Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of battles and great characters! Great Fantasy Novel!
The Shadowbearer is a prequel to Terry C. Simpson's Etchings of Power (Aegis of The Gods #1) (My review HERE). As far as prequels go, I thought this one made a strong showing. Perfect for those just beginning in this rich, well-thought out world, and fans of the first book will get some extra insight into how the world became what it was in Etchings of Power...
Published on May 12, 2012 by Jackie M.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shadowbearer Is Good!
The Shadowbearer is a prequel to Terry C. Simpson's Aegis of the Gods fantasy series, and while it has some shortcomings, it does an excellent job of introducing a reader to this world of Mater (magic) while telling a tale filled with warfare and politics, intrigue and treachery, heroic characters and vile creatures. Throw in a bit of world building and magic system...
Published 10 months ago by W. Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of battles and great characters! Great Fantasy Novel!, May 12, 2012
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
The Shadowbearer is a prequel to Terry C. Simpson's Etchings of Power (Aegis of The Gods #1) (My review HERE). As far as prequels go, I thought this one made a strong showing. Perfect for those just beginning in this rich, well-thought out world, and fans of the first book will get some extra insight into how the world became what it was in Etchings of Power.

Stefan Dorn is the one we follow in this installment. He's a battle-hardened warrior and immensely loyal to his family and King. His army of The Unvanquished have fought for decades. After what should be this army's last battle, Stefan wants peace for himself and his men. They have more than earned it. After years away from home things aren't what he expects upon his return.

Stefan is a steadfast, strong character. He makes the right decision regardless of what the cost may be. His only weakness comes in the form of his family. He loves them with a passion and would do anything for them. King Nerian has been an important person in Stefan's life for years and a personal hero to Stefan. I have to say that Nerian doesn't hold up well under the pressure of power he has gained. He makes a wonderful villain!

The Shadowbearer is just as full of epic battles, evil nemesis, and twisted plottings that were in Etchings of Power. I should also mention that the 'magic' system used in the books is well-thought out and very unique. This is a series I'll enjoy keeping up with :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Good Fantasy, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
This puts hero back int heroic fantasy. Stefan Dorn's struggles between his vow and what is right make for a very entertaining read. It also gives a lot of insight into Mr. Simpson's world. Very enjoyable and hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shadowbearer, June 7, 2012
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
The Shadowbearer: Prequel (The Aegis of Gods)

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Knight Commander Stefan Dorn, leader of the Unvanquished, has known only war, death and, victory. All in the name of his loyalty to King Nerian the Lightbearer, a man he idolized. Until now.

Everything he thought he knew about the King, his people, and his world is coming to an end. At a time when there should be peace, he's once again called to war.

Torn between shocking changes at home, his family, loyalty to his men and his King, Stefan wishes only to enjoy life away from the battlefield. But with the new campaign comes a rabid, unforgiving enemy and a potential cataclysm.
Follow him as he fights to save his family, his people, his honor, and his birthright from the grips of the shade. Can he save them all? If not, which will he choose, which will he lose?

The Shadowbearer is a rousing and engaging prequel to Etchings of Power and a worthy addition to the Aegis of the Gods series.

The Shadowbearer is the second book in the Aegis of Gods Series by T. C. Simpson. The book centres on Stefan Dorn, a Knight Commander in the Seti and Leader of the army.

Having read Etchings of Power and knowing T. C. Simpsons work my standards were set pretty high. I am very pleased to say those standards were met and pushed even further.

The book opens straight into the action, with our Protagonist, Stefan, at a battle to conquer opposing nations to bring them into the Setian Empire. After the battle we learn that Stefan is also known as Stefan the Steadfast and that he commands an army known as The Unvanquished.

We also see his more human side that wants his soldiers, who have fought and bled for him and their King, Nerian, to have peace and be allowed to go home and settle down, have families and peaceful lives.

One thing that is done particularly well within this book are the battles and fight scene's, T. C. has found a balance between describing and actively engaging in a big scale battle or smaller fight and also at times just highlighting key moments or bypassing the events and addressing them after the fact. Which give the story a very smooth flow and doesn't bog it down with too much description, which is an easy mistake to make.

The story takes twists and turns where characters have unexpected changes and become the villains or become heroes that you support. We see a few familiar characters from Etchings of Power that are in a very unfamiliar role.

Even though the Shadowbearer is the second book in the Aegis of The Gods, it does not require you to have read Etchings of Power. You could comfortably read this story first and then go onto Etchings as it fulfils the role of prequel perfectly.

As with Etchings, T. C. makes it very difficult to review a story without giving away too much. So I will summarise that, this book is absolutely fantastic, it meets the standards of its predecessor and pushes the bar higher. My only complaint about The Shadowbearer is that it was not long enough, as you want the story to continue and allow you to stay immersed in the incredible world that is Denestia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shadowbearer Is Good!, September 17, 2013
By 
W. Adams (Southeastern USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Shadowbearer is a prequel to Terry C. Simpson's Aegis of the Gods fantasy series, and while it has some shortcomings, it does an excellent job of introducing a reader to this world of Mater (magic) while telling a tale filled with warfare and politics, intrigue and treachery, heroic characters and vile creatures. Throw in a bit of world building and magic system description and you have a story that is well worth a try.

