Customer Reviews


632 Reviews
5 star:
 (460)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


269 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sopranos, repackaged in time for the holidays
Last year HBO released the complete series of this ground-breaking show with the very high pricetag we've come to expect from any HBO original series on DVD. According to the press release, a year later, HBO wants to make this collection more available to consumers with new compact packaging and a lower price point. I continue from the press release:

The new...
Published on September 19, 2009 by calvinnme

versus
117 of 144 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great show, disappointing packaging
I purchased this after selling my boxed sets. I wish I had just kept them. The packaging consists of a cardboard box with a cardboard "book" that has cheap cardboard sleeve inserts for the dvds so I had to buy a new case to put the dvds in to prevent scratching (if you own the Sex and the City dvd collection its almost the same concept), the ribbon that lifts the "book"...
Published on November 16, 2008 by Jane Austin


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

269 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sopranos, repackaged in time for the holidays, September 19, 2009
Last year HBO released the complete series of this ground-breaking show with the very high pricetag we've come to expect from any HBO original series on DVD. According to the press release, a year later, HBO wants to make this collection more available to consumers with new compact packaging and a lower price point. I continue from the press release:

The new package is still book style, but of a vastly different sort - it opens up from a split down the center in a gatefold fashion, and discs slide in from the side. Speaking of discs, HBO informs us that all of the DVDs from the previous Complete Series set will be included, with all the bonus material found on them. However, the extra soundtrack CD discs will not be packed in with the revised collection. Still, the new list price is a hundred dollars lower, which certainly good news for any fans who perhaps couldn't afford last year's model.

End of press release. The bottom line on this is we are paying one hundred dollars less to give up 2 music CDs and in exchange get packaging that should not enable so many scratched discs. The extra features include an interview with series creator David Chase conducted by Alec Baldwin and two "Supper With the Sopranos" featurettes that will show cast members sitting down for dinner to discuss their favorite episodes.

As for the series itself, if the Godfather saga was the view of the mafia from the executive suite, this series is a complex tale of the mafia from the working man's point of view. If you've never watched this show, you're in for an extended treat. Yes, there is violence and nudity, but it is never gratuitous and is needed to contrast Tony Soprano, the thinking man's gangster, with the reality of the life he has been born to and, quite frankly, would not ever have left even knowing how so many of his associates have ended up. Tony Soprano can discuss Sun Tzu with his therapist, then beat a man to death with a frying pan in a fit of rage, and while dismembering and disposing of the body with his nephew, take a break, sit down and watch TV while eating peanut butter out of the jar, and give that nephew advice on his upcoming marriage like they had just finished a Sunday afternoon of viewing NFL football. Even Carmella, his wife, when given a chance for a way out, finds that she really prefers life with Tony and the perks that go with it and looking the other way at his indiscretions versus life on her own. If you followed the whole thing, you know how it ends. If you didn't, trust me you've never seen a TV show end like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the whole series in its entirety, July 13, 2008
This 33 disc 10 pound set will contain all 86 original episodes as well as an interview with series creator David Chase conducted by Alec Baldwin and two "Supper With the Sopranos" featurettes that will show cast members sitting down for dinner to discuss their favorite episodes. Other features include:
Sopranos Spoofs
2 CD soundtracks on 3 discs
16 page episode guide
56-page collector's album

As the Godfather saga was the view of the mafia from the executive suite, this series is a complex tale of the mafia from the working man's point of view. If you've never watched this show, you're in for an extended treat. Yes, there is violence and nudity, but it is never gratuitous and is needed to contrast Tony Soprano, the thinking man's gangster, with the reality of the life he has been born to and, quite frankly, would not ever have left even knowing how so many of his associates have ended up. Tony Soprano can discuss Sun Tzu with his therapist, then beat a man to death with a frying pan in a fit of rage, and while dismembering and disposing of the body with his nephew, take a break, sit down and watch TV while eating peanut butter out of the jar, and give that nephew advice on his upcoming marriage like they had just finished a Sunday afternoon of viewing NFL football. Even Carmella, his wife, when given a chance for a way out, finds that she really prefers life with Tony and the perks that go with it and looking the other way at his indiscretions versus life on her own. If you followed the whole thing, you know how it ends. If you didn't, trust me you've never seen a TV show end like this.

I'm looking forward to seeing all 86 episodes together over a short time period versus the very annoying long time periods between seasons that we had after the first three seasons. Remember, it took eight years (1999-2007) for the show to go from season one to season six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Generation's Greatest Contribution to Pop Culture, July 14, 2008
Meet Tony Soprano. He sleeps until noon, has a boyish sense of humor, and enjoys old war movies on The History Channel. He has two high maintenance children, a more high maintenance wife, and he grew up with a controlling mother so manipulative he has to see a psychiatrist to deal with his depression and panic attacks.

And in his spare time, he runs a middling outfit of La Cosa Nostra and controls most of the organized crime in North New Jersey.

This is the set-up for the show that superseded all its predecessors and took its place at the pinnacle of television artistry. Creator David Chase's masterpiece follows Tony is his travels through his three worlds: family, work and therapy. The plot arcs are simultaneously short and long-ranging, as resolution is found in each episode and also builds toward season climaxes and long-reaching series payoffs. The end result is a television show with the grand scope of a novel, but one that doesn't forget to keep viewers interested with weekly rewards.

