Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun! 4 and 9/10 stars!, July 31, 2003
This review is from: The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Heroine: curvaceous
Pampered playboy Prince Ché Vedla of the planet Eiryea is caught in the middle of conflicting royal intrigues. His family is in danger of losing face in the Federation because his betrothed has thrown him over for another man, whom Ché's brother Klark is under house arrest for trying to murder. Ché's advisors decide the best way around the situation would be for him to marry before his former fiancée does. But Ché, though willing to do what duty and honor requires of him, doesn't want to stick around through the process of finding himself the correct bride. So he hightails it to Earth--and meets with none other than the sister of the man who stole his fiancée!
To the world at large, independent filmmaker Ilana Hamilton looks like a strong woman. But deep down she is afraid. Afraid of flying. Afraid of commitment. Afraid of having her heart broken. But one thing she is not afraid of is Prince Ché Vedla. He's simply the arrogant, annoying, uninvited houseguest (and soon-to-be-brother-in-law) who turned up on her doorstep unannounced in the dead of night. Clearly, it's not her fault she doused a Prince of the galaxy with pepper spray!
But sparks are soon flying between the two and before long it looks like things will be getting spicier than the contents of the canister Ilana erroneously emptied on Ché.
If only he wasn't bound by eleven thousand years of tradition to marry a Vash Nadah woman who is his equal!
What worked for me:
Ilana and the ultra-Alpha male Ché were great characters and the culture clash that resulted from their interactions was very amusing at times.
I loved the fact that the Conan-type bodyguard in the story (named Muffin of all things!) really dug thick chicks.
And hopefully Ms. Grant's vision of the future comes true in at least one respect: all the cars on the CA freeways in her story are electric.
Size-wise Ilana was barely described and would have been considered an "everywoman" character but for the briefest of references to her strong, shapely figure.
What didn't work for me:
Dropping into the middle of this series wasn't a problem for me as I felt I got a fairly good background on what was happening in this universe. But those who have already read "The Star Prince" and "The Star King" may possibly find themselves scanning past the background passages so they can find out what's new in the Star world.
Overall:
I'd recommend this sexy, enjoyable story to fans of futuristic romances, but it's not for sci-fi addicts looking for a book with hard science between its pages.
Warning: The Prince has a brief steamy dalliance with one of his courtesans in the beginning of the story, and there are some other spicy passages later on in the book as well.
If you liked "The Star Princess" you might also enjoy "Ascendant Sun", "StarKissed", "Star-Crossed Lovers", "Oracle", the "Darkover" series, "Channeling Cleopatra", "Cosm", "HomeGoing", "A Civil Campaign", "Memory", "Mirror Dance", or "Time Pressure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very good book. The characters are believable. There is drama, adventure, love, sex and a really good story line. Would like to see a continuation of this series. Really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love is not a fall straight down, October 10, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (the southern United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
what a great story, it built and built, you knew what was gonna happen but you weren't sure how and you were glued to the pages until it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the romance between an earthling and an arrogant alien., September 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Susan Grant writes a fun story. I have this book both on paperback when it first came out and now bought the e-book for my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Series!, October 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was EXCELLENT! While I enjoyed The Star King and The Star Prince, with each book getting better and better, this one was the best by far. The chemistry between Ché and Illana was hot right from the start, you knew they would get together, and the fun was in watching how hard they both struggled against fate and the Vash Nadah. The outcome with Klark, Ché's brother, was a surprise, but very fitting. I know this is probably the last book in the series, but I hate to see it end. I will definitely be searching out more titles by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of the series, August 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed all three of these books but this one is my favorite. Both the H/H seem like real people. She's not the typical virgin / almost-virgin so often seen in romance novels, and I love that she's afraid of flying. So great to see a strong confident woman with a weakness or two. It was interesting seeing the different ways the twins dealt with their father's failings. But what I liked best was the inclusion of everyday activities in this larger-than-life story - one of my favorite scenes in the book was Che sitting on the sofa drinking beer watching a soccer game. I'm sure he's grateful to the author for letting him enjoy some of life's simple 'guy' pleasures in between his heroics. And of course a great story that moves along well. Great secondary characters. The villain didn't quite work for me - I thought he was a little weak and not a worthy opponent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, March 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked the princess and how her story was told. A nice romantic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous ending to the "Star" Trilogy, August 7, 2006
This review is from: The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Jilted Prince Che Vedla decides to go incognito on Earth and meets Ian Hamilton's Twin sister Ilana. Che and Ilana are powerfully attracted from the start, but Che has to convince Ilana that of his sincerity because of political reasons. Ilana is a B'Kah Princess and Che's bethrothed was stolen by B'Kah Prince Ian, her twin. Che and Ilana eventually work it out with the help of family and friends and have their happy ending. This book was not as dramatic or strong as the others in the trilogy, but it was so much fun and wraps up the story of the B'Kah family just nicely. Che has a reformed brother in this book and I wonder if Susan Grant will revisit this universe again with more info and stories on the Vedlas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strong science fiction romance, August 5, 2003
This review is from: The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Vash Nadah Prince Che Vedla seems adjusted to the fact that his former betrothed Princess Tee'ah broke her vows to him and pledged to wed earthling Ian Hamilton. Che's adaptation is quite remarkable because he lost more than a bride; he lost his place as heir to the crown to the newcomer. Che's advisors believe he must restore pride in the monarchy by marrying a suitable princess though much of the recent scandal was caused by others including his house arrested brother Klark for trying to assassinate Ian.
Knowing he has six months left as a bachelor, Che decides to use it wisely by chasing skirts on earth. He visits Ian's film making sister Ilana, but finds he is very attracted to her and she fells the same although she is in denial. However, with scandals rocking the royals and some people feeling their time has passed, can Che risk causing another mess by wooing the woman he loves, the totally unsuitable Ilana; who detests the concept of being in front of the camera as a royal always is.
THE STAR PRINCESS is a strong science fiction romance that focuses on the complex conflict between the obligation to one's country vs. duty to one's self and loved ones. The star-crossed lead couple with a strong support cast makes Susan Grant's galaxy seem real and the dilemma that Che faces plausible. Though the previous two tales (THE STAR KING and THE STAR PRINCE) were powerful entries, THE STAR PRINCESS is the best of the series due to the hero's attitude and quandary.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3)
The Star Princess (Star Series, Book 3) by Susan Grant (Mass Market Paperback - April 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.