Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get It For The 1st Acts
By this point the series had settled into a too-comfortable format that this season exemplifies.
1. Hilarious first act that is soon left behind by the actual plot.
2. So-so second act that introduces the gratuitous guest voice and expands on the plot.
3. Hit or miss third act that either veers completely away from the general plot or takes the premise...
Published on August 21, 2009 by Michael Grabowski

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this! Package is the same as standard version...
At the time of this review, the price for the Limited Edition Packaging is lower than the standard edition. As it was the case with the 11th season, the head and sleeve are completely detachable and what is left is the standard version package. Since that is the same as the standard, why not buy the cheaper one?

Also, the inside sleeves are a bit better than...
Published on August 20, 2009 by A


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get It For The 1st Acts, August 21, 2009
By 
Michael Grabowski "grabbag" (Lake Forest, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
By this point the series had settled into a too-comfortable format that this season exemplifies.
1. Hilarious first act that is soon left behind by the actual plot.
2. So-so second act that introduces the gratuitous guest voice and expands on the plot.
3. Hit or miss third act that either veers completely away from the general plot or takes the premise to an absurd level. Depending on the execution and one's personal tastes, this makes the episode either decent or awful.

Individual episodes deviate from this at times, but for the most part they stick fairly religiously to it. Did I say the guest voices are gratuitous? The stories should not be notable mainly because of the guest voice. This season leads off with The Who episode (which the commentary reveals doesn't feature the entire group, even as it existed then), a symbol of what's to come.

That said, I still give this 4 stars because of the mostly great first acts, which this period of the show elevates to an art form. The best ones have almost nothing to do with the direction of the rest of the episode but are loaded with great gags, like the trip to the Festival of Books in "Insane Clown Poppy."

Some of the third acts are brilliant, too, like The Prisoner homage in "The Computer Wore Menace Shoes," or the mob family gathering Homer & Krusty invade in "Insane Clown Poppy."

What's largely missing is the emotional core that was so memorable in the first several seasons. By this point many of the writers, directors, and producers who created and cared about these characters have all have long since moved on to other things. The commentaries make pretty clear that the 12th season staff just like making Homer appear as dumb and depraved as possible. "Homer vs. Dignity" is a particular low point featuring Homer doing baby talk in a diaper and getting raped by a panda. When genuine emotional substance is called for, such as Krusty trying to establish a relationship with his previously unknown daughter in "Insane Clown Poppy," no feeling comes through at all. (Compare it to "Like Father, Like Clown," where Krusty reconciles with his dad, or the end of "Lisa's Substitute" when Homer gets Lisa to laugh with him again.) In this specific case, part of the problem is Drew Barrymore's generic voice work completely fails to convey the emotion that's animated for her. In general, though, it reveals that the producers generally seemed to coast through the year.

Still, there are some highlight episodes, like "Trilogy of Error," and "HOMR," and the annual "Treehouse of Horror" is a little better than some previous years' Halloween eps. Even the lesser episodes have great moments. The animators' commentaries are interesting as they discuss and illustrate on screen certain aspects of drawing the show. The Comic Book Guy's highlight reel is fun to watch. There is still plenty to enjoy, even if you maybe won't enjoy it quite as often as the earlier seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy solution for the packaging issue, June 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
I know I am not alone when it comes to the way season 11 and probably season 12 will be packaged. In those almost immpossible sleeves the discs are crammed into. Once out of that tight fitting slot, just use some of those two sided sleeves or envelopes you get at office depot.They fit back in between the accordian type booklet just fine. It's a quick low cost solution to the problem. Just thought i'd share that with everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars End of an Era, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
I'm glad Amazon put this on sale because this was one of the seasons I didn't want to pay full price to own. I'd have preferred to get it as a gift, but the Gold Box special price is good too.

This is the last season before the long, dark period of mediocrity known as the Al Jean years. Even in this season it becomes more hit or miss, which some great episodes like "HOMR" (where Homer becomes a genius by getting a crayon out of his brain) and "Hungry Hungry Homer" (where Homer finds out the Isotopes are moving to Albuquerque--and there really is an Albuquerque Isotopes team!) but also some lesser episodes. Though of course not everyone would agree with that assessment. For a complete list of episodes, go to Wikipedia or something and then you can decide whether this is a season you want to own or not. This isn't the Worst Season Ever, but it's also not the Best Season Ever either. By this season they'd started to "jump the shark" and yet it's gone on for another 10+ years, so that by now the poor shark has been bludgeoned to death.

I think this is it for me, because I just don't think it'd be worth it to buy the later seasons. What I always wish you could do was buy episodes sort of ala carte, or just pick those of a season you like and create a disc that way, sort of like a Simpsons mix tape. I doubt that will happen--legally anyway.

That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD comes with a ton of special features, enjoyable commentary tracks for every episode and I enjoyed the 12th Season!, August 20, 2009
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
The twelfth season of "The Simpsons" arrives on DVD, packed with an incredible amount of special features and as always, another season that is absolutely hilarious, fun and outright enjoyable!

Since 1989, "The Simpsons" which was created by Matt Groening and is currently on its 20th Season on FOX. Derived from shorts shown on the The Tracey Ullman Show back in 1987, "The Simpsons" has broadcast over 441 episodes and has amassed 24 Primetime Emmy Awards, 26 Annie awards and a Peabody Award. And also has received the recognition of being America's longest running sitcom and animated program. Needless to say, the animated series is part of American pop culture and inspired many trends in American culture.

The twelfth season of "The Simpsons" features 21 episodes from the 2000-2001 season. And the theme of this DVD box set release is a spin on San Diego Comic-Con but in this case, "Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con".

The first things you will notice with the DVD is the box cover feature the Comic Book guy on the front. It's when you open the package, it's one of the coolest six-panel gatefold type of DVD packaging I have ever seen. The artwork features the characters at the Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con and everyone in cosplay. Very cool looking but some DVD collector's may not like how the DVD's are stored inside the gatefold sleeve.

Each DVD also reflects that on the main menus as for example, disc one features people in line at the convention, waiting to get an autograph from Krusty the Clown and other characters. And the menus feature a good amount of animation, so you end up watching those too.

As for the episodes, included are (non-spoiler summaries):

DISC 1:

* EPISODE 1: TREEHOUSE OF HORROR XI - "The Simpsons Halloween Show XI" which includes three Halloween related shorts: Homer as a ghost in "G-G-Ghost D-D-Dad", "Scary Tales Can Come True" featuring the Simpson kids meeting the three bears and a wicked witch and "Night of the Dolphin" which is a tale of when dolphins attack.
* EPISODE 2: A TALE OF TWO SPRINGFIELDS - Springfield receives a new area code number which infuriates Homer and others and prompts them to divide the city into Old and New Springfield. Featuring guest voices of Gary Coleman, Marcia Wallace, Frank Welker and the Who.
* EPISODE 3: INSANE CLOWN POPPY - Krusty the Clown finds out that he has a daughter. Featuring the guest voices of Drew Barrymore, Stephen King, Joe Mantegna, Jay Mohr, Amy Tan and John Updike.
* EPISODE 4: LISA THE TREE HUGGER - Lisa falls for an environmentalist and will do what she can to win his approval. Featuring the guest voice of Joshua Jackson.
* EPISODE 5: HOMER VS. DIGNITY - Mr. Burns hires Homer to be his prank monkey. Featuring the voice of Leeza Gibbons and Marcia Wallace.

DISC 2:

* EPISODE 6: THE COMPUTER WORE MENACE SHOES - Homer becomes a whistleblower ala Mr. X via his secret website. Featuring the guest voices of Patric McGoohan and Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 7: THE GREAT MONEY CAPER - Bart uses his street smarts to become a charity case, so he can get money from people. Featuring the guest voice of Edward Norton.
* EPISODE 8: SKINNER'S SENSE OF SNOW - It's time for the French circus and the Simpsons family go to watch it. Unknown to them and the other people of Springfield, a snow storm is coming. Featuring the guest voice of Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 9: HOMR - X-rays show that Homer has a crayon lodged into his brain and when it is removed, his IQ skyrockets.
* EPISODE 10: POKEY MOM - The Simpsons attend a prison rodeo and Marge sees potential in one of the inmates. Featuring the guest voices of Michael Keaton, Charles Napier, Robert Schimmel, Bruce Vilanch and Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 11: WORST EPISODE EVER - Bart and Milhouse are banned from the comic book guy's store but when he suffers a cardiac episode "Worst Episode Ever", the two manage the comic book store. Featuring the guest voice of Tom Savini.

DISC 3:

* EPISODE 12: TENNIS THE MENACE - Homer enters in a tennis tournament with Lisa. Featuring the guest voices of Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, Marcia Wallace, Serena Williams and Venus Williams.
* EPISODE 13: DAY OF THE JACKANAPES - Krusty the Clown has had enough with the network execs butting into his show and he decides to call it quits. Featuring the guest voices of Gary Coleman and Kelsey Grammar.
* EPISODE 14: NEW KIDS ON THE BLECCH - Bart is asked to join a gang called "The Party Posse". Featuring the guest voices of N'Sync: Lance Bass, J.C. Chasez, Joey Fatone, Chris Kirkpatrick and Justin Timberlake.
* EPISODE 15: HUNGRY, HUNGRY HOMER - Homer goes on a hunger strike. Featuring the guest voice of Stacy Keach and Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 16: BYE BYE NERDIE - Lisa tries to become friends with the new girl in school. Featuring the guest voices of Kathy Griffin, Jan Hooks and Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 17: SIMPSON SAFARI - The Simpson Family win a contest to go on an African safari. Featuring the guest voice of Frank Welker.

DISC 4:

* EPISODE 18: TRILOGY OF ERROR - Marge accidentally cuts Homer's thumb off and now it needs to get reattached. Featuring the guest voices of Joe Mantegna and Frankie Muniz.
* EPISODE 19: I'M GOIN' TO PRAISELAND - Ned decides to start his own amusement park "Praiseland". Featuring the guest voices of Shawn Colvin and Marcia Wallace.
* EPISODE 20: CHILDREN OF A LESSER CLOD - Homer decides to start a daycare center.
* EPISODE 21: SIMPSONS TALL TALES - The Simpson family wins a trip to Delaware. Featuring the guest voices of Marcia Wallace and Frank Welker.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"The Simpsons" is presented in full screen 1:33:1. Picture quality is good but considering the animation was done 8-9 years ago, you will notice that the episodes are fine but the intro and some parts of the special features (like clips of "The Best of the Comic Book Guy" which contains older footage look a bit aged. But for the most part, animation is very good and I spotted to digital artifacts or dust or scratches.

As for audio, "The Simpsons" is presented in English 5.1 Dolby Surround, Spanish and French stereo. The series of course is primarily dialogue-based, so the series takes advantage of the front and center channels. But dialogue is clear and understandable.

Subtitles are in English and Spanish.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"The Simpsons - The Twelfth Season" comes with a ton of special features. Included are:

DISC 1:

* A Comic Moment with Matt Groening - (1:22) Matt Groening welcoming the viewer to Season 12.
* Commentaries featuring Executives Producers, Writers, Directors, Cast: Treehouse of Horror XI, A Tale of Two Springfields, Insane Clown Poppy, Lisa the Tree Hugger, Homer vs. Dignity
* Illustrated Commentary: Lisa the Tree Hugger - (13:15) Steven Dean Moore (animation director), Mike B. Anderson and Chuck Sheetz talk about their experiences joining on the show and drawing the characters and also their inspirations. Using a color pen, the group illustrates certain characters while discussing the episode.
* Animation Showcase: Treehouse of Horror XI - Viewers can view the episode's storyboards and animatics. Storyboard is shown with the actual animation on the bottom corner via picture-in-picture style of format.
* Deleted Scenes - While watching the episode, you will see a scissor on the bottom right corner. Click on it with your remote control to access the scene. (note: Some deleted scenes may contain profanity)
* Special Language Feature: Homer Vs. Dignity - Viewers can watch the show in Hungarian, Portuguese, Ukranian or Italian.

DISC 2:

* Commentaries featuring Executives Producers, Writers, Directors, Cast: The Computer Wore Menace Shoes, The Great Money Caper, Skinner's Sense of Snow, HOMR, Pokey Mom, Worst Episode Ever
* Deleted Scenes - While watching the episode, you will see a scissor on the bottom right corner. Click on it with your remote control to access the scene.
* Comic Book Guy: Best. Moments. Ever. featurette - (9:38) Featuring clips of the Comic Book Guy.
* Illustrated Commentary: HOMR - (11:36) Mike B. Anderson, Chuck Sheetz, Steve Dean Moore talk about "HOMR" in regards to the animation and changes in the introduction and more. Using a color pen, the group illustrates certain characters while discussing the episode.

