Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Seasons of the Show For Certain
I know I am in the minority here but this one is definitely one of my favorites. As I said before I enjoy all the seasons of Dallas, especially the later ones. This season, known to me as 11, is the last one for Linda Gray. Steve Kanaly has 5 episodes in the middle of the year before leaving for good, and Priscilla Presley had departed. However, I would say their...
Published on April 21, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the DVD standard
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now...
Published on February 10, 2010 by Les G. Solomon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Seasons of the Show For Certain, April 21, 2009
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
I know I am in the minority here but this one is definitely one of my favorites. As I said before I enjoy all the seasons of Dallas, especially the later ones. This season, known to me as 11, is the last one for Linda Gray. Steve Kanaly has 5 episodes in the middle of the year before leaving for good, and Priscilla Presley had departed. However, I would say their absence is not a big deal since they had been pretty islanded from everyone else by that point anyway. This season we have the final divorce and revenge of Sue Ellen, a new and humorous marriage for JR, further romantic fun for Bobby, and the interesting development of Cliff having a daughter with Afton and being taken in by Bobby alongside JR as a partner in Ewing Oil. Also, powering the season is Oscar-winner George Kennedy, who came in and truly delivered a great performance as Carter McKay, taking over Westar and becoming a new and strong Ewing nemesis. There is an exciting range war for Southfork the first part of the season, a funny storyline for JR in a small town, and then a big trip to Russia towards the end, not to mention the classic where Bobby and JR are stuck in an elevator and are forced to confront each other. The ratings slide continued, and my belief is that this was a self-fulfilling prophecy-for example, Priscilla and Steve had to go due to shrinking budget because of shrinking ratings due to the departure of Victoria Principal, yet, their fans then left and so the ratings went down further. This I can understand, but as long as you're a fan of JR first and foremost, you can continue to enjoy the show all the way I believe. This season Sheree J Wilson was added to the main title, and it also starred George Kennedy as Carter McKay, Andrew Stevens as Casey Denault, Cathy Podewell as Cally Harper, Audrey Landers as Afton Cooper, Beth Toussaint as Tracey Lawton, Leigh Taylor-Young as Kimberly Cryder, William Smithers as Jeremy Wendell, and Ian McShane as Don Lockwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the DVD standard, February 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now just rushing these out to the conclusion with no concern of quality at all? It also arrived in terrible shape (Amazon bad packaging) Again a shame as it has one of the best episodes of the latter part of the series ("The Sting", more plot twists and surprise returns than any of any episode)With only three box sets to go (season 13 and 14 and the telemovie set)can't Warners at least look at the poor and shoddy prints they are selling to the public??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sue Ellen Ewing's Final Season, March 3, 2009
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Dallas Season 12 concludes the Sue Ellen Ewing storylines, and introduces Carter McKay played by George Kennedy, and Cally Harper Ewing played by Cathy Podewell, both of which become regular cast members in the next season.

Season 12 is also when Sheree J. Wilson, who plays April Stevens Ewing, becomes a regular cast member, and also marks the return of Lucy Ewing.

Dallas The Complete 12th Season (1988-1989) WOULD BE PERFECT for a July release!

Please release Season 12 for the Summer of 2009!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dallas' Season 12 [MINOR SPOILERS], January 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Season 12 of 'Dallas' was by far a vast improvement over the past few seasons (at least the ones released on DVD). Ever since the notorious "dream" season, it felt like the show had lost its footing. There was too much time and energy devoted to trying to make-up for the wasted season, too much character development lost and simply jumbled and confused, too much attention given to a few weak characters (Jenna Wade and her daughter Charlie, to be exact). From the first episode of the season, it felt like the show and its producers had wiped the slate clean and gone back to the show's glory days. There was suspense and action from the first scenes of the show; returning faces like Afton Cooper; new ones like the complex character of Carter McKay. In all, up until perhaps the last episode of the season, this was by far the best paced, best written season since the pre-dream one.

