Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$37.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 14, 2008
The volume presented here under the title of `The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses', is in fact a collection of texts of German "folk" magic dating from the mid- eighteenth century. They were collected together under this title by Johann Scheible in the mid- nineteenth century; and it is the 8th edition of his German work, published in 1865, as well as an English version of Scheible's text published in the U.S. at the end of the 19th century, which form the basis for Peterson's English edition.
In this volume, Joseph H. Peterson presents the English speaking public with a scholarly and conscientiously produced edition, as we have come to expect from this dependable author. He has not only compared the two editions mentioned above, but has endeavoured to correct both by referring to older Hebrew and European authorities.
The backbone of the book is a group of 7 texts, which all claim to be presenting arcana from the lost books of Moses, usually in the form of incantations and amulets in Hebrew. Peterson supplements these 7 texts with 9 appendices of related texts, again mostly taken from Scheible. He also reproduces an introduction on `The Magic of the Israelites' by Joseph Ennemoser (1844), plus several useful indices.
The volume has been produced by the Ibis Press of Lake Worth, FL; the same people who did such a commendable job on Dehn's Abramelin. This book is up to that same high standard. The numerous magical diagrams and illustrations are well laid out and nicely produced, one section even being printed in red and black.
In the interests of writing a more balanced review, I tried hard to discover some negative points to make about the present edition, but failed to find any.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2010
Are you a practitioner of Ceremonial Magic or RootWork-Conjure Sorcery? If so, then this will be a great addition to your library! For the paltry sum of $35, you can get a copy of this terrific book to use in your Spiritual & Sorcerous practices.

I covet few books out there on Magic because most of them just flat out suck. They're written by parrots parroting other parrots and typically they do little more than take an already complex field and make it even MORE complex! You don't need to involve yourself in such silly complexity when you work with a system as presented here.

This book is based on the old Jewish system of Talismans & Amulets. In times past the amulets & talismans were made according to specific metals (usually silver) & sometimes made during Planetary calculations of the heavenly bodies.

For instance, the first seal is known as the Seal of Treasures & on page 50, Joe gives a wonderful depiction of the talisman using the correct Hebrew letters & Astrological characters. Plus you get the correct incantation to summon the Spirits governing this seal. This is the seal of Treasure Hunters & was used during a time when most people would bury their money for safe keeping. Later when they died, often a family may hire a professional Treasure Hunter to find the patriarch's monetary hidey-hole. I made one of these for a friend of mine who is a professional deep sea treasure hunter & he ended up finding a few gold dubloons off the coast of Florida.

On page 114, there's a beautiful representation of the Heilig (re: Holy) Pentagram which can be used to ward off evil & invoke Holy forces.

Then starting on page 127, we find the first seal of the art of the Spirit Commando which is Aziel. This seal is done in two colors, Red & Black, and is used to summon forth the Spirit Aziel for the practitioner to interact with. Many are the Conjure Sorcerers who summon these Seven Spirits to learn their arts from. Much knowledge & wisdom is there for one to learn.

Overall the book is a much needed redoing of the 6/7_BoM. The edition that Ms. Whippler put out some years ago is one of the worst simply because it was little more than a photocopy attempt of the Dorene Publishing edition which itself is not that great. The Dorene edition is the one many Hoodooists use as it's cheap. Problem with these editions is that they're not only cheaply printed (on newsprint no less) the amulet markings are horrid & illegible. Thus you have to guess what the real markings are.

Peterson found some German copies of the book floating around with far better legible printing of the Hebrew letters AND Astrological symbols. Do not think he sat down & worked them out piece by piece since the legible copies are available & easy to obtain.

In summary, if you want a valid Magical grimoire to use & learn from and have no problem working within the Jewish & Christian Magical systems, then this is the book for you. If you dislike the Judeo-Christian methodology or dislike all of the 'I-am-the-lord-thy-god' nonsense of Hebrew Qabala, then this is not a book you'd want to work with. It's factually accurate & workable for those inclined & willing. Due to its completeness, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.
22 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2008
This is, by far, the most superior version of the Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses I have seen!
This edition has very clear sigils and letters drawn, along with outstanding insights to this system of magick!
Other publishers and editions I have seen are terrible, as many of the sigils and letters are so unreadable that it is impossible to attempt to put this form of magick into actual practice!
I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in grimoires!
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2008
This book is, hands down, the best on this subject I have ever seen. There have been other, incomplete and inferior versions of the Sixth and Seventh Books, with their unreadable seals and poorly done research, but when I saw that this book was from Joseph Peterson, I was certain that it would be the product of complete and scholarly research.

When I finally got the book, I was not disappointed. It was everything I expected and more.

I highly recommend this book for anyone studying the origins of certain folk magic practices as well as those who are interested in the subject of magic itself. Peterson has done us all a great service publishing this book.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2009
I feel personally unqualified to review this great book. I am happy that I have at last acquired the real stuff, and have now discarded the imitation versions that I possessed previously. The book is good value for money.

I rate it 5 stars.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
I bought this book to learn more about magical theory and I'm glad to say I learned a lot. What I enjoyed most about this book was the Psalms section. Growing up in the church I have never heard of the psalms being used this way. It's a shame that wizards and sorcerers know more about the magical use of bible verses than christians. However, the verses in the Psalms don't seem to fit the desired effect for example, to calm dangerous waters at sea one is to use Psalms 21, but this Psalm doesn't have anything to do with water or traveling at sea so I'm lost at it's use here. There are lots of examples like this in the book but some of the Psalms were relative to the desired effect. The introduction, The Magic of the Israelites was a good and interesting read bringing me more insight into the Biblical miracles.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2008
A look at the history of magic and those who have practiced it in the Kabbalistic tradition - that is what "The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses" offers to its readers. Exploring the Kabbalah and Talmud as magical texts as well as quoting other noted sources such as Albertus Magnus, Trithemus, and more, "The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses" is a complete and comprehensive guide to anyone who wants a better understanding of the esoteric history of the world. In this new edition, author Joseph Peterson seeks to clear up previously confused elements to a more clear form, much easier to understand. "The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses" is a top pick for metaphysical studies shelves and for any follower of the art.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
I use this book as well as I have used divination and techniques that I have acquired few years ago. The techniques be it Amulets, Talisman Seals anything in The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses works when run-through it accordingly. I have also applied various techniques from various authors and the ancient Buddhist system including mysticism and I believe to say that no one book can give all the truth we are searching for... as such, may not be necessary until you put the system to work, all that is necessary is the mind and our own will to manipulate our own concentration practice carefully, as they say, practice make perfect… you can't just expect anything to work for you without going in deeper with much understanding of methods outlined therein.
So then all truths are true, as long as faith and consistent practice is employed... In that case the master key belief would be that reality is a symbol of the ineffable. At that point I would think you can utilize any system in this book and have it work for you just as well.
It’s all about you… the book always there for us as a guide.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
This book is well written and organized with clean art. This book is not for people who are new to ritual magic and lives within the Kabbalah tradition. The group I am working with decided to work through this book together and perform as much wild crafting as possible, that's where the first difficulty comes in. Depending on your geographic location, you may end up purchasing Sofer ink rather than making it. There are some items that are left unexplained, however, I believe this is a matter of source material and not the author. For example, there is a mention of the Lamen or chest plate without a description of construction. This is where the reader(s) will have to do some leg work to decipher what type is needed and how to construct it.

This book is for anyone interested in more advanced magic as well as magic within the Kabbalah tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2008
Joseph Petersen is a fantastic scholar. Weiser books puts out top-notch professional occult books. You're definitely getting what you've paid for: accuracy, professionalism and an occult scholarly work.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.