Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserving Horror Finally Has An Official DVD Release
Years ago, when I was watching the 2AM Late Show this movie came on and somehow gripped with a haunting interest. I was never more fascinated. While the characters are stereotyped (the company man looking for keep his gold, the young expedition scout, the old timer with the tales of a haunted mine and "It lives" warnings, the writer, and the girl, as well as a few other...
Published on July 25, 2009 by R. R. Gutierrez

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Those stop-motion creatures always entertain me!
Thank you Code Red for making it possible for a little horror flick like this to be placed onto dvd! It's time to get rid of that big clamshell vhs box once again. Alot of folks compare this flick to 'The Boogens', another forgotten creature flick, and I can kinda see why. But this creature in 'The Strangeness' is creepier, in my opinion. It's a simple story; it's...
Published on December 4, 2009 by Jennifer M. Hensley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserving Horror Finally Has An Official DVD Release, July 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
Years ago, when I was watching the 2AM Late Show this movie came on and somehow gripped with a haunting interest. I was never more fascinated. While the characters are stereotyped (the company man looking for keep his gold, the young expedition scout, the old timer with the tales of a haunted mine and "It lives" warnings, the writer, and the girl, as well as a few other extra victims) the creature is real original. Looking like something from a Lovecraft tale, this tentacled stop motion monster was around when the Indians had the land before white men found the Golden Spike Mine and died by it's hands 100 years before. After all this time, our heroes decide to enter the mine on a company inspection and are greeted by the creature. The movie is a cross between "Alien" and "The Boogens", the latter being the closest and being released within a year or so. But this one is better. The victims run through old mine tunnels, find skeletons and bodies, living victims glued to the roofs of the mine chambers, assault each other, find remains of the miners who died in the mine, hear a strange "hellwinds" and find the dwelling of the beast and end it all with an old stack of gunpowder, blasting caps and flares. The filming is dark, sometimes a strain to see what is going on, and slow, but when the creature shows up (having been hidden or glimpsed in areas of the picture) it is interesting to see this stop motion marvel eat the company man and chase the last two survivors in it's lair.

While there have been several bootleg VHS and DVD versions of this horror film, the real Trans World oversized clamshell packaging was my most prized and collectable item. CODE RED has FINALLY done an official overdue DVD release and we can hope to be treated with as much bonus behind the scenes material as has survived from 1985. Based on the official website at thestrangeness.net from one of the actors/crew it looks like we have it. Take a peek. They have the miniature mine sets, the stop motion models and behind the scenes shooting, plus more.

At print, VHS copies were going anywhere from $35-70 dollars. That is how rare this gem has been over the years. It took me almost 10 years and an email to Fred Olen Ray, the famous B-movie Retromedia mogul, to kindly respond and finally give me the title so it could be located. I bought my VHS copies off of Amazon due to tape wear before the DVD-R transfer revolution. So now we have the official DVD. No horror fan of classic 80s obscure horror would go without seeing this marvel at least three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Those stop-motion creatures always entertain me!, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
Thank you Code Red for making it possible for a little horror flick like this to be placed onto dvd! It's time to get rid of that big clamshell vhs box once again. Alot of folks compare this flick to 'The Boogens', another forgotten creature flick, and I can kinda see why. But this creature in 'The Strangeness' is creepier, in my opinion. It's a simple story; it's about a group of people wanting to explore a cave that has been considered cursed, says the locals. You see, miners have died in that cave and it's a mystery in what caused their deaths! Indians for years have been saying the cave is inhabited by a ancient being and that no one should enter "Golden Spike", name of the cave. Will these new explorers make it out alive!? You'll just have to see for yourself! The special effects are practical but you go into watching a horror flick like this just to enjoy how simple it is, and that you love creature flicks no matter how dated they are compared to todays standards. Warning!...this flick is a little slow moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Vibes from this Cave Dwelling Horror, July 13, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
I really like this film and I'm thrilled to see it coming out on DVD. It's about some engineers investigating a cave being preyed on by this awesome tentacle monster. It's certainly some strangeness. The vibe of the film is pretty eerie even though it's a cheesy 80s horror film. The cave settings are always dark and the viewer, like the characters, can't see everything that's going on in the tiny passage ways. This would make a great double or triple feature with any of the other cave/mine-themed horror movies like The Boogens, The Descent, My Bloody Valentine, etc. The VHS picture quality on my personal copy is atrocious, so I can't wait to see a digital version of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Strangeness, December 2, 2013
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
A mixed romp through the early eighties horror genre. A group of people decide to explore an old mine, "Golden Spike", each of them has a different interest. One wants to write a book about it, another is a photographer, there's also a geologist and finally, a couple of guys working for the person heading the expedition, their objective is to see if it's worth investing half a million dollars to re-open the mine. One by one they encounter the monster and to make matters worse all the possible exits appear to be blocked. "Winds of hell" mysteriously start blowing, fear sets in, the only lights are the ones from the helmets. The guy in charge snaps, thinking that the rest of the people want to rob his firm's gold, there's no place to hide.

The monster reminded me of Lovecraft's monsters, I'm a fan of this sort of clay monsters, the tentacles, how it moved, etc. Even though the movie takes place in a mine, it should have had better lighting, at times all you can see is the light on their helmets, which is the same as saying, you can't see nothing at all. The acting deserves mixed reviews, some actors were OK, others not so much.

Overall it's an average story that could have become a good movie if there was a bigger budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Follow The Slime Trail..., July 28, 2013
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
A corporately-funded prospector leads a group of explorers into an abandoned gold mine. They're trying to find out if there's enough gold left to warrant further investment. Unbeknownst to them, a young couple was recently attacked by something in the mine. Not to mention the team of miners that was attacked years earlier! Of course, this doesn't bode well for our heroes! THE STRANGENESS sort of reminds me of BEAST FROM HAUNTED CAVE, only this time, the monster is done w/ stop-motion. It kills its human prey in grisly fashion, leaving nothing but a mutilated heap behind. It looks like a huge, oozing orifice on top of a tentacle-waving brain. Though we don't get to see much of it, when we do it's fairly impressive. Recommended for the monster fanatic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very low budget film sci fier for lovers of that type only, February 20, 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
This one is for lovers of c movies, low budget movies shot by people who have never made a movie before. BUt they did a pretty good job for what they had. The story is similiar to the b movie that came out a few years later "the boogens' with a mine with a monster in it storyline only that one is a solid b movie and this is not.
The dvd looks ok but they print needed some dirt cleaned from it, still it could have been a lost movie easily with such a llmited release. The stop motion work is good here and at that time this technique was fading away for good but audiences would have enjoyed it in 1980 as not to 'strange'. Like I said if you are a horror fan who loves these older type of c movies then you'll like this one. If you are a snob who complains about older effects then don't go here. The acting is acceptable but not up to the levels of a b movie probably. They did some work on this print it's not perfect , I always wish that even movies I don't like would have cleaned up every blemish. This is a pretty decent flick in that regard. This is cheesy c movie stuff but I like that stuff so it's ok for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Budget? What budget?, April 21, 2014
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
The Strangeness is a surprisingly good horror movie from the early eighties, one I only knew existed by searching Amazon for old monster movies. The characters are searching an old mine to see if it could be productive again, a plot very similar to Boogens (another monster movie from roughly the same time). The acting is pretty good, and to the best of my knowledge this is the only movie any of these actors appear in. The set work for the mine and caves are good, too. The monster is done with stop motion animation and it makes a late appearance in the movie, understandable given how time consuming and expensive stop motion is. The extras go into some detail on how little cash they had for making the film, and as another commenters said it would have benefited from more funding. But I feel they did well with what they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme that old-time stop-motion animation., June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
I won't go into detail on this movie except to say that it's in the old-fashioned vein of the fify thrillers: decent characters, a slow build-up, and finally the revelation of the creature or creatures.

If you like this kind of old-fashioned film this one is for you. If you want a huge
amount of CGIs them you'll be disappointed. Things like the highly touted remake of
Day the Earth Stood Still stink when compared to the original as almost all of them
do.

In fact, the best reason to watch this is for when the creature is finally revealed
in its Harryhausen glory: stop-motion. The thing has a fine time with the film's main grouch also. Scenes like this make you realize just how good the old style of animation was.

I hope the producers of this do more: I'll certainly buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare Stop Motion Horror Needs a Proper DVD Release, March 7, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Strangeness (VHS Tape)
Years ago, when I was watching the 2AM Late Show this movie came on and somehow gripped with a haunting interest. While the characters are stereotyped (the company man looking for keep his gold, the young expedition scout, the old timer with the tales of a haunted mine and "It lives" warnings, the writer, and the girl, as well as a few other extra victims) the creature is real original. Looking like something from a Lovecraft tale, this tentacled stop motion monster was around when the Indians had the land before white men found the Golden Spike Mine and died by it's hands 100 years before. After all this time, our heroes decide to enter the mine on a company inspection and are greeted by the creature. The movie is a cross between "Alien" and "The Boogens", the latter being the closest and being released within a year or so. But this one is better. The victims run through old mine tunnels, find skeletons and bodies, living victims glued to the roofs of the mine chambers, assault each other, find remains of the miners who died in the mine, hear a strange "hellwinds" and find the dwelling of the beast and end it all with an old stack of gunpowder, blasting caps and flares. The filming is dark, sometimes a strain to see what is going on, and slow, but when the creature shows up (having been hidden or glimpsed in areas of the picture) it is interesting to see this stop motion marvel eat the company man and chase the last two survivors in it's lair.

While there are many bootleg VHS and DVD version of this horror film, the Trans World oversized clamshell packaging is the most prized and collectable item. When someone does an official DVD release we can hope to be treated with as much bonus material as has survived from 1985. It took me almost 10 years and an email to Fred Olen Ray, the famous B-movie Retromedia mogul, to kindly respond and finally give me the title so it could be located. I bought my copy off of Amazon. No horror buff would go without seeing it least three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Strangeness, July 12, 2009
This review is from: The Strangeness (DVD)
A mixed romp through the early eighties horror genre. A group of people decide to explore an old mine, "Golden Spike", each of them has a different interest. One wants to write a book about it, another is a photographer, there's also a geologist and finally, a couple of guys working for the person heading the expedition, their objective is to see if it's worth investing half a million dollars to re-open the mine. One by one they encounter the monster and to make matters worse all the possible exits appear to be blocked. "Winds of hell" mysteriously start blowing, fear sets in, the only lights are the ones from the helmets. The guy in charge snaps, thinking that the rest of the people want to rob his firm's gold, there's no place to hide.

The monster reminded me of Lovecraft's monsters, I'm a fan of this sort of clay monsters, the tentacles, how it moved, etc. Even though the movie takes place in a mine, it should have had better lighting, at times all you can see is the light on their helmets, which is the same as saying, you can't see nothing at all. The acting deserves mixed reviews, some actors were OK, others not so much.

Overall it's an average story that could have become a good movie if there was a bigger budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Strangeness
The Strangeness by Melanie Anne Phillips (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: $38.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.