Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the Other Side of the Gun Control Debate
Poe's work is so important because it gives the other, and more importantly the correct, side of the crime and gun control debate. The media has lost all pretense of objectivity and just presenting the facts. Instead they have become the biggest proponents of gun control.
Lacking the depth of analysis of John Lott's fabulous book, "More Guns, Less Crime,"...
Published on November 22, 2001 by L. Bruno

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Arguments, but not presented well
I will reveal my bias at the beginning and state that I agree with Mr. Poe's premise, namely, that gun control is unconstitutional and ineffective and that the predominant arguments offered for gun control do not support gun control. Yet I find that his arguments were not well presented. For example, many of his arguments were made on the basis of anecdote. While...
Published on July 20, 2001 by Steven M. Wells


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the Other Side of the Gun Control Debate, November 22, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Poe's work is so important because it gives the other, and more importantly the correct, side of the crime and gun control debate. The media has lost all pretense of objectivity and just presenting the facts. Instead they have become the biggest proponents of gun control.
Lacking the depth of analysis of John Lott's fabulous book, "More Guns, Less Crime," Poe's book still fills an important void in the logical argument that needs to be presented.
This is a book every freedom-loving person, and especially woman, in America should read. If you are already a believer in the Second Amendment, this book will give you added ammunition (forgive the pun) in your ability to convince opponents of the errors in their thinking. If you are anti-gun, this book will shatter your preconceived notions and the illogic of the fireams prohibitionists' claims.
The seven myths that are continually and emotionally espoused, but rationally and logically exposed as totally false by Poe, are:
Myth 1: Guns Increase Violent Crime
Myth 2: Pulling a Gun on a Criminal Endangers You More Than the Criminal
Myth 3: Guns Pose a Special Threat to Children
Myth 4: The Second Amendment Applies Only to Militiamen
Myth 5: The Second Amendment Is an Obsolete Relic of the Frontier Era
Myth 6: We Should Treat Guns the Same Way We Treat Cars, Requiring Licenses for All Users
Myth 7: Reasonable Gun-Control Measures Are No Threat to Law-Abiding Gun Owners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done popularized version of earlier work, December 26, 2001
By A Customer
This book is a fast read, and it serves a useful niche taking the research done by others and presenting the work in such a way that it is easily understood by a wide audience. While the book addresses second amendment issues, the biggest emphasis is on how gun control increases crime. It is on this last point that the book relies very, very heavily on John Lott's More Guns, Less Crime and his op-ed pieces. Even though I had read Lott's book, I hadn't read some of his op-ed pieces, so I still got something out of even this discussion. I also think that Poe does a good job of simplifying some of Lott's discussions. My bottom line: is that Poe's book is still a valuable addition to Lott's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, May 8, 2002
By 
Robert (ALPENA, MICHIGAN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book makes you think. Which in itself is worth at least a three star rating. After making you think this book gives you facts. Not emotion, but the honest truth about guns. The only place it falls short is right at the end, and for that I dock it a star.
If you own a gun...read this book
If you are thinking about owning a gun...read this book
If you "hate" guns...read this book
If you "hate" guns and make a living off persuading other people to "hate" like you...then try a differnet book. Because this one sells truth not the stuff you make you living off of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must for anyone interested in gun control., September 29, 2002
By 
Christopher Raissi (Marietta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Anyone who is interested in the gun control debate, whether they are on the gun rights side, anti-freedom (pro-gun control) side, or still sitting on the fence, would do well to read this book. For the gun rights advocates, this book will serve as valuable ammunition against the fear monger liberals who's arguments rely only on emotional pleas to the weak minded. If you're a gun control advocate, you are in serious need of this book. It's time to engage your brain and look at the facts. As for those still sitting on the fence, if this book can't push you in the right direction, nothing can.
In very clear and straightforward language anyone can understand, Richard Poe dispels each and every argument the left has made against guns in the course of the debate. Just see the table of contents above (great feature). Each myth named, he dispels quite clearly and concisely. Not only are the empirical statistic based arguments there, so are the logical and historical arguments. Even if you're relatively new to this topic and haven't done much research on the issue before, this would be the book for you if you are now interested in getting your feet wet. As he dispels the arguments of the left, he also lays down the case for the right.
If you've found yourself believing any one of those myths outlined in the table of contents, or unable to respond to those arguments from the left, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, October 21, 2001
By A Customer
In the past, I tacitly believed many of these myths. If you
believe any of these statements, then you must read this book:
- Guns increase violent crime
- Pulling a gun on a criminal endangers you more than the criminal
- Guns pose a special threat to kids
- The 2nd Amendment applies only to miliamen
- The 2nd Amendment is obsolete
- We should treat guns as cars, requiring licenses
- "Reasonable" gun control is not a threat
The author writes in an easy-reading style, working in statistics
as well as many anecdotes. If you haven't thought deeply
about these issues and your opinion has been shaped by the
mainstream media, then you MUST read this. Everybody
else should read it anyway -- no matter which side of the fence
you are on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overall coverage of the issue, February 16, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a book that must be absorbed with an open mind. For most conservatives and gun-nuts, it simply provides a very enjoyable read. For hardcore leftists, well, they simply wouldn't pick it up to begin with. But it is a fantastic book for those who are still "on the fence" who need a book with a logical, common-sense approach to the gun control debate. Too many times, liberal gun-control advocates(such as Rosie), get up and scream their beliefs in the face of anybody who will listen. They allow emotion to cloud their judgment.

