Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Original!
This is the best current Helter Skelter documentary. Host Scott Michaels takes you step by step through the events of that fateful night and you get to see the actual locations where these events occured. If you live in California you can find some of these places on your own, but for those of us who don't, this is the next best thing to taking the actual tour...
Published on January 6, 2009 by J. M. Gonzalez

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly entertaining
If you're not already really interested in the whole Manson saga I can't see that you would find this video terribly interesting. No new info to be had, no theorizing or any such thing. Just a tour of the Family's and their victim's stomping grounds. One thing I found really interesting was seeing a picture of Shorty Shea's wife.

I don't know. It's pretty cheap...
Published on August 19, 2010 by LH


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Original!, January 6, 2009
By 
J. M. Gonzalez (Vineland N.J. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the best current Helter Skelter documentary. Host Scott Michaels takes you step by step through the events of that fateful night and you get to see the actual locations where these events occured. If you live in California you can find some of these places on your own, but for those of us who don't, this is the next best thing to taking the actual tour.

There are little tid bits here and there that are interesting as well. In the 'extras' section we get to see the spot where there was the house that Squeaky Fromme grew up in, did you know she signed her name in the concrete? It is these little bits of info that make this a cut above the rest. We also get a trip through the house next to the Tate house, the owner believes it's haunted.

The main documentary is great at showing you these places and the things that you just don't get when looking at photographs. If this case is of interest to you this is a must have. The production quality of the DVD is very good- and the presentation is both entertaining and informative. An eerie scene is the host walking up Cielo Drive near midnight on the anniversary of the murders toward the gate at the former Tate residence. This is the stuff you don't see on A&E!

***UPDATE 12/2009*** - The review written above is for the original release (now out of print) of this documentary. The version available now is released through 'Echo Bridge Entertainment' and does not include the extras mentioned above. It is still the same documentary with an added mention about the fire that ripped through Barkers Ranch - but nothing on Squeaky Fromme's house - no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously creepy documentary, absolutely a MUST WATCH!!, February 22, 2009
By 
M. Heath (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't entirely versed on the Charles Manson murders so this movie was, first of all, terrifyingly eye-opening for me. This is seriously one of the creepiest murders not only in Hollywood history but in American history, and the documentary retells the story in chilling detail with all the gruesome images to accompany it. Yes, the film is historically accurate and educational, but it is also surprisingly edge-of-your-seat and scary! If you're waiting for a calm moment to take that next bite of popcorn, you're going to be waiting a long time (like I was)! I watched this movie with friends for two different movie nights and everyone was successfully creeped out and impressed!! Buy this movie, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS ONE AWESOME VIDEO FOR MANSON CASE FOLLOWERS, March 10, 2009
THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST INFORMATIVE VIDEOS ON THE CASE I HAVE EVER WATCHED..I'M SO GLAD I TALKED MYSELF INTO BUYING IT.THERES STUFF IN THERE I HAVE NEVER KNEW AND I THOUGHT I KNEW MOST OF IT..THANK'S TO THE PPL WHO MADE IT..AND FOR THIS TO BE THE 40TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE MURDER'S AND TO GET IT NOW WAS LIKE OH MY TOOK ME BACK TO THE ACTUALL TIME'S THE EVENT'S ACCURED.
THANK'S FOR THE DVD GUY'S
THANKS SO MUCH
VON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History Lesson for Film and Crime Buffs, January 8, 2009
By 
This DVD is excellent. A great deal of time and research has been put into the creation of it and to me it is one of the best at showing the viewer the world that surrounded The Manson Family as well as Sharon Tate and the other victims.

