Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and useful
Many of us can see that resources won't be as freely available, or as easy to consume, in the future as they are now. For that prediction to be useful we also need to see how to position ourselves and our businesses to succeed in that new environment. This book makes the vision clearer and gives some thoughtful insights on creating opportunity, wealth and competitive...
Published on July 26, 2011 by J Garland McLellan

versus
9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting but flawed
This book is interesting but seriously flawed.

The premise of the book rests on Kondratiev waves, cycles of capitalist boom and bust discovered for Stalin, who was looking for weaknesses in the capitalist system. What Kondratiev found was the capitalist system goes through cycles of boom through innovation and bust that last about 50-60 years. Each cycle is...
Published on May 5, 2011 by V. Cinc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and useful, July 26, 2011
By 
Many of us can see that resources won't be as freely available, or as easy to consume, in the future as they are now. For that prediction to be useful we also need to see how to position ourselves and our businesses to succeed in that new environment. This book makes the vision clearer and gives some thoughtful insights on creating opportunity, wealth and competitive advantage as the next `sixth' wave of innovation comes crashing down.

The book is logically constructed and outlines both the development of economic wave theory and the five successive waves of technology and economy development from the time of the industrial revolution until the current day. Starting with the wave of water-powered industry, followed by successive waves of steam power and mechanisation, steel and electrification, oil and mass production, computing and communication and presaging the wave of resource restriction and waste minimisation the book provides a long term context for corporate behaviours and decisions.

There are cogent examples of technologies and successful business models to exploit each of the modern era waves. Many of the more current examples are from entrepreneurial start up businesses that could disappear but that, if the premise of the book is correct and we are heading for resource constraints, could prove to be `game changers' for entire industries. These are potent thought-starters for the reader and give indications of both potential new businesses and ways for existing businesses to adapt and survive.

Those are the observations. Then there are the predictions; the move towards selling services rather than products (e.g. transport rather than cars), the pricing of externalities, redesigned institutions, and the marginalisation of physical or geopolitical boundaries as a constraint on trade and technology transfer. The single large prediction, that we are on the cusp of a new wave, is borne out by the transition between waves being a period of economic turmoil and depression (GFC and recession sound familiar to anyone?).

The nature of the waves is described in clear and sufficient detail from the initial emergence of disruptive technologies, through the gradual dominance of technological standards (such as Microsoft in the information technology wave) and the rich rewards for the backers of the successful technologies (dot.com millionaires), to the market frenzy where every `me too' company receives backing (overheating), to the eventual saturation and inevitable crash followed by a harsh period of readjustment as workforce skills migrate to the new requirements. The speed of the waves (measured from peak to peak or trough to trough) appears to be increasing.

This is not a book for fatalists and doomsayers. The implications of the theory expounded in the book are that innovation and optimism are most appropriate when all appears most hopeless. For that alone it is a good read. In addition to the feel good factor the book offers practical insights into new ways of thinking about new types of problem in an interconnected and global world where possibility becomes practice at the speed of thought.

Very highly recommended and a definite jolt out of everyday thinking.

* Julie Garland McLellan is a professional non-executive director, board and governance consultant and mentor. She is the author of "Dilemmas, Dilemmas: practical case studies for company directors', "The Director's Dilemma", "All Above Board: Great Governance for the Government Sector" and numerous articles on corporate strategy and governance.
Dilemmas, Dilemmas: Practical Case Studies for Company Directors
Presenting to Boards: Practical Skills for Corporate Presentations (Volume 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, April 12, 2012
Being aware of what and how we consume `stuff' is an increasingly important issue for many people these days. The conversation often revolves around how to reduce waste, how to recycle and how to do more with less. The book, `The Sixth Wave: how to succeed in a resource-limited world' explores these issues, but asks a bigger question. How do we shift our thinking to `waste' is as an untapped resource, an opportunity yet to be realized. James Bradfield Moody and Bianca Nogrady provide us with a fascinating snapshot into the future of how our society may evolve over the next 30-40 years.

When I first began this journey of discovery with MeeMeep, I was directed to this book by one of my colleagues - who happened to hear James Bradfield Moody speak on a Qantas flight from Sydney to Melbourne. James appears on the ABC's The New Inventors as a judge, but is a recognised author and academic in his own right.

The book makes a bold prediction of the future by providing a sound argument as to "...how the next wave of innovation will change our lives, and help us succeed in a resource-limited world."

The idea that, as a society, we are moving away from one that is `"...heavily addicted to to the consumption of resources to a world in which resource-efficiency is the name of the game." This is a revolutionary paradigm that could transform not only our way of thinking, but also our way of doing.

The Sixth Wave is primarily an academic piece of writing but at the same time - it is a really good read - fascinating actually. It is also provides a timely segway into the whole idea of collaborative consumption. The Sixth Wave offers some great examples of collaboaritve behaviours and businesses such as car sharing and bike sharing. They identify areas of significant business opportunities that come about from exploring how the scarcity of resources can be turned into business opportunities.

The book focuses on waves of innovation that have occurred since the industrial revolution; the shift from steam to electricity, from manufacturing to information. Moody, who has worked at Australia's national research agency, and Nogrady, a science journalist, argue that, since the industrial revolution, we've seen five long waves of innovation and the sixth wave will be about resource efficiency-- because the scarcity of resources and rising pollution and waste levels will become the key drivers of governments and individuals alike.

