Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Seven Myths of Gun Control: Reclaiming the Truth About Guns, Crime, and the Second Amendment
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2001
Poe's work is so important because it gives the other, and more importantly the correct, side of the crime and gun control debate. The media has lost all pretense of objectivity and just presenting the facts. Instead they have become the biggest proponents of gun control.
Lacking the depth of analysis of John Lott's fabulous book, "More Guns, Less Crime," Poe's book still fills an important void in the logical argument that needs to be presented.
This is a book every freedom-loving person, and especially woman, in America should read. If you are already a believer in the Second Amendment, this book will give you added ammunition (forgive the pun) in your ability to convince opponents of the errors in their thinking. If you are anti-gun, this book will shatter your preconceived notions and the illogic of the fireams prohibitionists' claims.
The seven myths that are continually and emotionally espoused, but rationally and logically exposed as totally false by Poe, are:
Myth 1: Guns Increase Violent Crime
Myth 2: Pulling a Gun on a Criminal Endangers You More Than the Criminal
Myth 3: Guns Pose a Special Threat to Children
Myth 4: The Second Amendment Applies Only to Militiamen
Myth 5: The Second Amendment Is an Obsolete Relic of the Frontier Era
Myth 6: We Should Treat Guns the Same Way We Treat Cars, Requiring Licenses for All Users
Myth 7: Reasonable Gun-Control Measures Are No Threat to Law-Abiding Gun Owners
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2001
This book is a fast read, and it serves a useful niche taking the research done by others and presenting the work in such a way that it is easily understood by a wide audience. While the book addresses second amendment issues, the biggest emphasis is on how gun control increases crime. It is on this last point that the book relies very, very heavily on John Lott's More Guns, Less Crime and his op-ed pieces. Even though I had read Lott's book, I hadn't read some of his op-ed pieces, so I still got something out of even this discussion. I also think that Poe does a good job of simplifying some of Lott's discussions. My bottom line: is that Poe's book is still a valuable addition to Lott's book.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2002
This book makes you think. Which in itself is worth at least a three star rating. After making you think this book gives you facts. Not emotion, but the honest truth about guns. The only place it falls short is right at the end, and for that I dock it a star.
If you own a gun...read this book
If you are thinking about owning a gun...read this book
If you "hate" guns...read this book
If you "hate" guns and make a living off persuading other people to "hate" like you...then try a differnet book. Because this one sells truth not the stuff you make you living off of.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2002
Anyone who is interested in the gun control debate, whether they are on the gun rights side, anti-freedom (pro-gun control) side, or still sitting on the fence, would do well to read this book. For the gun rights advocates, this book will serve as valuable ammunition against the fear monger liberals who's arguments rely only on emotional pleas to the weak minded. If you're a gun control advocate, you are in serious need of this book. It's time to engage your brain and look at the facts. As for those still sitting on the fence, if this book can't push you in the right direction, nothing can.
In very clear and straightforward language anyone can understand, Richard Poe dispels each and every argument the left has made against guns in the course of the debate. Just see the table of contents above (great feature). Each myth named, he dispels quite clearly and concisely. Not only are the empirical statistic based arguments there, so are the logical and historical arguments. Even if you're relatively new to this topic and haven't done much research on the issue before, this would be the book for you if you are now interested in getting your feet wet. As he dispels the arguments of the left, he also lays down the case for the right.
If you've found yourself believing any one of those myths outlined in the table of contents, or unable to respond to those arguments from the left, this book is for you.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2001
As a firearm owner and supporter of the right of self-protection, I thought that I was familiar with most of the information on liberty and guns. Thankfully, this book proved me wrong.
Mr. Poe includes so much new and astounding information, I had to stop reading on several occasions and ask myself if the stories were true. Of course, statistics and news items were supported with references that the interested reader could use as a starting point for further research. Even if you are familiar with the history of the Swiss militia or with comments made by prominent anti-self-defense hypocrites, this book explores stories and angles untouched by the mainstream media.
Additionally, the epilogue ("The End of Manhood") provides the author's insight on the left's attempt to eradicate masculinity from American culture.
I am going to buy additional copies of this book and send them to my misguided, gun control supporting friends. I know that if I still believed as they do, this book would force me to question my life philosophy.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2001
The Seven Myths of Gun Control is a GREAT book.

