Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you do with something you never thought you wanted?
Glynis MacNeil is fighting her father with every trick she knows because there is no way she is getting married again. Having driven the last husband away by doing her best to unman him will hopefully deter any future suitors her father might find.

Alex Ban MacDonald is a man that does not like to lose and makes sure that the deck is always stacked in his...
Published on November 6, 2011 by Mary J. Gramlich

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not as great as the Guardian, but not bad. I thought a bit more of the story and less jealousy would have been good. It was unbelieveable how dense he could be at times about his wifes insecurity. He didn't feel smiling and talking to past lovers should upset her. With his own parents horrible relationship he didn't want strife in his marriage. He also felt she should...
Published on July 23, 2012 by Ronnie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you do with something you never thought you wanted?, November 6, 2011
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
Glynis MacNeil is fighting her father with every trick she knows because there is no way she is getting married again. Having driven the last husband away by doing her best to unman him will hopefully deter any future suitors her father might find.

Alex Ban MacDonald is a man that does not like to lose and makes sure that the deck is always stacked in his favor. As such, Alex has complete confidence in his bet that he is never getting married, ah those best laid plans, they have been the undoing of many a confident man.

To avoid marriage Glynis enlists Alex to take her to mother's family that will not make her have to hurt another husband just to forge an alliance. Alex is not fond of the idea but with he sees her determination and knows that with or without him, Glynis is going to run away and at least secure her safety. He is superstitious enough to get some good karma, as Alex is going to need all the help he can get with this determined woman because the journey in front of them is long and dangerous.

Alex reminds himself to keep a check on his passion and control his feelings because Glynis is the absolute last thing he needs in his life. But her feisty nature is showing him how a sassy, determined female can be an attractor not a deterrent to even someone like Alex.

When Alex is blindsided by a former lover's announcement, he becomes aware that Glynis is pivotal in securing the safety of his new family member but convincing her of that is another event. Having his entire work turned upside down may set other men back but Alec is moving forward with Glynis and a plan. Alex just needs to convince the woman his plan makes sense.

The Sinner is another winning combination by Margaret Mallory giving readers the perfect connection of characters to story. It is always difficult to be the second book in a series but The Sinner stands with The Guardian as much as it can work on its own due to the brilliance of Ms. Mallory for ability to write such great books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised - Just came across as an average read for me, November 30, 2011
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was simply just an average read for me (3.5 Stars at best because of good vocabulary & character dialogue); and I am surprised to make this statement because I totally loved the first book in the series. The author does take us on a long journey with these two lovers, but at times it felt as if the story was dragging on a bit. The three prophecies foretold by the village old hag about our hero was no surprise at all and thus resulting in a story lacking suspense. The villain is still the same one from the predecessor book and does obviously manage to get away at the end and in pretty much the same fashion as in the first book. You would think that our heroes would know this villain by now and not fall into his scheming, conniving and deceitful traps all the time, but then again what battle ridden story and drawn out saga would the author have to unfold for us in a 4-book series?

The heroine was a bit too stiff and quick to judge our hero which often led her to the wrong conclusions resulting in an immature and jealous personality. Authors please take note that these misunderstandings do not add any suspense to stories one bit and result in anticlimactic stories. Our hero's personality was a mesh between a bad axx warrior to a truly passionate and loving one; he is much more likeable than the heroine.

However this book was not in the least bit better than its predecessor "The Guardian." I thank the author for providing us with a caption to the next book in this series, "The Warrior." This next book does seem promising based on the excerpt provided, but hopefully our heroine will not be so stiff, and judgmental as her personality traits mentioned in the excerpt should not lead down this overly written path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, November 1, 2011
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
`The oar that is close at hand, row with it" is a Gaelic proverb that serves as a rule of thumb in much of the action in The Sinner. Also the seer's prediction of three women that bring danger, deceit, and deep desire to Alex MacDonald plus the gift he receives being brightness itself weave theirs way through this action-packed, emotionally intense tale.

Alex Ban MacDonald fights with surety, skill, and zeal. He loves a good fight. He is the same about loving the ladies (note the plural). He balks at being "leg shackled". His father reared him to believe that it is in his genes to need many women, that like his father, one woman could never satisfy his sexual appetite. Alex saw his father's blatant infidelity make a virtual battlefield out of marriage. His parents fought like cats and dogs, and Alex wants no part of that kind of life.

Glynis MacNail, once the wife of the cruel, abusive Magnus Clanrandad, has been humiliated and hurt enough to last a lifetime. She never wants to marry again, but her father wants her to wed to secure an alliance with another clan. Consequently, when men from the MacDonald clan show up to parley, Glynis tries to disguise her beauty. However, fate, destiny, a mischievous fairy, or some such steps in to thwart both Glynis' and Alex's evasive actions.

She remains steadfast in her determination to stay unwed but says to herself, "What was God thinking, allowing a man to be this handsome?" when she sees Alex. He is a "golden warrior", and looks like a blazing Viking marauder with breathtaking green eyes. He radiates a sensual heat. He is a rogue without question, but has a sense of humor that charms and a storytelling ability that enchants.

The Sinner is replete with beautiful, expressive metaphors and imagery that awaken all the senses so the reader is pulled into the setting and propelled into the vicious fighting, the furtive planning, and the exquisite love scenes that are breathtaking.

