Customer Reviews


333 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


343 of 377 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts
In this book, New York Times columnist David Brooks takes on the audacious endeavor of weaving together a unified picture of the human mind through various discoveries from the sciences. Oh ya, and it's all presented in the context of a story about two fictional characters, Harold and Erica.

You can get a good feel for the topics he covers from the chapter...
Published on March 11, 2011 by G. Anderson

versus
830 of 931 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of breadth, but disappointingly little depth
I don't share his politics but I like David Brooks on THE NEWS HOUR for his thoughtfulness and decency, and in his columns for his well-articulated ideas and remarkable way with words. I read a preview of this book in THE NEW YORKER and felt my interest piqued. Parts were quite amusing, and the thesis that we are far more ruled by the unconscious than the rational mind...
Published on February 18, 2011 by Joanna


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

343 of 377 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, March 11, 2011
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
In this book, New York Times columnist David Brooks takes on the audacious endeavor of weaving together a unified picture of the human mind through various discoveries from the sciences. Oh ya, and it's all presented in the context of a story about two fictional characters, Harold and Erica.

You can get a good feel for the topics he covers from the chapter titles:

1 - Decision Making
2 - The Map Meld
3 - Mindsight
4 - Mapmaking
5 - Attachment
6 - Learning
7 - Norms
8 - Self-Control
9 - Culture
10 - Intelligence
11 - Choice Architecture
12 - Freedom and Commitment
13 - Limerence
14 - The Grand Narrative
15 - Metis
16 - The Insurgency
17 - Getting Older
18 - Morality
19 - The Leader
20 - The Soft Side
21 - The Other Education
22 - Meaning

If you think that's a lot of chapters, you're right on target. It's a pretty thick book at 450 pages, but it's easy to move through (not quite novel easy, but much more so than typical nonfiction).

Book's strengths:

- If you are familiar with Brook's social commentary (and like it) you won't be disappointed, but this isn't the real strength of this book.

- In a style that's reminiscent of Malcolm Gladwell, Brooks offers a pop view of experimental psychology that is downright fascinating. The studies he explores are the real meat and merit of this book, and they expose many fallacies in the way we think that we think. Here are a few of the topics:
* The hidden role emotions play in making decisions.
* How mirror neurons in the brain are wired to mimic the person we're talking to.
* The massive role non-cognitive skills (aka, other than IQ) play in success, fulfillment, and achievement.

Book's weaknesses:

- My biggest criticism of this book is that the author created characters to personify the characteristics he wants us to understand. Allow me to explain. This is fine in theory but in practice (for him anyway) it falls flat compared to the entertaining and poignant explanations he writes when he isn't trying to explain through a character.

- As for the story itself, the narrative isn't as flat as your typical non-fiction fiction book (aka management fables and parables of other stripes), but a juicy, page-turning novel it is not. You'll get into the story enough at times that you'll want it to be a page turner, but it's too flat for that.

- I wish the book would show you how to use non-cognitive skills to your advantage. Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a great book for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


830 of 931 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of breadth, but disappointingly little depth, February 18, 2011
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I don't share his politics but I like David Brooks on THE NEWS HOUR for his thoughtfulness and decency, and in his columns for his well-articulated ideas and remarkable way with words. I read a preview of this book in THE NEW YORKER and felt my interest piqued. Parts were quite amusing, and the thesis that we are far more ruled by the unconscious than the rational mind sounded like something I'd like to read. Disappointingly, the book has not lived up to my expectations, though it has some wonderful writing and fascinating ideas here and there.

The major problems for me were that the hypothetical, stereotyped characters grew tiresome and even offensive over time and that not enough that was new or weighty materialized. The book combines the fictional stories of protagonists Harold and Erica with lots of recycled information from various neuro-scientific, psychological, and other studies that scores of popular writers have already mined. The reasoning here seems circular in that Brooks invents this implausible pair to illustrate his idea that noncognitive skills like "character" and "street smarts" lead to happiness and fulfillment, then cherry-picks studies to support his made-up characters and preconceived view.

Tracking Harold and Erica's imaginary life stories ("the happiest story you've ever read"), the book purports to explain what makes for the most successful infancy, schooling, young adulthood, love, career, culture, self control, morality, freedom, commitment, and more. The reach is so broad and the evidence that directly supports it so scant that I never entirely trusted Brooks' conclusions. Further, the use of allegorical characters for hundreds of pages to illustrate his contructs failed to move or engage me in the way an actual novel or real life story might. The tone was often satirical and over the top so it was difficult to take many points seriously. Also, since Brooks starts with a vision he wants to support, he only cites studies that reinforce his view and ignores any conflicting material. Over and over I found him making assertions I had reason to doubt, such as the claim that intelligence has "near zero correlation" with conscientiousness or curiosity, which flies in the face of everything I've read in the professional literature or observed in the classroom over the past thirty years. His constructions also appear at times to be at odds with themselves as when he presents the highly intelligent as both socially awkward nerds and as prime collegiate social movers.

While the book can be quite amusing for relatively short bursts and offers some wonderful language and food for thought, this is not the place to look for deep, reasoned discussion or final understanding of the very important topics addressed. Parts read as delightfully witty vignettes, but Brooks' approach wears thin and his thesis remains diffuse and unconvincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


344 of 407 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to Enjoy This Book, March 8, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I wanted to enjoy this book -- a grand idea to integrate disparate threads of human research by a smart writer I enjoy reading in the New York Times, a book profiled over two pages in Newsweek and featured by the Scientific American Book Club -- but unfortunately I found it ultimately unsatisfying. For someone who hasn't read about modern psychology advances, this may be a good primer. But for most people the wide range and added space of a narrative device results in too shallow a depth to be fulfilling. It's not that Brooks has things wrong or couldn't go deeper if he tried; it's that there is not room.

In the introduction Brooks explains "I'm writing this story, first, because while researchers in a wide variety of fields have shone their flashlights into different parts of the cave of the unconscious, illuminating different corners and openings, much of their work is done in academic silos. I'm going to try and synthesize their findings into one narrative." This is exactly what he does, combining the wide expanses of psychology from neuroscience to social groups and behavioral economics, using a literary device used by Jean-Jacques Rousseau in 1760 for the book "Emile". We follow two fictional characters through their life, seeing how recent scientific findings shape them and their inner life. Some of this fiction is witty and insightful, all of it is well-written, but as fiction it is not enough. It does not work as literature that shows not tells. The science is fascinating, and fully referenced, but the sketches are too fast and pass too quickly. The insights and implications of human connection, friendship and love are illuminating and sometimes exhilarating, but somehow it doesn't quite gel. Many of the studies mentioned are so new they haven't been replicated, plus they are more complex and interconnected than Brooks lets on. There is no resulting new big idea. It can't stand on its own as fiction, and the science studies start to seem self-selected, without enough critical review.

All of which is too bad, as it was a promising concept. But somewhere between the conceptual framework and the smooth prose, there is something missing. I can certainly recommend as a first introduction, but for anyone who has read Freakanomics or Malcolm Gladwell or the many recent books on how humans make decisions, this book is not going to sustain your interest for 350 pages. I hope you find this review useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


182 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly entertaining and informative, March 8, 2011
By 
Nancyhua (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I must be the ideal audience for this book because I found it to be a wonderful mix of great writing, new ideas, and interesting information.

The goals of Brooks' book are "to synthesize [recent scientific] findings into one narrative... to describe how this research influences the way we understand human nature... to draw out the social, political, and moral implications of these findings."

He achieves the goal of aggregating the research admirably. I don't consider myself well read on brain and cognitive sciences but I read several science blogs and had encountered many of the info-bites he introduces, many of which are extremely recent. A random sampling of research results he mentions:
"six-month-old babies can spot the different facial features of different monkeyse, even though, to adults, [the monkeys] all look the same."
"Anthropologists tell us that all cultures distinguish colors. When they do, all cultures begin with words for white and black. If the culture adds a word for a third color, it is always red."

Brookes uses a device of narrating the lives of 2 invented people, Erica and Harold. For example, to illustrate ideas on decision making, he introduces Erica's coworker Raymond whose "knowledge of his own shortcomings was encyclopedic. He knew he had trouble comparing more than two options at a time... so he would build brackets and move from one binary comparison to the next. He knew he liked hearing evidence that confirmed his opinions, so he asked Erica and others to give him the counterevidence first," etc. After describing a situation within the context of the narrative, Brooks jumps in to elaborate with more information. I feared this tactic would be too forced and would thereby fall on its face but he actually pulls it off! He binds up all the ideas in a cohesive story that has surprisingly sympathetic characters and a completely unexpectedly interesting character-driven plot.

