Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders tells it like it is. He is the only real representative of the interests of ordinary people in the Senate today. He lays out, not only how the specific proposal at issue (whether to pass President Obama's lopsided compromise with the Republicans wherein the Democratic caucus acquiesced in incredibly foolish, economically destructive, and pro-elitist...
Published on March 8, 2011 by David Studhalter

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The American Economy Has Changed
Senator Bernie Sanders, Independent from Vermont, is gravely concerned with the relentless changes that automation and globalization are doing to the American economy. More and more Americans are being pushed into the proletariat. The U.S.A. will not return to the old ways.
Sanders' speech is good, but repetitive as the reader gets to the middle. He admits that...
Published on October 13, 2011 by Richard Sibley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Bernie Sanders, March 8, 2011
By 
David Studhalter "Ionus" (North Hollywood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bernie Sanders tells it like it is. He is the only real representative of the interests of ordinary people in the Senate today. He lays out, not only how the specific proposal at issue (whether to pass President Obama's lopsided compromise with the Republicans wherein the Democratic caucus acquiesced in incredibly foolish, economically destructive, and pro-elitist extension of tax cuts for the rich and uber-rich demanded by the Republicans, but got precious little in return) was a really, really bad idea, but how for years the Republicans, and far too many fellow traveling Democrats, have sold out the interests of their middle class and working class constituents in favor of the 2 Party Dictatorship of the Rich and Corporations that now rules the United States.

Hooray for Bernie Sanders. If only we had 100 of him in the Senate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Is What It Says It Is, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
Before purchasing this book, the reader should be aware that this book is exactly what it says it is: the well-known--and for some of us the much respected--speech progressive Senator Bernie Sanders delivered on the Senate floor back in December. So if you are not interested in reading what he said, then you certainly don't want to buy this book. However, if you, like me, are a great admirer of Senator Sanders and would like to be more informed about why he is against so much of what is being enacted in Congress, then by all means buy the book.
In the introduction he says that the reader will experience redundancies, purposeful ones, because, after all, it is "the speech." And the senator wanted to keep hitting on cerain points such as the complete unfairness of extending the tax breaks to the filthy rich in this country. And since it is a speech, the syntax is what one should expect of a speaker. Those who have heard him speak--I once lived in Vermont and voted for him every chance I could--can almost hear that Brooklyn accent as we progress through his well articulated points.
By the way, know this, too, if you purchase the book. And I quote from the book: "All authorial proceeds of this book will go to charitable, non-profit organizations in the State of Vermont--mostly relating to the needs of children."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sen. Sanders is a special person, March 11, 2011
By 
Matthew "KMROS" (Beale Air Force Base, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
Sen. Sanders will be remembered in the history books for his warnings about the new Gilded Age we are experiencing. Both parties are responsible for the corporate theft that has taken place since 1980. Hopefully more people will wake up and realize that we must become active and say enough. I am ashamed that President Obama would call a press conference to deflect attention from this speech. Senator Sanders please continue to fight for us, we are praying for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opening..., June 6, 2011
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
Senator Sanders brings up some quite frankly alarming points about class inequality in our country. The sections dealing with foreign trade policy and the bank bailouts were particularly astounding. It's disturbing to think that the correct solutions to some of our problems are so blatantly obvious, yet monied interests have little to no problem getting their way at the expense of the American taxpayer.

The format of the book somewhat reduced its message in my opinion. There's the repetition (which is acknowledged in the foreword and understandable in a speech), but what bothered me the most is the lack of references or citations for various facts and figures the Senator gives. Again, understandable in a speech, but I'm always wary of facts and figures thrown out without any reference. That said, most of the figures the Senator gives are referenced. I would think, however, that references could have been added to the book where needed. I would love to see the same ideas further researched and fleshed out in book format.

