Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpenter Hits Home Run with The Seven Outs, November 18, 2008
By 
Daniel L. Rundhaug (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
"The Seven Outs" by Dr. Brian Carpenter presents the reader with an intriguing story about leadership within Charter Schools. Following a similar writing style as Patrick Lencioni, Carpenter first invites the reader into a fable, which could be mistaken for real-life drama. As the Breezy Palms Charter School faces an unexpected hurdle, the school's recently-hired chief executive - Paul - steps up to the plate to lead this struggling school. He is able to guide the organization through a very simple, yet profound method for strategic planning: The Seven Outs. As the fable comes to a conclusion, Carpenter then provides further in-depth analysis of the Seven Outs - how to incorporate them, and why they are important. This book is a must-read for those in leadership within Charter Schools. However, Carpenter's work goes beyond usefulness for Charter Schools alone, as the principles he submits are transferrable to any organization that is serious about strategic planning. Mastering the Seven Outs will ensure that you will not be left out of the strategic planning process in your organization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource - A Must-Read for School Leaders, December 1, 2008
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
This is a very well-written, insightful work that presents ideas which are being borne out through my own research into effective charter school practices. The charter schools I work with that are doing a good job with high-poverty student populations appear to be more or less following the steps Dr. Carpenter recommends. The strategies recommended in The Seven Outs are intuitive, effective and will definitely help improve school perfomance.

As someone who has been working in and around charters for the last ten years, I have not yet seen a more effective tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Charter Leaders, November 9, 2008
By 
David Morris (Fountain Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
With his latest book, Dr. Carpenter has encapsulated how to be an effective charter school leader. Those who accept the responsibilities of Board and executive leadership can truly take-away many strategic ideas and guidance from this short read. By positioning the reader, first as an observer of a hypothetical Board, then deconstructing the pitfalls of poor governance and clearly presenting effective governance principles, The Seven Outs, is an invaluable addition to a Board library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read (which is atypical for strategic planning and ..., September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
This was a very well-written book, easy to read (which is atypical for strategic planning and management books!) and very relevant to my charter school board. I recommended that every member read it. It is one of the most effective descriptions of the purpose and goals for charter planning that I have ever seen. My board was already well down the path of governance vs management, but it would have been tremendously helpful to have had this earlier in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great information and straightforward easy to read format, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
Brian has an uncanny ability of taking the most daunting and overwhelming topics and breaking them down into easily digestible, highly informative and actionable models that yeild big results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Seven Outs, August 5, 2012
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
Very informative. Direct and to the point. Gives great focus. If someone is going to be on a board or wants to start their own charter then this is the book for you. It is a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much-appreciated resource for charter school leaders, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
Our district used Dr. Carpenter for our school board training and I enjoyed his presentation. So obviously, when I saw that he'd published a book, I quickly purchased it. I read dozens of books on school leadership each year. However, it's rare to find a book that is specifically for charter schools. Dr. Carpenter's years of educational experience gives the advantage of comparing traditional districts and charter schools. I've passed my copy on to a principal in our district and she's sharing the same positive experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 7 Outs, April 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools (Hardcover)
The book is a quick and informative read on why boards exists, the strategic plan and a wonderful "how to" guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools
The Seven Outs: Strategic Planning Made Easy for Charter Schools by Brian L. Carpenter (Hardcover - September 1, 2008)
$29.95 $24.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.