Robin non-member

Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$4.37 + $3.99 shipping

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


The Spirits of England and France, Vol 1 - Music of the later Middle Ages for Court and Church /Gothic Voices * P Beznosiuk * Page [Import]

Gothic Voices , Page Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 25, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZUS
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #502,865 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Quant la douce jouvencelle
2. Gloria
3. Belle sans per
4. Ay mi! dame de valour
5. En cest mois de May
6. Laus detur multipharia
7. Credo
8. La uitime estampie real
9. Plaisance, or tost
10. Deduc, Syon, uberrimas
11. La septime estampie real
12. Je ne puis - Par un matin - Le premier jor - Iustus
13. Beata nobis gaudia
14. Virgo plena gratie - Virgo plena gratie
15. La quarte estampie real
16. Crucifigat omnes
17. Flos in monte cernitur
18. In Rama sonat gemitus
19. Presul nostri temporis
20. Ave Maria

Editorial Reviews

This first volume in a series that "explores the riches of French and English music between the 12th and 15th centuries" features excellent examples of tuneful and rhythmically engaging pieces from a vast repertoire of secular and sacred songs. Some selections are in French, others are in Latin; most are for three or four voices, although there are a few solo and two-part songs. Several instrumental "estampies," played on medieval fiddle, add color to the program. Although the music itself is entertaining--especially in these excellent performances by one of the world's preeminent early music ensembles--it's also fun to follow the texts, which, along with their beguiling melodies, often deal quaintly but seriously--and often desperately--with love and courtship. This disc is a perfect introduction to a fascinating musical world that speaks directly to the senses. --David Vernier

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early music with instant appeal. December 12, 2000
The tuneful simplicity of the works on this disc, the first in an outstanding series by Page and his excellent ensemble, is bracing and refreshing. The program is well-balanced for listening to all the way through, with solo and duet pieces nicely mixed in with full ensemble selections. Anyone who is in doubt about the diversity of mood and sound of early music should hear the imagination, personality, and skill Page and the Gothic Voices bring to every track on this disc.
Check out the following discs in the same series, or any of the Hyperion recordings by the Gothic Voices.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category