I just finished reading this book last night. You absolutely must read this book if you are a 2nd ammendment supporter! Especially if you are male. I read this one from cover to cover right after I finished John Lott's book More Guns, Less Crime, and it is a great companion book to that one. Lott's book is full of great information (statistical data), but it reads like a college textbook. Poe's book is a smooth, interesting & a quick read. It was hard to put down. I sat up evenings reading this and I took it to work to read at lunch. Now I want my son, my wife and my co-workers to read it. I recommend it as required reading for anyone who feels that owning and carrying a gun is your God-given right.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2002
To quote from the 4/26/02 NYT:
"ERFURT, Germany, April 26 - In a rampage shooting eerily evoking the likes of Columbine, but even more deadly, a recently expelled student today entered his former school here and methodically killed 17 people, going room to room with a rifle and a handgun, before turning a gun on himself.
It was one of the worst school killings of its type anywhere, the kind of violence that Germans and indeed most Europeans have considered an overwhelmingly American problem. The rampage seemed all the more disturbing because it occurred in a country with gun-control laws so strict that the number of shooting deaths nationwide each year is barely half that of New York."
Gun control laws do not stop criminals!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2002
I find it amazing how well and how much this book tells us about common sense reguarding gun control, guns and their rolls in crime and as a constitutional right. Not the common sense Sarah Brady talks about. The common sense she talks about is gullibillity. Before you dismiss me as bias I have looked long and hard at both sides of the argument reading information from both HCI and the NRA. You will see the anti-gun advocates fueled by more emotion than logic in their arguments. I have worked in a prison and have heard just how much of a joke the inmates believe gun conrol is. For those who are for more gun control, put your biased attitude aside before reading this if you can. Just keep an open mind.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2002
Hey there, Mr. April 22nd, your asseveration about Germany's supposed utopian gunless society just got shot all to pieces in a high school in Erfurt. I lived in "Schoene Deutschland" for four years, and I can tell you with unwavering certainty that I would have been safer walking the streets if I'd been packing iron. Have you perchance seen the "sparkling diversity" of unsavory characters strolling the Fussgangerplatzes in Frankfurt, Dresden and Berlin lately? If so, you must certainly recognize why the Polizei carry Uzis along with their 9mm sidearms, and often wear body armor in the course of their daily activities.
All I can say is that I live by the mantra, "Never bring a knife to a gunfight." And this book by Poe and Horrowitz provides the arrows we all need to stock our quivers for the fight against the forces of "1984", "Farenheit 451" and "Brave New World." At the grave risk of further hackneying an already shop-worn banality, I'll still aver that "If guns are outlawed, then only outlaws will have guns."
Incidentally, what do you reckon might have been different about the Erfurt incident, or Columbine for that matter, if some of the teachers and administrators had been packing 50-cal Cobras or 45 Hog-Legs? Future discussion of the "Big Bang" concept would likely have taken on a new complexion.
I think you should move to France.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2004
I've long been an advocate of the Second Amendment and have digested lots of writing about it, and Poe's book is among the best I've read. His arguments are grounded in common sense, and he presents plenty of evidence to support his claims.

My opening sentence's inclusion of the Second Amendment surely has a lot of anti-gun advocates interrupting with, "but the Second Amendment was about the militia, not the people." Poe sweeps that argument into the dust pan by examining the circumstances surrounding the creation of the Second Amendment, and also pointing out that a government hardly needs to stipulate the legality of arming its troops. With the misinterpretation argument finished, the anti-gun advocate would switch tactics by saying that those were different times. Poe shoots that down by showing plenty of instances around the world where disarmament proved catastrophic for the people, then talks about the Swiss system of armed citizenry that has served that country well. Poe continues in this way to counter the anti-gun spin.

The seven myths addressed, Poe digs into issue of declining masculinity and its causes. He also poses a few interesting questions about the psychology of some "poisoned crusader" anti-gun activists.

One issue Poe didn't directly address is what I call the pact of mutual weakness. Some people distrust their neighbors and believe that keeping everybody in a position of equal strength, and keeping that level strength weak enough to be easily controlled by the government, is the best way to keep society in check. But if you've read Poe's book, the response to that idea is obvious. Criminals will always exist, and obligating people to exist in the naive hope that the constabulary will always be there for them is to relegate the society to sheep that, for the flock's (or maybe shepherd's) interests, must occasionally be sacrificed to the wolf.

You have a few choices. You can read this book and learn about the argument for armed citizenry, you can pretend the whole issue doesn't apply to you, or you can call Poe a monster for evening taking up the issue. The first choice is the most responsible. Taking the other two would just be cheating yourself.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse