Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Well made movie
Sad story that ended with the tradgety of a lonely woman in a country trying to make endsw meet for her and her family and had to resort to becoming the servicer on many men in the village for that to happen.
Published 9 months ago by Warren Freeman

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ben-Asher's Debut Vanity Project A Slutty Mess
There's a weak dynamic at play in THE SLUT that gets to the core of its few, basic characters, and it goes something like this: we're people, we're flawed, and we're gonna screw up so don't mess with us. Now, It isn't a powerful message - in fact, one could ask why even bother with such a simple message - and the debut picture from writer/director/actress Hagar Ben-Asher...
Published on October 16, 2012 by E. Lee Zimmerman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ben-Asher's Debut Vanity Project A Slutty Mess, October 16, 2012
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
There's a weak dynamic at play in THE SLUT that gets to the core of its few, basic characters, and it goes something like this: we're people, we're flawed, and we're gonna screw up so don't mess with us. Now, It isn't a powerful message - in fact, one could ask why even bother with such a simple message - and the debut picture from writer/director/actress Hagar Ben-Asher will probably leave most viewers scratching their heads as to how and why the film got made much less released. While so much of the film mirrors the plain and eventless living of its inhabitants, I suspect the audience - with a title like THE SLUT - will go away bewildered by the 90-minute picture.

Tamar (played by Hagar Ben-Asher), mother of two daughters, lives as the neighborhood height of `sexual conquest' in an extremely impoverished rural village. When she meets Shai (Ishai Golan), her world view toward her own sexuality is challenged: can she contain her freedom and desire for intimacy and settle down into a single legitimate adult relationship?

Pardon the pun, but as the only horse in a one-horse town Tamar has gone about creating her own form of sexual commerce that works this way: "fix my broken bicycle, and I'll treat you physically," "pick up my kids from school, and I'll give you a hand job," "bring us dinner, and I'll grant you a roll in the hay," etc. I think you get the idea. Granted, in the greater world at large, that seems like the plot to any respectable mid-70's or early-80's porn flick (back when stories didn't matter so much), but THE SLUT is international fare that's played to some acclaim. It's an idea that merits serious exploration, and, to a small degree, that's at the core of the film's aspirations. It isn't played out for eroticism; rather, it's played as a component of Tamar's simple life.

Necessarily, Shai - a possible suitor - presents a unique challenge for Tamar: leave her slutty life behind in favor of maturing. Therein rest her problem, as, despite her best efforts, she can't leave her bed-hopping ways behind. While THE SLUT tries to emphasize her failure to do so as a desire to maintain an existence full of promiscuity, there simply isn't enough `character' or `history' of the woman for me to authentically believe it's what she wanted because her multiple encounters don't play out as glamorous or erotic or fulfilling in any context. Even in the release's accompanying publicity materials, Ms. Ben-Asher claims, "the sex scenes ... do not aim to reflect upon the narration of cinematic eroticism, but to push the viewer to a physical edge." See, that happens when there is some `cinematic eroticism' - it's precisely the fascination some folks have with film sex and even pornographic flicks. However, when sex is presented as rote, indifferent, and nothing to aspire to (as the handful of scenes are here with the notable exception being her encounters with Shai), then it comes off as rote, indifferent, and nothing to aspire to. The viewer ends up questioning Tamar's character - why do it solely if it's so routine? - and, thus, she becomes illegitimate.

Also, there's so much of THE SLUT that's filled with moments of silence or (worse) meandering. There are long passages of Tamar walking to and from her various encounters, going from one village location to another, where absolutely nothing (and I mean `nothing') happens - no dialogue, no action, nada. Instead of feeling like a visual representation of life in a small town, too much of it feels like `padding' here, that perhaps there was only enough story for a film short and not a feature motion picture, so we'll try to capture more snapshots of what a sad, sad existence Tamar lives. The problem here is that her reality is established soundly early on - it's never in doubt - so continuing this narrative device through-out a 90-minute picture becomes entirely superfluous. Easily (and I do mean easily), THE SLUT could've been trimmed by forty minutes, and that's never a good thing.

