Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Maxwell Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars12
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 17, 2006
If you are researching an academic paper this, obviously,is not for you. If you are interested in the subject and want an interesting and entertaining programme to watch then I can heartily recommend this DVD. Often I read reviews in which a programme is criticised for not being exhaustive, if an exhaustive account is what you are looking for then look in the "Books" catergory. Sometimes details are generalised for the sake of brevity but, although I was aware of this, I never found it reduced the overall enjoyment. I would have given it 5 stars had there been more in the way of expert interviews, but that is just my preference. The computer graphics were great and since buying this DVD a few months ago I have watched it three times. The extra features are excellent.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2004
I highly recommend this video - I teach Honors Ancient History and to my knowledge there isn't a better DVD on this topic.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2006
This film was aboslutley wonderful!! I used to teach history at the University level and found this video very useful to both my students and peers. In addition, it was refreshing to see people of different cultures played by actors who actually looked the part. No wonder this film won so many awards!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
I am a fan of history, so this is right up my alley, so to speak. The ancient wonders covered here are the classic ones, Pharos, Zeus's statue, the Hanging gardens, the pyramids, and so on. The presentation is fantastic, and very well done. A little short on history, but each site is brought to life vividly and in detail. The narrator does a great job of keeping you informed, pointing out what is known, and what is speculation. I highly recommend this film to all who are interested in these once proud places. This film sure satisfies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2007
Throughout history, ancient civilizations were skilled at creating amazing sculpture and architecture that is still inspiring even today. Knowing that they didn't employ modern day construction techniques and didn't posses the tools we have now makes it even more incredible how these wonders were built on such a massive scale.

During the program, besides getting a brief history lesson on each of the monuments, there is ample time given to demonstrating the antiquated but interesting methods used to erect some of these huge structures. Also looked at are the then known studies of math and physics and how they figured into the design and construction processes.

Unfortunately in today's world, the only great wonder left out of the original seven is the Pyramid of Giza. But thanks to computer graphics and digital rendering, you can still see the other 6 wonders reconstructed (redrawn) as they would have looked in ancient times and they are simply amazing in every way.

`The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World' is an entertaining and informative documentary from start to finish. The narration from Pierce Brosnan is clear and distinct, the video footage is very nice to look at, and there are 4 worthwhile extra features that compliment the main program in several ways. This is recommended viewing for anyone who likes this type of material. Also, the distributor of this program, Questar, also has another excellent DVD titled `America's National Parks - A video tour of all 55 National Parks' and this is also highly recommended viewing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2007
This DVD was a good presentation of the seven ancient wonders of the world, but is rather short, and basic in terms of the information provided.
For anyone who has seen the BBC documentary on the 7 Wonders of the Industrial World (which was exceptionally done), this one is somewhat limited.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
Excellent condition. DVD in sealed wrapper. Played perfectly. Excellent movie showed ancient life and times. Great special
effects and information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Was a gift for a relative and he liked it....would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
The sound rises and falls so much I am throwing it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
Great product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse