Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy all of the books that you can by St. Louis de Montfort
Probably the best investment that one can make in one's spiritual life, other than of course buying a Bible, is to spend $100 or so and buy every single book written by St. Louis de Montfort and to read each several times. The books are light and charming and a veritable treasure trove of spiritual insight and inspiration and rich wisdom.

And this book is no...
Published on February 17, 2011 by big reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What is the secret?
The book gave some insight into the history, but failed to talk about Mary on a personal level which is what I was looking for. I feel that she was an amazing woman of her time, and wanted to find out more about her.
Published 4 months ago by Cecile M. Cardone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy all of the books that you can by St. Louis de Montfort, February 17, 2011
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
Probably the best investment that one can make in one's spiritual life, other than of course buying a Bible, is to spend $100 or so and buy every single book written by St. Louis de Montfort and to read each several times. The books are light and charming and a veritable treasure trove of spiritual insight and inspiration and rich wisdom.

And this book is no different. The secret of Mary details ways in which we can become more devoted to the Blessed Virgin, details of her life that contribute to who she is as Mediatrix of grace and Protectress of the faithful, and ways in which devotion to her can vanquish many of the errors and heresies that plague our times.

It is well worth the read, as are all of the other books by St. Louis de Montfort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Value of the book Secret of Mary, November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
The book Secret of Mary is a follow-on book to another book entitled True Devotion to Mary written by St. Louis de Montfort between 1700 and 1716. The Secret of Mary is basically the True Devotion to Mary in short form - that is not to say that it replaces True Devotion to Mary in any way. A much more condensed book than True Devotion to Mary, it contains much of the material that is contained in True Devotion but it is not in as much depth nor should it be used to replace True Devotion to Mary. I love the book The Secret of Mary and say daily and nightly prayers from it every single day. I carry it on any travels so that I will always have both Mary and St. Louis de Montfort with me at all times. I didn't mention but feel that I should - I am a follower of St. Louis de Montfort and have consecrated myself entirely to Jesus Christ through the Blessed Virgin Mary, His mother.

I recommend this book to anyone who has a desire to be closer to Mary and, through her, to her Son Jesus. By the way, there really is a Secret of Mary somewhere in this book and those of us who are already concecrated are not permitted to speak of it. READ THE BOOK -- FIND THE SECRET OF MARY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn something new!, July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
Wow! One is never too old to learn something.
One of the saints carried this with him always and I wondered what it was all about.
Good devotional also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace in your soul and for world peace, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
St. Louis De Montfort brings hope to anyone by bringing him or her to Our Lady of Divine Grace. For She is Our Hope in all turmoil. Consecrating yourself to the Sacred Heart of Jesus through Mary's Immaculate Heart is salvation. Our Lady has always kept Her promise. Also pray the Holy Rosary and wear the Brown Scapular daily and you will see a difference from what you knew before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
This book is a good addition to the True Devotion to Mary: with Preparation for Total Consecration (Illustrated). The language is a little stilted, but it works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Jesus through Mary, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
This book has a great message. It is a small book but it was life changing for me. As the book tells you in the begining do not read if you do not want to know because once you know God will expect you to live it. But it will only bring you peace joy hope wisdom and love. Through Mary to Jesus Just as Jesus came through Mary why would we do it any different. Life changing book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret of Mary, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
This is a small book but is an old volume and a classic. This item arrived as promised in good condition and was sold at a great price. It arrived earlier than had been promised and was exactly what I had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of Mary, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
A must book to read in preparation for Consecration to Jesus through our Blessed Mother. St. Louis de Montfort's method of guiding you to this consecration is nothing short of excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
It is really like the cliff notes from True Devotion to Mary,,,I recommend it as a read immediately after reading the latter as it is a direct summary of it without the anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What is the secret?, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Mary (Paperback)
The book gave some insight into the history, but failed to talk about Mary on a personal level which is what I was looking for. I feel that she was an amazing woman of her time, and wanted to find out more about her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Secret of Mary
The Secret of Mary by St. Louis de Montfort (Paperback - May 1, 1998)
$5.95 $5.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.