Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Simpsons - Treehouse of Horror
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 8, 2003
I love Halloween and I love the Simpson's. You'd think this were nirvana. Unfortunately it's just another money-grab. Here's what I liked/disliked about this DVD;

LIKED;
-Simpson's, Halloween... enough said.
-Picture and sound are fine. Just like Cable.
-The price. If it cost any more I would have passed.
-The episodes they have are good ones.

DIS-LIKED;
-Why Tree House Episodes V, VI, VII and XII? Why not I, II, III and IV?
-Why not all of the Tree House Episodes on one, more expensive, DVD. I could not resist that!
-The Kang and Kodos "Bonus" is merely a montage of clips. No big deal.
-No extras.

Given these factors, it is easy to conclude that this is, indeed, a money-grab. If they released a real Tree House of Horror DVD With all the episodes, I'd jump on that like a fly on stink, at just about any price!!
33 comments|245 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2003
I bought this DVD last year on ebay. I had to get the Region2 version since it was the only one available at the time.

Tree house of Horror V - In this annual trilogy of terror Homer attempts to kill his family in "The Shining." Homer tries to fix a toaster and winds up altering the fabric of time itself in "Time and Punishment." Principal Skinner serves students for lunch in "Nightmare Cafeteria"
Tree house of Horror VI - In this Halloween style anthology, advertising icons go berserk in "Attack of the 50 Foot eyesores". Groundskeeper Willie invades the children's dreams in "Nightmare on Evergreen Terrace". Homer enters a 3-D world of computer animation in "Homer(3)"
Tree house of Horror VII - This Simpsons showcase features a terrifying look at Bart's evil twin in "The Thing and I." Lisa creating a miniature world in "The Genesis Tub" and aliens stealing the identities of Bill Clinton and Bob Dole in "Mr Kang Goes To Washington"
Tree house of Horror XII - In "Hex & The City", a gypsy curses Homer, bringing misery to everyone he loves. In "House of Whacks" a computer (Pierce Brosnan) takes over the Simpson house and attempts to kill Homer for Marge's love. And in "Wiz Kids", Bart and Lisa are students of a school for wizards, where they foil the evil Lord Montymort
22 comments|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When it comes to Halloween episodes the big three are "Roseanne," "The Simpsons" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (although "BtVS" was always an every other year deal). You would think that the producers of these shows would have figured out that offering an alternative to splatter flicks as what to watch on October 31st that video/DVD packages of classic Halloween episodes would be an obvious choice. But you have to pick up seasons 2 and 4 (and wait for 6) of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," catch "Roseanne" in syndication, and deal with this limited offering from "The Simpsons." It is not often that you come across a DVD that could have increased its average rating by a star if it just had "Volume 1" as part of the title.
Actually, this really should be "Volume 2" of "The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror," because it offers "Treehouse of Horror" V, VI, VII and XII. Whatever the joke is here, I am clearly missing out on it. Why not V, VI, VII and VIII? For that matter why not I, II, III and IV? Is it because the first three seasons of the Simpsons are out on DVD? It is because Roman numerals confused the people making the decisions? To add insult to injury, these are bare boned discs. No commentaries, no features, no animated menus, just a some clips of Kang and Kodos (e.g., Kang on Jerry Springer). The episodes are great, but the bad faith effort here loses a star.
"Treehouse of Horror V" offers a take off on "The Shining," Homer traveling through time with the aid of a toaster in "Time and Punishment," and the school staff doing the Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett bit with the students in "Nightmare Cafeteria." "Treehouse of Horror VI" offers killer billboards in "Attack of the 50-Foot Eyesores," Groundskeeper Willie as a Freddie Krueger clone in "Nightmare on Evergreen Terrance," and a computer generated Homer making it to the real world in "Homer3". "Treehouse of Horror VII" reveals that Bart's evil twin has been chained in the attic in "The Thing and I," Lisa creates a microscopic world as a science project in "The Genesis Tub," and Kang and Kodos replace Bill Clinton and Bob Dole in the election as "Mr. Kang Goes to Washington." We then skip ahead to "Treehouse of Horror XII" which has a gypsy curse destroying Homer's life in "Hex and the City," the Simpsons living in a computerized home in "House of Whacks," and the Simpsons' twist on Harry Potter in "Wiz Kids."
Of course, the rule of thumb here is what it always has been for "The Simpsons," which is that the more familiar you are with the original films and other pop culture elements being referenced in these episodes, the more you will enjoy them. I should add that these episodes have been "restored" for DVD, which means that the scenes cut for syndication are back in this time around. But the obvious lesson here is that each fall, when the World Series finally ends and FOX gets around to airing the Simpson's new "Treehouse of Horror" episode sometime in early November you should go ahead an tape it to keep for your Halloween enjoyment each year. Who knows when it will actually become available on DVD.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2003
I agree that these are some of the best Treehouse of Horror episodes, but would it really have been difficult to include all of them? At the rate that they're releasing the full seasons DVDs, we won't have access to more recent seasons' Treehouse of Horrors till the 2010s. Sneaky way to extract even more dollars from us for this and the Simpsons Christmas DVD coming out in October...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2003
You can't beat the price and considering the SLOW release schedule of the complete seasons, you could be forgiven for grabbing this disc to tide you...HOWEVER would it have been too much to include Treehouse #3 and #4 (two of the best of the series)?
Also...be advised that while the DVD case pictures Mr. Burns as Dracula, that episode (from Treehouse #4) IS NOT included with this disc. What's the big idea?
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although it's far from complete, "Treehouse of Horror" has some of the funniest film and TV parodies available. "The Simpsons" has become the standard against which all TV comedy should be judged; consistently year after year the show has been stellar. Even so-so seasons reach way beyond the standard sitcom. Even incomplete this is the funniest DVD of Simpson Halloween specials assembled.

