Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a school text book!
This is truly a book I would recommend to anyone...and the only reason I would ever recommend a book is if it's had significant, real personal impact on my life in practical ways...and this book has done just that. It's caused me to be more consciously aware of the slight edge when making small, seemingly insignificant decisions throughout the day.

Jeff...
Published on April 6, 2007 by Zoombuggy

versus
184 of 236 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some Good Strategies for Success, Unfortunate Perspective
I bought this book on a friend's recommendation. It sets out what I would agree are some effective strategies for success. I particularly like the author's emphasis on the roles consistency and persistence in the little things play in achieving great things. He writes that neglecting a simple process or procedure necessary for achieving success may for a short time...
Published 22 months ago by Roger Willco


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a school text book!, April 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Slight Edge (Audio CD)
This is truly a book I would recommend to anyone...and the only reason I would ever recommend a book is if it's had significant, real personal impact on my life in practical ways...and this book has done just that. It's caused me to be more consciously aware of the slight edge when making small, seemingly insignificant decisions throughout the day.

Jeff doesn't necessarily offer up a new philosophy or idea in this book. But he uncovers the simple, eternal truths about success and failure, and he calls it the "slight edge": simplified disciplines (good or bad) compounded over time. This principle, which is true to everyone, everywhere, can be recognized and applied to EVERY area of life.

He explains how our society has been inundated with what he calls the "breakthrough mentality": how we expect success and completion to come easily and quickly. He breaks down the slight edge and how it affects your financial prosperity, health, relationships, etc. This book really causes you to look at your life, where you're at, how you got there, and the choices you can make daily to get to where you want to go.

I have read the book, I have listened to the audiobook. I will continue to refer back to it's principles.

Bottom Line: It's easy reading, it's practical, it's useful. Not only would I recommend this to everyone (which I RARELY ever do for a book), but if I was in charge of things, I would make this a required text in high schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slight Edge makes How To: books work!!!!, June 21, 2011
This review is from: The Slight Edge (Audio CD)
Length:: 6:19 Mins

This is probably one of the most important books / audios that you can use. The slight edge is always working either for you or against you. It is key to understand the difference. Jeff Olson does a great job in this work. For more free book reviews, please check out successprogress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


184 of 236 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some Good Strategies for Success, Unfortunate Perspective, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge (Audio CD)
I bought this book on a friend's recommendation. It sets out what I would agree are some effective strategies for success. I particularly like the author's emphasis on the roles consistency and persistence in the little things play in achieving great things. He writes that neglecting a simple process or procedure necessary for achieving success may for a short time have little discernible adverse impact on achievement; but accumulated neglect of seemingly inconsequential factors always leads to failure in reaching important objectives.

Olson, like so many other writers in the self-improvement genre, focuses on the accumulation of material wealth as THE measure of success. Early in the book, he relates an encounter he had with an airport shoeshine lady. She had shared with him her disappointment in not having enough money to buy her daughter a new uniform and an airline ticket to participate with her cheerleading squad in a competition being held in another city. As he departs her company, he reflects on what choices she might make in her life that would increase her monetary wealth. He wonders what would be different for her if she acted on the premise that one's income approximates the average income of their five best friends. He speculates that, had she cultivated friendships with wealthy and influential people instead of with her coworkers, she would herself be wealthier.

I found this revelation of one of the author's core values to be so offensive that my take on the entire book is perhaps more negative than the work deserves. The first problem I have with this passage is that the author fails to establish a logical basis for his implicit assertion that cultivating friendships with the wealthy leads to greater wealth for one's self. It seems far more likely to me that similar income levels may lead to friendships, not the other way around.

However, his more egregious offense is his unconscionable advocacy of cultivating and exploiting friendships for material gain "instead of" [his words, not mine] pursuing friendships based on more substantial interpersonal compatibility, as often exists among coworkers. Such an approach to personal relationships is in my opinion, shameless social climbing--an unethical and culturally proscribed practice. In my experience, persons who adopt this "kiss up and kick down" practice in their pursuit of material wealth quickly become pariahs to those they seek to exploit; and most often, they ultimately find themselves consigned to the social scrap heap.

In the end, I think Olson's overarching philosophy is way off the mark; and much of his advice is a disservice to readers who pay their good money for his book, expecting to gain useful insights from it.

Addendum 1/14/13: I've recently learned that Olson has started his own Multi-Level Marketing (MLM) company. If his company trains his "Brand Partners" to operate as do too many other MLMs, he's at least consistent in his advocacy of exploiting personal relationships for profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Parable of the Hyacinth and Your Abundance, March 17, 2012
This review is from: The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success (Paperback)
Author Jeff Olson offers the secret to a successful life in his "The Slight Edge." This book centers on answering the questions, "Why are some people successful, and some people failures? What is the difference - really?

The book begins with three stories, of which I will share the one about the water hyacinth - a beautiful, delicate-looking little plant. The hyacinth is one of the most productive (successful) plants on earth; its reproductive rate astonishes botanists and ecologists. The method it prefers for colonizing a new area is to grow by doubling itself. One plant can multiply to cover an entire pond in thirty days.

The "Slight Edge" involves the flywheel effect which multiplied the hyacinth. Success is built on each turn of the flywheel which builds upon work done earlier, compounding the investment of effort. It doesn't come from nowhere; it can't be conjured up out of thin air. It comes from a very small, tiny beginning, and grows with time.