DISC 3:

* Commentaries featuring Executives Producers, Writers, Directors, Cast: Tennis the Menace, Day of the Jackanapes, New Kids on the Blecch, Hungry, Hungry Homer, Bye Bye Nerdie and Simpsons Safari
* Deleted Scenes - While watching the episode, you will see a scissor on the bottom right corner. Click on it with your remote control to access the scene.
* Animation Showcase: Day of the Jackanapes - Viewers can view the episode's storyboards and animatics. Storyboard is shown with the actual animation on the bottom corner via picture-in-picture style of format.

DISC 4:

* Commentaries featuring Executives Producers, Writers, Directors, Cast: Trilogy of Error, I'm Going to Praiseland, Children of a Lesser Clod, Simpson Tall Tales
* Deleted Scenes with optional commentary by executive producer Mike Skully - (24:33) Unlike the deleted scenes which people can select during the episode, you can now watch the deleted scenes one after the other and learn from Executive Producer Mike Skully about why they deleted them. Mainly deleted scenes were cut due to timing or due to violent situations and some scenes are in black and white and color.
* Global Fanfest - (7:28) On October 28th, "The Simpson's Global Fanfest Backlot Bash!" was held at the 20th Century FOX Studio lot in Los Angeles. Featuring a live concert performance of songs from "The Simpsons", the USC Trojan marching band, "The Simpsons" crew in a contest, interviews with the voice talent and classic interviews with Matt Groening and the crew.
* Sketch Gallery - (:48) A short segment featuring the sketch gallery for "The Simpsons".
* Illustrated Commentary: I'm Goin' to Praiseland - (11:26) Chuck Sheetz, Mike B. Anderson and Steven Dean Moore discuss the episode.
* The Commercials - (1:38) The Simpson commercials for Nestle USA (for Butterfinger), Burger King (happy meal toys) and Red Rooster (toys available for Red Rooster kids meals in Australia).

Also, included is a 30-page episode summary booklet.

JUDGMENT CALL:

The 12th Season of "The Simpsons" was another fantastic season with plenty of hilariously fun episodes. Although, "The Simpsons" has always received criticism especially Executive Producer Matt Scully (during this and last season) from those who wonder how the show can run for so long, I personally feel that the writers and directors have managed to keep the season quite fresh and enjoyable for most of the time. For the 12th season on DVD, it was great to watch these episodes again and for the most part, watch it with the commentary track.

For me, I truly enjoyed "Treehouse of Horror XI", "A Tale of Two Springfields", "Lise the Tree Hugger", "HOMR", "Worst Episode Ever", really to many to mention. Of course, some episodes were very good and some were OK but for the most part, the twelfth season was quite enjoyable and the DVD release I felt was quite awesome!

I have to say that "The Simpsons" is one of those DVD releases for each season that you really get your money's worth. Not only are there a ton of special features, the fact that every episode has a commentary track (which are all fun, hilarious and just enjoyable and informative to listen to) is amazing! If there was one major surprise, that is on disc 1 for episode 2, there is a deleted scene that has profanity. So, you may not want to have your kids around during the deleted scene.

As for the DVD release, again I really dig the Comic-Con parody gatefold disc holder but I know that there are people who despise this type of packaging and feel it can damage their disc or they are hard to remove. Personally, I don't find any problem with it, similar to past releases and I actually enjoy this packaging especially because it is artistic but I know there are some people who don't like it.

But for the most part, there is so much included on "The Simpsons - The Twelfth Season" DVD set that if you already have been collecting every season, it's a no-brainer to have this new set in your collection. Granted, every viewer has their opinion of which season is the best and which is the worst but for me, I've always felt "The Twelfth Season" to be hilarious and fun. And if anything, enjoyable!

"The Simpsons - The Twelfth Season" is definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny season, November 17, 2010
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
The Simpsons suffered an agonizing low at the beginning of the 21st Century when the writers got lazy and the show became nearly unwatchable. It's this painful decline that I blame for the rise in the vastly inferior and undeniably ugly Family Guy.

Having never seen any of the episodes as they aired on TV, I only got Season 12 as I already had 1-11 on DVD. To my delight it features hardly a single bad episode and is consistently funny with dozens of laugh-out-loud moments. Absolutely brilliant!