The Good: Certain things worked well. There was the feeling that the producers knew some characters had run their course and finally they did their best to write out those characters, and plots, that really tended to bring the show down. Jenna Wade (played by Priscilla Presley) is out; so is her daughter Charlie and, for the most part, Ray Krebs. Yes, Ray appears in what can be called a guest appearance early on in the season; but then he's effectively given a send-off and we only hear of him by name. Lucy Ewing-Cooper, who returned at the end of last season, returns full-time to the cast. Her cynical quips and strong dislike for J.R. made the show feel like it did in its early days. There was also the departure of some lesser known characters like J.R.'s police department contact who moves on from helping J.R. and his illegal plotting to be replaced by someone new; the Ewing's lawyer, who seems to have a plot or role that requires him to be the surrogate father-protector of the Ewing's interest also makes an appearance. There was also some great character moments that finally brought about some much needed changes to the show; after seasons of fighting and threats, Sue Ellen finally sets out on her own and decides to give J.R. a dose of his own medicine. In many ways, the season served as a swan song and send-off for Linda Gray and the Sue Ellen character. It was nice to see her finally out on her own, not threatened by J.R. Cliff Barnes also moves on plot wise from always setting out to destroy Ewing Oil to actually working with Bobby and J.R.! He's also given a new love interest and a plot that will spill over into the next season involving a returning old character, Afton Cooper. The show's nemesis Jeremy Wendell is finally written out in an interesting plot that involves both J.R. and Sue Ellen and the entire Southfork clan. A new nemesis, Carter McKay, is introduced but unlike past 'Dallas' bad guys, this guy actually his complex, has a heart and isn't entirely bad nor without motive. In all, the characters were the best part of season 12; they all interact, mingle, have scenes with one another and the usual 'fight for Ewing Oil' plot is put on a back burner.

The Bad: There isn't much to complain about with season 12. Some may feel on the fence about the new character of Cally, J.R.'s new love interest. While it was refreshing that she wasn't one-sided or as greedy and power hungry as J.R.'s past love interests, she did feel a bit too 'different' and as if the producers tried a bit hard to make her a true outsider to the whole 'Dallas' cast and characters. I didn't buy into their relationship; it was hard for me to, within the span of a few episodes, understand why J.R. would take a liking to her and want to stay married to her when she, at times, did things or asked of him things that Sue Ellen would or has over the past few seasons. Is it old age, her young age? I don't know but I look forward to seeing how her character is fleshed out because right now it just seems as if she was made to be a more naive, younger, foolish version of Sue Ellen. Another thing that I didn't understand was Bobby's ongoing relationship issues with April Stevens. To me, the characters simply had no chemistry and their relationship seems forced. Her character, one that was introduced in the 'dream' season and then re-introduced in the next season, seems flawed and confused, as if the producers have forgotten how she started out with an agenda and mean streak and now she's supposed to be overly needy and pleasant? I don't get it. Bobby's character felt off for the first episodes of the season. I didn't get why all of the characters, including Bobby and Miss Ellie, also suddenly seemed so cold and mean-spirited toward Sue Ellen after seasons of showing they understood her issues and troubles with J.R. I won't even get started on the attempt to wrap the Pam Ewing plot - it should have just been left alone. The season seemed to lose a bit of steam during the final episodes that contain the annual 'let's get out of 'Dallas' and into a foreign country' set of episodes. There really was no threat, no urgency, no conflict that drove the trip and having scenes of the the cast sight seeing just wasn't compelling television. Also, the cliffhanger left much to be desired. For a show that basically created the cliffhanger and perfected it, this season ended with a whimper and also made Linda Gray's departure a bit of a let down. Again, there was little suspense or a moment that had you out of your seat screaming for more. Instead you're left with a rather neatly-wrapped season with the most suspense and mystery left with a new plot for Miss Ellie and Clayton to have to deal with in the next season.

In all, despite some flaws, this season was a vast improvement over the last few released on DVD. I wasn't as crazy about the DVD transfer; there were a few scenes that looked a bit out of focus or low quality. I also wasn't crazy about how yet again we're left with a season release with absolutely no special features. Why not some commentary from Linda Gray? An in-depth look at the Cally character? These seasons have so much potential for a special feature or two but are usually left with nothing. Here's hoping Warner will make up for it with something special in the last seasons and (hopefully) the t.v. movie release. This season is definitely worth buying and worth watching. As I usually say with 'Dallas', it's still better than a majority of the shows on television these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Season, July 17, 2009
By 
William Jurgens (Fountain Hills, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Season 12 is definitely my favorite season, it has a little of everything. Sue Ellen finally finds a way to get the better of J.R., Bobby finds a new love, and probably the most romantic encounter ever for Bobby. J.R. actually shows he does have a heart, and is somewhat confused by it when he truly does grow to love his new wife Cally. There is even foreign intrigue, when J.R. and Bobby must travel to Moscow to find out a sinister secret of a massive oil deal. But, by far the most interesting story of all, Cliff Barnes finally gets what he has wanted all these years, and becomes a full partner in Ewing Oil. He actually manages to have a working relationship with J.R. But this cannot last, like the old saying, be careful what you wish for.

