Customer Reviews


281 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Definition of Classic
No Doubt has been one of the biggest success stories of the '90s, and this "best of" CD proves why. "The Singles 1992-2003" takes you on one of the best rides available in recent pop music history. And their new material presented on the CD only verifies the fact they are nowhere near finished with their creative, illustrious career.
Lead singer...
Published on December 8, 2003 by Matthew Gladney

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boom Box May Be A Better Buy
In reference to some previous customer reviews, I just wanted to say that the whole point of this album was to rerelease on one comprehensive CD all of No Doubt's singles that had already been released as *official* singles. If you'll notice, all of the songs on this CD have had videos made for them too. With this in mind, it would not have made sense to have "By The...
Published on December 2, 2003 by Dustin Gonzalez


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A True Definition of Classic, December 8, 2003
By 
Matthew Gladney (Champaign-Urbana, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
No Doubt has been one of the biggest success stories of the '90s, and this "best of" CD proves why. "The Singles 1992-2003" takes you on one of the best rides available in recent pop music history. And their new material presented on the CD only verifies the fact they are nowhere near finished with their creative, illustrious career.
Lead singer Gwen Stefani, unique individual through & through, leads the band with one song after another of awesome pop music. Many styles and subjects are covered here: from the more ballad-oriented tunes such as "Simple Kind of Life" and "Underneath It All", to the somewhat more strong and bitter anthems such as "Don't Speak" and "Ex-Girlfriend", to the all-out rock & bop ditties like "Hey Baby" and "Hella Good", there is something of everything here to be heard. The group's diversity, and ability to produce quality music over and over again, is a testament to their greatness. They can do so many genres so well: ska, pop, rock, reggae, dance. It all sounds great.
The new single on this compilation, a cover of Talk Talk's '80s hit "It's My Life" is brilliant. It craftily uses both synth and rock sounds to make one heck of a cover song. It is one of the best singles to come out of 2003. It, and this collection, are not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best singles collections ever made, September 2, 2004
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
I've never been to big on pop music; but No Doubt is like crack for me. There is so much to love about No Doubt. All of their albums are great. Each one of them stands very well on their own. "Tragic Kingdom" (their best in my opinion) and "Return To Saturn" are both fantastic Ska/Pop recordings. "Rock Steady" was definitely a huge change in which they needed at that point in their careers. If they released another Ska record with Gwen singing about the her and bassist's failed relationship again, they would have plummeted in the pop music scene.

Enough about their albums. Lets talk about this singles collection. No Doubt was made for a record like "Singles 1992-2003". No Doubt wasn't directly inspired by punk, or ska; they have always stood out from the bunch, steming from the new wave genre unlike many of their grunge rock peers. Their music is happy, giddy and fun to listen to. Their melodies mixed with their incredibly catchy hooks transformed a generation of music to come. This collection is untouchable; I couldn't make a much better compilation myself.

Lets run through the track listing here:

1. Just A Girl: Their first huge single from their "Tragic Kingdom" album. Featured in the movie "Clueless". A classic tune. 5/5

2. It's My Life: The only new track on the CD. A great cover of Talk Talk's "It's my Life". I was so happy to see No Doubt win the MTV music video award for it. All the other nominees were horrible as usual; they definitely picked the right band.

3. Hey Baby: featuring Bounty Killer: The first single off of "Rock Steady". Very catchy and poppy. 4/5

4. Bathwater: This is my favorite single off of their "Return To Saturn" album. I remember them doing this song live; Gwen is just gorgeous. 5/5

5. Sunday Morning: Another sweet single from the "Tragic Kingdom" album. 5/5

6. Hella Good: Hands down, my favorite single and the first track off of "Rock Steady". I love that guitar riff. 5/5

7. New: One of the better tracks from "Return To Saturn" 4/5

8. Underneath It All - featuring Lady Saw: A fantastically dreamy single from the "Rock Steady" album. 5/5

9. Excuse Me Mr.: A classic tune from the "Tragic Kingdom" album. 5/5

10. Running: A quality song from their "Rock Steady" album. 4/5

11. Spiderwebs: This was a classic single back in the day, from their "Tragic Kingdom" album. Sweet video too. 5/5

12. Simple Kind Of Life: Another one of my favs from the "Return To Saturn" album. This is a slower number; a Gwen Stefani original. 5/5

13. Don't Speak: My favorite No Doubt song of all time. I've never gotten sick of this one. A sweet song and video from their "Tragic Kingdom" album. 5/5

14. Ex-Girlfriend: Their first single from their "Return To Saturn" album. She looked very unique in the video with bright pink hair and make-up; looking very hardcore. 4/5

15. Trapped In A Box: Their first single ever, from their self-titled first album - "No Doubt" 5/5

Singles 1992-2003 holds up just as strong as their studio efforts. It is a great collection for long time fans of No Doubt, and a great introduction for first time listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, December 8, 2003
By 
Lolek (León, gto. México.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
I'm really glad because No doubt finally released an album with all their hits, it's cool to see how they've been changing in the past years, the album is just fantastic, it sarts with the energetic "Just a girl" (wich I think represents Gwen's roll in the group), passin through "It's my life" (a cover even better than the original), and their hits from all 4 albums (No doubt, tragic kingdom, return of saturn and rock steady), if you are a no doubt fan you have to get, if you're not, take a listen to it, you won't regret. My favorites are: just a girl, its my life, bathwater, hella good, sunday morning, simple kind of life, trapped in a box and don't speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boom Box May Be A Better Buy, December 2, 2003
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
In reference to some previous customer reviews, I just wanted to say that the whole point of this album was to rerelease on one comprehensive CD all of No Doubt's singles that had already been released as *official* singles. If you'll notice, all of the songs on this CD have had videos made for them too. With this in mind, it would not have made sense to have "By The Way" or "Open The Gate" on this CD since they were never released as official singles. I know all this has been said before but I thought it would be wise to reiterate since it doesn't appear in any of the recent customer reviews.
And now on to the CD itself...
This CD is a perfect fit for the No Doubt fan that doesn't already own all 5 previous albums. However, if you are like me and already have them, it would probably be better for you to buy the No Doubt Boom Box [Box Set] which includes this disc along with 3 others (2 DVDs and 1 B-sides/rarities/remixes CD). It is a bit pricier but I think that the B-sides and rarities make it completely worth the extra money. If you still must own this CD, be warned that while the only new song on there is amazing (a Talk Talk cover of "It's My Life"), I don't see it justifying an $11 purchase if it's the only new material on there for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good No Doubt "Starter Kit", November 25, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
No Doubt wisely didn't name this CD "Greatest Hits", because only about 6 of the 15 songs on here were bonafide hits. They also were smart not to call it "Best Of No Doubt", because few of the songs on here are really the best No Doubt has to offer. Most of their finest material can be found on their albums, especially Return of Saturn and Tragic Kingdom. Nevertheless, this album is exactly what it claims to be: a collection of all the singles No Doubt has officially released between 1992 and 2003. The standouts range from the recent: the new single, a quality rock-driven cover of Talk Talk's "It's My Life", and Rock Steady's "Hella Good"; to the obvious: their biggest hits, "Don't Speak", "Just A Girl", and "Spiderwebs" from their most popular album, Tragic Kingdom; to the underrated: "Ex-Girlfriend", "New", and "Simple Kind of Life" from the woefully overlooked Return of Saturn.
Chances are if you are buying this, you are either a No Doubt fanatic who buys everything they release (such as myself), or you are a casual fan, who knows a few of their radio songs and want them on one disc. To the hardcore fans: buy Boombox instead: you get this CD, a b-sides and rarities CD, all their videos on DVD, and Live In The Tragic Kingdom on DVD. All this for less than $50!
If you are a casual fan, don't let your No Doubt collection stop here: buy all 5 of their albums (1992's No Doubt, 1995's Beacon Street Collection, 1995's Tragic Kingom, 2000's Return of Saturn, and 2001's Rock Steady). You will not regret it. Listen to how this great band has evolved over the years--from the ska-driven band they were in in the late 80's and early 90's (as demonstrated on "Trapped In A Box", included here)to the innovative New Wave/Pop-Rock band they are today.
A great way to get into this excellent band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun And Enjoyable., January 8, 2004
By 
Robert Blake (Santa Monica, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
No Doubt is the perfect hybrid of both the current trend of reggae in popular music and bands influenced by 80's New Wave. Consider that No Doubt can sound like a Jamaican party band and still rock the house with U2-like riffs. "The Singles 1992-2003" chronicles the band's chart history from their unknown debut with "Trapped In A Box" to their current success as superstars with bonafide chart toppers like the tropically-tinged ballad "Underneath It All." No Doubt have succeeded in that they can achieve both musical merti and a genuine sense of fun all at once. When you think of party music you may generally imagine only repetitive beats with typically hollow lyrics, but a jam like "Hella Good" with it's driving rhythms can serve as both a party song and as interesting studio experimentation with New Wave flavors. "Bathwater" is a wonderful little take on 20's cabaret with a lot of style and humor. "Hey Baby" and "Hella Good" are dancehall attractions, but the songs with real muscle are the ones that are taken straight out of lead singer Gwen Stefani's diary entries. The albums "Tragic Kingdom" and "Return Of Saturn" were riddled with insights into Stefani's personal life (especially her love life) ranging from her break-up with bassist Tony Kanal to her relationship and engagement with Bush frontman Gavin Rossdale. "Simple Kind Of Life" is a melodic gem that is an example of this kind of personal songwriting Stefani and the band practice, even the more driving "Ex-Girlfriend" feels deeply personal. And of course there's "Don't Speak," one of the immortal break-up anthems like U2's "With Or Without You." Speaking about 80's bands, it's no wonder that the band adds a new track to the set, an intoxicating cover of Talk Talk's "It's My Life" which doesn't even feel like a space-filler, it instead shines in glossy production. It has of course been reported that Gwen Stefani has begun work on a solo record, but all reports indicate the band hasn't split but obviously we will have to wait a while for No Doubt's next outing. Until then, "The Singles 1993-2003" is a good, quick fix for fans and a charming introduction for those new to the group and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Doubt Rocks!, January 18, 2004