This book relentlessly chews into the seven primary myths of gun control, and does it very effectively. By the end of the book, there is no doubt in your mind that the only solution to the gun control debate is to end all compromise with liberals and prevent any more gun control laws from being passed. We must return to our roots, as a nation of riflemen, if we are to reduce crime and violence and restore a true sense of patriotism among our children.

It's worth considering that EVERY single scholar who has seriously researched the statistics of gun laws and crime rates, just as John Lott did with his book, "More Guns, Less Crime", has turned over to the conservative side. Nobody who really trys to understand the truth goes back to the liberal point of view. People who are for gun control usually have allowed their own feelings to decide for them. This book will clear away all doubt.

For anyone who has an interest in this critical nationwide issue, or knows somebody who does, this book needs to be in your hands as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New information and convincing arguments, July 23, 2001
As a firearm owner and supporter of the right of self-protection, I thought that I was familiar with most of the information on liberty and guns. Thankfully, this book proved me wrong.
Mr. Poe includes so much new and astounding information, I had to stop reading on several occasions and ask myself if the stories were true. Of course, statistics and news items were supported with references that the interested reader could use as a starting point for further research. Even if you are familiar with the history of the Swiss militia or with comments made by prominent anti-self-defense hypocrites, this book explores stories and angles untouched by the mainstream media.
Additionally, the epilogue ("The End of Manhood") provides the author's insight on the left's attempt to eradicate masculinity from American culture.
I am going to buy additional copies of this book and send them to my misguided, gun control supporting friends. I know that if I still believed as they do, this book would force me to question my life philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Pro-Gun Book, November 12, 2001
By A Customer
The Seven Myths of Gun Control is a GREAT book.

I just finished reading this book last night. You absolutely must read this book if you are a 2nd ammendment supporter! Especially if you are male. I read this one from cover to cover right after I finished John Lott's book More Guns, Less Crime, and it is a great companion book to that one. Lott's book is full of great information (statistical data), but it reads like a college textbook. Poe's book is a smooth, interesting & a quick read. It was hard to put down. I sat up evenings reading this and I took it to work to read at lunch. Now I want my son, my wife and my co-workers to read it. I recommend it as required reading for anyone who feels that owning and carrying a gun is your God-given right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to pop the bubble of the reviewer from MA, April 26, 2002
By 
TR80118 (Larkspur, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To quote from the 4/26/02 NYT:
"ERFURT, Germany, April 26 - In a rampage shooting eerily evoking the likes of Columbine, but even more deadly, a recently expelled student today entered his former school here and methodically killed 17 people, going room to room with a rifle and a handgun, before turning a gun on himself.
It was one of the worst school killings of its type anywhere, the kind of violence that Germans and indeed most Europeans have considered an overwhelmingly American problem. The rampage seemed all the more disturbing because it occurred in a country with gun-control laws so strict that the number of shooting deaths nationwide each year is barely half that of New York."
Gun control laws do not stop criminals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reason and logic, September 9, 2002
By 
J. Crossland (Chesapeake, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I find it amazing how well and how much this book tells us about common sense reguarding gun control, guns and their rolls in crime and as a constitutional right. Not the common sense Sarah Brady talks about. The common sense she talks about is gullibillity. Before you dismiss me as bias I have looked long and hard at both sides of the argument reading information from both HCI and the NRA. You will see the anti-gun advocates fueled by more emotion than logic in their arguments. I have worked in a prison and have heard just how much of a joke the inmates believe gun conrol is. For those who are for more gun control, put your biased attitude aside before reading this if you can. Just keep an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Seven Myths of Gun Control: Reclaiming the Truth About Guns, Crime, and the Second Amendment
Used & New from: $0.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.