Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satyricon's best release.., March 30, 2003
By 
en norsk kis (Ottestad, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
This is raging, cold black metal, with a medieval touch of acoustic guitars and choirs. Very atmospheric...
Satyr's vocals have never topped the vocals he's got on this masterpiece. Grim, rasping and hateful, just like it should be.
"Hvite krists dod" is a black metal classic with its brilliant, straightforward lylics and killer riffs.
The amazing thing about Satyricon is that they use synth and acoustic guitars, but they still manage to maintain the brutal old school-feeling.
If you like this also try Ulver - Bergtatt
(It's even better!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful......, April 13, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
"The Shadowthrone" is the 2nd chapter in Satyr's story of conquest. He's already conquered the dark castle in the deep forest and is now on a quest to gain control of the Shadowthrone, before he summons the powers of hell to conquer the world with.
This album is my favorite from Satyricon. It is an epic, monstrous piece of work. The Norwegian influences are also here. Out of all the band's albums, this is their most melodic and atmospheric (next to "Dark Medieval Times"). Ah yes, amazing Black Metal this is.
The record kicks off with "Hvite Krists DÝd", which starts off with a menacing growl for the first few seconds and kicks into a driving, pummeling rhythm. During the last couple minutes, you also hear Satyr and his army of gothic warriors singing Norwegian blasphemous chants as they march through the forest (Yes, Satyr actually SINGS in this album!). "In The Mist By The Hills", starts off with a cool guitar riff and slowly gets faster from there, until it finally kicks into a fast blast beat, where you can almost picture a battle in the dark forest.
"Woods To Eternity" is a very atmospheric song, which creates eerie atmospheric effects in the background over the ripping guitars and drums (as well as haunting acustic guitars). In "Vikingland", we hear Satyr shouting chants of war with a group of Vikings as they ride into battle through the forest (The choir is done by Satyr himself). Again, the lyrics are Norwegian. The ending even has Satyr moaning in a very deep, haunting, melodic tone.
"Dominions Of Satyricon" begins with the beatings of war drums and then kicks into a grooving beat with great guitars. You can almost picture Satyr marching into the domains with his army to reclaim the homeland, with the intense battles being illustrated in the faster parts (including the hyper-speed blast beats before the ending part). After the fight, Satyr summons the northern spirit to protect his lands while he goes to battle for the power of the Shadowthrone, and that's when "The King Of The Shadowthrone" kicks in (it's also my favorite song on the whole album). This is when he puts up a fight with the king of the throne to claim it for himself. When the beautiful folk guitar kicks in and Satyr says, "I am spirit, I am stone, and I am immortal", you know he has won the fight, and thus became the new king of the Shadowthrone.
Finally, the album closes with "I En Svart Kiste" (which translates to "In A Black Casket"). This is the most beautiful work Satyr has ever composed. Due to the name, it can be best described as a feunral theme. I personally think that the album would not be complete without it. There is not much in words that can describe it's gloomy, melancholic beauty.
Satyr's vocals are more similar to "Dark Medieval Times", but this is the only album from him so far that features melodic singing from him. It's quite beautiful and fits the atmosphere well, just as his raspy growl fits more intense parts. His guitar work (along with Samoth's) is also quite technical and fast here. Frost is AMAZING at the drums and percussion, as usual. It also helps to give the songs a more chaotic (when a battle is meant to be illustrated, that is) and atmospheric feel. The keyboards are also the best of all Satyr's works.
The production is good. The sound is a little thin ("Dark Medieval Times", despite the fact it has the worst production out of all Satyricon records, had a thicker sound), but it is still very listenable. The guitar is jagged, the bass is audible, and the drums are always there for the ears. The mixing is also near perfect.
The music itself is epic, well-crafted, dark, beautiful, and complex. Not dizzyingly complex like Dream Theater or Cradle of Filth, but complex none the less. There are strong Viking influences in this album, as well as a touch of Norwegian folk (especially in "The King of the Shadowthrone").
All in all, an AMAZING Black Metal piece no fan of the genre should be left without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant release from Satyr and Frost, March 18, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
This is sometimes considered the quintessential Satyricon release (myself, I prefer Dark Medieval Times, but this album is a CLOSE second,) and it certainly is marvellous. And unlike Emperor, Satyricon were able to create a sevond full-length album that was more epic than the first, without being pompous and melo-dramatic. Where DMT was more folk/medieval, this album is conspicuously more Viking metall-ish. There is even a Viking metal song to be found on this disc (the aptly-titled "Vikingland") The musicianship is tighter on this release, and the song-writing is slightly less minimalistic (which some consider to be an improvement.) Satyr's vocals are also amazing, being very fierce and raspy, yet not overly so. Frost gives another astounding performance. There seems to be just slightly less of an emphasis on the use of the acoustic guitar on this album, as compared to DMT, and to regain the balance, there is a slightly higher use of keyboards, for ambience and atmosphere. Satyr even experiments a bit with some clean vocalled passages! And he conquers these quite well, too. Lyrically, this album follows the pattern of DMT, in that about half of the songs are written in English, and half in their native Norwegian (not sure if this is modern Norwegian or archaic Norwegian, though.)

