Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The earthiest, rawest, most spontaneous album Reznor has released
4.5 Stars

For the first fifteen years of NIN's inception, fans would have to wait patiently, five or six years to hear new music. It was just a fact of life that it took forever for Trent Reznor to record and release a new album...in the past few years; however, the opposite is now true.

Including Saul William's "The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of...
Published on July 24, 2008 by Daniel Ferguson-Maltzman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a loud album, it sure is quiet....
(This is a review of the product itself, not the music..)

Great album, not the strongest of Reznor's, but one of his most outright heavy efforts since "Broken" and a welcome follow up to Year Zero. Be warned, however, that the copy I received has a distinct warp on one edge of the vinyl. Although I should have learned my lesson after getting 5 warped copies of...
Published on September 1, 2008 by Sean Othan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The earthiest, rawest, most spontaneous album Reznor has released, July 24, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
4.5 Stars

For the first fifteen years of NIN's inception, fans would have to wait patiently, five or six years to hear new music. It was just a fact of life that it took forever for Trent Reznor to record and release a new album...in the past few years; however, the opposite is now true.

Including Saul William's "The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of Niggy Tardust!" (which Reznor helped write and produce) and "Year Zero Remixed," (both 2007) Nine Inch Nails new album "The Slip" (2008) is the sixth album Trent Reznor has released in the past three years. Sobriety and (as of last year) being free of a major label have certainly been agreeable to Mr. Reznor.

"The Slip" (Halo 27) is not what one might have expected after the grand, dysphoric "Year Zero" with its' Public Enemy beats and songs concerning what a hell the United States will look like in 15 years. "The Slip," by contrast is probably the earthiest, rawest, most spontaneous album Reznor has released. Since only a few weeks were spent writing and a few more spent recording this album, one can see why. Luckily, however, the album manages not to sound rushed or sloppy. It seems that Reznor got the ball rolling, went with it, and didn't over think anything. Guitarist Robin Finck, keyboardist Alessandro Cortini and drummer Josh Freese also made contributions to the album.

Unlike "Year Zero," no time is spent contemplating the state of the world. This probably works for the best, as two albums in a short period of time concerning how bad things could get in the U.S. might be overkill. Rather, like most NIN albums, "The Slip" is personally reflective--although at 43, Reznor's lyrics seem to be a little more refined.

As the album begins, one is lured into a false sense of calmness with the short, low-key opening "999,999" before being thrust into the pounding "1,000,000." Noisy, loud and intense, this track makes for an ideal opener. The momentum doesn't let up with the equally forceful "Letting You," whose sort of peculiar, off-key chorus is where its strength lies.

"Discipline," the album's first single, might at first seem like a rehash of "The Hand that Feeds" (from "With Teeth") but after a few listens it is clear that this song is superior. The groove here is just undeniable. "I need your discipline, I need your help...you know once I start I cannot help myself" Reznor proclaims, possibly fearful that he might one day fall off the wagon--or otherwise lose control.

The almost claustrophobic "Echoplex," another outstanding song, has a sort of hypnotic feel. Laid-back, this song kind of grabs hold of you without you even noticing. The somewhat disparaging "Head Down" is a little reminiscent of the bizarre (yet awesome) "Vessel" from "Year Zero." The melodic chorus kind of comes as a surprise.

Maybe one of Reznor's most heart-felt songs, "Lights in the Sky" is the album's strongest gem. Stripped down, this piano composition is deeply melancholy--although Reznor isn't bemoaning himself--rather this song seems to be directed at someone whom he cares deeply about, stating:

Watching you drown
I'll follow you down
And I am here right beside you
The lights in the sky
Have finally arrived
I am staying right beside you

The rest of the album is mostly all instrumental work. Following "Lights in the Sky" we are led to "Corona Radiata." Over seven minutes in length and minimalistic, one might think it would get a bit monotonous--but it never does, staying intriguing until the very end. The subtle, haunting guitar work leaves a lasting impression. A little noisier and a little more intense "The Four of us are Dying" is no less memorable.

Reznor seems to say that he's about to lose it in the hectic closing "Demon Seed." This one may take a few listens to really get into--but it's definitely very cool and a good way to conclude the album.

The accompanying DVD featuring the band rehearsing "1,000,000," "Letting You," "Discipline," "Echoplex" and "Head Down" is very cool and will definitely be of interest to fans of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome little album from Trent., July 23, 2008
By 
J. D. Murray (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
I've been a Nails fan since the Broken/TDS days. Yes, it's common knowledge that Trent's calmed down a little. It happens with age. Some people can't accept that. Thing is, Trent has continued to be on the cutting edge of music for the majority of his career. He doesn't care what you think. He doesn't make music solely for you. He makes it because he loves doing it and he's dedicated his life to it.

On to The Slip. It's a short album -- comparable in length to With Teeth. But that's where the similarities end. It's more of a straight up rock record at first listen. And you will hear a lot of Trent's signature lyrical pieces such as "Fading away," "I am here right beside you" and "put the gun in mouth." But that's part of the fun. Classic Trent. Classic NIN. This is fun little album with something for everyone on it. Two awesome instrumentals -- dark and eerie. A great piano/vocal song that could find a home on Still. And some really aggressive kickass rock songs. If you can't get into an album like this, I can't help you.

The Limited Edition DVD is well worth the price of admission. It contains rehearsal versions of five songs from The Slip. And the energy displayed here by Trent (with no crowd) is inspiring. The guy really loves what he does. And one of the things I love most about NIN is when you hear live versions of the songs it's never like listening directly to the CD. He throws in a lot of different touches here and there to his songs that just plain rock. Echoplex, Head Down and Letting You really capture the feel for me here.

If you're a fan of NIN, buy a copy. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time.., July 27, 2008
By 
otmer (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
Reznor has been quite a busy man these past few years. Long gone are the days where fans would have to wait 4 or 5 years for a new album to come out. There is so much NIN news going on right now..it's really great to be a fan.

In 2007, it started with the apocalyptic alternate reality game. Dozens of websites popped up relating to this futuristic mythology of the world. This eventually led to the release Year Zero. A truly great masterpiece composed Reznor. The album featured lyric themes never heard in the NIN world before and sounds that you would never think be considered music. This electronic masterpiece was one of the most creative and noisy albums of 2007.

A few months go by and BAM! Ghosts I-IV was released. "A soundtrack for daydreams" Reznor describes. He's definitely right. This is the most experimental and "out there" NIN has ever gotten. From beautiful piano pieces, to trippy guitars, and video game-esque beats, this album was amazing. It still managed to keep that classic NIN sound we all love.

Just when it couldn't get any better, another album comes along. Best of all, it's for free. THE SLIP.

When I first listened to The Slip, I was honestly disappointed. It felt generic and boring, the songs were badly recorded, and there was so much noise you could hardly tell was Trent was singing. I disregarded it for a few weeks before listening to it again.

As I started listening to it more. I began to realize how great it really was. The Slip is so much different from other NIN albums, yet somehow the it goes back to their roots of The Downward Spiral and The Fragile.

The first thing I noticed is the recording of the album. I found it to be sloppy and muffled at first, but now I think that's one of the things that make the album awesome. All the songs sound a like a garage band recording. This makes the music sound raw and in your face. It sounds like the band is playing right next to you. The most notable use of the recording quality I'm talking about is on "Head Down".

The flow of the album is superb. There's so much variety in the styles of the songs, but Reznor (of course) finds a way to make them all flow together. The album feels like one giant song split up into different parts (like a Pink Floyd song).

The albums starts off with 999,999 (Instrumental). The song starts out slow but slowly progresses, adding more and more layers of sounds and noises. Although it's an instrumental song, it eventually builds up with Trent's muffled and chaotic voice, ending with "How did I slip into this?-".

1,000,000 kicks off with hard beating drums and typical NIN synth riffs. This song is a classic NIN rocker. Very "With-Teethy". It leads straight into..

Letting You. This song starts out with a complex and fast drum beat before being overtaken by some very noisy bass and synth. There's definitely some Year Zero-esque lyrics here. It ends with an intense bang.

Discipline is the next song. Dark disco is the best way to describe it. It's catchy, dance-able, and full of NIN goodness. Be sure to watch to the "music video" ;).

