Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Amazon Fashion Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2008
Gray Barker may never have found the Mothman or proved that it existed, but the stories he collected/created in The Silver Bridge were fascinating nonetheless. The book intertwined a strong narrative with factual interviews so that the reader is left to figure out what really happened.
The best parts of the book were the interviews with the people who say they actually had experienced an incident with the Mothman. Having read The Mothman Prophecies and remembering John Keel's interviews with the Scarberrys and the Mallettes, The Silver Bridge allows the reader to really understand their background as well as introducing a few new names into the frey, like Jimmi Jamieson and Frank Wentworth, both with their own Mothman experience. Whether the latter two people were real or composites, however, is anyone's guess.
Ambiguous, but highly enjoyable.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2009
This book is truly fine literature. It makes you feel what the times were like, both for Gray as he was investigating and also for the people he interviewed. The Mothman tales continue to this day, but Gray paints the initial series of events with words to express the horror and wonder which the events elicited. Rather than being a clinical research exposé, something much more valuable about the mysterious and its relation to the human condition. Somehow one is left with a belief that very strange happenings occurred and that the character of the people and places were involved.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Don't expect The Mothman Prophesies. This remarkable book reads like a memoir, or a vision quest. It's deeply personal and very moving. It is a remarkably original book that deeply investigates the phenomenon of mass hallucinosis; but without discounting it. Or maybe Mothman was real, and either brought into being by group thought (like a Tulpa) or summoned from another dimension. But Occam's Razor. It deals as deeply and convincingly with high strangeness as Whitley Streiber's Communion, which is the book it most closely resembles. However, the Silver Bridge speaks in riddles and metaphor and dreams. Wholly original, and it packs an emotional punch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
This is not the most famous look at the Mothman enigma but it's certainly the most interesting. Gray Barker, known more for his creative UFO studies, tackles the West Virginia sightings and their implications in a book that must be partially fictionalized (he injects a lot of thoughts he either made up or embellished from interviews) but, nevertheless, is a fascinating read.
Barker was among the first of the serious researchers to go to Point Pleasant and it's environs to investigate the tales of the Mothman. The fact he knew the area and its people well already helped give the book a feel of insider knowledge. It is, at once, creepy, foreboding and factually pretty accurate. Well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
It's a bad sign when a book needs three introductions to explain how good it is. If you want an incisive retelling of the mysterious events surround the appearance of the Mothman and the collapse of the bridge, you'll get that. But mixed in are Barker's creative interpretations of what may or may not have happened. Possibly, John Keel made up parts of his book as well. But unlike this book, The Motorman Prophecies at least feels like the result of a journalist's investigation. The Silver Bridge feels like a novel which used the strange events around Point Pleasant as a jumping off point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
Gray Barker was an interesting hack. This book is half lies and half fictionalized news and popular stories. Feels like Barker was cutting and pasting rejected fiction of his own to pad out this book. I give it a low-key rating. Read it more as a curiosity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
To sum up The Silver Bridge in three words is difficult. I found this book to be a work of art. It was wonderfully moving, personal, and enlightening. I wouldn't really compare The Silver Bridge to any other works because this was actually the first book written about the Mothman. It could be compared to John Keel's work on subject matter only. This was a more personal story written by a man with first hand knowledge and he was also a Ufologist. This is the first performance I've had the pleasure of listening to by Michael Hacker. It was flawless. I will look for more from him now and in the future. He made a great story even better. If The Silver Bridge were to be made into a film, my tagline would be 'A story about the Mothman guaranteed to make you think.' This subject is a huge interest of mine. I found this book to be very thought-provoking and added to the mystery of the Mothman. I absolutely loved it. This is a must read or listen for anyone with interest in Ufology or the Mothman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
The book has little to do with Mothman directly and almost nothing to do with the Silver Bridge and it's collapse. The book rambles all over the place and the author gets side tracked often without coming back to his original story. I also had the feeling that the author looks down on and is almost making fun of several of the people he writes about, which I personally found disappointing.

To me, this book does not do justice to the very interesting Mothman story or the tragic Silver Bridge collapse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
A must read for anyone into ufos, melinda he mothman, amd the silver bridge collapse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Having read John Keel's fine reportage in his "Mothman Prophecies", having watched the "Eyes of the Mothman" documentary, and being vaguely aware of the name Gray Barker as notable in the paranormal field, I expected a great deal more from this book than it actually offered.

Fact is, the author seems to be having difficulty deciding whether he wants to write a factual account or a novel; and, undecided himself, he is unable to tell us either.

This rambling, unconvincing tale wanders all over the place and fails to break the credibility barrier at any point. I am so glad that this is not my first exposure to the literature of the Mothman mystery, otherwise I might have been turned off to the topic altogether.

If Barker were trying to debunk the phenomenon he should have been honest enough to say so plainly; if not, he might not have written in such a disinterested style as to suggest that he was reporting on the legend of Rumpelstiltskin. Instead, what he has given us might well be subtitled "Mothman According to The Brothers Grimm."

I can't help but wonder if somewhere in great beyond Gray Barker isn't chuckling up his sleeve over the great joke he has played on those curious about the mysterious events in Point Pleasant, West Virginia, in the second half of the 20th century . . .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.