Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streaking, keg stands and team mascots. It's all here!
With new places to go and tons of new stuff to do once you get there, The Sims 3 University reminds me of the Sims 3 World Adventures expansion pack. As soon as your Sim is an adult, they now get the option to go off to the Sims University. When you start the game, the university sports team mascot pays a visit to your home and drops off a welcome kit. Inside is an...
Published 18 months ago by Angela Streiff

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't install through Origin
Can't install it.
had to download it through Origin.
After putting the code nothing happend (wasn't in my order history)
When trying to put the code again - receive "This code has already been used"
No way to contact EA or Origin to help us.
Published 8 months ago by Tomer Gorny


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streaking, keg stands and team mascots. It's all here!, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
With new places to go and tons of new stuff to do once you get there, The Sims 3 University reminds me of the Sims 3 World Adventures expansion pack. As soon as your Sim is an adult, they now get the option to go off to the Sims University. When you start the game, the university sports team mascot pays a visit to your home and drops off a welcome kit. Inside is an aptitude test your sims can take to see if they have enough skills to qualify for a full or partial scholarship to help you pay for their schooling. After you find out how much you qualify for, you can head over to the nearest computer or just pick up your phone and enroll in school. Once you do, you leave your home, much like when your sims take a vacation. Instead of setting the number of days you want to be gone and to which destination you want to visit, you choose how many credits you want to attend to work on getting, and you chose your degree. You can chose from Business, Technology, Science and Medicine, Fine Arts, Communication and Physical Education.

Once you leave for school, you can chose to live in a dorm with others, rent your own house or stay in a sorority house. Once you pick out where you want to live, you go inside with everyone else and claim which bed you want for your own. The dorms are large and there's lots to do. Pools, game rooms, workout equipment, large sitting areas with study materials and fully equip kitchens are all at your disposal. The dorms are filled with lots of other sims as well, so there's no shortage of new friends to be made.

While enrolled, your sim has certain responsibilitys to attend to in order to graduate. They need to attend classes, study their materials, take exams and work with their "skill object" that they are assigned to for their chosen degree. You have a daily course schedule you follow so you know when to attend which class.

Just as important as your sims schoolwork, is the new social network system now included in the game. You sims cell phone has turned from just something to order services and call friends, to now being a major factor in the way the game is played. Sims now get new advantages and have new goals with the social network, and the sims phone helps them manage their network. There are 3 different social groups, Nerds, Rebels and Jocks. Befriending them and doing certain interactions with them brings all kinds of new advantages. Your sims will now even get texts from friends instead of just calls.

Managing your sims education and social life becomes quite a balancing act. Many nights your sims will have to decide which is more important, sleep for exams or a super social party you're expected to attend. Often your sim doesn't have time between classes to work on their needs, so a pit stop at the local parks for a picnic lunch and a bathroom break helps tide you over till you can get home. All night and day your sims will be deciding how to manage every waking moment, there is just that much new stuff to do.

Including in all the new activities is a ton of new items as well. New clothes and hair, beds (including one that folds up into the wall), new dresser, and tons of new fun activity items. Foosball tables, bowling lanes, tennis tables, soccer balls, Frisbees and hacky-sacks are all new things your sim can participate in. There are lots of school items like whiteboards, anatomy skeletons, research station, brain enhancing machines, sketch pads, new chairs and desks, computers, backpacks and even a large moving van to come get all your items. For parties and hanging out, there are now arcade machines, pool tables, huge bonfires, vending machines and a juice keg (which is quite funny to watch when several sims start doing keg stands)!

The Sims University has just a ton of new content and things to do and see in game. Whether you're daring friends to streak around campus, working in a study group to learn faster, amassing a huge network of new friends to party with every night, or mastering the new sims social network, there's tons to do and after hours and hours of gameplay, you'll only scratch the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet!, March 5, 2013
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
This is coming from someone who has Three expansion packs: Ambitions, Generations and Seasons. Before purchasing these expansion packs, I take a lot into consideration. However, I pre-ordered this one by taking a risk. I have to say that this is a great game. For some, I've noted that it freezes, crashes, etc., but EA will patch it up soon. Download time was the usual: 2 hours or so.

