Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Acting
Th acting was superb. In reaction to the review by E Hernandez, I wrote a comment. I'll repeat the comment here. The movie was shipped to Russia for viewing first because it portrays poor living conditions in the US, namely, the Queensboro apartments where White lived as a child. The Socialists in this country will take whatever license they can to hurt America's...
Published 23 months ago by Joseph F. Keeney

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ONE CARES
Channing Tatum plays Jonathan "Milk" White, a police officer who recently transferred to Queensboro, NY. It is 2002, the aftermath of 9-11 is going on, and acts as a symbol of Jonathan's life. The movie flashes back to 1986 when Jonathan lived in the Queensboro projects with his grandmother. He was harassed by a thug, who he shot and killed. The body was dumped in the...
Published on December 2, 2011 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ONE CARES, December 2, 2011
Channing Tatum plays Jonathan "Milk" White, a police officer who recently transferred to Queensboro, NY. It is 2002, the aftermath of 9-11 is going on, and acts as a symbol of Jonathan's life. The movie flashes back to 1986 when Jonathan lived in the Queensboro projects with his grandmother. He was harassed by a thug, who he shot and killed. The body was dumped in the garbage, the crime was never solved. A lot of people knew "Milk" did it. The people in the projects hate the cops.

Now in 2002, Jonathan lives with his wife Katie Holmes and a daughter with a medical condition. She is one of those adorable kids that make you want to run out and have a dozen or so. There is a push to clean up the district, making it safe. There is an anonymous person who places articles about TWO unsolved murders from 1986, a reminder to Jonathan. The projects is still an asylum and the cops have better things to do than to dig up a 16 year old case (the movie claims 14 years, but do the math.)

Al Pacino plays Officer Charlie who was investigating the case in 1986. Ray Liotta plays Captain Marion Mathers , Jonathan's boss. Jonathan was the son of a police officer, one that was the partner of Officer Charlie.

As the movie progresses we get more pieces of the puzzle and the harassment becomes more intense. We are drawn into it. We want to know, "Who is the snitch?" "Why are they doing this?" "Who else knows?" The snitch part is fairly easy to figure out.

This isn't Pacino's finest film. This isn't the best cop drama around. The acting was decent, the script had a certain amount of predictability. Katie Holmes was great for the short time she was on the screen. It makes for a decent rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pacino is the best part of this movie. Writing, idea, story and overall movie are very disapointing. I say C-, January 25, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Son of No One (DVD)
"You can hate me all you want, but your a free man." When rookie officer Jonathan White (Tatum) is assigned to the precinct where he grew up letters start showing up that mention two unsolved murders. When the letters remind White of his past he is stuck between trying to uncover who is sending them and covering up his involvement. I am a huge Pacino fan and that is the reason I wanted to watch this. The trailer looked OK but anything with him I will watch. He was great in this. That about it. The movie was very slow and had a 5 minute idea that they kept repeating over and over until you either struggle through or end up finishing just to see the ending. I will admit that the last ten minutes makes it worth watching, but getting to that part is a real struggle. Any scene without Pacino or Liotta lacks emotion and you have a hard time caring for White at all. Tracy Morgan is actually not bad in a dramatic performance but overall this is one of the biggest disappointments of the year. I give it a C-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, February 26, 2012
By 
E. Frost (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Poor use of continual flashbacks. Weak, uninspired or thought-out script for some very good actors. Totally contrived. Good acting wasted. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie of no one, August 25, 2012
This review is from: The Son of No One (DVD)
THE SON OF NO ONE (Dir. Dito Montiel, 2011, 95 minutes) is an intense, chilling mystery that must have been written by one cop-hating individual! A further detail must be indicated: this was first released in Russia. Can someone PLEASE explain to me why I am seeing good American film, shot in America, American production and studio, American actors, opening in weird places like Russia, Bulgaria, the Caucasus Mountains?! Please?

Officer Jonathan White (the ultra-hot and talented Channing Tatum) is a shell-shocked young cop, stuck in a weird precinct in New York where his deceased father once served. The year is 2002, the city is on high alert (for no reason as we now know) and Jonathan's childhood is coming back to haunt him horribly. This is no paranormal garbage - it is all too real, I suspect, for the poor masses huddled in gigantic, drug-plagued projects.

