Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It
This is a well written book by many of my favorite contributors to Garden & Gun magazine. I especially love Julia Reed's writing, the section on sweet tea, How to Talk Faulkner & the care & seasoning of cast iron -- Well shucks, I like the whole book! BTW, I'm either going to buy another book or keep the one I bought for my sister's birthday!
Published 8 months ago by Sue Cox

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Southern Life
This is a very nice book, lovely cover on the hardbook version.
I am a transplant to Georgia from California. This book explained some aspects about Southerners that I did not know. The book has six parts; each addresses a different aspect of life in the South. The parts are: 1)Food, 2) Style, 3)Drink, 4) Sporting & Adventure, 5)Home & Garden, and 6) Arts & Culture...
Published 5 months ago by B. J. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
This is a well written book by many of my favorite contributors to Garden & Gun magazine. I especially love Julia Reed's writing, the section on sweet tea, How to Talk Faulkner & the care & seasoning of cast iron -- Well shucks, I like the whole book! BTW, I'm either going to buy another book or keep the one I bought for my sister's birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will help explain why no one ever retires and moves up North!, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Such fun stories to lose ones self in. I enjoyed this book for the light reading it provided. Someone wasn't having a good day or perhaps a good life when they read it..... Pity. I found it fun, frolicky & a bit flirty. Great gift for any Southerner who enjoys out of doors sporting or to entertain or be entertained. The pleasures of life are not to be taken quite too seriously when escaping within the pages of light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be a great Christmas present., October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this book and received it today. I have enjoyed reading it and plan to order a cople copies for Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you Southern?, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
This fellows story about picking a whiskey and ordering a Jameson in a Scots bar is classic. Great humor and keeps a person in tune with many aspects of a proud heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book if you love the magazine, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Really enjoyable book, great gift material at a super good price.

Only two comments that are negative - the size is a little strange (kind of short and squatty) and the back has a large sticker on it, describing what's inside. It seems very 'anti-southern' having such a nicely bound book to have a huge sticker stuck on the back (including the price!). Try and take it off - it'll rip into a thousand pieces and leave a sticky gunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of essays, how-to, humor, and more, October 31, 2013
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Awesome contributors and great writing throughout. We will be buying more copies as Christmas gifts for friends and family. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Light reading but somewhat informative and entertaining. The price is right. I would buy again and recommend it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as a gift!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
My friend, who got it from me, loves this book.
There are fewer recipes than I expected but it's still great. Worth the money.
Very high quality publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
I can't say enough good about this book! I have one for myself and have loved reading every page of it. I have already bought 3 more for family and friends. This will be my "GO-TO" gift from now on!!!! You must read it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice welcome to the South..., January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
We, along with 2 friends, just moved to Charlotte, NC and I ordered 3 of these books as a welcome gift. The cover is nicely done and I love the history with each category as to why things are done the way they are done in the South!
My order was shipped and I received them all within a few days of my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life
The Southerner's Handbook: A Guide to Living the Good Life by Chris Dixon (Hardcover - October 29, 2013)
$27.99 $18.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.