Of particular note is perhaps Satyr's finest composition to date, the album closer "I En Svarte Kiste," which translates to something along the lines of "In the Black Casket." This track is an all-keyboard instrumental funeral dirge, and it is amazing. It begins with ambient synth lines, and then progresses to a keyboarded horn passage, and ends with several minutes of an organ passage. This track makes it imminently clear where Satyr would be heading with his side-project "Wongraven." Worth the cost of the album alone.

In short, this album, along with DMT, has helped greatly to define early-90's Norwegian black metal. Unfortunately, these releases have since been (unjustly) overshadowed by bands like Mayhem, Emperor, and Darkthrone, which are great bands in their own right, but I can't help but think their reputations have done more for them than their actual musical recordings. Either way, this album is essential for all bm fans, and even those non-BM fans looking for something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am so in tune with this album, July 12, 2006
This review is from: Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
Whenever I listen to this cd I am healed of anger, sadness, depression, aches of any sort. The power displayed on this cd is incredible and always refreshes my senses when I listen to it. There is no Black Metal album quite like it. I can imagine myself in a dark, misty forest at night feeling the beautiful Norwegian winds upon my flesh as the night blackens and the strength of darkness burns deep in my lonely yet contempt heart, searching no battles, only grasping the night's beauty to fulfil my dark desires of renewing the Earth's once had natural life, at least in my desperate mind which eternally hungers for that natural dark beauty once existant ages ago.

That is what this album does for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Black metal Classic, March 20, 2006
This review is from: Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
_The Shadowthrone_ and _Dark Medival Times_ are true Black metal classics. This, and _Hvis Lyset Tar Oss_ by Burzum, were my introduction to black metal, and I can't say that I could have found a better place to start. The whole album is as cold as ice, from the Battle cry that opens the album to the funeral sythn ending. If you've just discovered satyricon, you could pick this up but I'd recommend getting _Nemesis Divinia_ before picking this up. I say that because _Nemesis Divinia_ is the bands most famous record. And It is an easier introduction to this band overall.

But if your already fammiliar to satyricon and/or black metal Pick this up now! And for those of who like bands like Cradle of Filth or Dimmu Borgir, go out and listen to some of the bands that made the bands you like what they are today.

If you Like Satyricon check out these other bands:
Burzum
Mayhem
Darkthrone
Windir
1349
Emperor
Enslaved
Immortal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A total eclipse of the sun", May 16, 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
When I think of Old School Black Metal I think of album's like Emperor's "In the Nightside Eclipse" and Darkthrone's "A Blaze in the Norhtern Sky." But as soon as those two landmark albums leap to mind I suddenly remember Satyricon and their solid contribution to the genre. My favorite Satyricon album remains "Dark Medieval Times," but "The Shadowthrone" is in the same cold vein of classic Black Metal. I would have to say that Satyricon stands apart mainly because of their use of folk influences and their fluid variations in tempo. There are even moments on this album that actually groove! The occasional sound sample adds some icy flavor to the mix such as gusting wind and the neighing of horses in the distance. The short track list may turn off some buyers thinking that the album length is short. Its running time is nearly fifty minutes. This is cold, dark, classic Black Metal with touches of Scandinavian folk music. The discerning Black Metal collector will not be disappointed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freezing Cold Nordic Black Metal... A Great Release!, March 19, 2005
This review is from: The Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
"The Shadowthrone", possibly Satyricon's best album, takes the formula of medieval and folk-influenced epic black metal on "Dark Medieval Times" and perfects it. The anthemic, war-like nature is brought to life here with the cold and trebly guitars, direct lyrics describing Satyr's rise to power as the King of the Shadowthrone, ferocious battles, and the foggy forests and mountains that house Satyr's dominions. Satyr's classic raspy screams front the sound, and there are some great spoken-word dialogues and Viking-like choirs. This was an innvoation in the Norwegian scene, and its impact still rattles black metal today. It is often overlooked and underappreciated, but this falls as one of the greatest BM releases of the 90's, in my opinion. Keyboards are used sparingly, but compliments the cold atmosphere perfectly. The last song is a funeral march entirely composed of synths and brass, and is to say the least, AMAZING! This album perfectly blends old-school grim black metal with pompous passages of brass and strings, creating a majestic atmosphere. Frost's basic but steady drumming sets a tribal mood, and though he would improve on future albums, his drumming here is impeccable.