The packaging is just downright awful though. A nice idea, but poor execution. I wish studios would move away from cardboard digipacks. They're just not made to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special edition packaging this time not nearly as bad., August 19, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I won't go in depth here about the episodes in this season... anyone who's picking up the DVD set knows about these already. I will say the special edition head box is a lot better than last season. While it's not as easy to get them out of the sleeve as if they were in plastic holders, they made the cardboard dividers in between each disc a lot thicker and somehow that lets the DVD's slide out a LOT easier than with season 11. One disc in last season's set was nearly impossible to get out, but it's not so bad this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5/5 Underrated season., August 23, 2009
By 
Alex "47" (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
It's been awhile. Season 12 is finally on DVD. I was skeptical, but after watching the season, I can say I was very pleasantly surprised.

---

[*] indicates a "Season Great/Epicsode"

Treehouse of Horror XI: 4/5
G-G-Ghost D-D-Dad: 4.25/5 Homer eats broccoli and dies. Homer is told to do one good deed before being accepted into heaven.
Scary Tales Can Come True: 3.75/5 Bart and Lisa are thrown into the woods by Homer and Marge with only a fairy tale book to guide them through.
Night of the Dolphin: 4.25/5 Dolphins get revenge on Springfield, and summon all humans to the sea so dolphins can live back on land.

A Tale of Two Springfields: 4.25/5
A new area code splits Springfield in two and Homer becomes mayor. The members of New Springfield aren't happy with what he's doing, and move to Olde Springfield, leaving only the Simpsons in the New Springfield. To combine the Springfields into one, Homer gets The Who to play in his half of the city.

Insane Clown Poppy: 3/5
Krusty meets his daughter, and is soon seen gambling. He gambles away his daughter's violin, and he and Homer try to get into Fat Tony's hideout to get the violin back.

Lisa the Tree Hugger: 3.5/5
Lisa stays in a large redwood tree that is threatened to get cut down. The stays up in it for a night of protest, but decides to leave. The next morning, the tree is struck by lightning and Lisa is presumed dead.

[*]Homer vs. Dignity: 4.5/5
Homer is paid large sums of money by Mr. Burns to embarrass himself, but changes his ways with a little encouragement from Lisa.

[*]The Computer Wore Menace Shoes: 4.5/5
Homer gets a new computer and decided to create his own website under the name Mr. X. His gossip and news site gets spread around really quick and is soon wanted by police. This is a really good episode in my opinion, but most of the ending is just sort of stupid in my opinion.

[*]The Great Money Caper: 4.75/5
Homer and Bart decide to grift after realizing their magic act wasn't working. They soon get "caught" and learn their lesson.

[*]Skinner's Sense of Snow: 5/5
The only school to be open during a massive snowday, the whole school gets snowed in, forcing Skinner to take charge. The students revolt, and Skinner gets serious. Meanwhile, Flanders and Homer attempt to free the school.

[*]HOMR: 5/5
Homer discovers he has a crayon in his brain and decides to have it removed. He becomes smarter but learns he was better off less intelligent. He has the crayon placed back in his brain.

Pokey Mom: 4.25/5
Marge takes in an ex-con who is a very talented artist. Meanwhile, Homer becomes a chiropractor and attempts to patent his own device.

[*]Worst Episode Ever: 4.5/5
After Comic Book Guy has a heart attack, Bart and Milhouse take over his store, Android's Dungeon. Bart and Milhouse soon discover a secret room with hidden tapes. Meanwhile, Comic Book Guy dates Agnes Skinner.

Tennis the Menace: 4.25/5
Marge and Homer decide to join a doubles tournament for tennis, but Marge dumps Homer for it. Homer then recruits Lisa. Homer and Lisa face Marge and Bart in the tournament, but they get replaced by professional tennis players.

Day of the Jackanapes: 4.25/5
Sideshow Bob gets back out of prison and decides to set up another scheme. This time, one that will kill both Bart and Krusty. This is probably my favorite Sideshow Bob episode, besides "Krusty Gets Busted"

[*]New Kids on the Blecch: 4.5/5
Bart, Nelson, Milhouse, and Ralph get recruited to be in a boy band called Party Posse. Lisa realizes that the music videos the guys star in is giving subliminal messages.

Hungry, Hungry Homer: 3.75/5
Homer protests the future possible movement of the Springfield Isotopes to Albuquerque by starving himself outside the stadium.

[*]Bye, Bye Nerdie: 4.5/5
Lisa discovers that sweat from nerds attracts bullyism. Meanwhile, Homer realizes how dangerous things can be in an everyday household for a baby.

Simpson Safari: 4/5
Homer wins a trip to Africa after winning one. While there, the Simpsons encounter a professor that makes monkeys dig for diamonds.