Picture quality is good but not great while the sound quality is very good. The bonus feature consists of Kang and Kodos clips. It's not a bad bonus feature just a bit disappointing. While this doesn't compare to having every single episode from every single season on DVD, this isn't a bad place to enjoy some really clever episodes of the series.

We start, bizarrely enough, with "Treehouse of Horror V" which parodies "The Shining". Homer goes mad and tries to kill his family because he doesn't have any TV or beer. Then "Time & Punishment" takes a classic Ray Bradbury sci-fi story about time travel and twists it inside out. "Nightmare Cafeteria" shows that Principal Skinner has new uses for his students...as lunch.

"Treehouse of Horror VI" opens with "Attack of the 50 Foot Eyesores" a loving hommage to z-movies of the 50's. "Nightmare on Evergreen Terrace" takes clever aim at the "Nightmare on Elm Street" movies with groundskeeper Willie as the Freddie Kruger of the tale. In "Homer 3" the writers cleverly take aim at "Poltergeist" and remove Homer from his two dimensional world into our own with very funny results.

With VII we get a take off on "The Other" and the whole evil twin thing. Lisa creates a world in miniature where she's God and Bart is the devil in a clever take off on a Theodore Sturgeon short story. Finally aliens Kang and Kodos replace Bill Clinton and Bob Dole in the clever political satire "Mr. Kang Goes to Washington".

VIII closes the set with a clever trio of stories "Hex and the City" (which takes the basic idea of "Thinner" and turns it inside out. "House of Whacks" finds a computer taking over the Simpson home for the love of Marge. Finally "Wiz Kids" takes on Harry Potter (among many others)in a very funny grand finale for this set. Why isn't 1, 2 & 3 included in this set you may ask? Who knows but if you want one clever Halloween DVD to watch with the older kids, this is it.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
In response to a below review by a person who has never seen The Simpsons, but yet bases their entire take on the series on this one DVD, that's not fair at all. Treehouse of Horror does not follow the storyline of the show - they are little one act parodies of horror movies that come around Halloween each year. Parents with small children should be smart enough not to show their kids something with "Horror" in the title. It is not fair to judge an entire series on a DVD of selected alternate-universe storylines. The humor on the Simpsons in the good years was far from crude - see Mr. Plow or Marge vs. the Monorail.
As for this DVD set, it's just a random sampling thrown together to make money for the holidays. Save your money and buy a boxed set.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon September 1, 2006
For nearly the past two decades, the best Halloween episode of any show on television to watch has been "The Simpsons Treehouse of Horror". "The Simpsons" are chock-full of allusions of every kind. They've parodied everything from the Bible to famous Greek myths to famous novels. In the "Treehouse of Horror" episodes the show parodies famous works of horror, from classical films to Edgar Allan Poe's famous poem "The Raven" to episodes of THE TWILIGHT ZONE. This DVD brings together four episodes of "Treehouse of Horror."

"Treehouse of Horror V" has the family portraying there own versions of Stephen King's THE SHINING and Ray Bradbury's A SOUND OF THUNDER in `The Shinning" and "Time and Punishment" respectively, while the school becomes tainted with allusions to SWEENEY TODD and SOYLENT GREEN in "Nightmare Cafeteria."

In "Treehouse of Horror VI" the Simpson children come face to face with a Freddy Krueger-inspired version of Groundskeeper Willie in "Nightmare on Evergreen Terrace" while Homer goes 3-D in "Homer 3". Also, the entire city of Springfield has to confront giant advertising displays that come to life in "Attack of the 50 Foot Eyesores."

Kang and Kodos kidnap to be Presidential candidates Bob Dole and Bill Clinton so they can take over the world in the "Mr. Kang Goes to Washington" episode from "Treehouse of Horror VII" while Bart finds out about his long-hidden twin in "The Thing and I" and Lisa creates a miniature world in a dish in "The Genesis Tub".

The last episode on the DVD, "Treehouse of Horror XII" finds Homer being cursed by a Gypsy in "Hex and the City", allusions to 2001 A SPACE ODYSSEY in "House of Wacks", and a spoof on Harry Potter by Lisa and Bart in "Wiz Kids."

The only extra on this DVD is a montage of clips with Kang and Kodos.

Overall, this is a great collection. I enjoyed watching these episodes and they have some educational value (I used the "Time and Punishment" when we read Ray Bradbury's story A SOUND OF THUNDER). I just wish they would release all of the Simpsons Treehouse of Horror episodes in one set. That would be a true treat.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2003
Wow, I love the Simpsons, but this DVD is a ripoff. If they were going to go through the trouble of releasing a Treehouse of Horrors collection, they should have included all the Treehouse of Horror's to date, instead of just 4 of them. Last I counted, there have been 13!! They shouldn't be wasting their time with cheesy 4 episode sets. Instead, they should focus on releasing the seasons a little quicker. By the time they get around to Season 8, there will likely be newer, better medium than DVD. Save your money and wait for Season 4.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2006
Alright, what we have here is a somewhat random collection of Simpsons Halloween episodes. The episodes are great, no question about it, but this was a wasted opportunity. Why Matt Groening and co. wanted to release this, I have no idea. As far as I know, Simpsons seasons are selling great, so I wouldn't imagine this is a desperate attempt for money. But if you ask me, if they wanted to make a lot more money, they would have made some big expensive collection of EVERY Halloween episode made up to the point this was released. I think that would be awesome!!! Also, this is nearly osbolete, since every season except for one have been released that contain these episodes. And once the 9th season is released, this won't be worth anything.

So, once again, this is good if you're a completist or you don't plan to buy any of the seasons. Otherwise, stay away and buy all the seasons instead.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.