Brooks uses his characters' lives and personalities to illustrate his ideas. One theme that arises is that rational thought is far from the dominant component of human reality: "Unaware of what is going on deep down inside, the conscious mind assigns itself the starring role... people are still blind to the way unconscious affections and aversions shape daily life." Underestimating the importance of culture in forming the subconscious and thus human behaviors causes the government to misdirect their energies, focusing on "money and guns" rather than community. Brooks argues for a more paternalistic government that shapes culture: "You can pump money into poor areas, but without cultures that foster self-control, you won't get social mobility... You can establish elections but without responsible citizens, democracy won't flourish... it was not enough to secure a village; they had to hold it so that people could feel safe, they had to build schools, medical facilites, courts, and irrigation ditches; they had to reconvene town councils... the hardest political activity- warfare- depended on the softest social skills- listening, understanding, and building trust."

Brooks' characteristic writing style is funny, engaging, and smart, but sometimes sarcastic and intentionally provokative/offensive. Example: "Like most upper- amd upper-middle-class children, these kids are really good at obscure sports. Centuries ago, members of the educated class discovered that they could no longer compete in football, baseball, and basketball, so they stole lacrosse from the American Indians to give them something to dominate." I'd seen this style of soft science writing before, most recently in a book called Spent: Sex, Evolution, and Consumer Behavior. Brooks manages to keep his punchiness sparse enough that I don't tire of it but if that style doesn't appeal to you, you may want to steer clear.

At times Brooks writes beautifully, surprising me with his poetic phrasing, so for me this book also holds artistic value. In writing about the human mind, he explores happiness and the meaning of life, pulling from sources ranging from Walt Whitman to Poincare. Describing Harold's impending death, he writes, "his wife and his nurses served him with a care, patience, and devotion that surpassed all expectation. Their efforts were more dear to him because he knew that he could never repay them... It was hard at first to simply fall backward into their love."

This book is great for someone who's interested in the human mind and wants an incomplete overview of recent developments in that area. It's also great for people who are interested in a unique perspective on how human nature relates to society and politics. Keep in mind Brooks is not a scientist- he's a journalist interested in culture and he uses various studies to inform his view but does not analyze the science. This book does not offer deep analysis of studies, nor does it come close to being exhaustive in its depiction of all the research done in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't finish it, October 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
I generally appreciate columns in the New York Times by Mr. Brooks. This book, however, was too much. He tries to use a pair of characters to illustrate a series of opinions about the social nature of humanity. I do not disagree with this approach, but the way it is executed in this piece is disjoint and provides little flow. As soon as you get comfortable with a line of reasoning and storytelling, he changes voice or direction that makes you lose all reading momentum. This, put simply, makes the book a chore.

I would characterize the book largely as ADD-ridden. He explores none of the ideas he covers completely, and leaves you feeling like you have been told what to think rather than led down a path of thoughtful discovery.

What makes it worse is the tone with which the book is written. I understand Mr. Brooks is an intelligent man. Indeed, he may be in the top 1% of intelligent people. That does not make it necessary to write a book like he is speaking to a room of 1st graders. His pedagogical methods are simplistic and assume that the reader is a donkey who must have basic tenets of logic explained to him at the expense of the actual philosophies that he proposes. His characters are flimsy and the lessons learned through his linked vignettes are poor, thin, disorganized, and cover such a broad range of topics (personal decisions like cheating on one's spouse all the way to broad political policy questions -- only Dante to my knowledge has ever covered such a broad range of topics effectively, and that required epic poetry). His parable system is simply ineffective in keeping him as an author on a central, narrow message and allows him to embark on whimsical flights of philosophical fancy into areas in which he has no background or authority.

I had high hopes for this book, but Mr. Brooks has disappointed. For only the second time in my life, I quit a book before finishing it (the other was Jurassic Park when I was 13 because the dino scenes were so vivid that I was literally frightened). I am deleting this work from my Kindle and never looking back. I am sorry to have spent $9.99 or whatever on it.

In short: Jesus was good at parables; David Brooks is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me., October 8, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
I appreciate what the author was trying to accomplish, but it fell flat with me. It was incredibly dry and text book-like. I found it to be all over the place explaining all of the different psycho-theories that take place in the span of one's life. A lot of this is pop psychology and I would honestly just prefer to read the articles myself than have them summarized in a pseudo-story. For the first time in life I will not be finishing a book. I read 2/3 of it for my book club and planned to finish it, but I have absolutely no desire to pick it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable neuro science for the educated layperson., May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
The book is written in a style that is easy to read and enjoy, but it opens up the doorway to psychiatric and neuro-scientific findings that are part of the most important wealth of current contributions to an educated person. I am a physician and teach a course in neuro science, so I can look at the book as not really a major contribution to those of us in the profession, but, as noted above, an enjoyable and accurate beginning reading for non-professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book, June 13, 2011
By 
Francokie (Santa Fe, NM USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
I am a fan of David Brooks' NYT columns and News Hour commentary. He is smart, thoughtful, intellectually curious and extraordinarily well-read. But I found his book a mess.

