Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Book Review from the Aleph Blog
This is an unusual book. Like most books that involve the internet, the pace of change is so rapid that it will probably not be valuable two years from now. But in the short run there can be benefit.

The book is 46 essays from people who are engaged to some degree in using StockTwits, a popular internet site where traders and investors exchange thoughts about...
Published on July 15, 2011 by David Merkel

versus
98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful! What have you contributed to your readers?
This book was incredibly disappointing. The book promises to teach you 40 actionable trading setups that you can use. The editors of this book (the book is compiled by editors from the writings of many authors/traders) start each section by praising the trader who is supposedly going to teach you the trade setup and then that trader starts to talk about himself and his...
Published on September 25, 2011 by The Duke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful! What have you contributed to your readers?, September 25, 2011
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
This book was incredibly disappointing. The book promises to teach you 40 actionable trading setups that you can use. The editors of this book (the book is compiled by editors from the writings of many authors/traders) start each section by praising the trader who is supposedly going to teach you the trade setup and then that trader starts to talk about himself and his experiences as a trader, if that trader has a company, he throws in a plug for it in the same section. The trader then talks to you about a couple of trades that he has made in the past using his set up. But what is his setup?? You will find yourself asking this question over and over again. One of my favorites is a guy called Michael Bigger who talks about value investing and gives examples of companies he bought and made money selling but never gives you any setups?? He never shares any debt to equity ratios, percentages of earnings growth that he looks for, or any "accounting homework" that he does prior to buying a stock. He shares NOTHING! Another time waster is Eddy Elfenbein who absolutely shares nothing!!!!! And the day traders and swing traders are just as bad. So many of them have basically shared the same thing. Consolidation breakouts, moving averages, RSI, MACD, wedges, and my favorite, nothing! The generic setups that maybe found here are half-assed you can't really use them. They haven't provided enough information to you so that you may use them. Remember they didn't share their edge. They just gave you the generic part. The book has probably about three setups that were useful and the authors behind them were sincere in sharing and were not trying to hide their edge. People like John Lee are traders I respect. Furthermore, please be careful when you read the five star reviews of this book; one of the reviewers is actually non other than the editor himself! (you can check for yourself). With the large number of authors for this book it's hard to tell who some of these reviewers are. It's a shame but this book only serves the editors; it provides them with a platform to stroke the egos of traders who contribute to their website. The editors get to make money publishing what the traders share without them having to do much work! too bad in the process of self service the "value" to the reader is lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea but content is crap, October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
I jumped at the idea to read about other traders and their styles. I thought this would be like the series where they interview hedge fund guys but only these are real people. Well they interview them but each chapter doesn't follow any structure. And some of them are down right short. You can barely gain any additional information from readying this book. The best chapter is stockbee who I now regularly follow. Buy this thing used or get it at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hold on a second., July 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
I was really looking forward to this book coming out. I preordered it and even got a bit elated when Amazon said it was going to show up 2 days before the original ship date.

The book was a very easy read, I think I was finished it in an evening or so. I liked how the book gave a nice back story to each of the traders it showcased. The problem I had was the biography was as long or longer the trade setups. The only real actionable trade setups were from @superbee and @upsidetrader. The rest were less than actionable.

If your looking for a book to help you learn a trading style. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. If you looking for something fun to read and want to lean bits and pieces of other trading styles well then buy a used copy.

Being a professional trader for over 10 years, I found every little "Edge" in owning this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Stock Twits Edge - Only for Twits, December 12, 2011
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
I use an aggressive variant of CANSLIM and I am open to learning something new, honing my edge. I bought this book with the expectation of learning something.

This book is awful and does not deliver on its claim of actionable trade set ups.
1 - too much useless prose, mostly sly social marketing
2 - standard set ups rehashed by every scammer on the web
3 - no declaration on when they work and do not work - think market alignment and risk management
4 - little help in pre-trade prep, in trade monitoring and post trade analysis - this is critical, especially for the newbies.
I bought this book with positive expectations, almost threw it in the trash, returned it got my money back.

A better bet is James Altucher's Trade like a hedge fund. The set ups in that book are presented with more clarity and completeness. It too lacks in the area of market alignment and risk management, but its a better book than this piece of marketing garbage.

Read James' book along with William O'Neil's works and Dr Chris Kacher's work, develop a written trade plan of your own that you understand completely and keep looking to refine that plan. Keep a strict stop loss on BS like this book, don't give up and don't get suckered.

Raymond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it's a lie, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
its title says 40 actionable setups, there are possibly three or four. if you enjoy about reading boring biographies, this is the book for you, i dont give a twidlly where these people hail from.
i want 40 actionable setups. it's a shame we can't jail people.
the title is a lie, the book is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Book Review from the Aleph Blog, July 15, 2011
By 
David Merkel "Aleph Blog" (Ellicott City, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
This is an unusual book. Like most books that involve the internet, the pace of change is so rapid that it will probably not be valuable two years from now. But in the short run there can be benefit.

The book is 46 essays from people who are engaged to some degree in using StockTwits, a popular internet site where traders and investors exchange thoughts about investments. The internet encourages fast exchanges of data -- after all, it is called StockTwits because of Twitter, not because they are fools (Twits). There's another investing site for Fools, Motley as it is, and it has its own charm.

But speed in gathering information on investing is more suited to trading than investing, and so it should be no surprise that the book is 90% geared to trading, and 10% to fundamental investing.

Thus the book has the most value for those who want to learn to trade better -- there are 42 traders giving their opinions on how to trade. But the average chapter is only 8 pages long, so all you get of any trader is a taste of what they do.

My advice would be to read the book, scan for the traders/investors that fit you personality well, and talk with them at their websites to get a fuller picture of what they do. (My favorites were Eddy Elfenbein and Todd Sullivan.)

Quibbles

Personally, I would have done a book with fewer participants and longer chapters. I also would have included more about how StockTwits itself improves investing. Finally, I would have had that great internet finance curator, Tadas Viskanta write the last chapter. It would have really added to the book.

Who would benefit from this book:

Traders looking for a taste of the strategies of others would benefit from this book. Fundamental investors will find this to be thin gruel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE STOCKTWITS EDGE, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
If you are new to the markets and have never heard of StockTwits this book is a must.
This book does what it was meant to do and that is to give it's readers a ringside view
of how and why many successful traders do what they do.
The mistake that most of the negative reviewers make is not understanding that this book
was meant to be a primer and lead you to StockTwits and some of the better traders right from the start.
If you are isolated from people with market knowledge then this book will help change that.

#1- read the book
#2- join StockTwits
#3- ask Howard, Phil or Ivan for direction.
#4- understand the opportunity of learning from some of the best traders that StockTwits offers you for FREE!!

with so much to learn I think of StockTwits as a Investment University.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arrived in great condition and on time, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
arrived in great condition and on time. very please with this experience. Ok there are two muffins in an oven, one muffin says its hot in here. to which the other muffin replies wohoa a talking muffin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
I found this book wordy and repetitive. Forty setups is actually more like ten. I would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Depth Needed on Some Entries, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros (Hardcover)
Some of the entries are less effective than others in describing an actionable strategy, but overall it's a solid book and I'd recommend it to others. And I just did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The StockTwits Edge: 40 Actionable Trade Set-Ups from Real Market Pros
$65.00 $40.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.