Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Song Is You
BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro Safety Month

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 21, 2014
It may have been 20 years since she recorded secular album "I''m On You Side" but from the first note on the opening tune "Love Dance" in the Prelude "Invitation To Love" section from her newest album, "The Song is for You," it seems like it was just yesterday. Jennifer Holliday's voice is just as rich, melodic and controlled as it ever was, if not more so. She pays homage to Dusty Springfield by covering "The Look of Love" and manages to make it her own without distorting the original. She takes her time singing Etta James' "At Last" and you feel every note, every emotion, and every nuance.

The 15 track cd is separated by 4 "preludes" which really helps balance the album's mood and is a nice segue way from one song to the next. Prelude #2 - "Jenny's Serenade of Love" includes the up tempo "This Song Is You" featuring Joe Grandsden and the JG Band, the gut wrenching "Love me By Name" that enables you to feel the pain of this song on every level. "Touch" demonstrates her smooth jazz/R&B ability to sing a song with passion yet control.. My favorite hands down is her cover of "Nobody Does It Better" from the Spy Who Loved Me. She basically tears it up, Hollywood would be remiss if they didn't ask her to record the next Bond song for any future productions.

Prelude#3- "Two Hearts "Real Talk" in Love includes "Are You Leaving Me" a tribute to Miss Aretha Franklin; "The One You Used To Be (Memories) a wonderful dedication to the late Miss Whitney Houston; and the funky "It's Not About You" in loving memory of the late Phyllis Hyman.

Prelude#4 - "The Promise for True-Love concludes with the uplifting and inspirational "Love Is On The Way."

Overall this CD is one of Jennifer Holiday's best, it's like she never left. It has great liner notes about her dedications, musicians and of course her thanks. "The Song Is For You" has a little bit of everything for everyone all in one: jazz/blues/R&B/Pop. Jennifer has never sounded better, no vocal gymnastics here, just pure singing from the gut making you connect with each word, each lyric, and each level of pain and/or joy.
For those who always tried to compare Jennifer Holliday to Jennifer Hudson, let's just say Jennifer Hudson may be America's Idol, but Jennifer Holliday will always be America's Dreamgirl! Check it out for yourself and enjoy!
33 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
I've been waiting so long and she gave me exactly what I wanted! An album of soul, pop and jazz standards with new and fresh orchestration, and stunning vocals that are just as good when she holds back a little as when she belts it. and there is some very good new material as well. It Pays homage to some great vocalists of the twentieth century, while putting her stamp on things listen to At Last, it is perfection. she jumps from style to style with ease. Even if you don't love her as I, even if you have never heard of her you will love this if you love the great standards of American music.
Gospel fans don't despair it's influence is present especially on the beautiful closing song, Love is on the Way.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 28, 2014
Blessed to have enjoyed legendary singing wonder Jennifer Holliday several times In Concert being life-changing experiences that everyone should have the pleasure of experiencing at least once...had to go backstage to give personal accolades after a thrilling mind-blowing & totally extraordinary performance, remember telling fellow Libra Miss Holliday it is a sure thing she has a solid masterpiece collection in her that will blow everyone away, finally with glorious "The Song Is You" collection this one is it, run don't walk and be mesmerized by the ultimate singer in a beautifully arranged collection of a diverse mix of classic songs showcasing definitive readings by the most stunningly gorgeous voice of the century, majestic and completely haunting epic "Love Me By Name" has to be heard & felt then savored and enjoyed to experience amazing scope of a peerless singer at the peak of her prodigious form...each and every incredible passionate performance comes from the depths of her soul showing astonishing range of a world-class iconic performer who has been away far too long, welcome back Jennifer Holliday and thank you for this brilliant musical kaleidoscope being a lasting tour-de-force that is going to have everybody who appreciates "creme dela creme" of music talking, not to mention being oh so musically satisfied!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, please check out comments!
55 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
This is her first secular album in 20 years and for us "non-believers" the wait has paid off. What a Great album. Very soulful and moving. One of those albums that are meant to be played from start to finish. Not just one song to be pulled off the internet. Sit back and relax, preferably with someone you love, and get ready to be taken in by Miss Holliday's sensuous interpretations of an excellent selection of songs. Great liner notes as well, give you a feel for why these particular songs were selected.

