Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book fit for dreaming
This book is an excellent one for dreaming. The volume looks like a coffee table book; it's large and filled with color pictures. And while John Seymour was able to live a pretty self-sufficient life on a farm, I know it's unlikely I'll ever do so. Nevertheless, reading about all Seymour learned and how he suggests others follow in his footsteps is inspiring...
Published on January 19, 2010 by Kristina Seleshanko

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From a British point of view
Not all the text was clear until I realized the author was using terms not altogether customary in the US.
Published 2 months ago by Raymond E. Eiseman


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truthful and Insightful, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
One of the better self-sufficiency books I have owned or borrowed. Factual, truthful, insightful and makes very good reading. Would recommend it for people who think they want to live in the country and get closer to the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a bit lacking but amazing info, May 24, 2010
By 
Brad Lewis (Jackson Hole, WY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
There is so much information in this book and it really is great, but at times the author rants a bit and there are parts that are very lacking like the keeping of turkeys. No more than a paragraph and that paragraph really lacks necessary information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for learning to be self-sufficient, October 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting book if you want to be self sufficient. I was mostly interested in the poultry section. I would highly recommend for anyone who wants to garden to raising livestock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
Wish this book was more instruction and/or recipe oriented. The author likes to tell you all you need to do to accomplish things, but doesn't really explain in detail "how" to do it. Like he tells you to keep bees for honey and shows different parts of a beehive, but no step by step instructions of how to build the hive. I guess I need more of a beginners manual or the "for dummies" version. Good book otherwise though with lots of ideas and I do like the in-depth growing and harvesting instructions of individual veggies, fruit, and other plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very great reference!, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
We loved this book--it's very helpful information with beautiful drawings throughout. Nice even just leafing through casually; I can see it being a bible to self-sufficient living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substantial, April 12, 2014
By 
Julie Morse (Hillsboro, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
This book was more substantial, in size, and in content that I expected. I see it becoming an invaluable part of my library of books for generations to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
Awesome, covers a lot of stuff. Will use it in many practical applications. This is such a huge subject , but this book gives a great base on all applicable subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 20, 2013
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
Not purchased through Amazon, but a fantastic reference. Gives information on everything from planting and crop rotation, to brewing your own beer, to woodworking, to supplying your own energy. Definitely worth buying if you're interested in any aspect of self-sufficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book. Just as described and came in record time., November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
Awsome book. Will make a great addition to my Collection. Actually provides info I have not yet found in any other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture is worth 1000 words, August 12, 2013
By 
M. Vice (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It (Hardcover)
This book has the most wonderful illustrations that hearken the styles of bygone eras. The copy is filled with easy to understand instructions on such a wide variety of topics from basic gardening to making wine and beer. The "Saving Energy" chapter discusses how to apply an integrated approach to heating and power sources from the basic elements (wind, water, sun and even from waste products), The "Crafts and Skills" section clearly illustrates things you may see when visiting historic Williamsburg and wanted to try your hand at: pottery, weaving, basket-making, making bricks, or woodworking. This is a nice companion for other Mini-Farming and self-sustainable books that touch on topics but may not go into such illustrated details. The "Food from the Garden" chapters have a wonder color illustrated index of vegetables, herbs and fruits that make a quick reference to your family favorites and new varieties you may never have heard of before. Each image in the index contains the page number where you will find details on sowing, growing, pest control, harvesting and storage. There are handy tricks and tips throughout this book to help even the most novice of gardeners increase yield. The book is a complete life overhaul and record of the cumulative knowledge from John Seymour and those he learned from but can be taken in small incremental steps by individuals in our modern "consumer-based" society that wish to return to a more self-sufficient existence in these uncertain economic times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It
The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It by John Seymour (Hardcover - August 17, 2009)
$35.00 $20.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.