This game has so much to do! New social interactions, new groups to join, like the jocks and nerds. If you befriend them, you get advantages. Like for the nerds, you have access to study groups, better grades, etc., but with the jocks, you may get the next exam in your hands, join parties, and a higher change of being popular. I don't know if you can befriend both groups, I have not tried it.

You can live in a sorority house, which is where I've seen all the parties go down. The dorms, which have lots to do. Like exercise, games, study halls, and so much more. Finally, you can rent your own apartment with some roommates.

There's tons of new content, like clothes, furniture and social interactions. I love it. When you leave to the university, your Sims back home stay the same. They don't age, or nothing. You go and come back to where you left off, which sucks. I wish it was more realistic and they do their own thing while your sim goes off to college.

A lot of things to do in the night life, but you have to choose. Either study for exams, or go out, all up to you.

Overall, I do recommend the game, but hold off until EA patches up all the crashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sims Review., April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
Been a sims fan for a long time. I like the fact that I did'nt have to wait long before I could download it and when I had a problem it was taken care of immediately. The game is super and I would encourage other simmers to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy download, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
I am amazed that there was this cheaper option that I never knew about. I read about other people having problems, but I didn't have any. Make sure your game is up to date, and that you have an Origin login, and it should be easy. No complaints at all. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars University Life, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
This is probably my most favorite expansion along with Seasons. I haven't explored all of what this game has to offer but I am sure the more I play, the more I will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot to do, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
When i downloaded it and followed the steps to install it, it said i had to update the disc through the launcher but in the launcher it says it is up to date. I un and reinstalled all 6 of my sims expansion packs and origin with no success. I'm currently trying to manually update it to the 1.5 patch and i'll tell you how that goes but i honestly don't think it's going to work. the worst part is you can't return this so i wish i knew this was going to happen before i paid of this crap. I saved less than 9 bucks and it was not worth it.

-Edit-

I got it to work by manually downloading the patch and then it installed. I've been playing it and i love it so far. One of the best expansion packs sims 3 has made because of the sheer amount of things you can do. You will not get bored with this any time soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Like Real Universities!, May 29, 2014
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
I am so happy to have this expansion pack in my game. It so amazing sending your sims off to university, If you have generations it makes the game a whole lot interesting cause you can send your kids off to university after they graduate from high school. First the mascot will drop by your sims house and leave a university bucket with a school shirt, flag, and apititude test your sims can take to see if they qualify for scholarships or not. And what what classes they will be taking according to their test scores. You can choose how many credits they need and how many terms they should take. Once your sims FINALLY ( trust me, it takes a while getting there..loading is a bit slow) gets there they can live in a dorm or rent a house. They can have jobs or go to school full time, i would recommend just schooling cause it can take a toll on your sim, studying, work, and classes was rough for my sims. They can do school cheers, text and and do blogs on their new cellphones as well. Theres a cool comic book and coffee shop you can have your sims go to during free time inbetween or after classes. If your sims are on the rebel side, they can protest or do some street grafetti on school property. But they have to be careful or they will get caught. Theres parties all the time so you won't have to worry about throwing one unless you want too, you can get juiced, streek, or skinny deep with other sims. Becareful not to have too much fun or your sim will begin to fail horribly, and they will have to make up for it. That means long sleepless nights of studying until the green bar goes up..its not in jiffy either..it will take time just like in real universites. Unless your sims can make a cheat sheet and get away with it. I have to say I had a lot of fun in university, the only the two things i didnt like was the long loading screen and waiting for other sims to move out of way in front of the school doors. Boy was that annoying! By the time your sim got in class, half of the lecture or class would pretty much be over. Other than that...its great to have in your game. Happy Simming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't install through Origin, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
Can't install it.
had to download it through Origin.
After putting the code nothing happend (wasn't in my order history)
When trying to put the code again - receive "This code has already been used"
No way to contact EA or Origin to help us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Download, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
Very satisfied with the game/download. I'm a huge fan of the Sims series. Will probably start downloading my games from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sims, be ignorant no longer!, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sims 3: University Life [Download] (Software Download)
I'm very happy with the gameplay, format, design, etc. I'd been waiting for them to finally come out with a University expansion for a long time. Does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sims 3: University Life [Download]
$19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.