reveal themselves more slowly in this one, as the story moves back and forth between the blitz in WWII England, an event in the 1960's and current times.

With its subtle twists, great settings, addictive writing and characteristic surprise ending, this tale of friendship, love and deception unspools as a successful 60 something year old daughter searches for answers to a past event and to her details of mothers past as she and her siblings attempt to come to terms with their mother's impending death. I will not divulge any more of the plot for fear of disclosing information that will render this reading experience less compelling for the reader. Suffice to say that the allusions and ambiguity created by Ms. Morton are certain to keep readers engrossed and their grey matter stimulated.

If the works of Maeve Binchy, Jeffrey Archer or Iain Pears are listed among your favorite reads, I strongly urge you to give Kate Morton a try. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Keeper, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper (Kindle Edition)
I have loved all of Kate Mortons books,but the The Secret Keeper was the most gripping of all.Loved all the characters and the whole story line.Particularly the twists in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper (Kindle Edition)
this is an excellent well written story that has you gripped from the very start to the very finish, one of the best this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, October 29, 2012
This review is from: The Secret Keeper: A Novel (Hardcover)
'It was the liquid silver flash Laurel would always remember. The way sunlight caught the metal blade, and the moment was briefly beautiful.'

In 1959, when Laurel was sixteen years old she watched as a stranger walked up her driveway, said hello to her mother, before her mother stabbed him to death. But the man wasn't a stranger at all because before he died she heard him speak:
"Hello, Dorothy," the man said. "It's been a long time."

When the police interviewed her mother, Laurel admits to seeing everything. Her mother didn't do anything wrong, that the stranger had attacked her and she had no choice but to do what she had done. Nothing more was ever said about the man's death and Laurel never asked but she the memories of that day never left her.

Fifty years later, Laurel's mother has been hospitalized so she returns to her childhood home to be with her. Returning only revives the memories but this time she's determined to finally find the answers to the mystery that has plagued her for almost her entire life.

The story flashes back and forth between 1940 and present day. As Laurel begins uncovering answers to her mother's past, the truth begins to unfold. There is so much that can be said but shouldn't for fear of ruining the story. Definitely one that truly needs to be experienced to be fully appreciated. Suffice it to say, it was an incredible mystery with intriguing and amazingly well-developed characters; a definite treat.

The immensity of the revelation at the end truly took my breath away. That moment when all is revealed and all the unanswered questions are finally given resolution and you finally see it all in its finality? Oh, the feelings! This book made me feel so much and it was intense, amazing, bittersweet and so poignant. Reading something with such intricate detailing, intersecting storylines that blended beautifully, and an ending I never could have possibly imagined... this was a real gem. I won't be forgetting this story for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wont be able to put it down, as usual., October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper (Kindle Edition)
i found myself wondering if i had read this before, since kate morton's "family history mysteries" end up having a similar story line but i most certainly had not, and it was another lovely, dramatic puzzle.

you can count on kate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it..., October 26, 2012
This review is from: The Secret Keeper: A Novel (Hardcover)
When Laurel Nicholson is sixteen she witnesses a shocking event during a family birthday party which disturbs not just her comfortable existence, but also her belief in what is right and proper in her world. Fifty years later, Laurel returns to her childhood home to be with her dying mother, and the appearance of a long forgotten photograph unleashes memories of a hidden family secret.

What then follows is a cleverly narrated dual time story which explores the ravages of war time London and combines a passionate love story alongside a mystery of epic proportions. The gradual layering of the narrative is skilfully manipulated and because the writing is so good, it is very easy to lose yourself in the story. The characters are all believable and whilst there are some who are not particularly likeable, they all add richness to the story. The dual time element is achieved quite seamlessly, and as the gradual revealing of the secret is exposed there is a real sense of completion. Very cleverly, Kate Morton has taken all the missing pieces of the puzzle links them together to form an unforgettable story of love, desire, deceit and greed.

Kate Morton seems to go from strength to strength; I think that The Secret Keeper is my favourite book so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say--amazing, October 23, 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
THE SECRET KEEPER by Kate Morton

THE SECRET KEEPER is one of those novels that I cannot explain in words. The amazing depth with which Kate Morton pulls the reader into the storyline left me dizzy and at times wondering about the world into which I was pulled.

In 1959 Laurel Nicolson, then 16 years old, witnessed a murder on her family's farm and Laurel knew she had to keep a secret for fear her family would be torn apart. Little did she know that her entire life was built upon a lie. 52 years later, in 2011, Laurel will be called home as her mother lies dying and Laurel is determined to discover the truth behind that fateful day back in 1959. Throughout the story we follow Laurel as she uncovers her mother's secret past through journals, photographs and the ramblings of a dying woman.

