Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 star!!
I have never read a book by Michael Landon Jr. or Cindy Kelly so I didn't know what to expect, but let me tell you this story surpassed anything I imagined. A bittersweet story filled with passion, yearning, and hope as a mom and a disabled little boy bring happiness into some people's lives and sorrow into others with his "silent gift."

As the little boy's...
Published on January 5, 2010 by Ladybug101

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a Ride!
Jack's life began violently. This is more a reflection of his father than Jack, but as Jack says this story is about Mary - his mother. Mary loves Jack even though he can't hear or speak to her, which perhaps the reason why she put up with Jack's father for so long. Jerry wasn't a good husband and certainly wasn't a good father but he provided for Mary and Jack. Then Mary...
Published on April 23, 2010 by Patricia Barnard


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a Ride!, April 23, 2010
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Kindle Edition)
Jack's life began violently. This is more a reflection of his father than Jack, but as Jack says this story is about Mary - his mother. Mary loves Jack even though he can't hear or speak to her, which perhaps the reason why she put up with Jack's father for so long. Jerry wasn't a good husband and certainly wasn't a good father but he provided for Mary and Jack. Then Mary found their life savings and a note from a woman in Jerry's coat pocket and takes matters into her own hands. Thus beginning a whirlwind adventure taking Mary and Jack from their frightening home into an even harsher reality. Chicago in the depression era is not a pretty place and while Mary struggles to find a job and more importantly a roof over her and her young son's head, she stumbles on an unusual gift. Jack can see the future. Communicating only through relevant Bible verses Jack warns of disaster and brings good news to those he touches. Mary realizes Jack's holy gift could be the answer to their financial woes and secure his future. But she quickly finds that you always let the bad in with the good, and finds that Jack may suffer the same fate she did as a child, or worse.
This is an intriguing and utterly engaging novel. Mary and Jack's adventure is just that, an adventure, through the mean streets of Chicago. This novel starts fast, hooks the reader and barrels on ahead until the end. There were times while reading that the anxiety rose so high I had to put it down. The excitement of the story ranges from one extreme to another - whether Mary's desperate flight from Jerry, the realization of Jack's gift, and the good and bad that comes from all of it. The first three quarters of the novel are perfectly constructed, completely engaging, and white knuckle addicting. Unfortunately, the last quarter of the book seemed to fall apart plot wise. The plot thickens for Mary and Jack in terms of his unique gift, just in time to completely disappear. The story takes a new turn and seems to never again address the gift that the novel is names for. Now, the authors do pull it full circle by suggesting that Jack himself is the "silent gift", but not to a satisfying enough conclusion for the direction that the book started with. It seemed as though one author wrote the first of the book and the other came in to finish. If the novel had been written in a secular field for younger readers than it could have been split in to two serial novels. But it isn't, and wasn't. The plot split isn't enough to cancel the novel as a whole as the story is great and exciting, even after the plot took a brand new turn, it just feels a bit bi-polar.
Overall, this is definitely worth reading. The writing is interesting, the dialogue is quick, and the story is absolutely thrilling and in ways beautiful. Perhaps the most satisfying way to read the novel is to take Jack's advice in the beginning and read it as Mary's story, not Jack's. I wish that there had been a better conclusion.
*Book provided by Bethany House Publishing at no cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 star!!, January 5, 2010
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
I have never read a book by Michael Landon Jr. or Cindy Kelly so I didn't know what to expect, but let me tell you this story surpassed anything I imagined. A bittersweet story filled with passion, yearning, and hope as a mom and a disabled little boy bring happiness into some people's lives and sorrow into others with his "silent gift."

As the little boy's gift becomes known to other people, his mother is faced with a challenge--- should she use this special, God-given gift as a means for providing them with the money they need so much? She realizes her mistake too late when, with all the popularity her little boy gets, her absent husband finds her and has her arrested....as her life spirals out of control will she ever see her son again?

