Customer Reviews


484 Reviews
5 star:
 (364)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


231 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential expansion to the 4-player game
The 5-6 player expansion set of "The Settlers of Catan" includes the following items:

1) Additional land and ocean tiles that increase the size of the island of Catan from 19 land tiles in the 3-4 player game to 30 land tiles [surrounded by water tiles] for the 5-6 player version.

2) A complete set of 30 numbered discs that matches the new, larger...
Published on January 24, 2008 by ARH

versus
85 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware early Catan core game owners!
I had been excited about getting this to allow more players in our regular game night...however what is not listed is that this is made for the later editions where the water pieces are linked together like a puzzle (not the normal hexagon shaped water pieces). Really.. how hard would it have been to crank out a few water pieces to fit the old editions and toss them in...
Published on February 10, 2010 by Christopher E. Arnold


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

231 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential expansion to the 4-player game, January 24, 2008
By 
ARH (The Shadow of the Tetons) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
The 5-6 player expansion set of "The Settlers of Catan" includes the following items:

1) Additional land and ocean tiles that increase the size of the island of Catan from 19 land tiles in the 3-4 player game to 30 land tiles [surrounded by water tiles] for the 5-6 player version.

2) A complete set of 30 numbered discs that matches the new, larger island.

3) More cards of each type of resource needed to accommodate more players

4) An addendum set of rules for 5-6 playes that introduces interesting new options for building not included in the 3-4 player game.

Oh, you probably know this, but you should be aware that the 5-6 player expansion is not a stand-alone game, you need the 3-4 player game in order to use this expansion.

OK, why buy the expansion? It, of course, allows up to two more players to join in. Also, the rules addendum includes an interesting twist... between-turn bulding. Because 5 or 6 players means longer times between an individual's turn, the between-turn "open building" arrangement allows players to build or buy things with the cards they hold in their hands (no trading with the bank or other players between turns though!). That not only allows players to get farther ahead when it's not their turn, it also allows them to use their cards so that they are less susceptible to "robber's" 7-card in-hand maximum limit if a 7 is rolled. Plus, 5-6 players in the game provides more player-to-player trade options, etc.

All in all an excellent addition to an outstanding game. It's fun, it's durable, it's interactive, and some say, "addictive."

5 stars all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars make sure you match editions, April 5, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
We LOVE to play this game and wanted to expand our current edition. However, we didn't realize that it would be much different from the previous version. You can play them together, just a little confusing. Just make sure if you are expanding that you get the same edition that you already have. This is honestly one of the most fun games we play. I don't even care that my husband always wins when we play - all of the interaction and bargaining makes it enjoyable for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware early Catan core game owners!, February 10, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
I had been excited about getting this to allow more players in our regular game night...however what is not listed is that this is made for the later editions where the water pieces are linked together like a puzzle (not the normal hexagon shaped water pieces). Really.. how hard would it have been to crank out a few water pieces to fit the old editions and toss them in the box... boom, all editions are now covered in one shot.

I'm sad to say I had to return this hours after receiving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catan Rocks as usual, January 6, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
If you are a fan of Catan, the new edition will not disappoint you. If you are new to Catan, you will love it. My family spends a lot of time with this game. The game is complex enough for adults to be challenged and simple enough for your 8-10 year old to play with you. The expansion pack is a must if you would like to be able to play with more than 4 people. My suggestion, pick up the settlers, expansion pack, cities and knights, and the expansion pack for that and you are in for a lot of family fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An all around good time, January 27, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
If you love the game "Risk" but can never find people who are willing to be desroyed by your army, this game is a great alternative. Though there are no plastic soldiers, and the object isn't to conquer the world, Settlers offers a 2-6 player party, and takes around an hour to play.

Cons:
It's expensive, and so are the expansions, but so are Xbox 360 games, and settlers is timeless.
The setup time is around 20min, but that includes everyone placing their first settlements.

Pros:
The gameboard changes everytime you play, so it's always a different challenge. Host's up to six playes (with the expansion). Great social game that let's you hang-out while you're playing. Never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Game, November 12, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
Settlers of Catan has been fun and useful to our family. Our 3 sons (10, 12, and 14) ask to play it any night we are home. Each one of us has won the game at least once, so it is not only an adult game. It has been useful as a simple way to teach how choices determine outcomes. It also forces you to keep your attention on the game, since anyone's roll can give you resource cards. This has been particularly helpful with one son who's attention span is a little short. If he isn't focused on the game and doesn't speak up, he may not realize someone's roll has earned him a resource card.
It takes about 2 hrs to play the game usually since there is a few minutes of setup needed, and we talk and barter too much. Two hrs with our sons laughing and playing with us was well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Quality lacking durability., March 10, 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
Great game for a family! We play with our 5 children ages 9-22 & everyone enjoys it. Causes one to plan ahead, assess the board & strategize for each new game set-up. One must also adjust ones plans as the game develops, so it is covertly educational. I do wish the cardboard border was of a higher quality, I can see that posing a problem as it gets more wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catan + Expansion = better!, March 4, 2010
By 
B. Harrop (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
Even if you've only got 3 or 4 people playing Catan, it's *much* better with the expansion! I find the extra room and resources makes for a better game. Plus, you need this expansion in order to play the expanded Knights and Cities expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Settlers, December 6, 2010
By 
ash "Ash Barksdale" (SHADY SIDE, MD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
We have used this non-stop since we got it several years ago. I cant imagine not being able to play Settlers with only 4 people anymore.
The biggest problem you have to overcome with more players is more cards in your hand, this is a bad thing when someone rolls a 7 and you havent been able to use them all BUT this exansion lets you BUY after each persons turn BUT NOT TRADE (this includes trading into the bank).
Since this expanison gives you a completely different set of number tiles, we keep them in old film canisters (if anyone can find any of these anymore) labeled separately so we can trade between standard and expansion effortlessly.
Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars *Sigh* Well..., January 26, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension (Toy)
This is one of the most fun and addicting games that I have ever played. If I should fail out of college, it will probably have something to do with the amount of time spent playing this game and now I can take even more people down with me. Mad love, Catan... mad love...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Settlers of Catan 5 and 6 Player Extension
$20.00 $18.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.