Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Stones of Mourning Creek
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
100
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 4, 2001
As a librarian at a middle school I regularly read young adult fiction. This story is truly inspiring. The two main characters are struggling with a desire to be "best friends" during the 1960's when black people were excluded from many daily activities even though the laws said that they were to have the same rights as everyone else. The girls discover, that together, they hold key information to solve a murder mystery that has deeply affected both of them personally. This story gives you the feeling that true friendship is something you don't want to ever let go of. Strong language but important to the story. A great book for discussions and literature circles.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2004
I've always liked mysteries but I'm not too fond of sappy "let's all have a good sob" novels. So when I read THE STONES OF MOURNING CREEK, I was puzzled. What was I to think of this emotional novel entwined with a mystery? It turns out the novel wasn't what I expected.

Francie is a quiet girl with brilliant red hair. Since her mother's death, Francie lives alone with her father and has few friends. It is the 1960s, when racism is rampant, but when Francie meets Ruthie, a young black girl, the two become almost inseparable. That is until the rest of Spring Gap begins to notice. As the town grows more conscious of the tight bond between the girls, people become more intent on splitting them up.

Meanwhile, new developments about the death of Francie's mom keep popping up. How did she die? Nobody is really sure about that night, and not many people want to find out. So Francie embarks on a journey --- with Ruthie, of course. The two become trapped as they try to untangle themselves from a web of lies. They find that nothing is safe and they can turn to no one in their quest for the truth.

In THE STONES OF MOURNING CREEK, Diane Les Becquets shows the reader what life in the '60s was really like. She also reveals aspects of the mother-daughter relationship. It is clear that when Francie's mother was alive, the two were almost inseparable --- much like Francie and Ruthie.

The mystery got the best of me, and I felt myself falling for the "lets all have a good sob" part, as much as I didn't want to. If you're fond of mysteries, and you don't mind sappy novels, then read THE STONES OF MOURNING CREEK. You just might like it.

--- Reviewed by Lisa Marx
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2003
One of the best books I have ever read is The Stones of Mourning Creek. It is a fantastic tale of mystery and friendship. Let me tell you about it.
Fourteen year old Francie Grove lives in Spring Gap, Alabama in 1966. When her mama dies, she and her daddy are overcome by sorrow, but they deal with it in different ways. Mr. Grove goes out at night and drinks, while Francie becomes friends with a girl named Ruthie, and talks to her about her troubles.
Ruthie rescued Francie after being bit by a snake, and this incident was what brought them together. There is only one problem. Francie is white, and Ruthie is black. It isn't easy to stay friends in this segregated time, but nothing can separate them. Francie and Ruthie together go through a lot of the things girls today do, such as bullies at school, family troubles, and crushes on boys. The stones of the creek represent the relationship of these two girls, since Ruthie made bracelets of the rocks for each of them.
As time goes along, Francie suspects that Mama's death was no accident. Little does she know it, but Ruthie holds the secret to discovering what happened to Francie's mother.
This is an extremely emotional book. You will laugh and cry when you read it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2002
Hi there! I am an anvide reader! And I must say this is one of my favorite books. I read a lot of books, so u have 2 understand how good this book really has to be good. It shows true friendship, first love, and an acceptance of other races and life stlyes. This author definatly has something special going on! I hope she writes more books. Just a note: I have to promote this book, Seer and The Sword! It is wonderful!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Interesting story, but it wasn't necessary to kill kittens to make a point. Buried up to their necks in the dirt and run over with a power mower. What kind of depraved mind would come up with that? There are better books out there. Read one of those and skip this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
This book is told in the voice of a 14 year white old girl. She has recently lost her mother to a fall, and her father is drinking a lot and very neglectful. After being bitten by a copperhead snake, and being rescued by a girl whose family is Black, she makes a friend. This is the story of their friendship, the effect of their friendship in a segregated community. As the story unfolds we learn her mother's death was not an accident, in fact she was killed saving her new friend from rape, the corruption in their community that is ignored by a worthless sheriff, and the cost of discovering the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
First let me say that this book was well written and well intentioned. The flaw in the book is that the reader must suspend reality, for the criminal justice system in Alabama in the 60s would never have allowed this story to be true. It seems that the author wants her good characters to be rewarded (which mostly happened) and the bad people punished - which was pure fiction in Alabama during the 60s, especially when the crime is white on black. Buy our author lulls us into the fiction that all wrongs will be made right in the end. I guess that's why they call it fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
Purchased so my daughter could finish required 7th grade reading. Subject matter has references you wouldn't expect a 12 year old to be subjected to. It is a young adult book more than tween for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
Easy read. Good storyline of friendships, falling in love, and the struggles of being a teenage girl living in the back woods, southern USA, during Vietnam...and loving someone regardless of their color.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
This book was a good read even though as it told of love and friendship of two girls of different colour. It was also about life in a small town and the struggle of these people to live even though there was a bad element that enveloped the town ,there was also goodness,which won at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.