Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty, and powerful
I recently finished all 7 seasons of The Shield. This series has to be in my top 5 TV series of all time.

The show is very character driven. Each one usually has a typical "cop show" subplot, but the broad arcs are about the characters. Make no mistake, this is a very dark show. I would find my moods affected by watching it often times. I like how "real"...
Published on March 3, 2010 by Bryan Creel

versus
90 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hate the packaging, love the series
I am a fan of The Shield and I am guessing that you are at least familiar with it or you wouldn't be looking at the box set. Since you are here to decide to buy the box set or not, I want to warn you that they have created something that looks like a picture book which has the discs squeezed between the pages. The problem is that every time you take a disc out or put it...
Published on November 3, 2009 by Scott Sherman


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty, and powerful, March 3, 2010
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
I recently finished all 7 seasons of The Shield. This series has to be in my top 5 TV series of all time.

The show is very character driven. Each one usually has a typical "cop show" subplot, but the broad arcs are about the characters. Make no mistake, this is a very dark show. I would find my moods affected by watching it often times. I like how "real" the characters are. Even the moral centers of the show do bad things and have human failings. In my view a large part of the series is a meditation on morality. Vic Mackey does some horrible things but is also in many ways a good and sometimes even heroic character. It embraces the shades of gray that real people are made up of.

If you have any attraction to action dramas then watch this show. After the first episode you will know if you like it or not. As a testament to how much I liked the series, after I finished it I went online and watched the videos F/X hosted of conversations with the cast and creator. That's not something I ever do.

It's also very unusual for a series to remain strong over such a long run. That's especially the case when it is a coherent story and not an episodic show like a comedy. Five out of five stars. I would give six if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, packaging issues fixed, June 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
Before I review the Shiled itself, I want to let everyone interested in the show know that the packaging issues involving scratched discs has been addressed. The book like format is the same, but the packaging now contains slip covers for each disc of the show. This prevents the discs from getting scratched, and provides further and better cover to each disc. Be warned though, if not careful in pulling out the discs with the slip, scratching may still occur. Otherwise, the pacackaging is pretty cool, with pictures, and references to the entirety of the show. For those a fan of the show, its a pretty nice rememberance, for those new, it provides several clues with relatively minor spoilers.

As to the show, to call it one of the finest cop dramas is a bit limiting. It is just one of the finest shows. The acting is top notch, with you often losing the feeling your watching actors, and truly feeling like your watching a documentary. The writing is just as good. In fact, the use of the book style in packaging is the perfect example of the show: its like a novel. Each season bleeds into the next, with story elements of the first season being relevant all the way until the final season, with many story lines in between crossing between seasons. The show packs an intensity as well as emotional punch that is simply superb, with the right amount of humor and angst anyone could require of any show.

The show is violent and foul, so those looking for a sitcom probably won't find a lot to like. But the use of violence and foul language helps the realism of the show, and necessary as judging Vic Mackey as a good guy or bad guy wouldn't be so morally grey without both. This of course goes to the heart of the show: is Vic Mackey a good person doing bad things, a bad person doing good things in a bad way, or somewhere in between. The show leaves it up to you to decide. There aren't too many shows of this caliber to come along, so cherish it when you have it. Highly recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 105 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hate the packaging, love the series, November 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
I am a fan of The Shield and I am guessing that you are at least familiar with it or you wouldn't be looking at the box set. Since you are here to decide to buy the box set or not, I want to warn you that they have created something that looks like a picture book which has the discs squeezed between the pages. The problem is that every time you take a disc out or put it in, the disc is scraping across the surface of the cardboard pages in which it is sandwiched. The book is nice looking so I did give it 3 stars for that reason and of course the series itself is as the other reviewers have mentioned well worth your time if you like the cop genre. If this is the only DVD series you own, it would look nice on your coffee table, but if you have a DVD case it is awkward because of the shape and size of the box. I suppose they create these cardboard box set holders to save money or to get you to buy the series in the boxes that you get with individual seasons. I had the same problem with the complete series of the Wire. I will probably have to take the DVD's out of the box set sleeves and put them in conventional plastic DVD cases to protect the DVD's which is an additional expense to consider if you are buying this set to save money. It would be nice if the manufacturers offered alternative (conventional) packaging as an option without forcing you to buy the series one season at at time for double the price of the box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool format although removing the dics can be a challenge, September 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
Length:: 0:54 Mins

Just wanted to make a quick video to show what it looks like.

Rated it 4 stars because of the way the discs are a little difficult to remove in the dvd book, but the series is 5 stars and the best show I've ever watched.

All episodes are widescreen which is different than if you bought them separately which has it in full screen, which will take me getting used to.

Although a little tricky to remove from the sleeve, each disc is protected by the white insert, so its not as prone to scratching as the other reviews said when there was no protection for the disc.