Overall, this season has it all, and really shows why this series had the resiliency to continue for another 2 seasons following. Not just the great story lines by great writers, but truly this was one of the best casts ever assembled for a TV series, all true professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas: The Complete Twelfth Season, February 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
This is the Season that says goodbye to Sue Ellen(Linda Gray) and I think for the most part it showcased Sue Ellen as a strong woman who finally took control of her life. The addition to Carter McCay(George Kennedy) was a stroke of genius. Everything tied up in a neat bow at the end. Bobby & April finally coming together. Everybody shined throughtout the season. My only drawbacks were the bad backdrops for the weddding of Callie & J.R. Even Cliff and Lucy had something good 2 add. Painting Casey Dennault for hat he was. My Favorite scene i have to play over and over is Sue Ellen telling Jeremy Wendall where he ranked in her affections. Two more seasons left. Which is really "The J.R. & Bobby" show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Admirer, February 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
I found the 12th season of Dallas more interesting. They shot the episodes in other countries, such as, Vienna and Russia. I enjoyed that Bobby's and J.R.'s children had a greater part in this episode plus the unique romantic liaisons among the Ewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great season but Beware Crummy Packaging!, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Season 12 of Dallas did not disappoint in the drama and OMG department. Warning spoiler alert! This was a season where several people seemed to reach (or sink) to new levels in their lives. I was sad to see Ray Krebbs leave Dallas to be with his new family in Europe, but ever faithful Ray did return to help save Southfork from Carter McKay's army. Sue Ellen has reached a whole new level of confidence in her life, continuing her war with J.R. with a fearlessness and relish never seen before. Bobby finds a new love in his life, Cliff has shed much of his personal issues and feels more secure with himself, and Lucy moves back to her family. Also, corporate rattlesnake Jeremy Wendell returns as ruthless as ever before and determined to destroy J.R at all costs. Never fear, J.R. comes out okay, and personally I enjoyed seeing Jeremy The Untouchable get some very long overdue comeuppance. Oh, and J.R. adds a new member to his family in the form of innocent, country bumpkin-ette Callie. Crazy stuff.
This was a great season, and yes it is a definite buy. HOWEVER, perhaps you've noticed that the DVD packaging has recently changed, I think it was around Season 10, with those stupid DVD platter pages in the case. I really hate those, because the platters rub against each other, thus rubbing plastic edges against the disk underneath. My disks in Season 10, and 11 were nicked enough from those platters, but this season was terrible. The disks skipped, paused and one disk side almost didn't play. I'm surprised I was able to watch anything at all. The pages had rubbed so much against each other that the disks' surfaces were badly scratched and marked up. I know that I will have to replace this season at some point including possibly the other two previous seasons. To the person, or persons responsible for the Dallas DVD packaging, you are simply lazy.
So, buyers beware the packaging is not reliable. I know I'm biased being a Dallas superfan, but I personally think a show like Dallas definitely demands better packaging that has some thought and care behind it's manufacture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Seasons Yet!!!, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
After TNT brought Dallas back for a new generation, I became interested in watching the original series. I have to say that season 12 is definitely the best so far. For starters, J.R. is still alive after being shot by Sue Ellen. He and Bobby travel to a backwoods city called Hayleyville where J.R. ends up flirting with a sweet innocent girl named Cally. After sleeping with her, her brothers send J.R. to a penal camp. He tries desperately to escape. Back in Dallas, the Ewings must deal with Carter McKay who has bought Ray Krebb's old house. McKay begins a turf war with the Ewings, even bringing in a militia. Meanwhile, Sue Ellen hires a director to make a movie based on J.R.'s life. All this and much more happen in DALLAS: SEASON 12!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here Comes Carter & Co. and the New Mrs. Ewing, March 17, 2012
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
*NOTE: This Review Contains Spoilers

Now in its 12th season, departed "Dallas" characters like Pam and Ray are definitely missed, but the show needs some new blood at this point to liven things up, though the fresh faces are rather hit-and-miss.