[*]Trilogy of Error: 4.75/5
Homer gets rushed to a hospital for a dismembered finger, Lisa needs to get to her school science fair, and Bart gets involved in a fireworks problem with Fat Tony. The whole episode follows the three parts to show how it all unfolds.

I'm Goin' to Praiseland: 4/5
Homer and Ned open a place called Praiseland in memory of Ned's deceased wife, Maude. Ned and Homer believe Maude's statue tells people what their lives will be like when they die.

[*]Children of a Lesser Clod: 4.75/5
Homer opens up a daycare service after Rod and Todd recommend it. Because of this, Bart and Lisa get jealous of the attention the kids are receiving from Homer, and come up with a plan to show everyone who Homer really is.

[*]Simpsons Tall Tales: 4.5/5
This episode features 3 tall tales - Paul Bunyan, Connie Appleseed, and Tom and Huck. While I didn't particularly care for Paul Bunyan, Tom and Huck was okay, and Connie Appleseed was very funny.

---

The Simpsons: The Complete Twelfth Season is one HELL of a season - completely underrated - and, in my opinion, better than seasons 11 and 10, and even 9 and 8. The bonus features are alright, as usual. 24 minutes of deleted scenes on the fourth disc, best Comic Book Guy moments from up until 2001, Butterfinger commercials and a Red Rooster one from 2000/2001, and a Simpsons Fanfest from 200...1 I think? And, as always, there is also commentary on every episode.

As far as the boxing is concerned, Season 12 is a bit better than eleven. The discs are easier to get out of the box, and the material sleeve that the discs go in is a little more scratch resistant. The Comic Book Guy head you see on the box, as with season eleven, can be taken off. There is only bit of that peely-glue stuff to take off.

Overall, as I said, this is a great season, and is probably my favorite season since season 7, or maybe 8... I'm probably one of VERY few to say this, but I just really thoroughly enjoyed most of this season. It started slow, but it really got going, and the Simpsons Tall Tales and Trilogy of Error episodes were a great little change. I really recommend this season.

4.5/5

Pros: Several awesome episodes, I counted 11 "epicsodes" out of 21 episodes... that is a really good ratio. Also some pretty cool bonus features.

Cons: The box, while slightly improved, is still pretty subpar. The first disc for the most part doesn't have very good episodes... that's really about it.

And now we wait for season 13...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this! Package is the same as standard version..., August 20, 2009
By 
A "A" (NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At the time of this review, the price for the Limited Edition Packaging is lower than the standard edition. As it was the case with the 11th season, the head and sleeve are completely detachable and what is left is the standard version package. Since that is the same as the standard, why not buy the cheaper one?

Also, the inside sleeves are a bit better than season 11 (not as tight and damaging). I still don't like them and I put all the discs in a 4 disc standard size DVD case. That fits perfectly inside the outer sleeve/box. On the shelf you wouldn't know the difference. I recommend this to all people that are concerned with the discs and are not bothered by keeping the discs in only "half" the original packaging.

3 stars for packaging... Fox should know better after 5-6 fiasco packages...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD Packaging is UNACCEPTABLE!, January 10, 2010
By 
william Garner (rockville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
What is WRONG with this company? Season 11 was released with packaging that didn't allow for removing the discs without destroying them. You can't take them out to play or you risk ruining them. STUPID!!!
Virtually every review by customers complained about this and it looks like sales plummented for season 12. I am a hardcore fan, BUT...I want new boxes for seasons 11 and 12, or I won't be purchasing ANYTHING from them again.

Season six shipped with a new format package and cover (which didn't ruin the DVDs) and eventually FOX offered a replacement box so that it matched seasons 1 - 5. You would have figured that FOX learned their lesson from this. The show is great, no denying it, but their decision to change the packaging to this complete crap format cannot be tolerated.A mistake for season 11, it is inexcusable to repeat the mistake for season 12!

I am done...up yours, FOX...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging Sucks!, August 23, 2009
By 
R. Johnson (Hollywood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simpsons: Season 12 (DVD)
Even though the episodes are funny and fine....the packaging of the 11th season and 12th season are so bad...I can't give this anything higher than a one star. Does it make any sense to make a "collection" of DVDs scratchable in it's own case??? C'mon people - THINK!!! Go back to the way they were made (Season 1 - 10).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Simpsons: Season 12
The Simpsons: Season 12 by Mark Kirkland (DVD - 2009)
$49.98 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.