Echoplex. This song is very dark, yet fragile. The chorus is really melodic. The ending of the song has a lot of build up and instrumental goodness.

Head Down is the next song. The best song off the album in my opinion. The song starts of very heavy and angry before going to into the epic and beautiful chorus. The end of the song gets intense and chaotic before calming down to a slow and ambient synth. This leads into..

Lights in the Sky. This is the "piano" song off the album. It really is just Trent and a piano. The lyrics are extremely well written and gives the album a turning point in atmosphere. It flows very well into..

Corono Radiata (Instrumental). This song starts out with 5 minutes of serene ambiance. By the end it quickly turns into a dark and surreal soundscape. A great instrumental.

The Four of Us Our Dying (Instrumental). The dark and surreal ambiance of CR continues with this song, adding more sounds and noises. Pairs really nicely with CR.

Demon Seed. This is a really original NIN song. I really haven't heard anything like it. I can't really describe it well either. You'll just have to listen to it yourself =D. It's a great closing song though.

Overall, The Slip is a really great album. It has a wide variety of songs that go together really well. It will definitely grow on you, so please give it some time. Highly recommended as a first NIN album to listen to. It covers all the areas of NIN, as well as covering some new ones.

Key tracks: 1000000, Echoplex, Head Down, Lights in the Sky, The Four of Us Our Dying, Demon Seed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, get it for free @ nin.com, October 16, 2010
This review is from: The Slip (MP3 Music)
This is a great NIN album. Each song is a masterpiece. But unless you're buying the physical cd, DO NOT pay for it!!! Trent Reznor has made a point of giving his music to his fans for free since leaving Interscope Records. Go to nin.com and download this entire album for FREE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheese with yer whine? Awesome as usual, Trent., July 23, 2008
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
First, I'd like to point out that all you whiners complaining that this is the same as Trent's other stuff are the same people that are the first to whine when your favorite band comes out with new stuff (that you don't like). You're also the same people that get all mad at concerts because they only play a couple of the older hits. STFU already!

This album is absolutely great. What's even more fantastic is what Trent is doing for the music world. Even if you don't like his music, you can't ignore his message.

In a world of pedantic, money-grubbing, music fan hating old farts that are the RIAA, Trent rises above and shows us where the real energy & effort should be spent - on catering to the fans of the music instead of suing them.

Trent doesn't EXPECT anyone to buy his album because he's released something new (again!). He gives (part of) it away as a free download, then creates something amazingly unique. His marketing techniques are pure genius.

I'm just one of many long-time NiN fans that have gone out of my way to purchase everything Trent has produced because of his attitude towards the music industry and RIAA.

We need more artists like Trent. If your favorite band still has the RIAA leash around their necks, DON'T buy the CD - the RIAA makes too much money from them, and the artist doesn't get squat. Go to the concerts, buy the merchandise, and urge them to go independent like Trent.

The only way we can fight the RIAA is to avoid them like a plague. They will eventually wither and die like the rotting old corpses that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a loud album, it sure is quiet...., September 1, 2008
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
(This is a review of the product itself, not the music..)