As a critic, I aspire not to doubt any filmmaker's message; I may take issue with it, but I try not to question it. Certainly, as directors have earned their stripes, secured funding, and put it all together, they have the right to broadcast ideas that will inevitably entertain and educate us, as well as even present us with fodder for our own private and public conversations. Great films raise questions and maybe even consciousness. While there is a slate of ideas at the heart of THE SLUT, there's just not a lot I'd want to talk about. Part of this could be the length - there are too many long passages without dialogue or activity that simply don't advance any of the primary themes - and I suspect I may've enjoyed this one more as a short. As a feature, however, it just feels too uneven.

THE SLUT is produced by Rohfilm, Transfax Film Production, and World Cinema Fund. DVD distribution is being handled through Strand Releasing. Picture and audio quality on the disc are solid. To its credit, THE SLUT was an Official Selection of Critics' Week at the Cannes Film Festival and the Chicago International Film Festival, as well as winning the "Best Director" at the Jerusalem Film Festival. Furthermore, the film received three nominations from the Israeli Academy Awards. There are no special features.

RECOMMENDED only for viewers of international cinema. Sorry, folks, but there's very little to see of value in THE SLUT. In fact, the only things on display would be Ms. Ben-Asher's confusing and ultimately unsatisfying ideas regarding sex, love, society, and commerce. If these definitions are viewed separately (in a vacuum), then at best there's a clever representation of each attached to character motivations; when they're viewed collectively (as is the nature of films with stories), then they're little more than ingredients stirred into a cauldron of controversy, cooked on high, then set to simmer. They are not a meal in and off themselves because the resulting meal is lacking a cohesive statement.

In the interests of fairness, the good people at Strand Releasing provided me a DVD screener copy of THE SLUT for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well made movie, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
Sad story that ended with the tradgety of a lonely woman in a country trying to make endsw meet for her and her family and had to resort to becoming the servicer on many men in the village for that to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Movie, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
What a pointless very bad and stupid movie The Stut is. The only thing I liked was the actor Eshai Golan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I need to scrub my eyeballs out..., August 30, 2013
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
Great, i need psychotherapy--now. The message is clear, if you're a slut-you and your children will pay. I actually want meaningless sex with all the supply meets demand that goes with it--more than i want love and romance after watching this. And that's from someone who cried when Wilson volleyball and his love are separated at sea!
If you are looking for a drop-kick to your tender bits--watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG CHOICE!, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
Acting Sucked and NO PLOT! The Title should have been enough for me to over look this movie. It Sucked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy now, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
This movie is excellent movie enjoy but you need a strong stomic to watch so be a wear of the movie it is very sexuality not for kids at all do not bring kids only adults you need a good head to focus enjoy no girl friend recommended enjoy if girls watch it remember its only a movie not real life .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the slut, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
The title of this movie just about describes itself.The young lady is a free spirit using the term loosely.If she likes you or needs something,anything she has no problem laying down.In a way she is a very selfish,she cares about only one thing HERSELF.It doesn't matter to her if someone cares for her or not.To me it's a sad way to live because one day you have to wake up and see where you are heading and most of the time it's to late.It is the life of alot of people so you can relate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, December 10, 2012
By 
Ebony Reviewer (FPO, AE United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
Really good movie that could be so much better, I'm sure this movie in the hands of a better director and editor would garner top stars. Its not so much that wanders off the the topic and drags , its just not polished or cut in a way that delivers the movies full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tman, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Slut (DVD)
This movie was not what I expected to see, so the star rating is justified, I felt it needed more
action in it. The movie could push the evenlope a litte bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Slut
The Slut by Hagar Ben Asher (DVD - 2012)
$24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.