Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect storm
Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala return in this second installment from the NUMA Files by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown. Their first collaboration was "Devil's Gate" in November last year. In this reviewer's opinion "The Storm" is a far better work for a number of reasons. First, the length of the novel is about sixty-four pages shorter than its predecessor. Fat has been...
Published on May 29, 2012 by Marcus A. Lewis

versus
30 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Storm...a Fizzle
The Storm by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown is a tedious novel containing little suspense, no character development, and an improbable storyline, even for a supposed Cussler novel. It also reads as an extended outline for a novel, which should never have gotten past a sharp-eyed editor. Unfortunately, Mr. Cussler is at the point in his career where he seems to care more...
Published on June 14, 2012 by Grubb Street Rapscallion


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect storm, May 29, 2012
By 
Marcus A. Lewis (South El Monte, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala return in this second installment from the NUMA Files by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown. Their first collaboration was "Devil's Gate" in November last year. In this reviewer's opinion "The Storm" is a far better work for a number of reasons. First, the length of the novel is about sixty-four pages shorter than its predecessor. Fat has been trimmed from the plot, leaving a much leaner story line. Second, the proofreading errors that plagued "Devil's Gate" are gone here. Perhaps it was something as simple as a change of editors. And finally, the actual writing is much better this time. It's a lot crisper.

"The Storm" begins with a very short Prologue set in 1943 in the Indian Ocean. A "fast freighter" is under attack by the Japanese. Its top secret cargo seems to be of great interest to them. Chapter 1 takes us to 1967 in northern Yemen. A family is slaughtered and a pact to take revenge is set. Fast forward to June 2012 when a NUMA research vessel is overrun by some type of particle mass that swarms the ship, leading to the deaths of its three-person crew.

These three seemingly disparate events bring the NUMA Special Projects team (Austin, Zavala, and the Trouts) to the Maldives to investigate. Now that Dirk Pitt is Director of NUMA and rarely in the field, Kurt Austin has become the workhorse and he does a fine job of it.

First-time Cussler readers will not be disappointed, and long-time fans of the series should be pleasingly surprised with the new turn of writing events. I think everyone will enjoy this storm.

And finally a trivia footnote: One of the members of the evil consortium is Sheik Abin da-Alhrama. Readers may recognize the play on letters between Alhrama and Alhambra. Clive Cussler is a proud graduate of Alhambra High School.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "EXTRAORDINARY!", June 5, 2012
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
When I first came across this title, it brought a flashback of "The Perfect Storm.' I saw the Movie several times, which is fantastic. However, there is no comparison between that Movie and this book, but they are both winners! "THE STORM" is an unforgettable thrilling tale about a ship that goes up in flames, after it gets attacked with mysterious black particles as it sits in the Indian Ocean. The horrific incident goes under investigation by Kurt and Joe, and the high-speed drama begins. What discovery do they find? Will the weather be altered on a global scale, and who will survive? Clive Cussler delivers an Entertaining Masterpiece from beginning to end, which grabs your interest in the first chapter. Highly recommended for all adventure lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lean and Juicy Read, June 8, 2012
This book has less of the boring narration and more of the jam-packed action compared with Clives's and Brown's first collaboration.The Storm's prose is crispier and the leaner storyline made the NUMA Special Project teams stand out.This is something that both first-time and long-time readers will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, June 14, 2012
By 
Konrad Kern (OFallon, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
When I see that Cussler has come out with another NUMA file thriller I know I will be in for a wild ride. This time around it's more of a scientific thriller with some eerily syfy type weapons. Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala, among other regulars, strive to defeat what you think is the undefeatable. This is what makes this an awesome escapist thriller. I feel this is one of his best, along with Graham Brown, to come out in a couple years. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Storm...a Fizzle, June 14, 2012
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
The Storm by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown is a tedious novel containing little suspense, no character development, and an improbable storyline, even for a supposed Cussler novel. It also reads as an extended outline for a novel, which should never have gotten past a sharp-eyed editor. Unfortunately, Mr. Cussler is at the point in his career where he seems to care more about the number of books under his name rather than the quality of the works. He is also at the point where his volume of success may intimidate any editor attempting to enhance his novels.

Beginning with the apparent loss of the SS John Bury in 1943, in the Indian Ocean, The Storm moves to Yemen in 1967, where we are introduced to the villain, Jinn. After his mother and brothers are murdered in a brutal attack, Jinn is forced by his father to kill the last of those who had killed Jinn's family. Thus begins, we are led to believe, the shaping of the young Jinn into an international terrorist.

The novel then moves to 2012, where the plot thickens as three young members of NUMA are attacked on their sailboat by a mysterious swarm in the Indian Ocean; two of the three are killed by this force. To destroy that swarm, the survivor sets fire to the boat and kills himself in the process. Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala are sent by Dirk Pitt, now the head of NUMA, since Admiral Sandecker became Vice-President of the United States, to learn why and how the three NUMA researchers died,

Thus begins a tedious story which has no life, no character development, and no emotion. Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala show none of the camaraderie and joy of living seen in earlier novels; they are merely character types who methodically go through the paces of tracking down the villainous Jinn and his cohorts. Paul and Gamy Trout, two NUMA scientists, also appear in the novel, but, like Austin and Zavala, have no depth, merely acting out roles that could as easily have been played by any other couple.

Even the villain, Jinn, comes across as two-dimensional, although the reader is led to believe that the scene when he was forced by his father to kill the enemy was what drove the boy into becoming a potentially ruthless mass murderer. Unfortunately, Jinn tells us little about why he has the need to become the megalomaniac that Mr. Cussler and Mr. Brown say he is. This technique of telling and not showing runs throughout the novel: We do not see what motivates a scene or a character; instead, we are told what the motivation is.