Great album, not the strongest of Reznor's, but one of his most outright heavy efforts since "Broken" and a welcome follow up to Year Zero. Be warned, however, that the copy I received has a distinct warp on one edge of the vinyl. Although I should have learned my lesson after getting 5 warped copies of "With Teeth" from Amazon earlier this year I still clicked "buy" and took my chances. Due to returning what feels like too many warped LPs I just gave up on returning this one and am instead dealing with the frantic jumping of my sub-woofers from the first track on each side. It certainly doesn't help that this record has such a low volume in comparison to nearly everything else I own so it must be CRANKED to a ridiculous degree to get as wonderfully loud as the CD or digital download versions. I should feel like a sucker for buying a "free" album in the first place... this is the only NIN vinyl I regret purchasing. Music is great, packaging is gorgeous, sound transfer to vinyl is just "alright" (even at 180 Grams), and the product is borderline defective. Question to Amazon: "How are you storing these?!?!" Stick with the FLAC lossless available from nin.com. It's free and sounds superior to this usually mind blowing format. There is quite a bit of surface noise on the disc as well, likely due to having to turn it up so much. A few pops on first spin as well. I have decent equipment, so this is rather annoying.
This may not be news to you, prospoective buyer, but some digital recordings just don't translate well to vinyl. Bjork's "Vespertine" has hissing on the vocal "S" sounds, fuzzy hi-hats and distorted chimes. No good. Another recent Nine Inch Nails release, "Y34rz3r0r3m1x3d" translated wonderfully, having gorgeous range and depth with rich lows and crisp highs.
"The Slip" is more or less in the middle of those two examples in the way of transfer quality. Tolerable but not great.
If you're a hardcore collector then I suppose there is no swaying you. For a casual nin/vinyl enthusiast, I wouldn't recommend this music on this format merely on the grounds it just doesn't pound the same way the other formats do. Hope that helps someone out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Slip, July 23, 2008
By 
Ben Dugan "Ben Dugan" (Flying Monkey Killer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
Three and a half stars.
You know, I'm not going to bore you here with the story of "The Slip", being that I don't assume that Nine Inch Nails has many casual fans anymore, and anyone is interested knows that it is availble for free on the groups website. Rather, let's for go that whole discussion and move directly to the record itself.
Being prolific, apparently, is very good to Trent Reznor. After having to wait five years for 1999's "The Fragile", and six years for its insipid followup, 2005's "With Teeth", I didn't expect a new Nine Inch Nails record, going with their average pace, until 2010. But here we are in 2008, and Reznor has released three strong records in a row, with "Year Zero", the instrumental collection "Ghosts "I-IV", and his newest record, "The Slip".
It is true that there isn't a whole lot new here. The record utilizes the things that Reznor has been doing pretty much every since the beginning: hard rock/ industrial, with some ambient instrumental pieces and "ballads" thrown in for good reason. This record is also a logical progression from his last "with singing!" LP, "Year Zero", as it boasts a (for him) more minimalist production sound and emphasis on big beats.
But you know what? For an artist who has been recording for almost twenty years, Reznor and his defacto project, Nine Inch Nails, can be forgiven for not reinvinting the wheel. The man never sounds bored on "The Slip", rather providing new colors for his already trademark sound.
"The Slip" starts off with a short ambient piece before launching into "1,000,000", a propulsive, driving song that sets the tone for the first half of the record. "Letting You" follows suit, all punchy drums and loud guitars crashing together with more enthusiasm than many of Reznor's peers and followers can put into an entire record. "Discipline" is flat out the funkiest song the man has ever commited to tape, going back to the disco-esque hi-hat work from his biggest hit, "Closer", with a bass line as tight and fluid as anything he has committed to tape (or, computer hard drive, as it were). "Echoplex" isn't as hard hitting as the earlier songs, but is still Nine Inch Nails rock, patented 1992.
On side B of the record, Reznor slips into his more subdued material. The instrumentals that adorn this part of the record are reminscent to what the man did with "Ghosts", and the ballad like "Lights in the Sky" has a tossed off feel that compliments the song perfectly, sounding vaguely like something off of "Still", the bonus disc that came with his live record, "And All That Could Have Been".
Now, I know I used a lot of references there to Nine Inch Nails earlier catalog. Again, "The Slip" is a piece of that catalog, and it's actually kind of comforting to hear Reznor hitting a groove. "The Slip" is also Reznor's most consolidated record since his debut, having just ten tracks and running under fifty minutes long. There is no overarching concept here, just a tight record, something new for Reznor.
Now, the cons. Reznor still remains a fairly terrible lyricist. The man continues to write like a fifteen year old dissed by a girl in high school, all pent up rage at nothing in particular. His words continue to be a drag, and where "Year Zero" at least saw him trying to grow out of it and look at something outside of himself, here, once again, he points the finger right at Reznor, and doesn't come up with anything interesting to say.
Also, the sequencing is flawed. By putting all the rockers at the beginning and the ambient stuff at the end, it hurts any sort of flow that could have been accomplished by mixing it up, spreading it out, the record would have a stronger impact than it does.
"The Slip" is not the great Nine Inch Nails record. But it is a strong album from Reznor and crew, a worthy addition to their canon, and one that is worth adding to your MP3 library.
NOTE ON PHYSICAL EDITION: This edition comes with a 24 page booklet, digipack foldout, a bonus DVD that features the band playing five of the songs live in rehersals, and a nifty sticker pack for everyone's lunchboxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for physical product, not music itself., January 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
All audio on the audio cd can be found for a free (band supported and sponsored) download on Nine Inch Nails' website:
[...]