If you don't mind every episode in widescreen then it is worth it to buy this complete series booklet since they fixed the disc scratching problem for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more scratches!!, January 18, 2010
By 
A. Adams (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
I really wanted to order this set but held off when I read all the reviews talking about the packaging problem. When the product went on backorder, I hoped Sony was fixing the problem and placed my order. The set arrived with paper inserts protecting each disc. No scratches on any disc. I have only played the first disc in its entirety (it was the only one that was slightly difficult to remove from its slot in the package) and it was flawless. This is a great series---don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They fixed it!, January 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
I just got my replacement set today and there is now a protective sleeve for each disc. Haven't checked them all yet, but so far they are totally mint! A stunningly beautiful series set for the most compelling drama ever. Amazing value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest TV shows ever in a serviceable package., November 5, 2013
By 
Steve Messer (Trenton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A quick, easy, bullet-point review for people wondering what this set actually is:

*29 discs (ie all 88 episodes/7 seasons) housed in a "double-spindle" set (this is the set's biggest flaw, but considering the price point it's certainly not a deal-breaker)
*Plastic spindles are fairly sturdy
*Nice, solid cardboard box that shouldn't fall apart on you
*Cardboard inserts kept the discs from shuffling around during transport, no scratches at all (and yes I checked them all)
*As far as I can tell thus far, all the extras from the previous set
*One of the greatest TV shows ever
*Amazon was selling it for less than $40 at the time I bought it (November '13)

So there, I hope that helps anyone on the fence about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scratched, November 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
Many of the DVD's were scratched, and scratched badly upon opening. This is not an Amazon shipping problem, but a Sony packaging problem. It seems that the glue to hold the pages together dried on the inner sleeves, and when you pull them out (DVD's) the scratch on the hard glue. I am getting a replacement set, hopefully this was an original production run problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection for my favorite TV show of all time., November 3, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
The Shield is one of those shows that rips you in on the first episode and keeps you coming back again and again. I can't watch TV on Tuesday nights in the Fall without thinking about The Shield. If you're a fan of dark and gritty shows this is the cat's meow. From the very first episode, you are forced to come to odds with Detective Vic Mackey (Michael Chiklis) the surprisingly likeable anti-hero of the show. Set in the fictional Barn district of LA, it is based around a corrupt gang-task force unit called the Strike Team.

Season One: The first episode is a gut shot. You spend the rest of the season trying to figure out how to like an anti-hero so dark you can't even begin to rationalize his deplorable actions. The deeply disturbing relationship between Captain Aceveda (Benito Martinez) and Mackey's Strike Team forms. Best season of the show, the show and Chiklis definitely earned their Golden Globes. 10/10

Season Two: The second season introduces a wider scope of bad guys for the Strike Team to deal with. It really builds on the anticillary characters and solidifies Mackey's survival instinct and Shane Vendrell's (Walton Goggins) bone-headed nature. The actions of the team in this season cast shockwaves that will last through out the course of the series. 9/10

Season Three: A slower season that deals with the conscience of the Strike Team in the aftermath of a major heist. The once tight family disengrates as the members struggle internally with how to handle their actions. Elsewhere in the Barn, Detective Claudette Wyms (CCH Pounder) begins to make a tustle for reform while Detective "Dutch" Wagenbach (Jay Karnes)takes a disturbing turn into darkness. 8/10

Season Four: With the Strike Team seperated things take interesting paths. Strike Team members Lem, Mackey, and Gardocki try to keep things clean, while Vendrell and his new partner continue the old ways. Vendrell doesn't have the instincts and smarts of Mackey and soon winds up over his head in the employ of drug dealer Antwon Mitchell (Anthony Anderson). Glenn Close joins the cast as Captain Monica Rawling. A fast paced season that leaves you questioning just who to trust. 9/10

Season Five: In one of the most powerful seasons, IA agent Jon Kavanaugh (Forest Whitaker) enters the Barn. Tasked with taking down Mackey, Kavanaugh tears the already fractured Strike Team apart with evidence against Lem. Kavanaugh is Mackey's equal and the two square off constantly to destroy each other. The season finale is dark and disturbing leaving a tremendous aftermath that shatters the already tenenous Strike Team. 10/10

Season Six: After the events of the season five finale, Vic is on the warpath. With one hand he is vengance bound, on the other he is trying to save his career as brass tries to force him into retirment. Vandrell continues to seperate himself from the rest of the Strike Team as he falls in with the Armenian Mob and struggles with internal guilt. Wyms now promoted to the captain of the Barn is deadset on saving it from itself and all those that stand in its way. 7/10

Season Seven: The final season. Vic still set on vengance finally has a true target, while Vandrell goes entirely rogue on the lamb. Wyms and Dutch race against time to finally take down Mackey, while Gardocki and himself go darker than ever - hunting one of their own. Season Seven pits Vic against everyone he loves and tests his survival instinct to its core. In the end, it is a chilling season that should have earned Emmy nods for Michael Chiklis and Walter Goggins. 10/10

The series has its highs and lows, but on a whole remains a powerful piece and one of the best cop shows ever. This a series I've watched over and over again in marathon sessions. I owned all but the final season on DVD and have since given them away when word of the complete series finally came around.

This is a must have DVD collection and my favorite TV show of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging not Practical, November 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Series (DVD)
I only give this set one star because of the way it was packaged.

If it was just about the quality of the series and the episodes themselves I'd give it 5 stars.

The set is packaged in a coffee table book type case that, while great looking, is not practical for holding DVD disks. The DVDs have to be slipped in and out of a very tight space in between two sheets of cardboard. Almost every disk in this set had small scratches on them and some had huge gashes in them. A few were unplayable. There were also small particles of glue on the disks that came off of the cardboard book packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Shield: Complete Series
The Shield: Complete Series by Davis Guggenheim (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: $95.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.