Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A debut with power!
Ace of Base's debut effort, The Sign, is probably the best of the nineties. Aside from selling 21 million copies around the globe, and from being the #1 album of 1994, it is truly creative. From the opening track "All That She Wants" that includes the feel of Jamaican beaches and features their signature reggae-pop beats, it is a non-stop tour of Euro-dance...
Published on November 7, 1999

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some catchy tunes but nothing great
This CD, their debut, spawned 3 Top 40 hits with "All that She Wants", "Don't Turn Around" and the title track all charting in the U.S. The Swedish pop act had some at the time questioning if it would be a 90s ABBA (owing to its tight harmony based around the 2 female lead singers and a knack for a catchy hook) although history has shown us otherwise.

Most of...
Published on February 1, 2005 by Greg Brady


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A debut with power!, November 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
Ace of Base's debut effort, The Sign, is probably the best of the nineties. Aside from selling 21 million copies around the globe, and from being the #1 album of 1994, it is truly creative. From the opening track "All That She Wants" that includes the feel of Jamaican beaches and features their signature reggae-pop beats, it is a non-stop tour of Euro-dance and reggae-pop! "Don't Turn Around" is a powerful lost-love song that echoes with Linn's dramatic vocals and Jenny's heartbreaking back-ups. "Wheel of Fortune", "Living In Danger", "Dancer in a Daydream", "Happy Nation"- these are the album's best tracks. The Bangrha version of "ATSW" could have done better off of the CD, maybe replaced with one of their European tracks, like "Hear Me Calling", and the 7" Remix of "Waiting for Magic" totally kills the original version of the song that is on the European album (The original version of "WFM" is very good). The standout song is the title track, "The Sign", which is a fun, poppy song that, aside from being their biggest hit, is a meaningful track that brings life to to the whole record. This is the best album of the decade, so GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pop, July 29, 2002
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
Looking back to the now distant beginning of the 1990s, I remember listening to this CD constantly. I remember listening to it on the radio constantly. I remember liking it. However, it is now in limbo between current music and becoming "classic". It is dated, already, and has yet to withstand the test of time. So rating this CD fairly is difficult.
When Ace of Base debuted, they were hailed as the 1990s version of Abba. Just like many other groups that have been hailed as successors to a previous group (remember Oasis being hailed as the successors to the Beatles?), Ace of Base fizzled fast, leaving the memory of this monster-selling debut CD.
What was so catchy when this came out? Well, the beat, of course. The lyrics were basically easy to remember and sing to, and the tunes were easy on the ears. Truthfully, they did sound in many ways like a techno version of Abba.
Really then, how is the music? Well, dated. It really is Abba turned techno pop. While the music sounds different when you first listen to it, after a while it is so repetitive that it can become annoying. Their style changes very little from song to song, that after a while you start to realize that you are hearing a variation on a style, and not a style that encompasses a lot of breadth. I guess you could say that this is a group that has a lot of depth and not too much breadth.
I originally thought about giving this CD 3 stars, and decided that was unfair, because their music is technically well done, and it was original at the time they came out. Furthermore, it is still relatively unique. However, their music doesn't explore its bounds, it just stays boxed up in a small area.
Even though I give this CD 4 stars, I stop short of recommending it as a "must have". The music was so incredibly popular because of its radio appeal, not because it was breakthrough or the greatest quality. If you've heard "The Sign" or "Don't Turn Around" or "All That She Wants" on the radio and liked it, and wondered whether you would like the CD, then wonder no more: The rest of the songs are similar, so by all means go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unstoppable pop produced perfection!, May 10, 2006
By 
FizzWiz (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
An album full of fun songs with beautiful ladies' voices, Linn and Jenny. Some people may try to compare them to acts such as Britney Spears and N'Sync, but what separates Ace of Base is the way their sound is crafted, the outstanding voice of Linn and Jenny, and when the videos play, they always include producers Ulf and Buddha too. By including the two main producers, it makes the group appear more sophisticated and not fake. This appearance turns out to be purely real, and a great move on the group's part. Of course, they are compared to Abba because of their sound and because Abba also had two female singers and two producers from Sweden.