This product is for the dedicated NIN fanbase. It does not disappoint.
This physical verison of "The Slip" brings back meaning for "Limited Edition." The term has become somewhat of a marketing gimmick as many companies label their products as "limited" and yet they remain in production years later. I was very pleased to find a unique xxx,xxx / 250,000 printed on the back of the of casing.

Inside you'll find the complete slip audio cd, 3 random artwork stickers for tracks off the album, a artwork/lyrics booklet, and a rehearsal DVD featuring 5 tracks; 1,000,000, Letting You, Discipline, Echoplex, and Head Down. The rehearsal DVD is my favorite part of this product as I prefer to listen to Robin Finck play lead guitar on all of these songs live over the album versions (especially Head Down.) I look forward to extracting the audio from the live recordings.

This product is a must own for anyone who openly refers to themselves as a Nine Inch Nails fan.

If you haven't heard the album, I suggest you download it for free (above) before purchasing this and possibly lowering it's product rating with unnecessary ignorance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news all around!, July 22, 2008
By 
E. J. Race (Port Richey, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slip (Audio CD)
Good news, part 1: I agree that this is Reznor's tightest set of rock tunes in ages. Part 2: Check out the rehearsal footage on the bonus DVD. The band is air-tight, tough and exciting as ever. This bodes well for the upcoming tour. Part 3: The most important thing here is what Trent has been accomplishing since he gave his record company the bird. Without the pressures of corporate B.S., he has been more successful and creative than ever. No major label would have touched an uncommercial experiment like "Ghosts I-IV", and this freedom has re-energized him into rocking like a M.F. on this terrific new release. And as the last laugh, these releases are raking in millions! This bodes well not just for NIN, but for all truly talented artists who are tired of working for stuffed suits and seeing fans get ripped off. Like I said, good news all around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trent's New Discipline, July 22, 2008
This review is from: The Slip (MP3 Music)
This review is for the downloadable version of The Slip that has been available for free on the NIN website for several months. Today (07/22/08) the same MP3-only version of the album (with ten songs) was made available here on AMZN, along with the limited-edition physical CD. I know nothing about the bonus DVD that comes with that package. Here I am reviewing the music of The Slip for the benefit of fans wondering about the album. The bonus DVD on the physical release is probably only essential for collectors or those uncomfortable with downloading. But note that the album's music is still available for free on the NIN website (apparently forever), and Trent Reznor is obviously willing to forego royalties in order to cut out the middlemen who distribute physical products.

The digital music era has freed Trent from record company strictures, and he sure is active lately, as The Slip is technically his fourth album-length product in about a year (though the double Ghosts I-IV should be regarded as an experimental side project). I was not too enthralled by Year Zero, finding it forced and unfocused, but The Slip is much more coherent and self-contained, with Trent displaying a sense of "Discipline" that allows him to both look forward and build upon his past strengths. The blistering "Letting You" recalls Trent's classics of barely-contained rage, and the fascinating "Echoplex" recalls some of the moody experimentation of The Fragile. The quiet and haunting "Lights in the Sky" is surely Trent's best piano ballad ever. The two extended atmospheric experiments, "Corona Radiata" and "The Four of Us Are Dying" hearken back to the most terrifying quiet moments of The Downward Spiral while also feeling fresh and forward-looking. The only misstep is the weak whispered vocals on "Demon Seed," though that track is still a powerful close to Trent's most focused album is recent memory.

In fact, this might be the tightest collection of songs in the history of NIN. Trent no longer has the need to create albums as lengthy as record companies want when they want them. Faithful NIN fans should get their hands on this, either physically or virtually. [~doomsdayer520~]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Slip
The Slip by Nine Inch Nails
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.