The Ewings get a new adversary as George Kennedy ("Cool Hand Luke", "Airport") joins the cast as Colorado rancher Carter McKay, who buys the Krebbs place since Ray and family have moved to Europe. (Ironically, Kennedy looks like a larger, geriatric version of Steve Kanalay, who does return for a half-dozen episodes in this story arc before receiving a proper send-off). It isn't long before McKay starts an all-out war with Southfork that escalates until Miss Ellie actually relents and sells McKay the section of land he wants just to put her family out of harm's way. The gunfire and explosions are over-the-top in a "Rambo" sort of way, (look for craggy-faced bodybuilder Brad Harris as one of McKay's hired muscle). McKay's estranged daughter Tracey (Beth Toussaint) is a pool hustler with whom Bobby becomes romantically involved. However, the character looks like she stepped out of a Paula Abdul video and doesn't really have much appeal. Thankfully, Bobby and she split up before season's end and he takes up with April when she trails him to Europe, but to be honest neither of these ladies has the chemistry with him that Pam had and that lack of electricity takes alot of the enjoyment out of the show. J. Eddie Peck plays McKay's no-good drug-smuggling son Tommy, who forces himself on April, and beats the living tar out of her when she rejects his advances. This sets the wheels in motion for Bobby to become her big protector and develop the relationship with him April has yearned for all along.

Lucy's return is wasted on a dull romance with Casey Denault (Andrew Stevens), who's still trying to make the big-time and hustles Lucy to the tune of several million dollars until she and April team up to turn the tables on him. Otherwise, Lucy doesn't have much to do except walk around Southfork throwing around snide comments. The producers gave Charlene Tilton a chance to show off her new sleeker figure in a workout scene, but nothing much else exciting happens to her.

In one of Ken Kercheval's best moments, Cliff meets Pam (played by Victoria Principal lookalike Margaret Michaels) who politely brushes him off and announces she's fallen in love with her plastic surgeon and wants to start a new life with no ties. Thereafter, Cliff sells Barnes Wentworth to accept a partnership with Bobby in Ewing Oil--much to J.R.'s understandable chagrin. However, J.R. has no say since Bobby's now running the company. The surprise return of Afton Cooper (Audrey Landers) is one of the highlights because it reminds us of "Dallas" in its prime and it's great to see Cliff put the bitterness behind him and express his regret about losing her and try and make amends. You really hope she will accept his apology and live happily-ever-after.

The best plot of the season begins during a hunting expedition, where J.R. becomes enamoured and beds a hick waitress named Cally Harper. He didn't count on her two redneck brothers stringing him up for defiling her. This plot, though ludicrous, is actually just the refreshing change the series needs at this point. Having J.R. sweating on a chain-gang is much more interesting than more of the same old tired wheeling-and-dealing. One must forgive the lapses in logic, however since it's odd J.R. would be so taken with a hick waitress when he was completely turned off by Mandy Winger's turn as a lingerie model a few seasons back. J.R. manages to escape but Cally tracks him down just in time to make her debut as "the new Mrs. Ewing" at the annual Oil Baron's Ball. Though her country-bumpkin portrayal is laid on a little thick, Cathy Podewell is much more likeable as a "Dallas" leading lady than Priscilla Presley ever was. The writers cleverly script scenes to gradually endear her to the audience (as when she rescues John Ross from a potentially fatal pool mishap). The best moment of the season occurs on Cally and JR's wedding night, when it is revealed how much of hand Sue Ellen had in forcing JR to make Cally an honest woman.

You know the show is scrambling for ideas when they ship JR, Bobby, Cally and April to Europe for business, where they can kill some air time with endless travelogue footage of the Ewings in Vienna, Salzburg, and Moscow. Seriously, the most entertaining aspect of this nonsense is watching the extras in Red Square standing there looking right at the cameras--oh, and to introduce us to JR's old flame Vanessa Beaumont (Gayle Hunnicut) who--despite the accent--walks, talks, smiles and possesses the same all-around demeanor as Linda Gray. Considering they look like sisters, it's a wonder the producers chose such a similar actress for the role.

The writers spend the entire season playing up Sue Ellen's success as an independent businesswoman. She buys a movie studio so that she can commission a screenwriter (Ian McShane) to produce a screenplay about her life with JR. This plot allows for many flashbacks to previous seasons as she recalls the abuse she endured by JR, whom she hopes to embarrass publicly when the film is released. It's kind of fun but cheesy seeing Sue Ellen's "actors" replaying drama that occurred in previous "Dallas" seasons. Linda Gray exits the show at the end of this season and instead of a customary cliffhanger, we are left with a rather bland, final diatribe at JR.

In summary, this season is a mixed bag and I found it a little more entertaining than Season 11. While the original ladies like Sue Ellen and Lucy are wasted/given dull storylines, the newcomers April/Cally/Tracey can't hold a candle to them, though Podewell's storylines and acting fare best. Because we aren't as invested in these characters, their drama becomes less interesting. This is the most uneven season to date with only the Haleyville story arc being noteworthy.

Sheree J. Wilson now appears in the opening credits and Charlene Tilton is re-inserted as the theme now features a twinkly overlay effect.

Three Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Sting
The Sting by Arthur Lewis
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.