Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hour primer on social networking
QUICK SUMMARY: Like all the other "Skinny On" books, this little book with stick figures teaches the essentials behind social networking. Spend an hour and get some inspiration for building your network (even if you dread doing so). Recommended!

Background: This is maybe the fifth or sixth "Skinny On" book that I've read. The author's use of storyboard...
Published on December 14, 2010 by William W. Davis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quick Read that Saves Itself at the End
This is the first book in "the skinny on" series that I have read. Fortunately, it was a quick read that I knocked out in one sitting. The subject of networking is a frequent topic of discussion in business circles so there are bound to be plenty of folks looking for help here. I thought the story was a little "sappy" and took a long time to develop. The good news was...
Published on November 14, 2011 by Mark Raciappa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hour primer on social networking, December 14, 2010
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
QUICK SUMMARY: Like all the other "Skinny On" books, this little book with stick figures teaches the essentials behind social networking. Spend an hour and get some inspiration for building your network (even if you dread doing so). Recommended!

Background: This is maybe the fifth or sixth "Skinny On" book that I've read. The author's use of storyboard panels and stick figures helps to quickly and effectively communicate his message, this time, on social networking. Note that this is a TERRIFIC book for older students and young adults, who can gain so much from the life lessons explained in "The Skinny On" series of books.

WHAT I LIKED:

- As always, the whole book can be read in about an hour's time.
- The book describes WHY it's important to create a social network, as well as HOW to do so.
- There is practical advice throughout, such as using specific, business-oriented, social networking sites.
- The author neatly summarizes his 10 key points at the book's end.
- There is a great bibliography for doing further, more in-depth reading afterwards.
- This book compliments the message on "reciprocity" mentioned in The Skinny on the Art of Persuasion: How to Move Minds.
- The book also continues to advocate for respecting and helping others, not for calculated reasons, but because it's just decent human behavior.
- The author gives suggestions to those who (like me) often dislikes networking with others.
- It gives plain, simple advice that can be often overlooked.
- My teenaged son enjoys reading these business books!

WHAT COULD BE BETTER:

- I don't ascribe to the idea of doing good things to achieve "good karma" because I'm a Christian, and so I don't believe in "karma". I understand that others believe differently (fine), but I'm not motivated to do good things because of the existence of "karma" in the world. Perhaps the author could have expanded this part to include other, religious-oriented motivations for doing what we innately know to be the right way to treat another person.

Conclusion: Another great "Skinny On" book! As I mentioned at the top, this is a great book especially for young adults and students -- a great gift idea. I thank the publisher for providing me this complimentary copy to read and review. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quick Read that Saves Itself at the End, November 14, 2011
By 
Mark Raciappa (Tallahassee, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
This is the first book in "the skinny on" series that I have read. Fortunately, it was a quick read that I knocked out in one sitting. The subject of networking is a frequent topic of discussion in business circles so there are bound to be plenty of folks looking for help here. I thought the story was a little "sappy" and took a long time to develop. The good news was that there were some solid tips in the form of two "Top 10" lists that were summarized near the end. These provided the greatest value in reading the book and were worth building up to. This is one that every business leader could pass to the sales team or those that represent the business at networking functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Place to Start, or a Great Review of Networking for Success, November 10, 2010
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
I've really started to enjoy "The Skinny On" series. They are quick and easy to read, but contain a lot of useful information. Excellent books if you want a primer on a topic, or a quick review of a topic you are already familiar with. They are well researched and share the information in a different and somewhat humorous manner. "The Skinny On Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers" by Jim Randel is a great little guide on the basics of creating and maintaining a network of people that you help and in return receive help from them. It is definitely worth the hour or so it takes to read.

The book is told in frames, with two frames per page. The frames go along telling a story about Jim Randel and how he helps a young couple, Beth and Billy, become better at networking to enable them to further their successes. The "lessons" are shared by Jim to this young couple with humor added here and there. The story board portion is illustrated with stick figures, and if you are thinking, "What?" you can rest assured, that it actually works very well with this series of books. Other frames do not have pictures and contain quotes from popular books on the subject, rules, points the author wants to make, and so on. In the end, if concludes with a list of Randel's top ten points about networking.