Norgrady describes these factors such as climate change, dwindling resources and the increasing cost of waste as creating a kind of `perfect storm' for innovation in the Sixth Wave.

Reading this book has inspired us here at MeeMeep and has helped reinforce to us that we are on the right track with our grand plan - which is to reduce the amount of traffic and pollution on our roads, by tapping into people's movements and connecting them with someone who may need something picked up and delivered. Where a little foresight can result in a big win for the environment.

I would thoroughly recommend The Sixth Wave to anyone who is even a little bit interested in the socio-economic and environmental direction of our world in the next 40 years. If `necessity is the mother of invention', then perhaps it is also true to say that necessity is also the mother of innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sixth Wave, April 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Wave: How to Succeed in a Resource-Limited World (Kindle Edition)
The Sixth Wave: How to succeed in a resource-limited world

After reading one of the reviews that claims the green revolution is not real made me want to read this book even more and I was not disappointed.

In fact, I found it very stimulating and according to my social construct and education, I believe this author has something very important and valuable to say.

In my thinking I find it hard not to understand that waste and inefficiency is now a serious problem for humanity. This issue along with oil and the problems this declining resource will bring us if we continue to behave as if it is here forever.

We are in a dilemma and to deny this is astounding to me when I hear it from so many people as well as our politicians. New ideas, new industries, new policies are needed if we are to continue to live the lives of our expectations. All ideas must be considered, not just one side.

The current great recession is a testimony to this fact. Many in my generation will never see the good paying blue collar jobs of the past. Their last remaing years will be nothing like they experienced in the 60s, 70s, and even 80s. They will need to learn to live without their frivolous ways of their past, (myself included). On top of these problems, Our politicians are now in the blame game stage, (neither side offering real solutions) which if we continue to allow will only bring more suffering and despair for many.

For the next generation, this book presents some possible opportunities, ( for they still have time). It's a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A vision of our future to embrace, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Wave: How to Succeed in a Resource-Limited World (Kindle Edition)
This,is a great book for all to read and join in with our creative passion to make a life worth living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 6th Wave, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
James and Bianca draw a clear picture, using good data, from the 1st industrial wave and it's economic impact through the technology wave. They then use this information to substantiate how sustainability is the next (6th) wave.

Economics & Environment.....Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cutting Edge, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book stands a future vision of the cleantech's applications in our day-to-day life. It shows you the path of how it will get there and it base this on actual examples of successful business.
In my opinion is a must read for who is searching on what is coming next, and how to approach it and build something from it.

I salute you, Mr. Moody, and thanks for sharing your knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting but flawed, May 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Wave: How to Succeed in a Resource-Limited World (Kindle Edition)
This book is interesting but seriously flawed.

The premise of the book rests on Kondratiev waves, cycles of capitalist boom and bust discovered for Stalin, who was looking for weaknesses in the capitalist system. What Kondratiev found was the capitalist system goes through cycles of boom through innovation and bust that last about 50-60 years. Each cycle is based around credit and rates and the flow of capital. Since around 1780 we have 5 waves and the premise of this book is that the green revolution is the 6th wave.

By coincidence I was looking at Kontratiev waves and found that Martin Armstrong has done the most work to date identifying cycles in society. Armstrong picked the financial peak in 2008 with a low at 2026 and a new financial high of 2045.

According to the book, the first wave was the industrial revolution starting around 1780, mass cotton production, iron and water power. Technology was invented such as the spinning-jenny, a multi-spool yearn-spinning machine combined with water-powered cotton mill. These heralded a shift from cottage based industry to factory style production. The second wave was the age of steam and mechanization, railways where developed around 1830. The third wave was the advent of heavy industry and electricity starting around 1895. The fourth wave starting around 1941, was the advent of the automobile, oil and mass production through the invention of the assembly line, which forever changed the way we live. The fifth wave, around 1980 is the information age, with the development of the internet.

The sixth wave claimed by the authors is the green revolution which they claim has begun a couple of decades early, for reasons the author can't explain other than technology is accelerating.

However I find the claims somewhat stretched, each innovation wave has resulted in new technology that has dramatically improved the standard of living for people, whereas this new "wave" really does no such thing. There is not a single green technology that is revolutionary or that will dramatically improve people's lives. Green mantras of reuse recycle renew, is in reality just tidying up the loose ends from the previous manufacturing revolutions. The authors also claim that the environment needs to be priced as to capture the cost of negative externalities, ie waste. Basically this means adding cost to manufacture that consumers will have to pay, how this is going to improve anyone lives is clearly stretching the imagination. Another theme of course is global warming or climate change and again this brings in a heavy new cost based on some possible future negative, it seems either you pay now or you pay later. Given the cracks that have materialised in climate warming hysteria, in my opinion its somewhat too early to start paying, we need significantly better verification of the data and of the predictive models before we commit trillions of global dollars to the problem.

All in all the authors can't point to a single technology that will dramatically alter the quality of our lives as has happened in previous waves of hot money chasing innovation creating cycles of credit booms and busts. The entire green revolution is predicated on negatives and added costs with no new benefit. The fact I now have some LED lights in my home that have cost a $100 a pop as opposed to 50c has done nothing to directly improve the quality of life other then bring forward future costs. The lights are still doing the same job.

My opinion is the sixth wave is a good 10 years off, and at this stage we have no idea what it could be but the green revolution is just another industry and not a revolution in lifestyle quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.