First, the fictional character motif never works. It's very difficult to believably use made-up characters to demonstrate real-world concepts...there's just too much opportunity to create the characters' traits to justify your premise. Then there's Brooks' lack of fiction writing skill; I just never believed either of these characters to be representative of real people. And, we seemed to drop into their lives at widely separated intervals to be told all the non-characteristic turns their lives had taken since we last met them. I found it impossible to believe in either character, much less become emotionally involved in what happened to them.

Second, while a research and intellectual tour de force, the book races over, at a high level, such a vast universe of social and cognitive research that it reads more like a "look at how well-read I am" vanity project than a serious attempt to truly educate the reader about important current scientific thought. A brutal editor was needed to focus the author on the main points he wanted to express.

David, I remain a fan. But I think your book is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Social Animal is a triumph, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
The Social Animal is a triumphant, tour de force treatise on the pervasive power of the unconscious mind in shaping who we are and the choices we make throughout our lives. Brooks keeps his audience engaged with an omniscient, enthographic immersion into the cradle to grave life journeys of two fictional characters whose paths intertwine. With this construct, he deftly weaves an engaging human story filled with a vast array of insights from contemporary studies in neuroscience, psychology, sociology, economics and other fields. The result is a book that helps us better understand ourselves, as well as those around us. The Social Animal ranks among the best books that I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction is Not Brooks' Strong Suit Yet This Book Has Insights, March 13, 2011
This review is from: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
While there is a wealth of research woven into the story of two fictional characters, Erica and Harold, regarding how our subconscious is a greater driver of our behavior that our conscious choices, Brooks writing strong suit is his remarkable essays that appear in the New York Times (which I and a legion of other fans avidly follow) - not fiction. Creating fully-fleshed out characters is a very different art.

While Brooks' knowledge and passion for psychology is evident. His main characters never come alive to me nor does the narrative move the plot forward, rather it seems to be carrying the burden of the omany interesting insights he wants to share. We meet the two main characters when they are young, before they meet each other, and see how their marriage and work lives unfold as we learn their underlying triggers that cause them to make choices- thus we are taken into Brooks' main thesis: we have less control over how we think, feel and act than we believe we do.

Most of what motivates us is ingrained in our sensory memories and becomes habitual over time, Brooks points out in many ways, buttressed by research, yet that is my intuitive notion anyway. It is probably too much to ask of anyone that they offer suggestions about how to make wiser or more self-aware choices in light of that notion.

In other places I've found two tools that have helped me to some extent: awareness practices from Buddhism that enable me to separate my ego (just a tiny bit in my case) to detach somewhat from the situation and see it more clearly and lucid dreaming in which I can set out a situation, more freed from subconscious, and on that "stage" see my own inclinations more clearly to also be less "ruled" by subconscious patterns.

Thus, for me anyway, and unlike Brooks' views as explained in his book, I believe in introspection - including understanding my emotions rather than subduing them - as well as attempting to continuously observing my actions.

My two favorite chapters are The Map Meld, Mindsight, Attachment and Limerence.

Brooks takes his reasoning into public life, from policy-making to community-building and friendships, hoping for better outcomes yet, from my perspective, underestimates the effect of early childhood experiences on capacity to become emotionally intelligent or develop self-control - or not - so some of his conclusions veer towards what might make rational sense, yet not, ironically, behavior sense as we are, in fact "social animals."

Regardless of the failings of this book for me it was still fascinating to see such a wide swath of social science - especially cognitive science - covered by such a thoughtful, conscientious and modest.... thinker.

He ends his Acknowledgements section of the book on this note: "And it is a pleasure to thank my wife, Sarah. As she can attest, I may write about emotion and feelings, but that's not because I'm naturally good at expressing them. It's because I'm naturally bad at it." And that approach to life and writing is one of the many reasons I deeply admire Brooks and will continue to read his columns.

Some books I've found helpful - and that offer insights into ways motivates us to act includeNudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness The Paradox of Choice: Why More Is Less Sway: The Irresistible Pull of Irrational BehaviorInfluence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Collins Business Essentials) Connected: The Surprising Power of Our Social Networks and How They Shape Our Lives -- How Your Friends' Friends' Friends Affect Everything You Feel, Think, and DoHow We DecideThe Art of Choosing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.