Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh Pendragon has earned a place on my keeper shelf!, March 18, 2002
This review is from: The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book had an interesting premise. The Greek gods are still roaming around, causing mischief and mayhem in the human world.
Hugh is a descendent of Hades and Dia is a descendent of Zeus. The back story for "The Seeker" starts 6 months prior to the start of the book. Three seemingly unrelated things occur.
Hugh and Dia meet at a wedding 6 months ago. There was chemistry between them, but neither pursued it.
Also six months ago, Hugh lent some of the famed Pendragon Jewels to museam.
Dia performed a magic show at the same museam.
And Hugh lost his ability to "seek".
Jump ahead six months and you find Dia frantic to locate her sister while trying to avoid being blackmailed by the Greek goddess Demeter.
Hugh is suffering from depression over his lost gift while discovering that one of the jewels he had leant out is now a fake.
Now, Hugh has to figure out the pattern of the jigsaw puzzle. How did the several different events cause him to lose his ability to seek and have him fall in love?
The romance in this one is fun with lots of backstory - at times, i thought some of this backstory was a bit contrived, but all in all, I think it worked well together.
Hugh is all that a romance hero should be. He's strong, powerful, and vulnerable. And although I wasn't that crazy about Dia in the beginning of the book, her character becomes fleshed out enough that I began liking her towards the middle of the book.
This was my first Kathleen Nance book, but it certainly won't be my last.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!, May 14, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Zeke Jupiter (a.k.a. Zeus), owner of Jupiter Fireworks, and Harriet Juneau (a.k.a. Hera), CEO of Peacock Cosmetics, are still working on their "project". This time it is Dia Trelawny, of Leda's line, and Hugh Pendragon, of Hades's line.
Dia is a magician about to go on tour as her sister, Liza, drops her two sets of twins into Dia's life and promptly disappears. Dia is frantic to locate Liza before her tour begins. With Demetria's blackmailing going on the last thing Dia needs is two nieces and two nephews in the line of fire.
Hugh is a detective with the reputation of finding people lost, kidnaped, disappeared, etc. He already knows of Dia and is extremely attracted to her. However, as of six months ago he began losing his psychic talent. The "Soul Seeker" considers himself retired, but Dia is able to put him back into action!
***** An incredible piece of work! Kathleen Nance has taken Greek mythology and turned it into a gold mine! This story is jam packed with action, romance, and suspense. Don't miss out on this awesome tale! I highly recommend it! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nance at her Best!!!!!!!!!, October 31, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Kathleen has created one of freshest concepts in romance: the Immortals. These are children of the Auld Gods set in modern day. Zeus, Hera and gang are from another planet, but were rebel-rousers, so were banished ages ago to Earth. Zeus, now Zeke, owner of a fireworks firm, is ageing (Sean Connery - lol) and he is looking back on life with many regrets. All the children of alliances with him, are troubled, unable to find true love unless they mate with a child descended from another Auld God. He is also sorry for all these problems the many romances caused between Hera and him. So he has decided to play matchmakers for the children of his line, determined to see them happy, and maybe at the same time, mend the troubles between Hera and himself.
In the last book, The Warrior, we met Dia Trelawny - a magician and Hugh Pendragon, a Soul Seeker. Hugh uses his soul seeking powers to be a manhunter for the police - only since meeting Dia his powers are blocked. He needs two cuff bracelets to use the power - though he is not aware of it - one ruby and one opal. Blackmailed by the Goddess Demeter, Dia unknowingly helped switch the opal in one cuff. Now Hugh is troubled with nightmares and unable to call upon the sight to help him in his work. And somehow, he knows Dia holds to key. He comes to realise that he can access the visions when he is in contact with her.
Hera and Zeus arrive on the scene knowing Hugh is the man for Dia, but Demeter has other plans, so it is up to the duo to put things right. Add in Hugh's Butler, Ronald, his jewellery stealing down, Cerberus, Dia's twin nephews and twin nieces, a missing sister and it all spells super fun!!
It is excellently writing, with well painted characters, full of depth and emotion. It is vital, sensual and it will capture you from the very start and keep you hooked the whole time, unable to put it down.
I cannot wait for the next one in the Immortal Series, but it just does not get any better than this. Kathleen's voice and craft just grows with each novel showing she is a fresh talent and a guaranteed super read.
WISE WRITERS AND READERS book of the Month for July 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Way to Pass the Time, October 10, 2006
By 
Rebecca (Shreveport, Lao People's Democratic Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
It did seem to me frequently that Hugh and Dia were not really right for you other. If it were even close to reality, the lust would fade and all the differences would emerge. I guess I never really felt the magic. All in all, it was a readable book without anything to make me sorry I wasted my time reading it. I may try another in this series at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Kathleen Nance, January 22, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another in the series of the Greek Gods(in modern times.) Good story and likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3)
The Seeker (Olympus Series, Book 3) by Kathleen Nance (Mass Market Paperback - January 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.