Scott Michaels films the locations where the horrific events of August 9th & 10th, 1969 took place. He in informed and clearly has a passion for presenting the facts. I look forward to buying other DVD's of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helter Skelter Doc Takes You There and Beyond!, February 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Veteran LA Tour Guide Scott Michaels has done it again with the release of his second documentary, The Six Degrees of Helter Skelter. In this 90 minute tour, Michaels takes you behind the scenes and inside the minds of the Manson Family as he explores the murders of August 1969 and visits the sites today, not only of the murder locations, but of every site associated with the victims, the killers, the friends and hangers-on. By the time he winds up at Barker Ranch out in Death Valley, the last spot on earth where Charles Manson was a free man, where the remnants of Tex Watson's car remain today, you will know you have seen the definitive Manson documentary, the likes of which have never been seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Helter Skelter Documentary!, April 16, 2009
By 
KS62 (Michigan, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the best Manson murders documentary i've ever seen! It is a must have for anyone who is interested in "Helter Skelter". Having read many books on the subject i was surprised to learn new things about this famous case after viewing this excellent documentary. Plenty of research was done to make this a fully realized documentary, my compliments to it's creators. Other documentaries about this subject left me feeling like i didn't get the whole picture. Reviewers on Amazon have already done a great job mentioning it's contents so i won't elaborate. All i want to say is if you are thinking about purchasing this, do it! You won't be disappointed. I am so glad i purchased this and will recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he definitely did his homework!, October 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i was very impressed with this film. it was well-made and he did his homework. and then some. you can tell he is fascinated with the history and pop culture aspects as well as quite knowledgeable on many other aspects that tie in to the murders. a lot of trivia that goes along with it all, which some i did not know. i have read helter skelter 9 times now and greg king's book sharon tate and the manson murders. also the killing of sharon tate (with susan atkins' story) and the family by ed sanders. i own all of these. and still there were facts i didn't know that were incorperated into the film. anyone who is into the manson murders should definitely own this one. even if you're not, it is still quite informative. and his narrating is funny, too. one thing to add..on the bonus features, there is a hidden segment under the trailer for his other film the dearly departed volume 1. after it plays he has a cool clip about the ambassador hotel on there, which actually is revelant to sharon tate and also the manson trial. very cool. he goes to all the places associated with the killers, the victims, and charlie. i'm totally jealous. i would LOVE to go up to where 10050 cielo dr. used to be. even though the address is changed and there is a huge ugly mansion there now. i would love to just see it and be there. all in all A+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary on Tate/LaBianca case - But with absurd ending!, July 12, 2009
By 
Mary Haas (Allen, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been fascinated with the Tate/LaBianca case since the book and t.v. movie came out in the mid 1970s, and I found this documentary by Scott Michaels to be an excellent and informative program. Mr. Michaels reveals many details about the case that I did not know.....and I know a lot about this case! It was very interesting to see the places where events connected to the case took place and that are mentioned many times in "Helter Skelter" and other books and movies relating to this case. Mr. Michaels is an excellent host in this documentary. Having said all of this, I also have to admit my disappointment with the last few minutes of the dvd, i.e., when Mr. Michaels goes to one of his friend's houses that is supposedly located close to where the Tate house once stood at 10050 Cielo Drive. Where did Mr. Michaels come up with this Nimrod? He claimed that he believes that the spirits of Sharon, Jay, and the other victims at the Tate house are present in his house......all because of some electronic monitor he was using that registered some kind of vibes when it turned it on and wielded it around the room. For me, this kind of ruined the whole thing and I would have been much more impressed with this documentary had Mr. Michaels not included this nut case at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary Covering Sites of Interest in CA, August 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Scott Michaels clearly loves what he does, and it shows. We get a personal tour of the germane points of interest in the Manson case: Spahn ranch (now demolished), Barker Ranch (in a state of decay), the LaBianca home (just the outside), the site of the Tate house on Cielo Drive, which now has an absolutely hideous monstrosity sitting on it. (As an aside, I found out that Rudi Altobelli, the owner of the house on Cielo who leased it to Roman and Sharon, continued to live in the house for some 25 years after the murders. Don't know if I could have done that!) We also see the tangential houses: Where Mama Cass lived then, who knew 4 of the 5 Tate house victims; the house Gaby and Voytek were renting when Sharon and Roman asked them to come to Cielo and keep Sharon company; the apartment house the daughter of the LaBiancas was living in when her parents were murdered (also used as the exterior to Melrose Place, we learn). We see the exterior of Gary Himman's house, the Hall of Justice where the Manson trial was held, and the street corner outside where the Manson girls, heads shaved and foreheads X'd, sat and chanted for Manson's release. There are also recordings of Manson and the Manson girls singing songs Manson wrote. We also see the exterior of Dennis Wilson's house that the Manson gang trashed while living there and the marina where Wilson drowned. We also see a lot of the exterior of the house where Sebring lived at the time of his death (where Jean Harlow lived with Paul Bern, who died there and also where Sharon had her eerie premonition of death). Michaels interviews one of the owners, who bought the house from Sebing's parents in 1970 and has lived there ever since. Is the house haunted? Hear what the owner has to say.

There are coroner's reports and pictures of the Tate and LaBianca victims, a warning for the faint of heart.

The extras at the end of the DVD include a visit to the street Lynette Fromme grew up on, with her name written by her in 1960 on the concrete sidewalk; a house 4 doors down from Cielo which is supposedly haunted; a preview of Dearly Departed vol. 1, where Michaels covers RFK, Marilyn Monroe, and many others; plus a lot more.

This is just jam packed with into relevant to the case and also just random. It's a fascinating DVD tour and I hope Michaels does more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Michaels SCORES !!!!!!, January 9, 2012
By 
Frankie Ramos (HOLLYWOOD, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Six Degrees of Helter Skelter (DVD)
If you are interested in the whole Manson nightmare, this documentary is a MUST have!
Scott Michaels painstakingly takes you through the story...detail by detail and gives tons of interesting detailed facts you probably do not already know (Like Sharon Tates connection to Bruce Lee playing Kato). Scott also goes to the actual places whenever possible like Jay Seabrings Salon,Fortouski's home on Easton Drive,The house Roman & Sharon rented (and tried to purchase) from Patti Duke, the ruins of Spahn Ranch,Barker Ranch (Before AND after the fire), plus much much MUCH more!
A unique documentary unlike anything you have seen before. I can not recommend this enough! 5 Stars!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Six Degrees of Helter Skelter
The Six Degrees of Helter Skelter by Mike Dorsey (DVD - 2009)
$6.99 $3.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.