Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Was Ten Years Ago: Remember Ruby Ridge
I have read several books about the Ruby Ridge murders. I also have an amature video with footage taken during the siege. This made for tv movie is about 75% accurate. That is pretty good for Hollywood. The story told in the film is not complete and I urge anyone to read "Ambush At Ruby Ridge" by Alan Bock first.
The movie has some mistakes. Randy Weaver was a short...
Published on May 21, 2002 by John M. Sweat

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruby Ridge
I would like to thank the seller for accomodating an issue with shipping and their prompt service. Now I will review the product.

Horribly written movie that went to great lengths to wrongly defame Randy Weaver. Randy Quaid should be ashamed of himself. Anyone who knows what it takes to become a Special Forces Green Beret knows that the way Quaid portrayed...
Published on September 30, 2009 by F. Sokol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Was Ten Years Ago: Remember Ruby Ridge, May 21, 2002
By 
John M. Sweat (Raleigh, N.C. United States) - See all my reviews
I have read several books about the Ruby Ridge murders. I also have an amature video with footage taken during the siege. This made for tv movie is about 75% accurate. That is pretty good for Hollywood. The story told in the film is not complete and I urge anyone to read "Ambush At Ruby Ridge" by Alan Bock first.
The movie has some mistakes. Randy Weaver was a short man and Randy Quaid was a poor choice to play him. He was a former Green Beret and not a slacker as he is sometimes portrayed in the movie. Laura Dern is made up to look like Vicki Weaver very well. Vicki was a strong woman but not the domineering type as she is sometimes made to be in the film.
Kirsten Dunst played Sara Weaver very well and was true to the character for the most part.Her performance in the second part of the movie alone is worth the price of the video .
There was no Confederate flag in front of the Weaver's cabin as is shown in the movie. There was never any real evidence that Randy broke the law and this is not shown well in the film. The shoot-out that took the lives of Vicki and her son was very well done. The part of the movie that shows the shoot-out and what followed is very accurate. In fact, the second part of the movie shows just how in the wrong the government was in what it did.
This August 21 will be the tenth anniversary of the Ruby Ridge murders. Read the book I mentioned and then view the film. Only then will you understand the danger our country is in from overbearing and power hungry tyrants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruby Ridge, September 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Siege at Ruby Ridge (DVD)
I would like to thank the seller for accomodating an issue with shipping and their prompt service. Now I will review the product.

Horribly written movie that went to great lengths to wrongly defame Randy Weaver. Randy Quaid should be ashamed of himself. Anyone who knows what it takes to become a Special Forces Green Beret knows that the way Quaid portrayed Weaver as a cowardly nutjob was basically a character assasination and far from the truth. There were also many other untruths and outright falsehoods in the movie which did not even parallel the book it was adapted from, a book which although seems at most times to take great pains to get to the facts, still engages in wronging Weavers character without base. I would not recommend this movie to anyone who thinks it might be a documantary or that it contains all the facts. In some cases it is factual, but you need to have researched the story in order to be discerning of the content. The movie does illustrate the Feds murder of Randys innocent wife and son. Just for that portion it is worth watching, however take the portrayal of the family as not accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, July 31, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Until I saw this film, I didn't really know anything about Ruby Ridge and what happened to the Weaver family. I'm glad that I've finally seen it because what happened there was inexcusable and must be told.
Watching the movie and not knowing what to expect, I found that it was very cleverly done and the story seamless.
A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No heroes, no villains, no political correctness. Outstanding., December 31, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Not near Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Siege at Ruby Ridge (DVD)
Despite my revulsion at using such a phrase, the best summation I can give to this work is "Fair And Balanced." Director Rodger Young somehow manages to present a view of the escalating situation in Idaho that is not tainted, slanted, or driven by a politically correct agenda. There are no Bad Guys and no Good Guys in this docudrama. (Although I might stretch a point to name as a "bad guy" Deputy Director Stagg, the supervisory US Marshal who, upon seeing Weaver's name on the front page of the newspaper, demands that the stakes be raised and armed tactical units be brought in. This particular character gets all of 30 seconds' screen time, but I think it's far to say that, if Stagg's ego hadn't been so badly bruised by the thought of Weaver not being arrested for 18 months, that the situation could have stayed under control.)

Working with a script by Lionel Chetwind, which was developed from the book "Every Knee Shall Bow" by Jess Walter, Young does a frankly amazing job of portraying the Weavers' early life together, dropping hints of racism, separatism, and some decidedly unorthodox religious viewpoints along the way --but none of it in a condemning manner. Yes, Vicki and Randy were almost certainly not the sort of folks you'd want to associate with much, but for all the character flaws, NOTHING justifies what their situation came to. In truth, the triumphant scene in which the family finally "discovers" the spot of land that will become their home SHOULD have been the end of the story.