The following mentions releases based on releases done in the U.S. All That She Wants, a jazzy techno pop song that you either really like or really hate. A well crafted song nonetheless, and a bit different than you might be used to hearing. A superb first release. Don't Turn Around, 3rd release from them, partly remade from another song, I was not crazy about, but a lot of other people liked it a lot. What people liked about this 3rd release the most was that it was poppy enough for them to listen to, and not too techno like. Young and Proud, a big fave of mine, was probably good enough to be a release. A great techno anthem for young confident people. The Sign is composed of strange lyrics, but with a bright sound that many people love. Some say it was copied over from the All That She Wants formula and just mixed up. Well, if so, it was mixed really well. It sounds too different to really be considered a copy of their 1st release All That She Wants. Living in Danger, a 4th relatively unknown release, had a really crappy video just put together that didn't make any sense at all. It had a catchy techno melody and so so lyrics, but seemed more of a release of well we're going to release something not as good and it might do well anyway kind of thing. Wheel of Fortune of Happy Nation should've been the 4th release as it was released in other countries. Dancer in a Daydream has some interesting sounds and a flowing beat. Lyrics aren't bad, better than Living in Danger. Wheel of Fortune, one of my fave songs of all time, just has such cool sounds and cool lyrics. "What you gonna tell your daddy's like a wheel of fortune" is a catchy fresh line even for today. From the lush melodies to the trumpets to the produced sounds created right after Linn sings "hatched baby." All placed so well and sounds like a superb pop song. Waiting for Magic was another produced, kind of girlish song. Jenny takes over the main mic on this one. Happy Nation shows an Asian music influence, but it's not overused, but used just enough to meld in with the melody nicely. The video is interesting, with Linn as an Asian looking woman, which is quite the turn on to say the least. This song is also a bit ethereal with the chanting in it.

Voulez-Vous is a fun song for learning very basic French, and plays on a common phrase, but makes it less sleazy.

In Your Mind is a crappy song just thrown into the mix, but you can't expect every song to be great.

All That She Wants Banghra version, most people don't care for. It's a boring remix that could've been done without. Fashion party is ever better than the last two mentioned. There are not many albums where I can say I totally love the songs- All That She Wants, Young and Proud, The Sign, Wheel of Fortune, and Happy Nation. A classic not to be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best! :), May 13, 2003
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
I appreciate a variety of music, and I can safely say to you that this is Not dumb, brainless, forgettable, OR Cheesy pop. It is now looked down upon by numerous people who think it must be "euro-fluff" or "uncool" or all those other words...Ace of Base is still going as a band, and this is one of their finest albums, of all their history of superb music.
It is also a classic of the ninetees. It's fun, danceable, engaging, and memorable pop music of the best class. There may be similarities, but they are Not immitating Abba, as many would like to say. They have their own sound, which surprisingly never gets old, and sounds fresh to this day.
Along with major hits like All That She Wants, Don't Turn Around, and The Sign, this album is a goldmine of nonstop greatness. Songs like "Wheel Of Fortune", "Waiting For Magic", and "Dancer In A Daydream" along with more groovy techno such as "Young And Proud", is sure to have something for everyone.
Buy it as soon as you can, and discover the joy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still danceable, after all these years-, December 15, 2009
By 
Jason A. Gagnon (Cobleskill, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
Hold on, I know, this is the epitome of cheese-pop, right? Well, maybe, but don't scoff! You're not reading this review on accident- you're here because you're trying to work up the courage to buy an album you may be a bit embarrassed to buy in public. Where someone might see you. And snicker.

Don't worry- you're anonymous here. Heck, pick up some ABBA and Neil Diamond while you're at it - you know you want you.