Probably the only series in history with more Emmy nominations (112) than episodes (86), The Sopranos has been called the greatest show ever to appear on television, the pioneer for all current successful pay cable programs and the most influential piece of pop culture over the last quarter century. In this day where novels have lost their broad appeal and 90 minute films paint on a limited canvas, Tony Soprano is destined to be the most studied and analyzed literary figure over the next few decades.

Such critical focus is not unjustified. As much as the series hinges on the many supporting characters, the show IS Tony. Women love him, men fear him and viewers are captivated by all his complexities. James Gandolfini dazzles in his performance as one of the greatest characters ever seen on stage, television or film, a man without faith in god or country, and a man whose own allegiance to both his literal and figurative families is at best tepid. Often, his inconsistent and unpredictable behavior leaves audiences confused until he lays himself open in his therapist's office, scenes that are sometimes uncomfortable to watch because of the degree of vulnerability Gandolfini allows Tony to reach.

The notoriously naughty drama contains the sex and violence consistent with an examination of the mafia, but also provides its share of tenderness. Although a habitual philanderer, Tony aspires to be a great husband, father, brother, and son, but too often he lacks the strength or skills to care about anyone but himself. His longing for a modest normal life leaks into his dreams and therapy and illuminates a man who hates what he sees in the mirror but can't do anything about it.

With a few hundred words, this review does not do justice to the monumental achievement. An entire piece could be written about the show's black comedy, culinary artistry, or exploration of familial roles. The Sopranos routinely tackled difficult subjects like caring for the elderly, Italian-American defamation, religion, homosexuality, terrorism and the many flaws in the federal government. Wrapped together with a soundtrack that's one part classic rock and one part 1960s Las Vegas, the Sopranos achieved the nearly impossible feat of being both the most entertaining/watchable show from its era and also the one that provided the most insight into the human condition and experience. Yes, seeing the loves, hates, desires and deaths of these characters made for great television and very exciting Sunday nights, but the discussions sparked from these 86 works of art will be continued on message boards and in classrooms long after we are all gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item!, January 11, 2008
By 
SyWitt (Tucson, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the REAL deal! EVERY episode of EVERY season in one package. You need to watch out as lots of people are selling foreign versions in the $100 to $200 price range. If you're paying less then $200 chances are you're buying a bogus foreign version. Trust me! I know because I bought this from ebay and it was a crappy foreign version that I payed $150 for... I returned it and bought one from here and THIS is the real thing. Make sure when you buy this that the person clearly says US or USA version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 144 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great show, disappointing packaging, November 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this after selling my boxed sets. I wish I had just kept them. The packaging consists of a cardboard box with a cardboard "book" that has cheap cardboard sleeve inserts for the dvds so I had to buy a new case to put the dvds in to prevent scratching (if you own the Sex and the City dvd collection its almost the same concept), the ribbon that lifts the "book" out of the box became detached right away and I notice creasing that developed in the cardboard pages which makes me think they will eventually wear out and tear the pages apart. Bonus features were very disappointing, I have the Sex and the City dvd collection and they had better bonus features. There could have been montages, farewell colllections, video clips, award show scenes or something. No interviews with James Gandolfini at all! I just think HBO went cheap considering the status and impact that this show had. Whaddya gonna do about it though right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, June 3, 2012
In each season there is one episode missing - it appears that the episode is there, but when you start watching it you find it is a duplicate episode that you've already seen. Most of the time it is the season finale. Very irritating to spend this much money and not even get all of the episodes.The Sopranos: The Complete Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ...great show, but watch out for Amazon marketplace sellers offering this set for under $150!!, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
BUYER BEWARE...Fastastic show, BUT...it has been my experience that the sellers offering this set for dirt cheap are selling Chinese knockoffs. The Chinese knockoffs are really poor and no doubt illegal. In addition, I did some research and found out that selling these is against Amazon selling rules because they are a replica of a trademarked item. To all fellow buyers, please be careful of sellers who do not have a considerable outstanding history of selling quality DVD's! It seems that the sellers offering this set for $100-150 are the shady ones. Here's how to tell if the set being sold is legitimate. The UPC number for the legitimate U.S. set that is sold in retail stores is 883929022311. If it is anything else, then it is not a legit U.S. release. Then report the seller to Amazon!!! The real U.S. set is fantastic though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soprano's Complete Series Box Set (DVD Format), December 27, 2009
It's a nice set. Had some trouble with an LCD TV with a built-in DVD player reading the disks initially but now fine. My Blu-Ray player sees them no problem. Seasons are broken down with 3 or 4 episodes on each disk. Each DVD is in a cardboard sleeve that has pictures on them from the series, in 2 sets, 1 on the left and 1 on the right. It opens kinda like a children's book from the center, fanning open, 1 set to the left and 1 set to the right... The disks only have the disk number on them and not much more. It can be a bit of a problem pulling out a disk and that is my only reason for not giving it a 5 star rating. I mean, all that pulling to get a disk from a sleeve will only put unnecessary fingerprints in the disks and potentially scratch them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: The Complete Series (DVD)
Very poor quality on the DVD's. They freeze and/or skip at various locations. Tried them on three different DVD players with the same results. I even returned the first set I bought for a replacement set that did the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Set with hours of entertainment, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this box set and the episode book that came with it. My husband is a huge Sopranos fan, and this box set helped keep him entertained as he recovered from surgery. He had seen the majority of the episodes, but really enjoyed going back to the beginning and picking up on some things he had missed. I highly recommend for anyone interested in mob life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sopranos: The Complete Series
The Sopranos: The Complete Series by Various (DVD - 2012)
$279.99 $161.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.