Start reading The Spa Day on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

The Spa Day [Kindle Edition]

Nicola Yeager
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

  • Length: 71 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

"Garrett" by Sawyer Bennett
"Garrett" by Sawyer Bennett
Best-selling author Sawyer Bennett hits the ice with the story of a playboy hockey player. See more books

Book Description

Every woman deserves a good pampering from time to time.

At least, that is what Holly Nightingale thinks.

A hard-working nurse, she decides to give herself a treat and books herself in for three days at Willows, a posh health farm in Surrey.

She's looking forward to day after day of skin treatments, dips in the hot tub, and relaxing sessions with the handsome masseurs.

But not everything is perfect.

Her fiancé Clive is working in Hong Kong.

But why does he spend so much time in the Far East? What is he up to?

As Holly sits by the spa with the pampered, unfaithful wives of the Home Counties, she starts to wonder what kind of married life she is about to embark on.

Will Clive ruin Holly's Spa Day?

'The Spa Day' is a sparkling romantic comedy perfect for fans of Jane Green, Sophie Kinsella...and spa treatments.

'The spa day is an honest, open-minded, quirky, whirlwind read. I can guarantee it will have you giggling.' The Book Geek Wear Pajamas

It was previously published as 'Christmas Without Holly'.

Nicola Yeager was born in Lincoln to Dutch parents and is married with two children. She currently lives in London and Amsterdam. The Spa Day is her first novella.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.


Product Details

  • File Size: 474 KB
  • Print Length: 71 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (January 7, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BR0IE28
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,710,807 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
(3)
3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Ellen K
Format:Kindle Edition
I am not sure if the author made any revisions other than a title change.
In the book blurb on Amazon, it still has the name I read it under. She did not change that when she changed the title, I guess.

Amazon freebie. It is now $2.99. I liked it for free; I would not have liked it for $2.99. But then again I would never pay $2.99 for what is essentially a short story.

It is competently written with some misspellings, typos, wrong word choices. Not egregious, but present.

Our heroine Holly takes herself to a posh spa to prep herself for Christmas with the future in-laws.

In a vague, nonspoilerish fashion Holly (yeah, there are Christmas/Holly jokes) begins to re-evaluate her relationship with her long-distance fiancé. There are characters and circumstances introduced to move the story along.

The spa is a rather unique setting that allows for interactions with strangers and opportunities for reflections on her life situation.

Very quick read. It has humor, some little twists, and a rather unsatisfactory ending.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Texanne
Format:Kindle Edition
A novella about Holly and her gift to herself - 3 days at a spa. It is right before Christmas and she receives many lovely treatments which make her feel pampered and special. During her time there, she has the opportunity to start evaluating her life. Mostly she considers, Clive, her jerk of a fiance and their lack of a relationship. One woman is someone she fears is her future if she continues the long distance love affair with Clive. The thought is appalling. She also meets one of the employees who allows her to see that there are people in the world who love and care for one another.

All in all a pretty good book. It is a quick and an easy read.

When I read the book it was titled "Christmas without Holly."
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit heaven! March 25, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
This is one of the best novellas in the chicklit genre that I've ever read. The situation that the heroine, Holly, finds herself in is a tad unusual (fiancee working in Hong Kong while she patiently waits for him in the UK)but entirely believable. You're rooting for her all the way through the story and the people she encounters, both good and bad, are rather like the ghosts in A Christmas Carol, particularly the awful Rebecca, who is like a manifestation of what Holly could become in the future unless she jumps ship asap! On top of everything else, I really fancied having one of the bamboo massages that are so sensuously described throughout! It left me with a wonderful, warm feeling and I'll be reading it again soon. Great!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author






Nicola Yeager is a writer and book reviewer. After several years working as a journalist for a variety of publications, she started writing novellas. Her first in the chick lit genre, The Spa Day (originally titled Christmas Without Holly), was a critical success and an Amazon best seller. She followed this up with Picture Imperfect, which continued the gritty, witty, first person style of her debut and was also a best seller. Her latest eBook, Summer Loving, 'could not have been completed without the help of industrial quantities of Waitrose Mocha Blend ground coffee and spending lots of time looking at online shopping sites.'

'The Spa Day', 'Picture Imperfect' and 'Summer Loving' are now available as one eBook under the title 'Affairs of the Heart'.

Although born in Lincoln, she has lived in London for almost ten years and lives with her husband and two small children. Her hobbies include swimming and slimming!

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category