Margaret Mallory weaves history, superstitions, the plight of women in that era, greed for money and power, and the unique culture of the Scottish Clans into the story, all of which enrich the sparkling love story of Glynis and Alex. She creates strong secondary characters with personalities that add, intrigue, joy, humor, magic, disgust, and terror to the happenings. Two of Alex's past lovers create their share of chaos, each in her own way. However, the little girl Claire that appears in the prologue, a character that I almost forgot, changes priorities for many as she nestles her way into the hearts of most--but not all. To a few she is not wanted, creating intense scenes.

The hero and the heroine's love shimmer and sizzles with scenes that make the heart sing and sigh with satisfaction. The Sinner is a keeper--a captivating read!

Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars action-packed sixteenth century Scottish romance, November 2, 2011
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1515 Lady Glynis MacNeil has one failed marriage to her name and no plans to test those waters again although she prays for a kinder protector than the hag she currently has. Alex MacDonald is a highly regarded warrior who vowed to never marry.

Her father wants Glynis to have an alliance with his clan so he proposes a marriage between his feisty but obstinate daughter and one of the MacDonald brood. Duncan MacDonald asks his cousin Alex to wed the pox padded Glynis. When he rescues her from pirates, they forge a bond as they trek to safety. Forced to marry, they fall in love, but she distrusts his faithfulness; while her former husband and an enemy of Alex combine their plans to cause trouble for the newlyweds.

The second Return of the Highlander sixteenth century Scottish romance (see The Guardian) is an action-packed historical thriller. Glynis is a refreshing protagonist as she goes to incredibly excessive lengths to get her point across; but that fascinating trait also slows down the otherwise fast-paced story line as she fails to move passed her beliefs regardless of the counter evidence. Still fans will enjoy The Sinner and his redeemer as this couple is made for each other to the delight of their clans and readers.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Scottish love story, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm an old fashioned book lover but historically knowledgeable. I enjoy books about Scotland but not too heavy in the history. After all, I've bought the book to be taken on a journey with characters I want to read about. This book matched every one of my criteria for an excellent read. The writer gave insight into both main characters, making both come to life in my imagination. There were supporting characters but they were never distracting. The history was light and didn't feel like a lecture. The hero was just that-a hero we would all like to have loving us. The heroine was not a wise cracking know it all but a sensitive, caring person. I would highly recommend this book. I enjoyed it much more than I did the Guardian but am willing to give that one a second read, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new Highlanders book! You won't put it down!, November 21, 2011
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of Hannah Howell, Monica McCarty, Karen Ranney's Scottish Highlanders books and this is a new favorite of mine. I read the first book of the series, The Guardian and that book was good. This book, The Sinner was better! I love that Margaret Mallory has set this book in 1515 when the Highlanders still wore kilts. The best part is that the book is set in on the island of Skye. There are not too many Highlander books that take place in western Scotland especially in the islands. Mallory keeps this book going with many new plots but still brings all the 4 friends, Alex, Ian, Duncan and Conner into the action and sets the pace for her new book, The Warrior which unfortunately won't come out until Novemeber of 2012.
Read this book, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally fullfilling, November 26, 2011
By 
Laurie Ryan "Laurie Ryan" (Western Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've felt, with every story Margaret Mallory writes, a strong emotional bond between the hero and heroine. I know that's mandatory for romance, but this author's books seem to ratchet it up a few extra notches. The Sinner is no exception. In fact, she has taken two people with strong reasons to dislike marriage and tossed them together in an emotional storm they can't deny...no matter how hard they try. Add in some superb fight scenes and one particularly intense kiss (see pages 31 and 32) and I'm in love yet again with Ms. Mallory's characters. And the teaser about Duncan's story has me anxious for the next story in this Highland warrior series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sinner, December 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
The second of a four part series, the book can be read on its own but would recommend reading The Guardian first. A great and easy read, at times I felt frustrated for the main character as I couldn't always empathise with the leading lady. But overall I would say I enjoyed this book as much or perhaps slightly more than the first. Highly recommended and can't wait for the third in the series, which unfortunately doesn't become available until late 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, July 23, 2012
Not as great as the Guardian, but not bad. I thought a bit more of the story and less jealousy would have been good. It was unbelieveable how dense he could be at times about his wifes insecurity. He didn't feel smiling and talking to past lovers should upset her. With his own parents horrible relationship he didn't want strife in his marriage. He also felt she should have blind faith in him despite his past. the book finally got into some action as her first husband comes after her. I would read this one again I,m just hoping the next one in the series will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chart Topper - Great quick, fun read!, August 10, 2012
This review is from: The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Sinner is Book Two in The Return of the Highlanders series. I had not read the first one and found it wasn't necessary to have done so to enjoy this one. The historical detail was well done and accurate but didn't bang the reader over the head with too many details to drag the story down. I liked the light touch of those factors.

The hero in this story is Alex MacDonald, a Highland warrior. He has decided never to marry. He agrees to escort the heroine, Glynis MacNeil, across Scotland. She has been married before and had a terrible marriage. She has vowed never to marry again. They find themselves attracted to each other and even though neither wants to think they're in love, they make love and each finds the other immensely attractive. They seem to fight this for a long time and that part of the story dragged down the pacing a bit. They eventually agree to marry but the mistrust continues even after the engagement.

The story was good and I was intrigued by the plot. The scenes between the hero and heroine were lively and the sexual encounters were amazing. The author did an excellent job on those in particular. I appreciate a good sex scene and this book delivers.

I recommend this one. A great, quick, fun read.

Reviewed by Jillian

Originally published on The Season website (theseasonforromance dot com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders)
The Sinner (The Return of the Highlanders) by Margaret Mallory (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2011)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.