Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Book Of The Ship Modeling Foundation
The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is due to the dated writing, which is sometimes distracting. If not for that, it's 5 stars!!
A must for you if you're just beginning, like me. The author explains everything very well. Not only how things work, but why they work. His specifics about construction are excellent, if only for those who are curious about...
Published on January 4, 2001 by Mark A. Savage

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars use for reference
This is very detailed, jargon-filled discussion of the fine art of ship model building using descriptions of how "real" ships were built and rigged. It's not a book I'd read cover-to-cover, but use to make sure your have authentically duplicated a real ship's configurations. I'd say it's a book mostly for "from scratch" builders even though it's also educational for us...
Published on November 30, 2009 by Martin Jelsema


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Book Of The Ship Modeling Foundation, January 4, 2001
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is due to the dated writing, which is sometimes distracting. If not for that, it's 5 stars!!
A must for you if you're just beginning, like me. The author explains everything very well. Not only how things work, but why they work. His specifics about construction are excellent, if only for those who are curious about sailing vessels. His charts are wonderful for answering questions about construction and cutting before the cut is made. He really gets down to the nuts and bolts.
I don't agree that this book is not for the beginner. I'm a beginner, and I have learned much from this book, and continue to reinforce that knowledge with the book. If you be a beginning builder, a student of sailing vessels, or just plain curious about the subject, get this book. Remember, it reads a bit differently then more current books, but you'll smile at that fact, and get the benefit of the knowledge imparted within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Work, April 17, 2001
By 
B. Falk "eoi" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
After initial chapters on varying types of ship models, including the built-up model and wooden-sail models, the author devotes individual chapters to the masting of ships, mastheads, the standing rigging, the running rigging, foot-ropes, the blocks, steering wheels, the ship's galley, pumps, ship ironwork, copper sheathing, the ground tackle, gun ports, boats and davits. He includes as well invaluable tables and lists of data that offer opportunities to compare vital statistics on rigging, masting and more.
Charles C. Davis was a well-known naval architect, shipbuilder, master seaman, racing yachtsman and nautical chronicler. His lifelong love affair with the great ships of the past resulted in several classic works on ships and ship model building. The present volume is one of the latter, an extremely thorough, practical and readable guide to building ship models in authentic detail and in proper proportion. In all, The Ship Model Builder's Assistant offers a treasury of both descriptive and "how-to" information essential to model builders and highly enlightening for all fascinated by the great sailing ships of America's past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to the built-up ship model, October 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
Detailed sequential instruction on constructing the built-up ship model. Accurate lists of the various countries' mast rules, including tops, heads, trestletrees etc, and rope & block dimensions, ensure that your model will look like the real thing and not a misproportioned eyesore.
There are lots of hints and tips to making the rigging and the ground tackle (capstans, bitts, winches, anchors) look real, including correct proportions of gunports.
The book does assume that you have an accurate drawing to work from and with this in mind it is a welcome addition to anyone's library. My only complaints are that there should be more detail on planking, and some of the drawings are a tad small, obscuring the detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating- Not "how to" but "why", April 24, 2000
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
If you ever want reference book that you can read, not just pretty pictures, this is it. It has extensive detail on all aspects of ship building and how it done before kits. It tells you the why and how of ship building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for beginner to advance, February 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
Invaluable guide offers detailed descriptions, drawings of masting, rigging and major fittings. I use this book when I have a question about anything and if my wooden boat model plans seem inaccurate. Many line drawings from different periods which are easy to understand. Lots of tips.

This is an old book and a "classic". A MUST have for the beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars use for reference, November 30, 2009
By 
Martin Jelsema (Centennial, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is very detailed, jargon-filled discussion of the fine art of ship model building using descriptions of how "real" ships were built and rigged. It's not a book I'd read cover-to-cover, but use to make sure your have authentically duplicated a real ship's configurations. I'd say it's a book mostly for "from scratch" builders even though it's also educational for us beginners. Written in a kind of archaic style which for me meant re-reading some suntences over two or three times. The author assumes at least a fundamental knowledge of ship terminology. By studying this book's content very seriously I think you'd come away with a very complete knowledge of authentic ship-building and rigging techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful for the advanced model ship builder, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
This book was very helpful with regards to rigging and other fine details of construction that are never covered in instruction manuals. I bought the set of three books that you recommended and they are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Detailed Reference Book. Well Documented., December 2, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
I read this book back in 1956. I refer to this book first when I have a question or need to see an example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic Davis on techniques, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really good how it's done techniques for the beginner and the pro. Everyone can learn something from Davis worth the price of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice well written and illustrated book dealing with the details ..., November 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ship Model Builder's Assistant (Paperback)
A nice well written and illustrated book dealing with the details of a ships rigging, deck details, etc. A must have book for anyone building a wood ship model (even a plastic one could be upgraded using this information). It even deals with planking which is a very important part of the wood ship building process. I purchased my copy "used" after loosing my original book..I found a four leaf clover between the pages! I hope it will work its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ship Model Builder's Assistant
The Ship Model Builder's Assistant by Charles G. Davis (Paperback - February 1, 1988)
$12.95 $7.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.