If you have read other books on networking, you probably won't find anything new here. However, it will be a great reminder of some of the most important things to remember about networking. If you have not read any other texts on the topic, this is a great place to start. Randel explains why networking is important and provides tips and strategies for you to practice as you grow the number of relationships you have, as well as how you help each other. I really liked that he stressed that is is about helping others, not just seeing what others can do for you. I also liked the story about how Randel received $750,000 for about an hour of time helping someone else. If that doesn't illustrate how positive rewards can come back from helping others, what does?

Another valuable thing about the book is the references and resources listed. One could find and read the books that are quoted throughout the text, as well as those listed at the end of the book and continue their education with this topic. That's why I said this is a great place to start for the person who has not read anything in this area but want to lean. I also think it is a great book for the person who wants the basics and does not have much time to read and study. If a person would read this book, and actually apply the lessons it contains, they would become better and networking and most likely reap rewards from it. Sure, there is much more to learn and practice, but again, this is a great start. Or, a great review. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to get ahead with the power of helping others and being helped by them.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of Hard-Won Wisdom From the School of Hard Knocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, painless and easy!, December 10, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
This is the first of "the skinny on" series of books I have read. This book is humorous with the stick figure cartoons, it is easy to read and understand and it is a quick read. If you are new to networking, this is a great book to help you understand how it all works, and how who you know can help you now and later. Very good for young adults or people just learning about networking. The author talks about networking online as well as off, moving out of your comfort zone, cold calling and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Succinct Guide to Networking, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
This is a great part of the continuing "The Skinny on" series. Like all books in this series it is a quick, informative read that walks you through networking for a job using a real life situation with advice collected from successful people spread throughout. The stories make the content of the book memorable which helps increase retention of its contents. For someone looking for a new job, or to better connect with people in life, this is a great read. Randel has a keen ability to not just dispense knowledge gained by researchers and famous people but to communicate that knowledge through illustrating the practical application of those points. Lastly, the author provides a good summary of his advice at the end of the book along with a short bibliography of the best works on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Networking from A to Z - Quickly, November 2, 2011
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
By Irene Conlan -

There's a new book in the Skinny On ... series - The Skinny On Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers by Jim Randel. It was released August 1 and is now available for purchase. It's a quick read and, like the other Skinny On books has everything you need to know to be successful at - in this case - networking. Even with interruptions I read it in less that two hours and, although I consider myself a "good networker," I picked up some gems I wish I had had when at the height of my business career. Not to worry, even though I'm retired now, I can still use the meaty material in this book.

Complete with the trademark stick figures that tell a story while making critical points about networking, this book will take you from A to Z. Starting with list making and continuing through to knowing what you want and how to express it clearly you will find yourself saying, "Why didn't I think of that before?" You will learn about finding and using connectors - those people who can get you to the people you need. After reading this book you will begin to think of networking as much more than meeting, greeting and handing out a business card.

Randel defines networking as developing and utilizing relationships with other people. Notice he doesn't limit networking business and in fact points out that it can open you up to new friendships and personal growth.

Randel states" Networking is not just about business. Networking is about increasing your depth and breadth as a person. What starts out as a business relationship may well end up as a friendship." If you aren't in business for yourself but want to build a network of friends, or seek volunteers and/or donations for a favorite charity, etc. you will get valuable tips on how to go about doing that. If you want to expand your networking on the Internet, you will find valuable tips on how to do that more effectively.