The secret ingredient to success is one's philosophy. What are the attitudes behind your actions? Your attitudes lead to actions which lead to results - creating your life. Olson provides a useful diagram of our actions and how their compounding interest leads to success or failure over time. The upper curve on the diagram is the formula for success: a few simple disciplines, repeated every day over time. The lower curve is the formula for failure: a few simple errors in judgment, repeated every day over time. The upper curve represents the one person out of twenty who follows the "Slight Edge." It's pure geometry, the geometry of effects over time. One can choose time will to be a friend or an enemy.

Each of us, every day and every hour, chooses which side of this curve we want to ride. "The Slight Edge" provides good guide on making the right choice, and a reminder that successful people form habits that feed their success, instead of habits that feed their failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, March 27, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge (Audio CD)
If you want to learn how to move to the next level in your life or get that jumpstart and push again, get this product. All you have to do is pop it in your CD player in the car and listen to it on a regular basis, it will bless you and make all the difference in the world to your life. Its the little steps to big success that lasts a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slight Edge - Huge Payoff, October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success (Paperback)
The concept of the slight edge is very simple and easy to apply to your life. The recurring theme throughout the book is if you consistently do the simple things which give you a slight edge, over time you will create a huge advantage in life. Neglect doing these things consistently and you will join the majority in life who are doomed to mediocrity.

Jeff Olson, the author, says these things we can do which will give us the slight edge are easy to do. The problem is they are as easy or easier not to do. Take reading a good book on self-development. It should be easy to read just 10 pages per day. But it is slightly easier to not read 10 pages a day. And if you fail to read 10 pages, no alarm goes off. There will be no discernable difference in your life for that one day. Either path - reading or failing to read 10 pages a day will not show any measurable difference in your life for a week or even a month. But continued over a longer period of time, a year or two, the slight difference begins to add up - to make a real difference.

According to Mr. Olson, 5 percent of the population consistently do the simple things which give them a slight edge. The balance, 95 percent of the population fail to do the simple things - and that is the makes all the difference. Five percent enjoy success, the majority in the words of Thoreau, "Lead lives of quiet desperation."

The book is well written in very easy to understand conversational style. There are plenty of success stories from people who understood the impact the Slight Edge principles could have on their lives. These people implemented the concepts and shared how their lives have changed.

You might be tempted to think that the principles are not that impressive since they are so simple and anyone could do them. But that is exactly why they are so powerful. Once you truly understand the power of compounding simple behaviors over time, you will have unlocked the formula for creating the life you truly want.

This is a great book for anyone wanting to dramatically change their life. The concepts are extremely powerful. Part of the magic of turning the Slight Edge principles into massive success is using time as your ally. The longer you employ the Slight Edge principles, the greater the benefit you will enjoy.

The younger you are when you begin to employ the Slight Edge principles, the more time you will have for the benefits to compound.

Anyone who has followed the teachings of Jim Rohn will "hear" a lot of his teachings in this book. If you have enjoyed Jim Rohn, you will certainly enjoy and relate to this book.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Inspirational, and Easy to Comprehend!, December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success (Paperback)
Like another reviewer said, this book should be required reading in school. It really is the creme de la creme of success books -- covers all the bases and hits the points without overkill. The author speaks openly and positively, and the tone is down to earth. I'm giving four family members a copy for Christmas!

For more mature readers of this book, it is likely that Olsen will recommend positive actions that you have already established as habits. I admit it was a nice ego booster to get the validation. :) One of them is to be a continuous learner, and at the moment, enjoying reading "Becoming a Person of Influence" by John Maxwell and Jim Dornan. Excellent book that shares the secrets of creating and reproducing positive influencers in this world.

Key Learnings:
I needed to hear again for the billionth time how goal setting is so very important and to look at your (five or so) goals every single day. To cement this habit I ordered the book "Wishcraft" which other Amazon reviewers touted as the best on goal planning/organization. (So eagerly awaiting that to arrive and maybe I'll update this post later. . .)

This book also conveyed the attitude needed towards failure. I knew that I needed more rah! rah! cheerleading on this topic, so I purchased "Go For No! . . ." which is a short little book (readable in one hour.) "Go For No!" could have been more concise, but the author got the job done with his visual failure chart and how you know when you've mastered and properly use the fear of failure to your maximum benefit.

The "Slight Edge" gave a nice example of how to conduct planning and when to know when to stop. I also learned about the importance of establishing and maintaining a Master Mind group. While I've known the importance of relationships, holding regular meetings with a Master Mind Group is an excellent concept to regularly obtain the benefit of "two, three, and four heads are better than one."

Edit 1/11/12: Recommend adding "What to Say When You Talk to Your Self" in combination with this book. Self-help/success books will only give you temporary momentum if you do not establish consistent positive thinking and this author tells you how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slight Edge (Revised Edition): Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success (Paperback)
This book is one of the best I have ever read. It is amazing how such a simple concept can mean so much over the long run. I am using this book in a study group and we are all loving it. If you only read 1 book this year, this should be that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has improved the way I work., December 21, 2007
This review is from: The Slight Edge (Audio CD)
To start with I had to have this book on tape by a certain date (Wednesday, Nov.21) and had to read it by Monday (Nov.26) for a class I was taking. I met the UPS driver as I was on my way out of town for the holiday and was able to listen to the book while driving. The book is incredible. It talks about how the "slight edge" is whats makes the difference. Facinated by the book the 3 hr. drive flew by and I listened on the return trip also. Great book ...great service. THANK YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success (Paperback)
Do read this book before you leap into financial planning, body and mental fitness, career planning, relationships and life planning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Slight Edge: Turning Simple Disciplines Into Massive Success
Used & New from: $7.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.