I describe myself as being quite jaded when it comes to music. Very seldom do I bother to write a review or find a performer worthy of "5 stars" but I comfortably say that she is worth it. I am so glad Jennifer Holliday has made this album. She has done an excellent job!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
Although it's been aeons since America's #1 Dreamgirl has blessed the public with an official recording, she has sung at the inaugurations of four incumbent Presidents while remaining no stranger on the Gospel circuit. Here, after two decades, the leonine-voiced Holliday, returns to the secular music scene with her long-awaited, much anticipated new album, "The Song Is You."

Set deep within a Classic Soul/Jazz Vocal element, she tears her way tenderly and lovingly through a collection of gorgeously orchestrated songs which very cohesively come together in the form of a romantic musical novella. Fresh treatments are not only given to such beloved classics of yesteryear as "At Last," "Love Dance" and "The Look Of Love," but to other more modern-day classics such as Carly Simon's "Nobody Does It Better," the swingin' title cut and a rousing finale in the D.J. Rogers chestnut, "Love Is On The Way." Peppered with sweet, heartfelt telephone voicemail message interludes throughout, she woos and serenades her man with the best love this side of the Billboard R&B Charts! The voice gets stronger and stronger every year and the mastering is incredible as the vocals are mixed right up top to the point that you would swear she's in the room WITH YOU and that YOU are the object of her affection.

Amazing voice, amazing talent, gifted performer/entertainer and a new album that's certain to attract new fans as well as satisfy legions of longtime fans! The last time an album moved me like this was Minnie Riperton's 1977 (underrated) masterpiece, "Stay In Love: A Romantic Fantasy Set To Music." It's just that beautiful, melodic and love-filled. A valentine to cherish for a lifetime, in fact. I hope you're reading this, Jenny, and I wish you a Gold or Platinum album and a Grammy award next year! I can tell how hard you worked on this album and it shows note for note!
55 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Wow. Wow. Wow. Maybe a bit misguided career of late but someone had a vision that get her on track with this collection. Nothing short of brilliant. A songstress at the top of her game. This album should explode on so many levels. And she deserves it all. Can't stop listening to it. The richness and multi textures of her voice send shivers up and down the spine. Hooray and Wow Wow Wow...............
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
Oh My Goodness, Miss Holliday has touched my heart. I encourage you to make a purchase of this cd not just for yourself but makes a wonderful gift as well. Miss Holliday has come back in a ball of fire that you will not want to put out! Her voice is riveting. When I recently saw her at BBQ's I just fell in love with Miss Holliday all over again. She is so on the top of her game. God Bless her and hey girl, just keep on keep'n on! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
I absolutely love this cd and the selection of songs. Jennifer Holiday is one of my favorite singers and she delivers to the highest level on this cd. Whether she is softly singing a simple melody or belting out a soulful tune , her voice is superb!!! I highly recommend this compilation for your music collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
After twenty years away Jennifer finally releases a long overdue studio album and she's been so missed. Keeping herself busy with session and soundtrack work and controlling her MS Jennifer is in fine fine voice, it's almost like she picked up right where she left off. The production like her voice is perfection and runs the gamut of big band, classic r&b and pop. The lead off single is her cover of Carly Simon's "Nobody Does It Better" which is effective but for my money it's her plaintive reading of Leslie Gore's one night stand lament "Love Me By Name." The strings and Jennifer's pipes, it may not equal Jennifer's signature "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going" and nothing ever will but it does come close to this generation's "I Am Love." Jennifer you are worth the wait but please don't stay away for another twenty years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I've waited a LONG time for Ms. Holliday to release a new CD, and it was worth the wait. This is an amazing collection of songs both classic and new performed in the inimitable style of America's favorite "dreamgirl". Jennifer nails the standards like "At Last" and "The Song Is You" and puts her own stamp on tunes like the Aretha Franklin jewel "Are You Leaving Me?" and the late Phyllis Hyman's "It's Not About You". While all of the tracks are terrific, the best of the bunch (at least in this reviewer's opinion) are the Marvin Hamlisch classic "Nobody Does It Better" (the best rendition I've ever heard, in fact) and "The One You Used To Be"--which really showcases the reason so many us fell in love with Jennifer's sound so many years ago. It begins as gently as a soft summer rain, then gradually builds to a powerful, stunning thunderstorm of emotion!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.