It has definitely piqued my interest in reading further on the subjects touched on in the book. Seems like we need more of Senator Sanders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Refreshing, March 13, 2011
By 
LoneWolf (new hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
I agree with the other two reviewers.
The senater speaks with much common sense
and I fear is a dying bread in the senate
and house. We need more like him to
represent the needs of the middle class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus - everyone, for your own sakes, focus., April 17, 2011
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
Everyone needs to read this publication to fully grasp the lack of media attention that has been paid to the ever-increasing income gap between the super-rich and everyone else. If you consider yourself upper-middle class because your income is six figures, but below $250,000.00 a year, wake up. You are being left in the dust.

Facts: according to the GAO, between 1998 & 2005, two out of every three corporations in America paid no Federal income taxes; in 2009, the top 25 hedge fund managers made a combined $25 billion in income, but Congress can't see its way clear to grant $250.00 in COLA checks to senior citizens and disabled veterans; during the Bush presidency, the wealthiest 400 families had their income more than double while their income tax rates dropped by almost half between 1995 and 2007; the US currently has more people in jail than China. During the eight years of the Bush presidency we had private sector job loss in this country. You're in the Tea Party and you think Paul Ryan's budget plan is a good idea? Be careful what you wish for - you just may get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense from Vermont, May 9, 2011
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
I was just recently at a convention of the California State Democratic Party. Senator Bernie Sanders was the keynote speaker. He was the only keynote speaker in a California State Convention in memory to not be a Democrat, Sanders is an Independent. The convention full of Democrats went nuts. I think they were ready to elect Bernie to something important right then and there. A bookstore from Sacramento was selling copies of "The Speech," at the convention. Right after the speech at the convention, we all trooped to the booth and stood in line to buy this book and have Bernie sign them. My wife bought three copies. The line led way down a very long space. I couldn't see the end of the line. We've been reading the book since. If you're at all interested in the people and society and politics of the United States of America, then Sanders' book should be required reading. You don't have to agree with every sentence but you should be familiar with this information and Bernie is the best source of information for Bernie's point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST Read!, May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
This book has met and exceeded my expectations. Sander's speech is straight to the point, informative, and really sheds light into our economic/political system. Anyone interested in learning about what is REALLY going on, NEEDS to read this.

If you've lost your house, your job, your savings, if you are a victim or know a victim of this awful economy, this is a must read for you. This is a "passionate statement informing us that the only people who will save the middle class of this country is the middle class itself, BUT ONLY IF it is INFORMED, ORGANIZED, and PREPARED to take on the enormously powerful special interests dominating Washington."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Speech - Note that there are different printed versions available (and it is also available free on the Internet), September 24, 2012
This review is from: The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class (Paperback)
This book consists of the written text of the famous "filibuster" speech that Senator Bernie Sanders gave in the United States Senate on December 10, 2010.

The speech lasted for eight and one half hours. It came about because Senator Sanders, the well-known Independent Senator from the State of Vermont, was upset by the deal made by President Obama to continue the Bush era tax cuts. So he decided to draw some attention to the situation, and he proceeded to talk for over eight hours.

There are different versions of this book offered on Amazon, and I wanted to point out the slight differences between them, as well as make potential purchasers aware that it is not necessary to purchase either book if you want to get the text of the speech:

- the edition printed by Pacific Publishing Studio, for example, consists only of the official text of the speech as it was given on the Senate floor. The publisher has simply taken the public domain speech and bound and printed it as a paperback book. (There is also at least one other similar edition offered on Amazon but not linked to this page).

- the edition printed by Nation Books is (I think I am safe to say) the "official" edition in that it includes an introduction written by Senator Sanders, and he notes in his introduction that he has taken the opportunity to correct some minor factual errors made in the speech, and also to add transitional words to link sentences that make sense orally but not in the written version. Strictly speaking, this version of the speech is therefore not 100% identical to the speech as given in the Senate. Also, the statement is made that "all authorial proceeds of this book will go to charitable, non-profit organizations in the State of Vermont - mostly relating to the needs of children". The book also includes an index, which I believe is not included in any of the other printed versions.

Since the speech is public domain, it is available at various places on the Internet, including on Senator Sanders own website. Search for "Full Congressional Record Transcript of Sanders Filibuster" and you will get a link to the webpage on his site where you can read, or download for later reading or to print, the full text of the speech (it is 124 pages if you print the version available from Senator Sanders website). There is also a link to the speech on CSPAN if you want to watch it.

