Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly Review
First, I must apologize for the review by David Haggith. His review is wholly inaccurate and disgruntled. Take for example his first paragraph, re- "hard to overemphasize." Haggith says it is overemphasized about 100 times. Really! I have read it through now and that statement is really only stated in the book one time, at the beginning. Evidence that the review has...
Published on October 25, 2006 by S. Gabie

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not new!
just received this book in the mail today that was reported to be new. The other books in this category said the damage that was on the book they had for sale but this one said new so we ordered it believing there would be no damage as it was reportedly new! well it isn't needless to say. has broken binding, writing in it, liquid stains all around edges, etc. For the...
Published 10 months ago by C N Skelton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly Review, October 25, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, I must apologize for the review by David Haggith. His review is wholly inaccurate and disgruntled. Take for example his first paragraph, re- "hard to overemphasize." Haggith says it is overemphasized about 100 times. Really! I have read it through now and that statement is really only stated in the book one time, at the beginning. Evidence that the review has a biased and unprofessional opinion, based wholly on in-accuracy. I believe it is intended to mislead. His whole review ought to be removed by Amazon, and if they compare his review to the actual book, they will find that it was probably planted, or in the least, Haggith has not read the book. What is the reason for his attack? Not a clue, but know this - it is wholly misrepresentative of the book.

As for my review, the book is well written and scholarly. The author quite rightly points out areas where there is uncertainty as to an interpretation. This is the correct approach. Too many authors create interpretations without backing them up with biblical evidence, while this author is careful not to do that.

His illumination of the letters to the churches is extremely insightful and a great cause for thought. Most authors and I myself gloss over that section, not fully understanding its relevance. I think this authors approach was extremely insightful.

His comparison of historical lines of ancestry from Noah down to the ancestry of the anti-Christ is indeed illuminating. I am not sure I agree fully with his conclusion of the location of origin of the anti-Christ, however, if you are looking for a book that does not make you think and investigate, then really you're in the wrong place anyway. No book on this subject has every answer. You must read them all.

In conclusion, this book is well written, scholarly, and insightful. It will make you think and add a vault of knowledge to your understanding of end time's prophecy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Extremely Valuable And Important Work, April 9, 2000
This review is from: The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age (Paperback)
Robert Van Kampen has given us an extremely valuable and important work - one of only a handful of books that present the prewrath rapture position of the church. If you are completely new at endtime studies, it will be a tough read, but it will be worth it. Don't let the length put you off. This book is a milestone in Biblical Prophecy. Some may try to discourage you from reading it, knowing that you may never find a book with this view again on your own, because the bookstore shelves are basically saturated with only one view. You may however wish to start with "The Rapture Question Answered Plain And Simple" by the same author, or "The Prewrath Rapture Of The Church" by Marvin Rosenthal. Both of those books are concise and logically presented, and will still give you a firm foundation upon which to build your escatological studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well thought out and informative book, November 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age (Paperback)
I thought this book does an excellent job of addressing all the end times issues, and puts them in a very logical and biblical sequence. I do think he stretches somewhat on some of his arguements-i.e. his belief that Hitler will come back to life and be the anti-christ. But overall I found his arguements very compelling. A very good read for those interested in the end times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sign: A must read for Christians looking forward to the return of Christ, March 4, 2009
This book is well researched and well written. This should be required reading for any Christian who is awaiting the return of Christ. Much of what we have been taught regarding end times prophecy is incorrect. This book by Robert Van Kampen along with Marvin Rosenthal's "Pre-wrath Rapture of the Church" delves deeply into the prophetic books of Daniel, Isaiah, Matthew chapter 24 and Revelation, comparing scripture with scripture to lay out for us what the scriptures say about the end times and the return of Christ. It is important for us to know what to expect not based on someone's opinion, but on the living word of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well put together, very deep yet very clear., April 1, 1999
By 
This review is from: The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age (Paperback)
This is a very well organized book. He has taken a much controversal subject and put all the cards on the table (or should I say the cork board, you will get it if you read it) and puts it all together in a way that will jump out at you. This is a book that ALL Christians should read. It has really helped and encouraged me to understand and dig deeper into the Word of God. I am ordering the study guide now so I can dig a little deeper. .... Thanks Mr. Van Kampen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, April 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age (Paperback)
This book does a very thorough job of pointing out and explaining the "last days" prophesies of the Bible. It is not light reading. Reads much like a college textbook. However, if you are interested in the subject, I don't think you will find a more informative or thorough reference. I highly recommend it for anyone who plans to be here for Christ's return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough going in spots, but worth the effort, January 11, 1998
By 
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
Whether or not you agree with his conclusions, you'll have to admit that the author does a good job of carefully presenting his case and showing how he arrived at them. Well researched and thought out. I'm not sure I agree with everything he said, but he really made me think. Definitely something to check out if you are studying Revelation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sign explains the truth avoided by many Teachers today, December 27, 2003
By 
SH (Panama City, FL) - See all my reviews
Despite David Haggith's unfair review, I found The Sign to be more scripturally based then Haggith's End-Time Prophesies of the Bible. At least Van Kampen attempts to explain and confirm the Pre Wrath position with all scriptures explained Hermeneutically. Haggith just leaves things out of his explaination all together in his book or symbolizes events that he cannot explain. Also I don’t think it is fair for an author to sling mud at another author's book simply because he also has a book coming out around the same time. This makes the Christian community think that maybe Haggith is in it for the money and not the edification of the body. I give The Sign many more stars then those which can be listed because it is the only view according to Dr Walter Kaiser, former dean at Trinity Seminary (who is considered one of the finest OT scholars of our day) that best understands and properly applies OT prophecy concerning the Day of the Lord as it relates to the 2nd coming of Christ. If the fathers of dispensationalism had been able to choose between the pretribulation and the pre-wrath views, the pre-wrath position would have received their vote, hands down. Why? Because Jesus Christ taught the Pre Wrath Position as did His disciples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chevyguy, December 24, 2007
By 
Philip H. Ness (Gig Harbor, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Van Kampen has written what I believe to be the most scholarly work on Biblical end times. Most books written on this subject start with a 19th century doctrinal invention called "the pre-tribulation rapture" to explain end times. Van Kampen, on the other hand, simply researched the Scriptures to see what they say about end times. The results are refreshing and a very good read for anybody not locked into the 19th century doctrine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for the signs listed in The Sign, November 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mr Van Kampen has done an extraordinary research project in cataloguing all the signs which we should watch for when the date for Jesus Christ's return is near. I found very interesting his discussion on who will the Antichrist be, in particular the study of the clues given by John in the Book of Revelation, where the apostle presents his clues like a riddle (a riddle more complicated than the one asked by the sphynx):"The beast that you saw was and is not, and is about to come up out of the abyss." (Rev. 17:8). I believe Mr Van Kampen has presented a very good and original solution for that riddle; whether it has now been solved or not is still in the future. Also, the chart attached at the end of the book, summarizing all the activities during the seven years of the tribulation period, is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age
The Sign Of Christ's Coming And The End Of The Age by Robert Van Kampen (Paperback - May 1999)
Used & New from: $1.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.