Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2009
I subscribed to the Kindle edition of the Spokane Washington edition of The Spokesman Review local newspaper. I am very pleased with it!

One of the other reviewers hated it because it contained mostly local news. Well...that's precisely the reason why I *love* it! If I want national/world news I can subscribe to the NY Times or Washington Post or watch the national news on CNN. This kindle edition is the only way I can find out about local news when out-of-town!
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
Great coverage of local news, events, sports, busines, and politics plus national and world news coverage from wire syndicates such as Associated Press. Also includes photos and tables from several articles.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2009
Love it. Great mix of local and national. All the local headlines with the major national ones so you don't feel in the dark. Gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because even though it does include photos, I wish there were at least a few more per issue.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2009
I enjoy this newspaper mostly for keeping up with WSU sports since I live out of state. I think the newspaper does a good job overall. Only one complaint or wish, while hitting the view selections list within an article in a particular section it takes you all the way back to the front page selections instead of back to the list of articles within a section. So if you are in the Business section reading an article and you want to view all the other articles in the business section you have to select "view sections list" which takes you all the way back to the front page sections list, than once again scroll down to "view articles" in the business section.
I live in MT and enjoy the NW news articles. Go Cougs!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I live in the boondocks and this time of year, our rural gravel road is often impassable for the paper delivery person. I also get up very early. I hoped the Kindle edition would allow me to read the "paper" (can I still call it a paper?) every morning, by 3:30 am, and without having to trudge 200 feet down the drive through the ice and snow to the paper box.

I discovered the Kindle edition is not delivered until about 4:30 am. There are no comics or weather in the Kindle edition. Photos are few and far in between, so far, but I've only received it for 3 days, so maybe I need a better sample size. I will probably cancel before my 14-day trial is up and try the Lewiston Tribune.

It does include Jim Kershner's Saturday feature article, a highlight of the Spokesman Review for me and a plus for the Kindle edition.

Review addendum, Dec 8, 2010. Well, now that I've had the subscription for a couple of weeks, I've softened my rating a bit, from a 2 to a 3. My prior gripes (the late delivery and the lack of comics) still stand, but there are several things I really like about the Kindle subscription.

First big like: No ads! That's really nice. I love having nothing but the story contents.

Second: Unlike a print newspaper, there is none of the old "article continued on page xxx". You get to read the whole thing without pawing through a bunch of newsprint pages to find the last couple of paragraphs.

As for the delivery time, I am truly baffled as to why the Kindle edition isn't ready a few computer-processing nanoseconds after the print edition is finalized. The print edition is in digital format. Doesn't it just take a little software to put the articles in Kindle format? How can it take the same amount of time for the Kindle edition to be created as it does to print the newspaper, drive the papers to Pullman, distribute them to the carriers, and have the carrier drive to my place and deliver it? It makes no sense.

I'm glad the Kindle edition doesn't automatically deliver the classified ads and the other space hogs, but it seems that classifieds, stock prices, etc. could be downloadable on demand.

The article index is okay, cumbersome to navigate, but adequate.

I still get the print subscription, although mainly for my husband's benefit, but I also like having the comics. I will keep the Kindle edition for now and hope for some improvements.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
There is a great old story about the West. Guy looks for a poker game in a cowboy town. Fella says to him: "Well, the one over there is fixed, but it's the only poker game in town". Not that the Spokesman is fixed, it just is the remnants for print journalism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
Amazon doesn't tell you this isn't the same as the print edition. For example it doesn't include obituaries or the daily sports schedule on TV. That may seem minor but it's a matter of them choosing what will be in the Kindle edition. You are not getting all the news. It took me a year to realize this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
I read this daily. It is an excellent way to get the local news from Spokane and the surrounding areas. Please add the weather and fix the occasional article glitches. i have also noticed the paper has not been delivered to the device on occasion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2010
I canceled my subscription after only one week. Every day it seemed to have around 30 sports articles but only 5 or so local articles. This would be great if that is why I read the paper.
I refuse to turn my television to NBC so I miss out on the local news. This is not the place to get local reports. This paper is also missing sections. I would like to read letters to the editor, obituaries, local crime reports, and newly released sexual predators. I emailed the Spokesman about this but got no response. I still buy a paper here and there but the problem is not yet being addressed even after several months.
Buy this paper if you are a sports fanatic but save your money if you are anyone else.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
I've downloaded several daily versions of the Spokesman onto my Kindle Fire when I have been out of town. I would say it's "OK". The basic content of all news articles is there to read. There are no pictures. Certain things don't come through - like sports schedules or tv schedules. No comics either. And there is no access to localized portions of the newswpaper (like the "Valley Voice" section) - this is understandable since different parts of the City receive different versions. Regardless of the shortcomings, I am glad that the paper is available for download at a reasonable price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.99
$9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.