A great read that had me captivated, I couldn't put it down till I had it finished. The ending really surprised me. I loved it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chip off the old block!, December 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Hardcover)
I was a fan of Michael Landon Sr. of the Little House TV fame. I have seen a few of Michael Landon, Jr. movies on TV based on Jeannette Oaks' books. I have never been a fan of Oaks' books as they always seemed a little boring to my taste and therefore the movies that Landon made based on them seemed about the same to me. However, I purchased this book after much contemplation and had read a review in a woman's magazine about Landon Jr.'s work including a movie called Saving Sarah Caine. I thought I would give his work another chance. The premise of this book about a boy who has a special gift of telling the future (when he himself cannot hear or speak) was an interesting one to me. The book kept me "on edge" almost from the first chapter. It was filled with all kinds of bad luck and situations for the main characters. For some, I think that the main character, the boy's mother, might be construed as too nieve and maybe a little contrived; however, I found the story engaging and the ending made me cry. Not sad tears but happy tears. The book is heavily Christian oriented, so if this is something that turns you off, then this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down., October 25, 2010
By 
Patra (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
I really loved this book. I looked forward each night to reading about the sweet, deaf, boy Jack and his faithful, mother Mary. Even after I finished the book I kept thinking about the characters. Great job by both authors! Fantastic book at a terrific price. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to lift your spirits, August 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book tremendously. It was one of those books that renew your faith in the goodness of mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many layers to this one!!, July 4, 2010
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
There are so many layers to this book. I was intrigued, angry, hopeful, and sad during the reading of this book. I must say the authors are fabulous writers! There was such depth to the story and many layers to the main character.

I could not put this book down. I stayed up until after 1am (I am an early to bed kind of gal) so that says a lot. I am not sure I would have picked this book up to read if I had not been given an opportunity to review it. It is not usually a type of book I read, but this was so well written and kept me reading on and on to the end. Thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The gift of a small boy, January 5, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
Dating back to the Depression Era, the authors Michael Landon Jr. (Little House of the Prairie) and Cindy Kelley write about the troubling times of a young boy who has a disability of not being able to hear. This sweet boy, Jack, is deaf and lives with his lonely mother, Mary, during a trying time. While the world is suffering from a huge financial breakdown, this young boy and his mother must make due with what they have- each other.

Then comes "The Gift." This gift is a talent that the young boy possesses of being able to use numbers in correlation to Bible verses and then Jack knows what the future holds, almost like a fortune teller. Once this gift has been discovered, he and his mother meet trouble with others who want to take advantage of his gift. Everything begins to get tough for this family and they have to figure out how to pull their way through.

With the country's financial situation as it is right now and since many people are not able to make ends meet, this book couldn't have come at a better time. It gives hope to others.

Generally, I enjoy books from this time period (A Tree Grows in Brooklyn) and I really like the Love Comes Softly movie (and book) series which were directed by Michael Landon Jr. This book follows along in the similar styles of these other books and movies. If you enjoy any of these other series, you are bound to enjoy this book.

*** I reviewed this book for free from Bethany House Publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, November 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this down. A story of a young deaf mute and his mom and their fight to understand his gift. You felt like you were back in the depression of the 30's traveling from from town to town in desperation to find happiness and a life where 2 people could enjoy each others love without fear. Truly a tear jerker. I really liked the ending. Will read another og Landons books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strength of a Mother's Love, August 9, 2010
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
Imagine your life lived in a cocoon not penetrable by sound, or for that matter, much of anything. Now, imagine your life as the mother of a little boy, whose less-than-ideal entrance into the world, left you with a love so strong that you would do absolutely anything to protect that little boy, but not strong enough to break through his silent cocoon.

In this book, Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley bring you immediately into a time of desperation and confusion in the height of the Great Depression as the mother of a little boy who is deaf and mute, but endowed with a gift far greater than either one of them can comprehend. You will go through the ups and the downs of their lives; from the palace to the prison and back up again. You will be brought to the brink of desperation and cheer with them as their lives begin to make sense. You will be brought to tears at the hard and lonely times of this little family as time and time and time again they have to fight for everything they have only to end up exactly where God wanted them with the maximum amount of lives being touched.

This book was provided to me free of charge as part of Bethany House Book Reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book. Could not put it down!!, July 13, 2010
This review is from: The Silent Gift (Paperback)
This book was amazing. It kept me turning pages and wanting to know more about what happens to Jack. Looking forward to any future books by these authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9caa2e34)

This product

The Silent Gift
The Silent Gift by Michael Landon (Paperback - October 1, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.