Flashbacks to 1986: in the horrible gigantic projects, young Jonathan dwells with his elderly grandmother. Living in perpetual fear of the scumbags who plague the apartments, drug dealers and child molesters alike, young Jonathan mysteriously gets his hands on a gun. We are not told, but are able to guess, he wants protection. His father already killed in the line of duty, Jonathan has only his friend Vinnie (originally offered to Terence Howard but played by Tracy Morgan).

A filthy, deranged drug pusher breaks into an apartment and Jonathan shoots him in the head, Pure reflex and a child's sad luck, but it is an expert bull's eye. He and Vinnie throw the man into the trash. Later, as Jonathan is fending off another drug dealer who is trying to extort him, Jonathan pushes him down some stairs and kills him also. Out of the gloom comes a mysterious police detective (Al Pacino, in a role originally offered to Robert De Niro) to reassure Jonathan about the whole thing.

Thus the present, with which Officer Jonathan White has to live. He is an a hell-on-earth-precinct, unable to fathom why he has been transferred there. His captain (Ray Liotta) seems to have a love-hate relationship with him, and soon mysterious letters begin to arrive about the two unsolved murders from 1986. Jonathan cannot understand anything, nor is he able to honestly come to grips with his karma.

I will not spoil the story, though ultimately it's a mystery about who is resurrecting the past murders, and why. The audience will solve that mystery fairly quickly, but the nepotism and buddy/buddy system in the force will certainly mystify anyone not intimate with it already.

What I also want to know is this: with such a brilliant, creepy story, why was this so poorly shot and terribly directed? Why is most of the dialogue swallowed, mumbled or else shouted line-over-line? In other words, where is the pride American film should have in itself? I see none of that pride here. No wonder this opened in Russia. Like so many of these films, it cost over $15 million to make and grossed a laughable $28,000. To me, those numbers always mean something.

Since I am an anthropologist even when watching film - in fact I created a new area of study known as cinemanthropology - I must address the color of Channing's eyes. Channing and I share a condition known as central/sectional heterochromia iridum. This means a person has more than one eye color in concentric rings. (When known as complete heterochromia, it means one eye is a solid color and the other eye is a different solid color.)

Channing Tatum has eyes that are half amber in the inner ring and the outer ring is jade green. This is of interest because Tom Hanks among several others shares this condition. Hanks, as seen clearly in The Da Vinci Code, has mostly amber eyes with an outer ring of bright jade green. While Hanks often wears blue contacts for whatever reason, as he does in CODE, Tatum does not usually wear contacts.

Just so you know the kinds of details that excite me.

You cannot afford to miss this flawed work of art. You may not like it, you may even hate it for its hateful attitude toward police. Much if not most of it rings too true for my taste, and I am also sick of these films trying to ride the coattails of post-9-11 events. Even worse when a film, like this one, tries to give you a documentary feel. That can be construed as shameless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top notch perfomaces, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Son of No One [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was an ok thriller. characters interaction seemed to forced to be effective as it could have been. Still there was an adequate emotional punch at the end of the film. Any film with Pacino is worth the fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Acting, October 23, 2012
By 
Joseph F. Keeney (Monroe, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Son of No One (DVD)
Th acting was superb. In reaction to the review by E Hernandez, I wrote a comment. I'll repeat the comment here. The movie was shipped to Russia for viewing first because it portrays poor living conditions in the US, namely, the Queensboro apartments where White lived as a child. The Socialists in this country will take whatever license they can to hurt America's reputation. And, the Marxists connected with the distribution shipped it to Russia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story line good...Movie slow, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a movie with so many big actors and a great story line this movie was sooo slow, no action! Was very dissapointed comsidering the previews made it look so amazing! And I was also dissapointed that Pacino didn't have a bigger part!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SON OF NO ONE, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Son of No One (DVD)
THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE. IT HAD A LOT OF ACTION AND GREAT ACTORS AND A WONDERFUL PLOT. WHICH IS HARD TO FIND NOWADAYS. EXELLENT MOVIE.
ENJOY WATCHING IT.
BARBIE H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mov, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My Husband and I Enjoyed this Movie. ..A must see. Perfect date night movie. It has everything you're looking for in a movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was everything I thought it would be!! I wasn't disappointed in any way. Channing Tatum is a great actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Son of No One [Blu-ray]
The Son of No One [Blu-ray] by Dito Montiel (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.99 $7.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.