I've always been something of a Laura Dern fan, but my admiration for this actress's talent and professionalism is definitely raised a couple of notches by her portrayal of Vicki. You see in her eyes the fervent belief and complete assurances that, while perhaps misguided, are certainly NOT out to cause trouble or violence --indeed, in the end it is Vicki who asks Randy to stop associating with the skinheads, and he is more than happy to do so, clearly not having been very comfortable with the association all along. The disintegrating lines of communication between Vicki and the rest of her family is especially well performed and is particularly hard to watch. As for Quaid, he manages to deliver the soul of a truly conflicted man, even from behind the exhausted eyes of someone who finds himself the number-one subject of discussion across America when all he truly ever wanted was to be left alone to raise his family. Bradley Pierce puts across an absorbing combination of childhood innocence and hard-hearted bigotry into the role of 14 year-old Sammy Weaver, who, together with Jacob Davis as the younger version of Sammy, turn the character into an audience favorite by the time the Marshals open fire.

It is when the family starts associating with area Neo-Nazis and Aryan Nations members that Kirsten Dunst really starts to shine in the story, absorbing the hateful propaganda and neatly tying it into the religious views in which her mother has diligently raised her. The end result is both compelling and disturbing. Darren Burrows also delivers a first-rate performance as Weaver family friend Kevin Harris, who manages to anchor Weaver to reality even as he lies bleeding and delirious.Another particularly compelling performance is brought to life by Bruce Locke, who plays FBI sniper Lon Horiuchi, who killed Vicki even as she held her baby. Locke injects a sense of anger and naked revenge into the eyes of the sniper --this is a man who has chosen to interpret the already badly-explained Revised Rules of Engagement for himself, and all he can think about is getting even with the evil bastards who killed US Marshal William Degan. Also worth a look is Joe Don Baker as legal living legend Gerry Spence of "Silkwood" notoriety, who manages to switch on some desperately-welcomed humorous moments in the movie's coda. A few points of trivia: the works of Hal Lindsey ("Late Great Planet Earth") are referenced early on in the story as being a catalyst to the shaping of Vicki Weaver's beliefs. Longtime independent journalist J. Orlin Grabbe, one of the first to publicly denounce the FBI as domestic terrorists, appears as an extra in several scenes.

In short, the movie does not flinch: Weaver was a loving dad and devoted husband, but was also a bigot and a petty thief. The Feds framed him, botched the case, and overstepped their authority. There are no excuses. Nobody comes out of this story completely innocent and not a single tenet of Hollywood-style political correctness is observed. No single scene truly emerges as the pivotal "here's where it all went wrong" moment. Gary Graham's performance as a reluctant US Marshal is particularly convincing --here is a law enforcement figure that obviously doesn't want to follow up on this case and would happily let him be, but for the orders he is getting from above. The movie takes us from one sequence of bad decisions to the next, ultimately revealing the real "villain" of the piece to be miscommunication. The Marshals aren't listening to the local residents, Weaver's not listening to his neighbors, Vicki isn't listening to her parents (nor are they listening to her), the press isn't listening to the Marshals, the US Attorney isn't listening to the ATF case agent, and of course the FBI isn't listening to ANYONE. It is only at the end of the action when Bo Gritz (excellently played by Bob Gunton) delivers the horrifying news to an agitated crowd that the "villain" reveals itself --and in one deft move, Gritz defuses the miscommunication, states the simple truth, and even calms down an unruly ready-for-blood mob.

Did the Federal government learn its lesson from the tragedy at Ruby Ridge? Well, of course. You can just imagine the internal memos flying around: "Next time, punch holes in the walls with tanks, flood the place with flammable gas, and then shoot anyone who tries to escape the fire."