For example, the reader is told that Jinn has designs on Leilani, a mid-twenties woman who wants to avenge the death of her bother, one of the three NUMA researchers on the sailboat destroyed by an initially inexplicable fire. Yet, we never see any such actions by Jinn; instead the authors tell us that he has such motives. While a small point, this idea of telling and not showing is repeated throughout the novel: Something is needed for a particular action to occur and suddenly it is there.

Several unnecessary characters appear, including Dirk Pitt; he is only there to offer information and, at the end, a celebratory party for Austin and Zavala. The character of Leilani adds nothing to the story, except as serving as an initial red herring, something that we easily smell out; later on, she could disappear and no one would miss her. Mr. Cussler and Mr. Brown apparently realized this when Kurt Austin is unable to make a date with her at the end, clipping that possible story thread. St. Julien Perlmutter, the premier source of all maritime information is one person Austin should have called upon since the swarm affects the seas; he is only mentioned, but never appears in the story. Finally, Austin and Zavala should have drawn upon Hiram Yeager and his super-computer, Max, for information. Alas, Perlmutter and Max were ignored. Others just come and go.

There are, also, the countless numbers of coincidences that occur: Just when our intrepid heroes are about to die, the convenient means of salvation or escape appears, the exact tool or weapon is found, or the enemy suddenly changes its plans.

As for Kurt Austin, a once-shrewd investigator, he comes across as being ether naive or dumb: He accepts at blind faith that a young woman who was kidnapped early in the novel is the sister of the man who set the sailboat on fire and is, now, seeking to avenge his death.

The worst part of the novel is the storyline: A terrorist believes he can control weather patterns, which will place the world's nations under his control. The source of that control are nanobots, which can alter ocean temperatures and, thus, cause droughts or rain where Jinn wants them. Of course he will extort millions from nations for his services. Ah, yes, another out-of-control villain. Why he has to be from Yemen makes no sense, except that the authors probably thought it would make the storyline more relevant in terms of today's political crises. In the past, Mr. Cussler wrote megalomaniacs who were much more credible, worthy of our time and interest. In The Storm, Jinn is an emotionally little man, supposedly driven by a need for power...but he is not a convincing villain. Somehow, the idea of Jinn using nanobots as agents of worldwide destruction just doesn't sound very frightening as the underlying premise for The Storm. Jinn's treatment at the end by Kurt Austin is also a bit confusing, and may scream Sequel.

We cannot, of course, forget the reappearance of the legacy of the SS John Bury at the end, as a part of the defeat of Jinn. That even surpasses other Cussler Deus ex machina touches, where, against improbable odds, the heroes somehow become victorious.

Mr. Cussler has written wonderfully exciting solo novels such as Iceberg, Raise the Titanic, and Sahara, to name a few. Each of those has well-rounded heroes in whom we believe and arch villains we deliciously love to hate. In The Storm, we have two-dimensional characters, trapped in a superficial story, all of which is described in the most mundane and tedious prose.

Mr. Cussler ought to forget his assembly line approach to releasing novels and, instead, concentrate on writing one a year, working to return us to characters who mean something to us, in riveting stories that capture our interests and hold us to the end. Unfortunately, he appears to be part of the growing school of writers who have co-authors: James Patterson, Tom Clancy, and even the deceased Robert Parker and Robert Ludlum, to name a few. Truth in lending should apply here. The reader deserves to know who is actually writing Mr. Cussler's novels; I suspect, though, he only gave Mr. Brown the outline for The Storm, then rushed off with another outline for another writer in his stable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure Story, mystery., May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is another of Clive's page turners. I could not put it down. If you have never read any of Clive's books, you're really going to enjoy his latest offering The Storm. His characters are colorful and seem to rise to real life as you read. Don't miss this one, everybody is going to be talking about The Storm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watery, August 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
I can't believe that I read another Clive Cussler novel from the NUMA Files series. Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala narrowly escape death every hundred pages or so in The Storm, the latest in this series. The predicaments in which these characters find themselves become so implausible that readers like me laugh and cheer when they escape, as expected, from every peril. The formulaic structure of these novels provides readers with reliable entertainment featuring wicked villains with plots to control the Earth. In this novel, the villain wants to control the water temperature of the world's oceans and auction off the weather outcomes to the nations with the highest bids for his services. For that last taste of summer escape reading, or on a Hurricane influenced flight delay, consider reading this outlandish novel.

Rating: Two-star (Mildly Recommended)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Storm Not Very Strong, June 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my first Clive Cussler book. Pretty simple overall. The action wasn't very believable and some of the interactions of the characters was rather silly. When I'm reading a good fiction novel, I imagine that I'm watching it unfold on the big screen. This seemed like a made for TV movie on the USA network! OK if there's nothing else on so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clive Cussler, June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
As usual Clive Cussler has done it again. Great book, Great read. I've got everything that Clive Cussler has written and reread them between new publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cussler rose to his lavel of expectation!, June 17, 2012
This review is from: The Storm (The Numa Files) (Hardcover)
We all know that Cussler utilizes other writers' talents, but in The Storm, he hit the perfect balance. It was an easy read, compared to the last two I read. He didn't complicate it to the point where the reader has to go back and clarify. I, personally, am an Oregon Files addict, but this one will definitely make me buy the next NUMA Files installment. You'll not be disappointed, even though the details might stretch your imagination a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Storm (The Numa Files)
The Storm (The Numa Files) by Clive Cussler (Hardcover - May 29, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.