The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $0.78 (6%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Silent Deal: The Card... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: GREAT SHAPE! Softcover. No missing/torn pages, highlighting, or underlining in text. Some light wear. Fulfilled by Amazon! Free shipping on total Amazon fulfilled orders over $25! Free 2-Day shipping with Amazon Prime!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 (Volume 1) Paperback – May 2, 2013


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.21
$12.25 $5.04

100 Young Adult Books to Read in a Lifetime
100 Young Adult Books to Read in a Lifetime
Amazon's editors chose their list of the one hundred young adult books to read, whether you're fourteen or forty...Learn more
$13.21 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 (Volume 1) + The Magic Trick: The Card Game, Book 2 (Volume 2)
Price for both: $28.20

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Wild, imaginative, and utterly engrossing. All I can say is 'More please!' I can't wait to find out what happens to Viktor and Romulus next."
-Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

"I have so much love for this book."
-The Perks of Books

"Unforgettable and addicting with its well-developed characters, unpredictable and twisty plot, and well-crafted, vivid story world ... Be prepared to be captivated with a haunting mystery, a chilling history, and a perilous search."
-Fragments of Life

"An engaging adventure that I absolutely adored ... A definite win for people wanting to revisit their Harry Potter days."
-Ink Scratchers

"The story is phenomenal ... It stole my mind for a good week, and I think it's time to reread it just so The Silent Deal can capture my mind again."
-The Bucket List

About the Author

Levi Stack is a debut author who lives in the rural mountains outside San Diego. His love of historical epics and fantasy led him to plan The Card Game Series, a four-part tale he is working to complete.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: The Card Game
  • Paperback: 358 pages
  • Publisher: Levi Stack; 1 edition (May 2, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0989394700
  • ISBN-13: 978-0989394703
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.9 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (93 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,559,642 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Levi Stack is a debut author who left the University of San Diego to pursue his dream of writing. He is now working to complete The Card Game series, a story set in the Russian Empire that reflects his fondness of plot twists, unlikely heroes, and complex villains. To learn more about the series and its author, visit www.levistack.com.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Brett on May 20, 2013
Format: Paperback
This book hooked me from the first chapter. I had a hard time putting the book down, building up my excitement for the next book in the series! I became completely immersed in the world of Viktor and Romulus, as the plot twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat. It is a book for all ages, whether you are a teen or an adult. This new, talented young author is someone to get excited about, as he has the imagination and skills to be a literary force in the future. I highly recommend this novel!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Andrew on May 27, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Wow, what a great story! The plot is fresh and new and extremely intriguing. I've been immersed into the world of Victor and Romulus for about a week now and I already can't wait for the next installment! The book is incredible well written, and the author moves along at a fantastic pace. With adventures around every corner, the book didn't lose my attention for a second. What starts off as as a exciting adventure novel quickly becomes a captivating mystery, as Victor and Romulus uncover hidden secrets in the small peasant village they live in.

I highly recommend this book for adventure/fantasy/old world/mystery readers ages 12 and up, and those readers who love Ender's Game, The Hunger Games, Eragon, and Harry Potter will discover in this novel another world they can immerse themselves in that never bores, and keeps the reader wanting more and more and more. All I can hope is that 1) the author releases the second book ASAP and 2) a movie is made ASAP.

Will definitely recommend this book to family and friends!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By W.F. on May 22, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book immensely. Stack transports the reader to an unfamiliar time and place where friendships are forged in blood and enemies are made with a smile. The mystery that you'll find inside "The Silent Deal" is intriguing, twisting, and unforgettable.

Setting: Believable. Wonderful. Full of colorful details of Russia's culture and history

Characters: Likeable. Interesting. They each shine with peculiar quirks the way real people do, endearing the reader to them.

Plot: Surprising. Original. It will keep you wondering what the key is to the mystery surrounding the Cards and who exactly has the Silent Deal- if it even exists.

Writing: Eloquent. Intelligent. Stack's style is such that a University English professor and a child of ten years can both take pleasure in each page.

Rating: Five Stars

Recommendation: Read it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Taters on October 28, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was given a free e-copy of this book by the author in exchange for a fair review. And I must say, it was a worthwhile exchange. This was a superb kick-off to what I'm anticipating will be a wild and absorbing series.

I found The Silent Deal to be quite the page-turner; every detail was worked into a cohesive whole, no matter how insignificant it seemed at first glance. It seemed that every person, place, thing, and event mentioned somehow contributed to the flow of the main story, lending it a satisfying finished-product quality. I certainly paid much more attention to detail than I usually have reason to when reading, and the result was an intellectually engrossing experience that grabbed my brain and pulled me in. New elements of the story made me wonder, "Oh, I wonder what will happen with this" or "I wonder how these things are related." Revelations and big reveals (of which there were plenty) made me go "OH I KNEW IT" or, more frequently, "I never would have thought of that, but I knew it was important somehow!" The whole story was a turbulent, quick-paced, suspense-packed, yet somehow easy-to-follow ride that asked and answered questions in a way that kept me guessing and kept me interested. The pacing was perfect; I was never frustrated at knowing too much or too little.

I did, however, nearly hold back from a five-star review because of the emotional impact of the book. Personally, I'll only really give five stars to books that tear my heartstrings forcibly out of my chest, or make me wish I could do so myself. And though this was an exquisite series opener, and I'll admit I got a bit misty-eyed towards the end when... ahem... it didn't quite get me to the point of eating my feelings.

BUT, it IS the first novel in a series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Erik on June 25, 2013
Format: Paperback
"The Secret Deal" marks the promising debut of an exciting new series and of its author, Levi Stack. Coming out of a tradition of young adult adventure stories, this novel nonetheless is most remarkable for its originality. It blends historical fiction, fantasy, and myth into an engrossing tale of political mystery, crime, social power, and the bonds of friendship. As the novel unfolds, its complex world becomes increasingly realized, disclosing a depth and richness that bodes well for the remainder of the series; even more impressively, it does this at a break-neck pace. It sweeps the reader up into the intrigue of this 19th century Russian town and then leaves him clutching to the narrative as it gallops towards its climax with the speed of one of Arseni's steeds. It's a thoroughly enjoyable ride, and one well worth taking.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Anna on July 7, 2013
Format: Paperback
I couldn't put this book down!! The Silent Deal is the type of adventure story Harry Potter fans have been waiting for. The plot moves fast, but as the pages go by the author reveals layers of mystery with incredible detail and depth. Set in dark, mysterious 19th century Russia, the lines between historical fiction and fantasy are blurred, creating a world you want to be a part of. But even though their world is as different from ours as Harry Potter's, Viktor and Romulus are people you want to know, and more importantly, people you can root for. And isn't that what good fantasy is all about-- creating a world we can only imagine, in which characters have triumphs and struggles that on the surface are greater and more terrible than what we readers have ever experienced, but at their cores aren't really so different from us?
I can't wait for the next book to come out!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 (Volume 1)
This item: The Silent Deal: The Card Game, Book 1 (Volume 1)
Price: $13.21
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com