The musicianship and songwriting is top-notch. Acoustic guitars are beautifully crafted, and the grim electric guitars give a nod to old-school BM like Bathory and Celtic Frost, while retaining the classic wintry, majestic, and warlike atmosphere. "The Shadowthrone" is the second part of the trilogy of the first three albums of Satyricon, which plays out like a novel. On "The Shadowthrone", Satyr's struggle to regain his dominions and conquer as the King of the Shadowthrone, from his rise to his fall, from his battles to his triumphant funeral. This album deserves to be listened to on a winter night alone to experience it fully.

I'm not going to bother with track-by-track reviews here, because all of the songs are genius pieces of work and are part of the whole. If you consider yourself into black, folk, or Viking metal, this is essential. Reccommended along with Ulver, Bathory, Summoning, and other Satyricon albums. (Mainly "Dark Medieval Times" and "Nemesis Divina".) Highly reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'The Shadowthrone', December 7, 2009
This review is from: Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
'The Shadowthrone' has a centrifugal sense of gathering power. I was stunned by the power of this album when I heard it in '95, and it still has the power to inspire me today. 'Woods to Eternity' makes the hairs on the back on my neck stand up. This even more than Darkthrone or Burzum's efforts was the album that made me want to start learning Norwegian, and heightened my interest in languages in general (for the ignorant who think that metal has no educational value). The solemn chants, the power, the mystery, the sense of readiness for battle...this is one of the classic works to come from the Norwegian Black Metal explosion - classic in the sense that it hasn't aged a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Great Spears....And a Flag of Dominion and Hate, August 26, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
I heard the song "Hvite Krists DÝd" and it was great and I just HAD to get this album. It took me a couple months of searching, but i finally found it. And boy, was it worth the wait. This is one of the best Black metal albums of all time. Combining Raging Black metal with Norwegian folk music, it forms a melodic, yet heavy masterpiece. Just listening to this forces you to imagine standing on a snowy mountain looking down on an ancient Norwegian forest. Whether you are just starting to get into Black metal or you are a B.M. enthusiast, this is an essential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one ov the best black metal albums ever., December 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shadowthrone (Audio CD)
for me nemesis devina will always be my favorite, but this is the BEST stayricon album ever. satyricon was a huge part ov the second wave ov the mighty norwegian black metal scene and all their works just kept getting better and better. dark medievil times was an EPIC work ov art, combining both folk elements as well as blast beats and speed riffing that bm is known for. the album was a great success and was well received by fans ov the genre. the shadowthrone is the second chapter for satyr and frost, and with this one they incorperated much ov the great aspects ov the great debut and included even better parts such as the synths and clean vocals. this album has everything, production ( this is PERFECT production for black metal) riffs drums and vocals. to me satyr gave his best performance as a vocalist on this album. although they are great on all albums, this one was by far the best! drums are also a stand out, frost is really in a league ov his own as far as skill and style go. easily on ov the best drummers EVER. guitars are not really a standout but there are sum GREAT riffs on here, which make this a very "catchy" bm album. as i said before the synths are what makes this one. they add amazing atmosphere and without them i couldn't see this album being as good as it is. all in all this is the best album by one ov the best bands in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Shadowthrone
The Shadowthrone by Satyricon (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.