What makes this album so good? It is infectiously poppy and danceable- you cannot listen to The Sign without wanting to boogy down- perhaps in the secrecy of your own home, with the shades drawn, but boogy you will! You will sing from the top of your lungs All That She Wants- you'll remember all the words, or at least pretend you do, from your first re-listen on. It'll be like 1994 all over again!

This album is catchy, quirky, and better than you remember it- and, if you leave it out when friends come over, you'll soon discover you aren't the only one who had been missing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD ALBUM! VERY GOOD FIRST ALBUM!, March 23, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
This CD is one of my favorites! Although there are 2 weird songs (My mind and Waiting for magic), the songs All that she wants, Don't turn around, The sign, Dancer in a daydream, and Wheel of fortune rock! Happy nation isn't bad either. The Banggra version of ATSW isn't as good as the original but it's still enjoyable! I reccommend this album for those who like pop music! Very good cd! Very good FIRST cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 6, 2003
By 
"gibraud" (Braintree, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
This was an astonishing debut by Ace of Base, It features the hits The Sign All That She Wants and Dont Turn Around. It was in the top ten for a long time, and the biggest Swedish export since Roxette in the late 80s. I recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any Camp-Pop enthusist, October 14, 2005
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
The Sign was the second finished work of Ace Of Base (formerly known as Tech Noir of Terminator fame). The initial recording was titled "Happy Nation", released within select regions of Europe.

A re-recording was made purely as an American release. Upon its US debut, The Sign ejaculated the quartet into super stardom with high energy beats and melodic riffs, which at the time, were not a mainstream staple of the 90's.

Later re-reworked back into the European nations, "The Sign" was given a new face-lift three years after its conception. Additional tracks and the title: "The Sign: US Version" was Europe's million dollar baby.

The title track "The Sign", received heavy rotation by Dj's abroad. Covers like "Don't Turn Around" & the first recording, "Wheel of Fortune" defined the group's ability to transcend the typical genre of Euro sound, to multi-cultural Pop. "All that she wants" became the ONE song with absolute "repeat value", never once losing its longevity.

Already with 4 album releases and a greatest hits cut, Ace Of Base is living proof that good music still exists. Should one delve deeper into the realm of Acerdom, they will discover a highly regarded community of internet "Acers", obsessed only with Sweden's greatest achievement in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent - Ace Of Base rules :-), February 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
The first AoB album has to be my second favourite, just after Flowers (the 3rd one). It's an absolutely excellent album with no track that i don't like, everything in here is good :-) I live in France, so I own the european version of the CD (called "Happy Nation"), which includes two extra tracks not included here : "Fashion Party" and "Hear Me Calling", plus a bonus remix of "Happy Nation". But even without these 2 tracks the CD is great (although FP is one of my favourites). Tracks such as "All That She Wants", "Don't Turn Around" and "The Sign" are absolute classics, I don't need to speak about them. :-) "Wheel Of Fortune", "Living In Danger" and "Happy Nation" are in the same style, but all the other ones are more dance tracks, but still they are great. This is without a doubt the most "eurodance" AoB album, since their other albums have less dance tracks, more pop tracks and even some ballads, whereas this one doesn't have any ballad. If you liked the singles, or if you simply like dance music, then go and buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I still love this album to this day!, May 31, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Sign (Audio CD)
I didn't know about this group as much when "All That She Wants" was a hit in the US. But I liked them more when their album "The Sign" came out! Very fun, catchy and funky songs with a lot of melody and rhythm! Their clashing of pop and reggae was so unique. Love the title song, All, Don't Turn Around, Young and Proud, My Mind, Wheel of Fortune, the adventurous Happy Nation and others. Joker's producing of many of the songs were the album's highlight. And the two women and the other fellow in the group were also superb. 10 1/2 years later, this is such a fun pop album from this group from Sweden! I hope they make a new album soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sign
The Sign by Ace Of Base (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.