THE SECRET KEEPER takes the reader on a journey that spans close to 100 years. From the birth of an author to the death of woman whose heart had been broken too many times, the novel is divided into four sections that overlap each other as the story unfolds. Laurel is the daughter of Dorothy (Dolly) Nicolson, a beloved mother and wife, who raised a family and tended her husband with care and pride. But Laurel and her mother kept a secret that Laurel hoped her mother would finally acknowledge the truth.

The novel travels back and forth from present day to a time before the start of WWII when Laurel's mother was a young woman in love hoping to start a life with the man of her heart. Then in a span of a few years down to a few months, the war would claim more than just the victims of a bomb. Heartbreak and sorrow, betrayal and pain, love and hate all mesh together when the lives of four people will become embroiled in a game of deceit and lies, and in the end, secrets that will be carried to the grave.

The characters are as emotionally colorful as they are distractingly real. You have empathy for a daughter about to lose her connection to the past, but with that comes the realization that everything she thought she knew about her family history had been a total lie. A death bed confession brings about a world of confusion when the mind of a dying old woman cannot be trusted to know fantasy from fact. But something Laurel's mother said would trigger a waterfall of emotion and memories that start Laurel on a path to discover who was the woman they had all called Ma.

THE SECRET KEEPER is an amazing, well-written and emotionally draining look at the family dynamics built on lies and deceit. The character development and world building draws the reader into the storyline as though you were part of the action and conflict. Kate Morton's look into the lives of desperate people during desperate times and it takes the love of a daughter to uncover the truth of what happened in 1941 and how it affected her family and her life in 1959. I cannot say enough about this amazing story. I was pulled in and held on for a ride that I will not soon forget. If you want a recommendation about the next book to read, pick up THE SECRET KEEPER and unravel the mystery alongside Laurel Nicholson as she uncovers the truth behind a life hidden behind a lie started so long ago.

see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morton Scores Again with Her Best Book Yet!, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper: A Novel (Hardcover)
There ought to be a name for this genre, which is a mix of family saga, mystery, gothic and historical. Kate Morton is a contemporary master of this postmodern mash of genres and The Secret Keeper is her most twisty and convoluted page turner yet.

Laurel is sixteen years old, dreaming in a treehouse, awaiting the hour when she will sneak off to meet her first boyfriend and desultorily watching the family birthday party in progress. A man approaches along the quiet country lane and speaks to Laurel's mother, Dorothy, who reacts with horror to the intruder. Laurel witnesses the entire encounter and things aren't ever quite the same.

The Secret Keeper veers between two periods, WWII London during the Blitz and contemporary rural England, where Laurel's mother is dying without ever revealing the truth of the shocking events of that summer day in the early sixties or of her life before marrying Laurel's father and becoming the perfect mother.

In WWII London, Dorothy is an ambitious and dreamy young woman who yearns to marry her handsome photographer boyfriend Jimmy and cement her wartime friendship with the compelling, mysterious and upper class Vivien. The three of them meet and interact in ways that will affect people for generations to come.

The twists in this book are astounding. I have read a lot of these historical family sagas with a family secret as the plot engine and I love them, but I can often figure out at least part of the secret. Not so here. And the reader is given the further challenge that the youthful Dorothy is not nearly as likable as the Dorothy of the early sixties and the Dorothy of the twenty-first century is mostly a sick non-entity, with Laurel taking the lead in narration. Just what happened in the London of the Blitz? Was Jimmy Dorothy's lover? Vivien's? Did Dorothy leave Jimmy in the lurch, an act she has always regretted? What about the mysterious Vivien, dead in a bombing on the very day Dorothy left London, turning her back decisively on her own life? These questions turn and twist in the reader's mind and are never fully answered until the last pages. The Secret Keeper is a wonderful read and Morton has surpassed even her own mighty previous efforts. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenge to readers...., October 21, 2012
By 
Cynthia (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret Keeper: A Novel (Hardcover)
I give a challenge to any reader. I challenge you to be able to pick up this book and have the will power to put it down and walk away. You will NOT be able to do that. This book is the quintessential page turner. High praise to Kate Morton for manipulation of character and time in such a clear, precise manner. I won't talk about plot, I don't do that in any review, one can get that from the book's blurb. This is now one of my favorite books and I'm sure I'll read it many more times. Also, coming from a family with secrets, this book brought out a lot of issues for me. The biggest question is: just who was your mother, what was her life, before she became 'ma'. THANK YOU KATE MORTON!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Secret Keeper: A Novel
The Secret Keeper: A Novel by Kate Morton (Hardcover - October 16, 2012)
$26.99 $18.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.