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
No Doubt has been my favorite band for years. This album sums up their greatest hits from their first single "Trapped on a Box" from 1992 to their most recent cover of "It's My Life".
Here are all of the songs featured on this amazing greatest hits album.
No Doubt, 1992-"Trapped in a Box"
Tragic Kingdom, 1995-"Just a Girl", "Don't Speak", "Spiderwebs", "Sunday Morning" and "Excuse Me Mr.".
Return of Saturn (my fave album), 2000-"Ex-Girlfriend", "Simple Kind of Life", "Bathwater" (my fave song) and "New".
Rocksteady, 2001-"Hey Baby", "Hella Good", "Underneath it All" and "Running".
Plus the previously unreleased cover of "It's My Life".
This is a great album for No Doubt's loyal fans or a good place for new fans to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Band - Their Best Songs, January 11, 2004
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
How could anyone give this album a bad review???
We're talking NO DOUBT --- in my opinion, the BEST rock/alternative/pop/top40 band of the last decade!
Put all of their songs on one album --- were talking one of the greatest musical orgies of all time!
Unless you only listen to classical music (like my Dad), then this is one album that belongs in the library collection of ALL music lovers!
Whether it be the reggae beats of Underneath It All, the raver beats of Hella Good, or the ska beats of Spiderwebs --- this band has shown that no one else has perfectly created a fushion of so many different musical genres, with a sound that everyone can love!
Unless you already own every single No Doubt album, I highly recommend this album --- if you are only going to own ONE No Doubt album, then as of 2004, let this one be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Doubt is music, period, March 16, 2004
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
Heading the ska boom in the middle 90's was risky. Releasing an album about nearing your 30s was risky. Following 10 years of ska with a reggae pop album was almost ridiculous. No Doubt has done it all, and found phenomenal critical and commercial success at every turn. This, a simply extraordinary greatest hits package (which spans from 1992 to 2003) proves No Doubt has released some of the most important musical revelations on the radio in the past 11 years.
"Tragic Kingdom" was the album that started it all. A brash combination of show tunes, ska, rock, and pop, it spawned several smash singles, all of which are covered here. "Just a Girl" shines in all of its new wave glory and funky guitar riffs. "Sunday Morning" and "Spiderwebs" are pure bliss, with soaring vocals and crunching melodies. "Don't Speak" is still the glistening breakup anthem it always has been, melancholy, moving, and totally amazing. Their second mainstream album, "Return of Saturn," is responsible for some of the best tracks on here: the melancholy, effective "Simple Kind of Life" (in all of its folk/punk glory), and the different "Ex-Girlfriend" with its addictive loop beat. Their best hit, however, has to be "Bathwater." A vibrant hodgepodge of jazz, rock, ska, show tunes, and cabaret, it's eclectic sound is by far the most vibrant on the CD and it's sardonically fun delivery comes from frontwoman Gwen Stefani's powerful pipes with resonance and clarity. "Rock Steady," the band's foray into reggae pop, provides some of the weaker moments here, what with the bland and annoying "Underneath It All." However, the fun and bouncy "Hey Baby" and the gorgeous ballad "Running" are good more than enough to compensate for its missteps. A glorious return to the pop airwaves comes with their perfect cover of Talk Talk's 80's hit "It's My Life"--techno-synth sounds wash over drums and electric guitars with the classic 80's horn soundtrack. The ground No Doubt manages to cover in a mere 15 tracks is mind-boggling. They do it all with cohesive charm, every track blending together in a seamless stream of enjoyment. It's difficult to compare No Doubt to anyone, as they are the quintessentially cool crossover band. Perhaps influences by Blondie (evident from some of the rockier cuts off of "Rock Steady) is worth mention, but they emerge with a style all their own. This is truly a collection that should not be missed-in fact; none of their albums should slide underneath your radar. They are an invaluable addition to your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars please forgive the below idiot, March 18, 2005
This review is from: The Singles 1992-2003 (Audio CD)
A great classic cd that includes the latest and the greatest.

Just please ignore the idiot below-----> mauricio porco "trance tot the sun" who writes that kind of review. Ok, so you dont like that type of music. Well thats not what this is about. There are many genres of music I don't well like, but they are not deserving of such a juvenile review.

This cd is well worth the money for any collectors collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Singles 1992-2003
The Singles 1992-2003 by No Doubt (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.