The top ten networking lessons you'll learn from this book are:

1. Make networking an important part of your business strategy.
2. When you have a specific need, start with family and friends.
3. When you want something, be precise in explaining it to others.
4. Reach outside your comfort zone.
5. Find `connectors' and buddy up to them.
6. The Internet is a super-powerful connector.
7. Don't assume people will help you just to be nice. Give them a reason to help you.
8. Give before you receive.
9. Be aware of your social capital.
10. Networking is not just about business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, practical suggestions, August 2, 2011
By 
Brad Teare (Providence, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
I needed this book but was afraid it might just be a guilt trip for me since I am such a bad networker. But I enjoyed the other Skinny books so decided to give this one a try. I was not disappointed and pleased that I haven't burned as many bridges as I might have thought and there is still hope for me. The idea of social capital was useful, and the list that specifies how not to deplete that reservoir. The book is sprinkled with tips such as stressing the "work" in networking and identifying certain highly social people as "connectors". I also liked the idea of "weak ties", that some of the most productive networking is with people you are only sightly acquainted with (because they are probably not of your profession or social class which means that their acquaintances are not a subset of yours). It also dispels some myths such as the six degrees of separation and substitutes a more rational model.

It is a good survey of the subject and overall I enjoyed this book. It is also a quick read and easy to review which I plan to do from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Neophyte Writer, July 8, 2011
By 
Kristi Bernard (Overland Park, KS) - See all my reviews
Are you planning to write a book, start a business or have information that needs to be shared among the masses? If so, do you know how to network? Have you thought about how to introduce yourself to others? If not, then it's time you learned how.

Randel has created a simple way to introduce anyone into the world of networking. Readers will learn how to lower interpersonal barriers. Get access to people who can help you. Start small and within your inner circle. Randel gives plenty of insight on social media and how to reach out and communicate.

If you are shy to start Randel will teach you how to get out of your comfort zone by getting to know someone and then making notes about what you've learned. Readers will learn how far to go with the networking you are doing. Read about how your favorite celebrities achieved their goals by networking. Learning to network is a slow process. Randel will teach you how to pace yourself and helpful tips are listed for quick and easy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief, Concise , Brilliant, July 3, 2011
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
Another great book by Jim Randel- He certainly has a flare for identifying important topics, researching best practices, and translating advice into a user-friendly, fun format. I learn more in an hour from reading one of the Skinny series than if I took a college course on the subject.

Networking talks about the importance of staying connected with friends and acquaintances; how to determine when you do or don't have enough "social capital" to ask for a favor; how to use the internet to help maintain and expand networking connections; how to maximize your personal approach in dealing with people; and many other topics. It's a great resource for anyone in business, looking for a job, or just wanting to learn more about effective ways of dealing with people. I heartily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Networking: Learning a Skill to Make Life Easier, November 7, 2010
By 
Tom McGee "Tom" (Springfield, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers (Perfect Paperback)
This weekend I read six of Jim Randel's "Skinny on" books--creativity, credit cards, direct sales, the housing crisis, real estate investing (part 1) and networking.

These books use the Japanese writing style known as Magna. The author researches his topics and reduces the subject down to a one to one and a half hour read that simplifies the concepts in easily understandable stories. Following the illustrated stories he provides a quick summary of the points to remember. He then lists a further reading section and recommends specific books for those that want the fine details.

The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers is an easy to read book about "opening your horizons to new friendships and personal growth." Networking is also a business strategy dealing with increasing the number of friends who can help each other obtain the things we want in life.

In this book Jim Randel demonstrates how networking has helped him personally and in his story of Billy and Beth, how it has made their lives easier. Billy is a high school History teacher who wants to be a college Music teacher. His wife, Beth is a shy lawyer who needs to learn how to bring in potential clients to grow in her business life.

This book is extremely informative, a time savers and an easy read. Don't be fooled by the stick figured illustrations. This is a serious book about listening skills, finding "connectors," helping others and giving others a reason to help you and much more.

I enjoyed this book and will recommend it to my friends and family. It was a worthwhile and fun read that can positively impact our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers
The Skinny on Networking: Maximizing the Power of Numbers by Jim Randel (Perfect Paperback - August 1, 2010)
$14.95 $12.40
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.