I printed my own copy from Senator Sanders website. It comes out fine although if you do decide to print your own copy, I recommend that you add a footer with page numbers (in Word) before printing. Otherwise you get a stack of paper with no page numbers and need to be very careful in not getting them mixed up! There is no index provided, but since it is available on Word then you could save it to your computer and use "search" to look for any particular mentions or references that you might be interested in.

Bottom line - if you want to get a copy of the speech, you do not need to purchase any book to get that. If you want to buy it in a bound paperback form, then you have a couple of choices, with the small differences that I've noted above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Sanders Goes to Washington, July 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
On December 10, 2010, Senator Bernie Sanders (I) of Vermont entered the Senator chamber and began a filibuster. What made this one unique is that it wasn't a meandering talk about cooking recipes or reading from books. It was an impassioned plea, a speech to head off a compromise between President Barack Obama and Republicans. When it was broadcast on CSPAN-2, it was an exceptional day for viewership.

When I think of a speech, I think of an introduction, a body, and a conclusion. I think of someone preparing six hours for every hour of presentation. Since I doubt the senator from Vermont spent two full days preparing what to say, I am in awe of his delivery. The wisdom has always been that it's not what the person says but how he says it. With Mr. Sanders you get both, and you wonder how he managed to organize and deliver his thoughts with cadence and consistency for such a prolonged period of time.

The senator is against the agreement that President Obama made with Republicans in Congress for an exchange of extended unemployment benefits. He fumes that for the past 40 years Republicans and Democrats have always extended unemployment when it exceeded 7.2 percent. For the senator, the extension should have been a given rather than a bargaining chip.

You can almost hear the Vermonter's strangely New York-sounding accent as he rails against Republicans who wouldn't budge one inch to allow the Bush tax cuts to expire, the Republican determination to kill the estate tax, and the failure of even one Republican in the Senate to vote for a one-time check of $250.00 for the elderly and disabled veterans who were subsisting on $15,000 to $16,000 a year. Coupled with the bail-out of banks and Wall Street he sharpens his barbs for these multi-millionaires he asserts have received government welfare to support their greed that brought on our economic collapse.

Mr. Sanders' ability to recall and marshal facts is blistering. He rattles off the state of disrepair in our infrastructure nationwide, who pays the estate tax--only the top third of the wealthiest one percent, the cuts to education that have taken Americans from first in math skills when compared to other industrialized nations in the 60's, to 24th in the past few years. He tells us that 75% of Americans who attempt to enlist are rejected for military service because of low cognitive capability, criminal records, and obesity, how the committee appointed by the president recommended that interest on student loans begin with the first loan rather than after graduation.

All of these details come under the umbrella of his concern for the dissolution of the middle class, the disparity in income between the wealthy, middle class and poor, a neglected infrastructure, and the greed of Wall Street that has gone unpunished.

Read the book and see why Fox "news" shows avoid this "guest" like the plague. You don't go up against someone like the independent senator from Vermont and win.

You don't win against a titan.

Also Recommended:

Third World America: How Our Politicians Are Abandoning the Middle Class and Betraying the American Dream

Pigs at the Trough: How Corporate Greed and Political Corruption Are Undermining America

The Conscience of a Liberal

Free Lunch: How the Wealthiest Americans Enrich Themselves at Government Expense (and StickYou with the Bill)

Perfectly Legal: The Covert Campaign to Rig Our Tax System to Benefit the Super Rich--and Cheat Everybody Else

The Wrecking Crew: How Conservatives Ruined Government, Enriched Themselves, and Beggared the Nation

Deadly Spin: An Insurance Company Insider Speaks Out on How Corporate PR Is Killing Health Care and Deceiving Americans

Griftopia: Bubble Machines, Vampire Squids, and the Long Con That Is Breaking America

The Looting of America: How Wall Street's Game of Fantasy Finance Destroyed Our Jobs, Pensions, and Prosperity--and What We Can Do About It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class
$13.00 $7.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.