Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this adventure story., June 23, 2014
This review is from: The Star Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this adventure story. Enoch has heard the prophesy of the birth of Christ and longs to sail back to Jerusalem to see the Messiah. It’s been nearly 5 years since Samuel the Lamanite made the prophecy so he knows the birth of Christ is drawing close. Along with a few companions he sets out on an impossible journey across the sea back to Jerusalem.

This was a fun book to read. Likable characters and a well written tale that left me believing this really could have happened. Although not a “Christmas” story this is a book I will likely reread around Christmas since it is set at the time of the Savior’s birth. Full of details on what life was like at the time of Christ’s birth this book brought special meaning to the Christmas story.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Content: Clean

Source: From publisher for Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Origins of the Magi, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Star Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
Different twist to the Bible story of the Wise men who journeyed to visit the new born Jesus. Perfectly believable and delightful reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Star Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
It's a great story about the search for our Savior when He was born, and the challenges that come during the search. Great Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great historical-like speculative fiction--jsut in time for Christmas, October 31, 2011
This review is from: The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure (Paperback)
A fun adventure/fantasy/historical, The Star Prophesy is about a group of young native Americans called Nephites who grew up hearing the the prophesy of Jesus Christ who would come to the world and save mankind. These young men embark on a grand adventure to the Holy Land, much like the Wise Men must have done, only this group went by sea, to meet the prophesied Savior of the World. Timely for Christmas, this is a must-read to put you in the Christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Star Prophecy by Joan Sowards, September 20, 2011
This review is from: The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Joan Soward's "The Star Prophesy" and found it to be entertaining. Anytime a book takes me some place I've never been before, it's a thrill for me! Who would've even thought about the possibility of a small group traveling across the ocean during the time of the birth of the Savior? Joan's novel helped me to imagine what that could have been like, and more importantly, what it must have been like for any fortunate and blessed individual to witness the Savior during his mortal life. Great job, Joan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Young man across the world desires nothing more than to see the Messiah's face., February 27, 2011
This review is from: The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure (Paperback)
This speculative historical fiction novel is full of action, adventure and romance, making it an exciting inspirational page turner.The Star Prophecy is an entertaining as well as educational read. This book is the author's third Novel in two years. I am always pleased with her narratives and highly recommend her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It could have happened just like this., December 17, 2010
This review is from: The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure (Paperback)
The Star Prophecy is a tale of faith, love, and adventure that can be read, reread and enjoyed any time of the year. Joan Sowards tells the account of the young Nephite Enoch and his quest to find the newborn Savior as though intimately familiar with the era. She weaves her tale through both the Book of Mormon and the New Testament's scriptural accounts of Christ's birth in such a way that, as a reader, I was convinced it could have happened just as she told it. Five Stars for a great read!
The Nephites have grown up with the prophecies regarding the Savior's birth, and Enoch has always dreamed of returning to Jerusalem to see the baby Jesus in person. Although the odds against his actually making the trek there and back alive are overwhelming, he begins his preparations.
Once he and his comrades set sail, Enoch's little brother nearly drowns while trying to swim to the ship so that he can go with them. Then, they discover a young man accused of murder has stowed away in order to avoid prosecution.
The Star Prophecy comes to life with interesting details such as customs of the time, the foods they ate, and their experiences aboard the ship. As the travelers come to various islands and then to the land of Jerusalem, they and the people are described in such a way that I felt as though I was standing nearby and watching the story unfold. Enoch's quest became my quest and I felt his disappointment when they arrived in Jerusalem only to discover that no one knew of Christ's birth.
Through perseverance and talking to those who are lowly of heart, they discover that the Savior has indeed been born, and is in Bethlehem. They wonder, as does their shepherd-guide, why baby Jesus was allowed to be born in such humble circumstances and not a kingly palace, and they are filled with awe and reverence when Mary allows them to hold her Holy child.
The Star Prophecy by Joan Sowards is written as an adventure by a young man who just happens to have lived anciently. It isn't preachy, or doctrinal, yet I found that reading it was a profound experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So different than anything else!, November 19, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure (Paperback)
This amazing story about some young men who decide to travel back to Jerusalem. Its well written, interesting, and will make you consider what you've read. Could it have been? Is it possible? This novel is great for both men and women to enjoy. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure
The Star Prophecy: A Book of Mormon Adventure by Joan Sowards (Paperback - November 1, 2010)
$16.95 $15.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.