The novella is told through the eyes of one Stefan Dorn "the Steadfast", Knight Commander of the Setian Empire and beloved friend to King Nerian the Lightbearer. Stefan has led the Setian warhost for years; his warriors having waded through rivers of blood for him and their people, carving out an empire for their king, and in doing so having become immortalized as The Unvanquished. And now, they find themselves on the cusp of final victory; their endless wars complete with one final victory. Peace and glory almost within their grasp.

But like all things, Stefan and the Unvanquished's well earned peace begins to slip away even as they reach for it, because things are not well with their beloved King Nerian. Stefan himself can sense it upon his return home, but soon, he learns things are even worse than he had feared: suspicion, accusations, and intrigue disrupting the once tranquil landscape of the capital. And so Stefan finds himself caught between his lifelong love and respect for Nerian and his growing suspicions that madness lurks behind the eyes of the Lightbearer.

Never having read Mr. Simpson's Aegis of the Gods, this was my introduction to that fantasy world, and I enjoyed my time there. But as I alluded to earlier, there were a few problems I had with the novella as a whole and would feel remiss without pointing out.

One, the magic system was very difficult to actually understand, not because Mr. Simpson did not attempt to explain it but rather that it was too convoluted, too complex perhaps.

Two, the world of Denestia is large, filled with history and lore, but in a novella, there was just not enough room to world building effectively, and so Mr. Simpson was forced to throw too much information at a reader, which - at least in my case - caused me to flounder around wondering who was who too many times.

Third - and lastly - there is a time shift about halfway through the novella, where the tale of Stefan jumps ahead in time over a decade. Now, while I understand that the author was forced to do this to finish the story, it ruined what had been developing into an intriguing plot for me.

To summarize, this is a novella well worth a try, even with its flaws, and it did intrigue me enough to consider downloading the first book in the series Etchings of Power and giving Aegis of the Gods a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start to an epic fantasy., April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
Having read many of the top, classic names in fantasy and epic fantasy, I can easily say that this book can hold its own. The magic system was well thought out, the characters well developed, and the culture of Denestia very diverse. Simpson plays upon ideas typically found in scifi when creating various races, yet doesn't take away from the historical fantasy feel. Giving enchanted weapons a name was a very smart move as well.

This book was also a smooth read. I didn't feel that I was pulled in different directions or that I got lost. For the one person who hated the book - clearly the person wasn't used to a verbally heavy read. I had felt that my intelligence was sated for once. Being a David Eddings fan as well, I appreciate bigger words that are appropriately executed. Simpson may not have the same quiet, dry humor as Eddings, but I did appreciate the humor used in this and his other Aegis books.

Any real fan of fantasy will enjoy this book and this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gods have visited, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this fantasy. It kept me rivited to my chair waiting to see what would happen next. I can't wait to get into the next book. I really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars difficult to connect to, September 20, 2013
By 
Mr Karats (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
Although the Shadowbearer does have an excessive amount of battles, able to satisfy the most bloodthirsty of readers, its characters and plot left me indifferent. I couldn't connect to them or the story for long in order to appreciate the imagery given in the battles. Recommended to readers with a knack for...well, battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shadowbearer, August 14, 2013
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
Hi found this book to be an enjoyable way to relax and easy to follow storylines with out being over simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing..., August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
The book is a prequel even though it came out after the series were written and since I like reading things in order to not get confused, I've chose to start off with the prequel. Now your introduced to things in the world all pretty fast and if you don't read it through all at once then you'll get confused. I've made that mistake. I was reading three books, the lost stories, and the emrald atlas, and this one all at once and ended up putting this one aside. Now when I decide to continue the story I feel as if I have to start over to get into again. But I remember the story being interesting so I'm giving this really a 2.5. If you want to read this book only focus on it or else you'll be confused and would have to start reading it over some other time if you choose to. It's action packed but there's a lot of narrative to. I would recommend only reading this if you don't have any other books in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of exciting action!, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shadowbearer (Aegis of The Gods Book 0) (Kindle Edition)
Extremely enjoyable reading from start to almost the conclusion. It's about a hero who leads the Army to victory each time, but finds out that his king has become insane with power. The king doesn't mind sacrificing his soldiers, as long as he wins the battles. Lots of sword (weapon) fights and the use of magic. I didn't like the way the book ended, as it left too many questions unanswered. Sort of like saying it's to be continued, and yet none of his books continue from where this book left off. for example: Did this couple end up having another child to weld the magic sword? If so so was it a female or male. How successful was that individual in stopping the power hungry king of evil?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.