Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reference book for professional splicers!
The Splicing Handbook is simply one of the best reference works for the working rope splicer and professional rigger. Barbara Merry has provided an excellent book to review rusty skills, to learn a new splice, and as a convenient compendium of splice history to settle any shipyard, boatyard, or construction site argument on how to splice a specific configuration of rope...
Published on June 16, 2002 by Brian A. Glennon

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of "The Splicing Handbook" 2nd Ed by B. Merry
I bought the book because I wanted to splice high-tech yacht rope, especially the 12-strand braids like Amsteel. This review pertains only to splices related to such rope.

The photos are not always of the splice being described (p.84). The illustrations appear to have been cropped to fit the page, which is especially confusing for complex splices (p.88). The...
Published on February 28, 2006 by W. Nicolay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of "The Splicing Handbook" 2nd Ed by B. Merry, February 28, 2006
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
I bought the book because I wanted to splice high-tech yacht rope, especially the 12-strand braids like Amsteel. This review pertains only to splices related to such rope.

The photos are not always of the splice being described (p.84). The illustrations appear to have been cropped to fit the page, which is especially confusing for complex splices (p.88). The hollow braid splice on p.83 results in a weak splice with a bump at a vulnerable location - I believe this is a dangerous splice and that the authors have failed to grasp the workings of the Chinese Finger Puzzle principle mentioned in several places.

Conclusion: don't waste your money. Go to the web sites for Yale, Sampson, and New England Rope to get better illustrations and text for free. Also, study the test results from Layline.com on the importance of tapering the buried eye splice tail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reference book for professional splicers!, June 16, 2002
By 
Brian A. Glennon "BAG" (South Boston, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
The Splicing Handbook is simply one of the best reference works for the working rope splicer and professional rigger. Barbara Merry has provided an excellent book to review rusty skills, to learn a new splice, and as a convenient compendium of splice history to settle any shipyard, boatyard, or construction site argument on how to splice a specific configuration of rope. Ms. Merry is held in high esteem for producing a book on the most difficult technique of rope work - making a proper end termination! Good for her!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to splice all sorts of line., February 5, 1998
By 
Brief, clear descriptions of how to splice all kinds of traditional and modern line -- braided, plaited, the works. If you're interested in splicing, this is an inexpensive way to cover a lot of ground. Good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, January 8, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
This is a good and inexpensive book. You'll find a lot of information about splicing, perhaps more than you will ever need.
The problem with a book is that you have to understand how the strands -- and which strands -- lie up next to each other. It's not that easy to figure out the first time around. I learned how by watching my Dad. That gave me an idea how splices are made.
Consider Amazon's software on splicing; ISBN 0970971419 if you just want to learn common splices. It's a software program for beginners to do the basic splices in front of a computer. It's more expensive, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Splicing lite, September 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
DON'T BUY THIS BOOK! The text is confusing and the drawings unclear. When I sent the author an email for help she suggested I look at a different handbook - so I did - and you should as well. Instead of wasting $$$ just go on the web - all major rope manufacturers have clear concise splicing instructions on their websites - for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered as described., September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
Always leery of 'used' products, however Amazon seems to represent vendors that are truthful in their assessment. I am satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition, May 10, 2010
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
This book contains expert information that is quite easy to understand for a beginner. It also has numerous illustrations, which are clear and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
fast shipment great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great how to!, June 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
I thought this book was a good read for anyone interestied in learning the different types of splices used in marine applications. Some of the procedures were a bit difficult to undersatnd but if one sticks with it they work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Damn Book in the World(about ropes anyway), July 17, 2002
This review is from: The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition (Paperback)
Barbra Merry is a good friend of mine. Shes the one who got me started on ropes and knots and splicing etc... Anyway I have had a chance to skim through her book and read parts and excerpts from her book and it is really good. I've only known Barbra a few months but shes a really nice lady and if you ever have the chance to meet her make sure you make friends because shes the nicest lady you'll ever meet in your life. And if you ever have the chance to tie knots or learn how to splice or learn new knots I urge you to learn it because it is a great hobby and loads of fun. Thats my review about her book but its probably a review about the author.
Chris Anderson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Splicing Handbook: Techniques for Modern and Traditional Ropes, Second Edition
Used & New from: $1.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.