Hats off to Hollywood for this effort, particularly to Quaid, Dern, and Young for delivering a product that tells the story without apology and never slants audience sympathies too far to one side or the other. A clear warning trumpet that is very much worth renting or owning, regardless of your religious views, or where you think you fall on the political spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not all is the truth, April 9, 2006
By 
S. Bryan (Sandpoint, ID) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I live a few miles away from the cabin where this took place by Ruby Creek. I haven't seen this movie yet, suprisingly, but I frequent all of the stores where the Weaver's used to buy their supplies in Elmira and Sandpoint. I know many people who were good friends with these people, and Randy was tricked...hook, line, and sinker. He was pestered by a man who was posing as a white supremecist to convince Randy to sell him a sawed off shot gun. The man who bought the guns was offered clemency to set up Randy. Randy and many others claim that the barrels of the guns were of legal length when he sold them. Also, from all of the people I have spoken to that knew the family, they weren't "white supremecists". They attended 1 meeting. I drive by the "church" where this meeting supposedly happened every day. I don't believe it. There are more federal agents and cops lurking around in this county then you could imagine. I have had several FBI agents come to my business and ask me questions about other people that I have served food to. They have also asked questions about my husband, and we are only ski bums who own a small deli. We don't do ANYTHING illegal. We had a guy try to "set up" a drug deal with my husband, and we have never used an illegal drug once in our lives! I think the government needs to back off a little, and arrest people that are truly dangerous, not people who they are afraid of. The minute the government comes to your home to "disarm you", is the minute you may think you need to start shooting. We are afforded the right to own guns to protect ourselves "from our government". It's in our own constitution. I'm a 29 year old mother of two, and I am certaintly not a racist or fundamentalist. I'm really excited to finally see this movie, and I'll let you all know what I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to the truth...not bad for Hollywood, March 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of all....the comments from "An Australian perspective" make me sick. This is America, and if anyone wants to hold "anti government views" those veiws are protected by our constitution. The Weavers were not racists, they were separatists. And if they wanted to live on the top of a remote mountain by themselves, so be it. This IS America, you are suppossed to be able to do that here without having your wife shot in the head and your son shot in the back by government agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Accurate to a Degree, March 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Siege at Ruby Ridge (DVD)
Though not 100% accurate, this movie is engrossing. To those who know nothing about what happened on Rudy Ridge, this film is a great place to start. It will wet your thirst. You'll want to learn more about the day the government overstepped their authority and gunned down an innocent family whose only crime was wanting to be left alone. After shooting Weaver's son in the back, government agents shot Randy and Kevin, a long-time family friend. As Randy and Kevin ran for cover inside of the cabin, another agent fired through the open cabin door, striking Vicky, Randy's wife, in the head, killing her.

Vicky Weaver wasn't the lunatic she was portrayed to be in this movie. Also, Randy Weaver is a short, non-threatening-type guy, nowhere near the size of Randy Quaid.

Important facts are lacking in this movie, evidence that proved the FBI wanted the entire Weaver family dead. The book Every Knee Shall Bow (from which this movie was based)explains that the telephone offered to Randy was a ploy to get him outside where a robotic shotgun mounted on the army tank awaited to blow him away, or anyone else who came to retrieve the telephone. The FBI also knew without a doubt that Vicky was dead, and that one of their own had killed her. The microphone bugs they'd placed beneath the cabin floor picked up all bits of conversation inside. Hollywood easily could have included these facts in the film, but instead they used that time to wrongly paint Vicky as slightly mad.

Hollywood also wrongly portrayed Weaver as a Klan racist. He was and still is a Separatist who wanted to live apart from other races. Though that attitude may invoke anger in some people, it isn't a crime to believe that. It's certainly no reason for the government to target the Weavers, set them up, hunt them down and kill them because of what they believed.

Despite the inaccuracies, I loved this movie because it sparked me to learn more about the assault on the Weaver family. I hope it does the same for anyone who watches it.

The DVD has no extras, no special features or interviews. The only difference between it and the VHS is a sharper picture, and the entire movie is on one disc. With the exception of the bloodied Striker dragging his hind legs behind him after being shot, I noticed no added scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Movie is a bust, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Siege at Ruby Ridge (DVD)
If you want the true story read Jess Walters Every Knee Shall Bow. A much clearer, concise account of Ruby Ridge. The movie just did not follow the facts of this terrible event close enough and hold to the truth of what happened on Ruby Ridge. Dont waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great movie, May 24, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Siege at Ruby Ridge (DVD)
a great movie, it could have shown more about mr.weaver being a green and not a hate monger that he wasnt.he was not a member of the aryan nations, he thought they were ok people but it was not for him. but all in all being a production they want it to be more exciting and add there own ideas so i thought it was great just dont buy into all of it talk to randy weaver or write him hes easy to find if you have the net and make your own ideas,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White separtists - a true story, January 31, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Based on a real tragedy, a family moves to a mountain "Ruby Ridge" to escape society, based on their very conservative fatalistic religious beliefs. They eventually become white supremacists - hanging out with the KKK. There is a warrant out for the dad's arrest based on his selling illegal shot guns - but he was given the wrong court date - so he doesn't show up. Then the family is kept under survelliance by the FBI, ATF, etc. Ends up where a couple family members are killed by the law inforcement, and a stand off insues. Keep in mind, this is a family of mom, dad, 3 little kids and a baby (with a young man living with them as a guest). Even though you may not like their predjudice views, there is something about seeing family members shot down by these sniper shooters in full body armour.... I'm not saying I'm against law enforcement but obviously the whole thing got out of hand, and in real life the remaining family goes to court, and is given a large monetary compensation by the government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Siege at Ruby Ridge
The Siege at Ruby Ridge by Roger Young (DVD - 2005)
$15.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.