Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive standard, revised for C++11
The original text was a definitive standard in its own right, providing an elegant and useful reference for the C++ standard library along with helpful introductory and tutorial material. This revised edition improves on the original, adding material for all of the new features introduced in the newly-ratified and published C++11 language standard in both the tutorial and...
Published on April 26, 2012 by willfe

versus
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars E-Book version suffers from poor code/table formatting
The print version of this book would receive the full 5-stars from me, but the e-book version delivered to my Kindle had poorly formatted code and the tables were practically unreadable.

The issue with the code is that the font used was not consistently mono-spaced and there were plethora of syntactically incorrect line-breaks. I had to lower my font size to...
Published 19 months ago by T. Delozier


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars E-Book version suffers from poor code/table formatting, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The print version of this book would receive the full 5-stars from me, but the e-book version delivered to my Kindle had poorly formatted code and the tables were practically unreadable.

The issue with the code is that the font used was not consistently mono-spaced and there were plethora of syntactically incorrect line-breaks. I had to lower my font size to the lowest possible setting and orient the layout horizontally to make the code less chore-some. The code images themselves were so small (although properly formatted A-style code) that I had to strain my eyes. There was no happy medium here: either deal with impractical formatting or ruin your eyesight on the code images. The tables and inline graphics were abysmally small graphics, much like the code pictures.

If I had to purchase this book again I would definitely have shelled out the extra money for the print version. I am satisfied with the content but not the formatting of the e-book version, and will be looking forward to an update to the e-book version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the first edition, but beware typos, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
In a field where there are few accessible resources, Josuttis' book is a well-constructed volume. Although this second edition has lost some of the personal flair of the first, and he transparently borrows material from others making it less coherent, the book continues to be a must-have. The index is excellent. For this, I would give the book four stars.

Nevertheless, Addison-Wesley needs to issue a new, corrected printing. The list of errata is extensive (see the book's website), and some of the errors make the book's text confusing, misleading, or outright incorrect. I received a printing after the first, and the errors remain. Seems that AW was pushing for a release before the text was quite ready. This costs the book a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive standard, revised for C++11, April 26, 2012
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
The original text was a definitive standard in its own right, providing an elegant and useful reference for the C++ standard library along with helpful introductory and tutorial material. This revised edition improves on the original, adding material for all of the new features introduced in the newly-ratified and published C++11 language standard in both the tutorial and reference sections of the book. The new features are given their own separate coverage in the brief but informative third chapter, but are incorporated into the reference as well.

As to be expected, the typesetting and layout of the book is fantastic, the content is well organized and easy to find. The index, weighing in at nearly 75 pages just by itself, is comprehensive. A bibliography provides dozens of additional references for the thirsty-minded programmer who can't get enough of the C++ language.

I rarely buy hardcover books because of their price, but this book is most certainly a worthy exception to that rule. It will serve any C++ developer well and deserves to be on every programmer's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Installment, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I bought this book because the first edition set the standard. Just like the first edition it is a valuable reference and contains hundreds of pages of new content. I feel that the extra/supplemental (downloaded) pdf chapters really belong in the book. There are also a few typos so be sure to read the errata. Otherwise it is a fine installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third printing corrects errata, November 27, 2013
By 
Dick F (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I received a copy, which is the third printing. It appears that this printing corrects the errata found in the first two printings. The book's web site lists only four minor errata for this printing. Be sure to get this printing if you are getting a new book.

The web site also contains a pdf file for three additional chapters that were not included in the book. There are three chapters: Bitsets, Valarrays, & Allocators and Memory Functions in Detail .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, but not really a tutorial, and I'm keeping the old edition., July 11, 2013
By 
Derek Hofmann (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is more a reference than a tutorial. Years ago I bought this book to learn templates and the STL, but the book wasn't very useful to me because I didn't already understand how to use them. Now it's one of my two most essential programming books, the other being Stroustrup's The C++ Programming Language, also in a new edition.

I'm keeping the old edition of this book because it describes the "bitset", while the newer version of this book leaves that to an electronic supplement. The proper course of action would have been to print the book on thinner paper so that the extra content could have been included, or separate the book into two volumes, but I guess cost savings was more important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, October 26, 2012
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
If you need a clear, well written, complete and thorough book about C++11 and STL this is the RIGHT choice.
This amazing book covers most c++11 new topics:
Concurrency
Fractional arithmetic
Clocks and Timers
Random numbers and distributions
New smart pointers
Regular expressions
New STL containers, such as arrays, forward lists, and unordered containers
New STL algorithms
Tuples
Type traits and type utilities

Can be used as a reference but my advice is read it from cover to back at least once.
One of the few book you can't be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justifiably Josuttis, June 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This text is a remake of the author's book on the C++ Standard Template Library (STL). I personally believe that this book is critical for any C or C++ programmer to get good information regarding the changes to C & C++ in the new Version 11 of the standard. Not only has the STL been updated, but the language proper has had many changes/additions. I think that the book is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for any C++ developer, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
Pros
- Nice (but not too long) introduction of the new standard on the first pages of the book.
- Lots of subjects: Pairs and Tuples, Smart Pointers, Type Traits, Clocks (chrono), STL Containers, New STL Containers, Iterators, Lambdas in STL, Algorithms, Strings, RegExp, IO Operations, Internationalization, Numerics, Concurrency (async, thread, mutex...).
- Straightforward introduction to the particular feature in the beginning of a chapter and advanced, in depth view, at the end.
- I was afraid that this book would contain only tables with STL classes/methods. But it is not.
- Over 1000 pages! So it is quite hard to read it quick. In such books this is an advantage and means that the author did a great job.

Cons
- eBook version might have some problems with formatting.
- Quite heavy... :) but you can always buy eBook version (if you accept the formatting... :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming back to C++ after 10 years, February 25, 2013
By 
Alexei S. (California, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first ever review of anything on the web. It was so much fun (or should I say "fun") reading this book that I could not resist.

Overall, it is a good book, very informative. The only problem I have with Kindle edition is that it has too many cross-referenced links. On many occasions I accidentally clicked such links when I simply tried to turn a page.

Regarding the subject of the book - STL. At some point I started taking notes from the book (direct quotes):

- A very useful thing that you can do with string iterators is to make all characters of a string lowercase or uppercase via a single statement.

- Note that restoring the original exception flags may cause exceptions: exceptions() throws an exception if a corresponding flag is set in the stream already.

- It is also possible to work with streams not throwing an exception. In this case, an exception is thrown if an error is detected.

- Violating this rule can lead to all kinds of strange effects <- you will find a lot of these throughout the book.

- In addition, file streams now have move and swap semantics providing a move constructor, a move assignment operator, and swap(). So you can pass a file stream as argument or return a file stream from a function. For example, if a file should be used longer than the scope in which it was created, you can return it as follows since C + + 11.

- To implement a stream buffer that buffers, the write buffer has to be initialized using the function setp().

- Since C + + 98, the C + + standard library has provided the class valarray for the processing of arrays of numeric values. ...
The valarray classes were not designed very well. In fact, nobody tried to determine whether the final specification worked. ... As a consequence, valarrays are rarely used.

While technically there is nothing wrong with the above quotes, I suggest C++ programmers to step back a bit and realize how bad they reflect on the state of the language in 2013. Keep in mind that the book has more that 1100 pages. This is not due to large number of features in the library, but because these features have so many caveats and hidden side effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition)
The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference (2nd Edition) by Nicolai M. Josuttis (Hardcover - April 9, 2012)
$74.99 $54.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.