Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games
Digital List Price: $0.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $13.99 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 Kindle Edition

94 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 359 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

As Black As Ebony
Don't miss the exciting conclusion to the Snow White Trilogy. See Kindle book

Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Wild, imaginative, and utterly engrossing. All I can say is 'More please!' I can't wait to find out what happens to Viktor and Romulus next."
-Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

"I have so much love for this book."
-The Perks of Books

"Unforgettable and addicting with its well-developed characters, unpredictable and twisty plot, and well-crafted, vivid story world ... Be prepared to be captivated with a haunting mystery, a chilling history, and a perilous search."
-Fragments of Life

"An engaging adventure that I absolutely adored ... A definite win for people wanting to revisit their Harry Potter days."
-Ink Scratchers

"Unravels tales of heritage, card games, lost loves, power struggles, and most excitingly, Gypsies! To those who don't give it a read, 'What fools these mortals be!'"
-Get Bookish

About the Author

Levi Stack is a debut author who lives in the rural mountains outside San Diego. His love of historical epics and fantasy led him to plan The Card Game Series, a four-part tale he is working to complete.

Product Details

  • File Size: 950 KB
  • Print Length: 359 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: May 2, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CT9XDSG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,887 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Levi Stack is a debut author who left the University of San Diego to pursue his dream of writing. He is now working to complete The Card Game series, a story set in the Russian Empire that reflects his fondness of plot twists, unlikely heroes, and complex villains. To learn more about the series and its author, visit www.levistack.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Brett on May 20, 2013
Format: Paperback
This book hooked me from the first chapter. I had a hard time putting the book down, building up my excitement for the next book in the series! I became completely immersed in the world of Viktor and Romulus, as the plot twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat. It is a book for all ages, whether you are a teen or an adult. This new, talented young author is someone to get excited about, as he has the imagination and skills to be a literary force in the future. I highly recommend this novel!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Andrew on May 27, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Wow, what a great story! The plot is fresh and new and extremely intriguing. I've been immersed into the world of Victor and Romulus for about a week now and I already can't wait for the next installment! The book is incredible well written, and the author moves along at a fantastic pace. With adventures around every corner, the book didn't lose my attention for a second. What starts off as as a exciting adventure novel quickly becomes a captivating mystery, as Victor and Romulus uncover hidden secrets in the small peasant village they live in.

I highly recommend this book for adventure/fantasy/old world/mystery readers ages 12 and up, and those readers who love Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, Eragon, and Harry Potter will discover in this novel another world they can immerse themselves in that never bores, and keeps the reader wanting more and more and more. All I can hope is that 1) the author releases the second book ASAP and 2) a movie is made ASAP.

Will definitely recommend this book to family and friends!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By W.F. on May 22, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book immensely. Stack transports the reader to an unfamiliar time and place where friendships are forged in blood and enemies are made with a smile. The mystery that you'll find inside "The Silent Deal" is intriguing, twisting, and unforgettable.

Setting: Believable. Wonderful. Full of colorful details of Russia's culture and history

Characters: Likeable. Interesting. They each shine with peculiar quirks the way real people do, endearing the reader to them.

Plot: Surprising. Original. It will keep you wondering what the key is to the mystery surrounding the Cards and who exactly has the Silent Deal- if it even exists.

Writing: Eloquent. Intelligent. Stack's style is such that a University English professor and a child of ten years can both take pleasure in each page.

Rating: Five Stars

Recommendation: Read it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Taters on October 28, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was given a free e-copy of this book by the author in exchange for a fair review. And I must say, it was a worthwhile exchange. This was a superb kick-off to what I'm anticipating will be a wild and absorbing series.

I found The Silent Deal to be quite the page-turner; every detail was worked into a cohesive whole, no matter how insignificant it seemed at first glance. It seemed that every person, place, thing, and event mentioned somehow contributed to the flow of the main story, lending it a satisfying finished-product quality. I certainly paid much more attention to detail than I usually have reason to when reading, and the result was an intellectually engrossing experience that grabbed my brain and pulled me in. New elements of the story made me wonder, "Oh, I wonder what will happen with this" or "I wonder how these things are related." Revelations and big reveals (of which there were plenty) made me go "OH I KNEW IT" or, more frequently, "I never would have thought of that, but I knew it was important somehow!" The whole story was a turbulent, quick-paced, suspense-packed, yet somehow easy-to-follow ride that asked and answered questions in a way that kept me guessing and kept me interested. The pacing was perfect; I was never frustrated at knowing too much or too little.

I did, however, nearly hold back from a five-star review because of the emotional impact of the book. Personally, I'll only really give five stars to books that tear my heartstrings forcibly out of my chest, or make me wish I could do so myself. And though this was an exquisite series opener, and I'll admit I got a bit misty-eyed towards the end when... ahem... it didn't quite get me to the point of eating my feelings.

BUT, it IS the first novel in a series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Erik on June 25, 2013
Format: Paperback
"The Secret Deal" marks the promising debut of an exciting new series and of its author, Levi Stack. Coming out of a tradition of young adult adventure stories, this novel nonetheless is most remarkable for its originality. It blends historical fiction, fantasy, and myth into an engrossing tale of political mystery, crime, social power, and the bonds of friendship. As the novel unfolds, its complex world becomes increasingly realized, disclosing a depth and richness that bodes well for the remainder of the series; even more impressively, it does this at a break-neck pace. It sweeps the reader up into the intrigue of this 19th century Russian town and then leaves him clutching to the narrative as it gallops towards its climax with the speed of one of Arseni's steeds. It's a thoroughly enjoyable ride, and one well worth taking.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Anna on July 7, 2013
Format: Paperback
I couldn't put this book down!! The Silent Deal is the type of adventure story Harry Potter fans have been waiting for. The plot moves fast, but as the pages go by the author reveals layers of mystery with incredible detail and depth. Set in dark, mysterious 19th century Russia, the lines between historical fiction and fantasy are blurred, creating a world you want to be a part of. But even though their world is as different from ours as Harry Potter's, Viktor and Romulus are people you want to know, and more importantly, people you can root for. And isn't that what good fantasy is all about-- creating a world we can only imagine, in which characters have triumphs and struggles that on the surface are greater and more terrible than what we readers have ever experienced, but at their cores aren't really so different from us?
I can't wait for the next book to come out!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?